April 19, 2024, 06:04:58 AM

Author Topic: Is this man the most skillful professional footballer ever?  (Read 9630 times)

Re: Is this man the most skillful professional footballer ever?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2008, 11:29:13 AM »
just so dread?!

no warning nutten?

just so yuh go drop de flickin boss on we like dat?

dat clip make meh day, favorite african player of all time.

ps: for de sake of disagreement he, the answer is no he is not the most skillful ever.

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2008, 11:29:46 AM »
One could surely make that argument- Definitely one of the best dribblers in the modern game...such a flamboyant dribbler that people often take forgranted his remarkable shooting technique.

The first time I saw him play (or noticed him) was against Italy in WC '94.  He may have even come on as a sub, and he had defenders doing dance moves like it was a music video.....body shake fuh days....

Funny thing is I saw an interview with him on TV- where they were showing highlights of him just rippin' men tuh shreds, and he was being interviewed in the background, and they asked him what he thought his greatest footballing strength was...and he said "passing the ball"... lol

Great player- If he played for a top shelf team (no offense to PSG & Fenerbahce)...he would be more revered as a legend.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2008, 11:38:20 AM by kicker »

« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2008, 11:54:45 AM »
Used to real enjoy watchin dis man play, in my book, like Latas, his worldwide aclaim could have been even higher had he repped a bigger club in his career

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2008, 12:05:25 PM »
Jay Jay...

reminds me of a fella I grow up with...

skills fuh days.. and a Compre man too...

good to see the footage...

made my day after the "monkey chant" I just had the pleasure of receiving/listening to...
a minute in football is a very long time...

« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2008, 12:30:15 PM »
OH GYAD!!!

AND HERE

Heeeerrrreeessss Jay Jay! Certainly one of the characters of modern football, entertaining and yes skillful. When he was in form he was very good.
He was labled a "circus performer" by some Nigerian team mates after they were out of WC 02. A bit harsh I felt, I believe many of his teammates felt he should of taken a more leadership role.

That being siad I always enjoyed watching Jay Jay when he was with Frankfurt and PSG, but when he went to Bolton he really enjoyed turning on the ice.

« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2008, 02:26:12 PM »
there are a few men out there wit individual flair. but none cyah pull off dat level of flair in a competitive game without getting their foot break. Dinho, C Ronaldo..dem kinda fellas deos want to buss it so, but when they come a lil close dey does colleck some good hand, or a ignorant blade. Somehow mankind respeck Jay Jay. Maybe cuz dey feel Nigerian doh business  ;D

dat man was a killa. respeck to a man who make you enjoy watching ball. and end product too eh. nice passes..wicked bullet. great technique. so is skill in the true sense of the word. not jess smoke and mirrors. steeups. i vex now. u remind me de man retire

« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2008, 03:31:42 PM »
rainbow in the snow, sleet, rain and shine!!

Don't forget the true "Fenomeno" and true Ronaldo ... he was STINK in his Barca days!!

« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2008, 04:34:42 PM »
nahhh soulja eh de best player ever...

we have him rite here in Trinidad, he name Russel Latapy, a.ka. De MAgician!!! :devil: :devil: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

watch fuh yuhself:
www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkV-0IxUOic

Snaka snawh

« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2008, 04:45:05 PM »
patrick viera better

« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2008, 04:46:51 PM »
patrick viera better
.. and he married to a Trini .... so that make him an unstoppable force.

« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2008, 04:53:29 PM »
patrick viera better

than julius james.  I agree... 8)

« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2008, 04:56:17 PM »
hull yuh a#$ palos

« Reply #14 on: October 24, 2008, 02:17:16 PM »
OH GYAD!!!

AND HERE

He’s a very crafty ball player I would say. ;) His named should have been Igotya instead of Okocha.  ;D

« Reply #15 on: October 24, 2008, 02:29:12 PM »
good skillful player.
i have seen better in concacaf though

« Reply #16 on: October 25, 2008, 12:22:32 AM »
You see better in the Concacaf?  We need names.

« Reply #17 on: October 25, 2008, 05:34:18 AM »
good skillful player.
i have seen better in concacaf though

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #18 on: October 25, 2008, 07:10:05 AM »
love it

man had me frightened everytime bolton played arsenal

all his dribbles n skills producded something

love the announcer "jay jay onkocha! so good they named him twice!"

Offline pompey_researcher

« Reply #20 on: October 25, 2008, 08:26:05 AM »
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=XOiMYZQPblQ

Enjoy

lol.. researcher u for real?

prosinecki recycle one beat for the whole 4 mins of the clip.

« Reply #21 on: October 25, 2008, 08:49:59 AM »
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=XOiMYZQPblQ

Enjoy

lol.. researcher u for real?

prosinecki recycle one beat for the whole 4 mins of the clip.

Dat on par wit de "I've seen better in CONCACAF"... ;D

« Reply #22 on: October 25, 2008, 09:28:56 AM »
Funny man should mention Latapy... I now coming to say he's Nigeria's version of Latas (or Latas is de Trini Okocha? lol).  Latas mightn' have de same kinda touches, but in terms of legendary reputation, talent...and the sense by fans that they never really got the acclaim they could (or should) have gotten.

« Reply #23 on: October 25, 2008, 01:15:20 PM »
This thread was rel kicks......JJO is one of the best African players of all time.  If only Nigeria had not succumbed to the typical expectations in '94, I think Jay Jay might have been more heralded than he has been.  Nigeria's collapse to Italy greatly overshadowed his and their achievements and I don't think that they have ever fielded as talented and powerful a team ever since that would have helped bolster his legacy.  He was always playing on teams where HE was the the man expected to carry the load.  His skill and vision required that he be surrounded by men that can think, operate and play off his creativity at a level higher than most of them were able to.  IMHO, Bolton is a perfect example of that.  This, I think is the difficult thing about supertalented men playing on "lesser" teams.  IMHO, Latas is another perfect example of that type of player. 

« Reply #24 on: January 13, 2009, 03:36:53 PM »
ah man just remind meh of ah fella ah see live, at the time ah never heard of the man before, "Dragan Vujovic"...that man had moe beat than Okocha...The worst ah see he do, live against New York, (ah wonder if was Wim, boy)... he mash the ball hard, it spin towards the defender, the defender try to recieve, and the ball spin back, and mr. man gone by the defender who splitting like James Brown, popcorn. Is not that he do it as a see it before, but that he do it on ah big stage, priceless....Chinnas play that game for New York too. He handle heself, didn't do nuthen fancy...Cosmos star boy at the time was Giorgio Chinaglia.
Any allyuh oleboys ever hear bout Dragan  (yugoslav)? he end up getting ban for cussing and spitting on a ref

EDIT : DEEKS, Ah don't know if yuh remember Hayden Knight from QRC..Archi, Steve David, an Twinketoes dey too
http://www.nasljerseys.com/Players/Players_Roster.htm

edit: nearly fuhget Figaro yes
« Last Edit: January 13, 2009, 03:50:21 PM by maxg »

« Reply #25 on: January 13, 2009, 03:47:51 PM »
ah man just remind meh of ah fella ah see live, at the time ah never heard of the man before, "Dragan Vujovic"...that man had moe beat than Okocha...The worst ah see he do, live against New York, (ah wonder if was Wim, boy)... he mash the ball hard, it spin towards the defender, the defender try to recieve, and the ball spin back, and mr. man gone by the defender who splitting like James Brown, popcorn. Is not that he do it as a see it before, but that he do it on ah big stage, priceless....Chinnas play that game for New York too. He handle heself, didn't do nuthen fancy...Cosmos star boy at the time was Giorgio Chinaglia.
Any allyuh oleboys ever hear bout Dragan  (yugoslav)? he end up getting ban for cussing and spitting on a ref

Yugoslavia had some real ballas.  Dem is some a de most skillful players in Europe.  De most skillful I ever see from dey is a fella call Sjlivo.  Edhem Forkin Sjlivo.  Lawd...dah man hit man some inch and beat in de 82 World Cup in Spain.....became a instant cult hero wit meh padnahs watchin dem games.

« Reply #26 on: January 13, 2009, 03:51:02 PM »
steups i say allyuh coming with some new thing d man do. he aint d most skillfull but 2 me he make two beats popular. the rainbow cap and the beat where he rolls the ball through his leg going from right to left , then steps over the ball with his left foot.

« Reply #27 on: January 13, 2009, 03:52:25 PM »
steups i say allyuh coming with some new thing d man do. he aint d most skillfull but 2 me he make two beats popular. the rainbow cap and the beat where he rolls the ball through his leg going from right to left , then steps over the ball with his left foot.

Who more skillful?

« Reply #29 on: January 13, 2009, 06:10:29 PM »
OH GYAD!!!

AND HERE

Palos I tink you should get out some more ....