April 19, 2024, 05:31:45 AM

Author Topic: Wall was approved by Beetham groups’  (Read 6983 times)

Wall was approved by Beetham groups’
« on: October 25, 2008, 07:35:23 PM »
Michelle Loubon
The Guardian

Managing Director of the East Port-of-Spain Development Company Limited Deborah Thomas maintains there was consultation and approval by the Beetham Gardens community over the proposed development plan.

The plan includes the construction of a four-foot retaining wall along the front of the development.

The berm, a landscaped mound or bank of earth, now under construction, is expected to cost about $5 million and extend from Beetham Gardens to the Priority Bus Route.

Landscaped berms exist at Millennium Park, Trincity and St Clair.

Thomas made this comment at a press conference at Kent House in Maraval yesterday.

Among those present were chairman of East Port-of-Spain Development Company Anthony Fifi and project officer Keith Edwards.

Prior to Thomas’ remarks, a video, dubbed Development Meets Me, was shown, featuring proposals for development work in 19 communities such as Laventille, Trou Macaque, Picton and Belmont.

The company got Cabinet’s approval.

Zeroing in on Beetham Gardens, Thomas said, “Several residents are saying they were not consulted. There were consultations with community groups and stakeholders (September 1, 2006).

Sharing Thomas’ sentiments, Fifi said the construction of the berm and the overall development plan would generate employment, beautify the area and improve sanitation from Phases 1 to 5.

Work to be done

Thomas said the company had met at the Beetham Government Primary School to discuss issues affecting the community like poor drainage, pollution from industrial effluent, vehicle emissions and the nearby landfill.

High unemployment, low incomes, inadequate social infrastructure and informal settlements with poor housing conditions and physical infrastructure were also addressed.

Among the other proposals highlighted were the upgrade and refurbishment of a multi purpose court at Beetham Phase 4, cleaning, clearing and rehabilitation of roadside drains and construction of an East Port-of-Spain Sport and Cultural Complex.

There were also plans to upgrade the recreation ground at Phase 2 and develop homework and business development programmes.

Crime challenge

Thomas admitted they were working amid challenges like crime and violence.

"The challenges are high levels of crime and established contractors unwilling to work there. Contractors had to stop work. Tendering process went out for the berm," she said.

The work continues and is expected to be completed within five to six months.

She said there were plans to extend the landscaped berm to the Priority Bus Route to provide a buffer between the community and the road, improve its aesthetics and reduce the noise and pollution affecting the area.

"The landscaped berm would protect against noise and fumes and afford the residents' privacy. There are breaks in the berm. It allows for pedestrian traffic, not vehicular traffic," she said.

When it comes to upgrading the PBR area, she added, "They are looking at small kiosks to replace the tents and shacks there...like the thriving bar-be-cue business."

©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited 

Managing Director of the East Port-of-Spain Development Company Limited Deborah Thomas maintains there was consultation and approval by the Beetham Gardens community over the proposed development plan.

The plan includes the construction of a four-foot retaining wall along the front of the development.

The berm, a landscaped mound or bank of earth, now under construction, is expected to cost about $5 million and extend from Beetham Gardens to the Priority Bus Route.

Thomas made this comment at a press conference at Kent House in Maraval yesterday.

Among those present were chairman of East Port-of-Spain Development Company Anthony Fifi and project officer Keith Edwards.

Prior to Thomas’ remarks, a video, dubbed Development Meets Me, was shown, featuring proposals for development work in 19 communities such as Laventille, Trou Macaque, Picton and Belmont.

Zeroing in on Beetham Gardens, Thomas said, “Several residents are saying they were not consulted. There were consultations with community groups and stakeholders (September 1, 2006).

Sharing Thomas’ sentiments, Fifi said the construction of the berm and the overall development plan would generate employment, beautify the area and improve sanitation from Phases 1 to 5.

Work to be done

Thomas said the company had met at the Beetham Government Primary School to discuss issues affecting the community like poor drainage, pollution from industrial effluent, vehicle emissions and the nearby landfill.

High unemployment, low incomes, inadequate social infrastructure and informal settlements with poor housing conditions and physical infrastructure were also addressed.

Among the other proposals highlighted were the upgrade and refurbishment of a multi purpose court at Beetham Phase 4, cleaning, clearing and rehabilitation of roadside drains and construction of an East Port-of-Spain Sport and Cultural Complex.

There were also plans to upgrade the recreation ground at Phase 2 and develop homework and business development programmes.

Crime challenge

"The challenges are high levels of crime and established contractors unwilling to work there. Contractors had to stop work. Tendering process went out for the berm," she said.

She said there were plans to extend the landscaped berm to the Priority Bus Route to provide a buffer between the community and the road, improve its aesthetics and reduce the noise and pollution affecting the area.

"The landscaped berm would protect against noise and fumes and afford the residents' privacy. There are breaks in the berm. It allows for pedestrian traffic, not vehicular traffic," she said.

When it comes to upgrading the PBR area, she added, "They are looking at small kiosks to replace the tents and shacks there...like the thriving bar-be-cue business."

Work to be done

Crime challenge

« Last Edit: October 26, 2008, 07:46:55 AM by TriniCana »

Re: Wall was approved by Beetham groups’
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2008, 07:40:05 PM »
dry so ??? After all dese years the government finally get ah heart ??

What about the view from dey highway ?? dey fixin dat sight too ??

Wait lemme guess, somebody coming for ah visit nuh ? Elizabeth nah?

« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2008, 08:34:04 PM »
5 million to put up a wall ? why dont they use the money to help the citizens fix there property  instead of hiding dem from de public..

« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2008, 10:10:35 PM »
dry so ??? After all dese years the government finally get ah heart ??

What about the view from dey highway ?? dey fixin dat sight too ??

Wait lemme guess, somebody coming for ah visit nuh ? Elizabeth nah?

Heads of state from OAS countries I believe... including the U.S.

They need a six-foot drop-off at de back ah dat four-foot wall.  Criminals have to negotiate ah 10-foot climb tuh get to the highway, and ah 10-foot jump tuh run way after... hopefully they'll break something in de process.

« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2008, 10:39:33 PM »
Reminds me of the wall Balaguer built in the Dominican Republic to block the view of shanties after constructing the big dollars lighthouse in honour of Columbus. Today it is in poor condition ... the lighthouse that is. $5m? Go figure.

vBeetham residents working on DVD to expose neglect
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2009, 12:07:16 PM »
Beetham residents working on DVD to expose neglect
Shaliza Hassanali | 9:10 pm
Published: March 14th, 2009
 Shaliza Hassanali | 9:10 pm
Outraged residents of Beetham Gardens are producing a Digital Video Disc (DVD) for the Fifth Summit of the Americas, to expose the wanton neglect of their community by the People’s National Movement administration. On Thursday, a videographer began documenting footage of the depressed, filthy and deplorable conditions in which the residents are forced daily to live.

When completed, the DVD will be distributed to the 34 Heads of Government in the Western Hemisphere expected to converge in Port-of-Spain from April 17 to 19 to exchange ideas and opinions on political, economic, social and security challenges. “We will find a way to get the DVDs to them, so they could see the community’s years of neglect at the hands of the PNM Government,” said resident Ricky Rudder. If this plan fails, Rudder said they would line the borders of their homes with placards to expose the uncaring treatment meted out to them.

“The world needs to see what is going on in Beetham Gardens. We often hear that Trinidad and Tobago is moving towards developed country status, but this is the furthest from the truth. “Daily, people are suffering for basic necessities, such as water, paved roads, proper healthcare, transportation and food, while the Government is on a spending spree with taxpayers’ money,” Rudder complained. “Beetham is unliveable. You think Manning would come here to live? No!,” Rudder said, giving vent to his feelings. The first eyesore that was captured on film was the murky drain that runs parallel to the Priority Bus Route from Phases One to Five.

Filled with garbage, dead animals and green stagnant water, the drain gives off an offensive odour, and has not been cleaned in months. Attorney Annabelle Davis, who accompanied the videographer, slammed the Government for erecting a berm and wall at the 11th hour of the Summit, costing over $5 million, “when this six-foot drain is visibly offensive” and people are struggling to eke out a living in the impoverished community. “There are more pressing issues the Government should deal with. The residents deserve holistic development. They have absolutely no respect and regard for the people who live here,” she said. Davis said construction of the berm and wall showed that plasters were being put over sores, instead of dealing with burning issues.

Rudder said the drain was a breeding ground for mosquitoes, unsafe for children, gave off an unbearable stench, and posed a health hazard. “With the slightest drizzle, the entire place floods, because the water has no where to run off. Is years we facing this. The Government don’t care about us. They doing what they want to poor people.” In the coming days, Davis said footage of other issues would be filmed, such as unemployment, the squalor in which the residents live, and how single parents are unable to cope with rising inflation. “Many of them are unable to feed and send their children to school. These things must be brought to the fore

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
Re: vBeetham residents working on DVD to expose neglect
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2009, 12:10:25 PM »
see the summit post
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2009, 03:55:14 PM »
I know that canal since I was home. Why the betham Association don't clean it themselves. They are the closet residents to the La Basse. They don't have very far to dump the stuff. On the hand what do we expect from this government. Some of their priorities are misplaced. The LaBasse should be closed. That is over 50 years going to sixty years. POS has expanded. The city  needs more space. The LaBasse needs to close and Betham clean up. Not a superficial clean up.

« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2009, 08:05:37 PM »
remember when the one time they vote for someone else back in '86? Soon after they had something called the national clean up drive. I was small back then, but i never see so much community unity since.

To much people does vote today for some lil thing they could get tomorrow (CEPEP) they not willing to work and sacrifice (in the bad times) for the bigger picture, hence the downfall of the NAR. NAR came at the wrong time when the treasury was empty. Too bad.

« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2009, 05:55:50 PM »
not the dvd but some good vibes showing in the beetham
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/zYCpz4mNsxE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/zYCpz4mNsxE</a>
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zYCpz4mNsxE

« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2009, 06:29:15 PM »
What copa setic?

« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2009, 12:37:22 AM »
let dem keep voting Manning and things guh work fi dem..

« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2009, 05:50:17 AM »
wat d residents hope to achieve?..it come like a lil chile wen a visitor come to d home an d chile tell d visitor "mamee nuh givin meh food tuh eat"..all d visitor wud do is smile an pat d chile an d head an say "doh worry yuh mamee wud giv yuh somtin tuh eat jes now" an den go dey way (mind u d chile mite geh some good licks wen d visitor leave)....yuh feel all dem political figures nuh dealin wit d same ting back home? steups....beetham jus shamin deyself...

« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2009, 07:43:20 AM »
Alyuh doh want to say it any time trinbago stop voting kneegar ,koolie things might change but ah doh think that could ever happen it to beneficial to some people .

« Reply #15 on: March 21, 2009, 08:12:06 AM »
Alyuh doh want to say it any time trinbago stop voting kneegar ,koolie things might change but ah doh think that could ever happen it to beneficial to some people .

don't see that happening for decades

« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2009, 03:14:41 PM »
Breds , i not in the indian african stand off ! for me it kinda stupid!

but when panday came to power, he stirred up a lot of bad feelings amounst the masses with his pro indian views, and it showed in the way  he went about things.

the man only big up his constsituence and neglect the rest of the country.

this pro indian behavior don't belong in politics, he shoulda stayed a union man and left politics to the ppl who love the country. not a race monger like himself.

when panday was in power, is only indians who was enjoying success in T&T, the african and mixed population was ignored!

@ least manning does ignore the east POS and invirons, but does bigg up the rest ah the country, and that's a lot more than you could say for panday. that fella really inhibit race relations in T&T.

« Reply #17 on: March 22, 2009, 10:01:55 AM »

but when panday came to power, he stirred up a lot of bad feelings amounst the masses with his pro indian views, and it showed in the way  he went about things.

this pro indian behavior don't belong in politics, he shoulda stayed a union man and left politics to the ppl who love the country. not a race monger like himself.

when panday was in power, is only indians who was enjoying success in T&T, the african and mixed population was ignored!

@ least manning does ignore the east POS and invirons, but does bigg up the rest ah the country, and that's a lot more than you could say for panday. that fella really inhibit race relations in T&T.

dread is people like you who have Trini in di state it is  . Panday is a c**t but not a bigger c**t than Manning. mi nuh rate none a dem but when UNC was in charge not only indian was reeping sucess di whole country was. You are the problem with Trinidad by saying only indian was reeping sucess .   TNT was a place anyone was safe to visit and money running , money gotten stolen , and all kind a things going on. Stadium building, airport building. The ppl of trini still benefitted from UNC . wey de ppl of TNT benefitting now. PNM and Panday needs to be removed from politic so Trinidad can be  nice again.
I guh bring up somehting and leave yu to think bout it . You say Indians only was reeping sucess from UNC Government , Manning closed down Caroni, (nuff Indian working there) and left URP open(where members from The same crew that over throw our government controlls ) . How many URP formean have been gun down  since Yu fadda Manning tek over? Dread I does come here and talk mi football but when I see People praising a f**kin shit hound it does tell me what type of person you are.. I guh still hail when I see yu cya MI love mi people!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Trini's need to stop crying and tek wood is dem  who vote manning not me
war..

« Reply #18 on: March 23, 2009, 03:01:02 AM »

dread is people like you who have Trini in di state it is  . Panday is a c**t but not a bigger c**t than Manning. mi nuh rate none a dem but when UNC was in charge not only indian was reeping sucess di whole country was. You are the problem with Trinidad by saying only indian was reeping sucess .   TNT was a place anyone was safe to visit and money running , money gotten stolen , and all kind a things going on. Stadium building, airport building. The ppl of trini still benefitted from UNC . wey de ppl of TNT benefitting now. PNM and Panday needs to be removed from politic so Trinidad can be  nice again.
I guh bring up somehting and leave yu to think bout it . You say Indians only was reeping sucess from UNC Government , Manning closed down Caroni, (nuff Indian working there) and left URP open(where members from The same crew that over throw our government controlls ) . How many URP formean have been gun down  since Yu fadda Manning tek over? Dread I does come here and talk mi football but when I see People praising a f**kin shit hound it does tell me what type of person you are.. I guh still hail when I see yu cya MI love mi people!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Trini's need to stop crying and tek wood is dem  who vote manning not me
war..

Breds , me and you never had nutten , so do go on like i does oppose yuh and dis is yuh opportunity tuh get even.

like i said tuh zulu, i not in the indian african mele! is 20 odd yrs now i in foreign, and i will never leave here tuh live in trini ever again....... that is................ if trini continue to be a banana republic!!

when i was livin in T&T i real suffer tuh get steady employment and higher education, so i ride out and never look back, and for that i'm extremely proud of meh self! why?? BC i woulda never get an education in life if i stayed on ah backward underprivileged 100 by 50 rock!!!!!!!!!

don't gey me wrong! i don't hate my country , but i saw what backward politicians can do to a naive ppl!! take forinstance the youths in the ghetto, them yutes is the victims of poverty, but the ppl with money only exploiting their weakness and puttin them out on the front line tuh do their dirty work, thus taking all the blame for the decadence in the society!

breds! as for manning and panday, i not in the local politics, and if i was i would be an NJAC supporter 1000%!

panday IME is a forkin racist bastard, and that's not due to speculation! it's what i know BC my pops was a union man who had dealings wid panday before you born!

as for manning! he's another politician like panday who using poor black ppl for political gain!! and while we on the subject of panday and manning power abuse, what did panday do for black ppl when he was in power, and yeh, manning close down caroni LTD BC it was a liability!

just like BEEWEE, it was costing the government too much money tuh maintain ! it was far more economically feasible to import sugar rather than produce it , plus the sugar workers got a great severance package, and while we on the subject, a lot of ppl does feel that it was only indians who was working in the sugar industry, well FYI it had a lot of african and spanish who was employed by caroni LTD.

like i said,i not in no coolie naygar argument boss ! as for rural indians, they too forkin klanish and love the racist nonsense, and town Africans, they need tuh come too the 21st century and stop making excuses for the lack of effort! and start taking responsibility for their actions.

as previously stated , i not in no african-indian argument! i hate dat real bad! another thing i hate is trini politicians, but if i had tuh chose between panday and manning i choosing manning! BC that fella does pass POS east straight and don't even stop tuh peek out he widow , and that's is PNM strongest hold!

panday on the other hand , every thing is for his constituency! so it's fair to say @ least every body does get ah shake form manning shak shak, but panday shak shak is only rural indians, if yuh doh have an ethnic name, then no shake fuh you! and if yuh don't believe meh then ask maharaj!
« Last Edit: April 24, 2009, 08:00:21 PM by just cool »

« Reply #19 on: April 05, 2009, 12:43:09 AM »
Beetham documentary to hit the Internet

Kim Boodram

Sunday, April 5th 2009

'BLOCKING US OUT'

A documentary highlighting life on the Beetham Estate is set to be released on the Internet just prior to the 5th Summit of the Americas in less that two weeks time.

The film, structured along the lines of "reality tv show" is being created by a group of residents led by activist lawyer Annabelle Davis. One of the producers of the DVD, Anderson Wilson, was last week jailed, allegedly for an arms and ammunition charge. Anderson was also once hired by the East Port of Spain Development Company to build part of the berm on the Priority Bus Route. The contract was taken away a few months ago from Wilson and given to the contractor who is building the highway berm.

Wilson's absence from the film project hasn't stopped work continuing-Davis and another community member has pledged to continue making the documentary which they say is intended to bring local and international attention to issues like poverty, illiteracy, unemployment and a generally poor standard of living among most of the Beetham's residents.

Davis told the Sunday Express that the documentary has nothing to do with the Fifth Summit of the Americas beginning on April 17 in Port of Spain nor the presence of President of the United States, Barack Obama at the Summit, but that it was a tool to be used to fight against the ongoing problems of the community.

"This is not about the summit," Davis insisted.

"The problems in this community are ongoing and we will continue to highlight them long after the Summit. We had decided, myself, Anderson Wilson and another member of the community, to make this film to highlight the way people are living and the problems in the area, the poverty, the police brutality and so on.

"Presently, we have enough footage to start, which we will be doing, and the cameras will also continue to roll. We intend to place this footage on YouTube in the form of a documentary that can be shown to the world. This wasn't really centered on (Barack) Obama but is meant to show what the issues are."

Beetham residents being led by Davis are also opposed to the construction of the berm alongside the Beetham, on the north along the Priority Bus Route, and south, on the Churchill Roosevelt Highway.

Very much a work in progress, only the walls that will support the berms have so far been constructed, and piles of earth are placed against some parts. Foliage and greenery of various kinds will be planted on these earth mounds.

Visible on the highway side of the Beetham are already planted, nearly full-grown coconut and other trees.

Beetham residents' views are mixed on the issue of the 'wall'.

Some residents said they are almost completely clueless about the planned development of the area and they "read about it in the papers" like everybody else.

"I really don't know what is going on," said one middle-aged woman.

"I heard since last year that a wall was going up and they were making a berm, and then I come and see that a wall going up fast, fast last month.

"Last year one of my neighbours went to a consultation and she is saying now that what they doing is not what they had told the people about.

"Around my phase where I live, we just hearing from other people what happening. Now they come and have this bacchanal about who want wall and who don't want wall, and some of we just staying out because people and they family get kill for less."

Some residents do feel the berm will serve a constructive purpose and will beautify the area, but for others, there's no permanency in this project.

"Family, hear what going to happen, we taking the work and we will eat ah food and then that wall coming down," said one resident.

"Best they name here the Emperor Valley Zoo if they feel they leaving that wall there. What the people of Beetham need is not a wall. We need schools for our children, good community programmes for our youths, we need good drainage to keep the place clean. We don't need no berm to encourage the youths and them to lime and idle more.

"They feel that will change something in here? What will happen is that it will still be the same Beetham, and berm will become part of the culture.

"'Ah going an lime on the berm' is what you will hear. They could say what they want, this wall is nothing more than they don't want none of them foreigners to see the Beetham. They want to block we out."

« Reply #20 on: April 05, 2009, 06:00:30 AM »
Morning

Lemme tief dis paragraph to ponder on:

"Best they name here the Emperor Valley Zoo if they feel they leaving that wall there. What the people of Beetham need is not a wall. We need schools for our children, good community programmes for our youths, we need good drainage to keep the place clean. We don't need no berm to encourage the youths and them to lime and idle more.

Now, let me start with that drain he talking about. Haul he arse. Who ole stove and fridge together with ole clothes and paper bag that clogging up that same drain, frigging Donna Cox own ?

There is a community center on the outskirts of Beetham. You can see it from the Bus Route side...not far from the children nursery. Anyway, the building is there, teachers, volunteers there, but who sending dey children there ? Furthermore who want to go to the Beetham when you ain't sure you coming back out how you went in in the first place ? Success Laventille, uhmm the new Government school (cyah remember the name). Doesn't matter the time you pass those schools, you will SEE the pupils outside liming, jumping into maxis and going in Frederick Street to 'hook up'.

Look lemme add dis line before ah get jam. 'Ah not saying is only those 2 schools that does happen in...ALL schools'  All the resources are there for you to grab ie free education, books, evening classes, 'dedicated teachers', St Vincent dey Paul have some programe with Sevol to help those in need of school books, uniforms etc. What he want now, is for the authorities to drag other people children to school ?

As dey saying goes ' you can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink'

Look lemme go and enjoy dey sun outside oui

« Reply #21 on: April 05, 2009, 03:16:18 PM »
If you are not part of the solution, then you are part of the problem. Instead of putting your time into making a DVD how about putting in the time tuh improve your communities?

« Reply #22 on: April 05, 2009, 03:42:58 PM »
Morning

Lemme tief dis paragraph to ponder on:

Now, let me start with that drain he talking about. Haul he arse. Who ole stove and fridge together with ole clothes and paper bag that clogging up that same drain, frigging Donna Cox own ?

There is a community center on the outskirts of Beetham. You can see it from the Bus Route side...not far from the children nursery. Anyway, the building is there, teachers, volunteers there, but who sending dey children there ? Furthermore who want to go to the Beetham when you ain't sure you coming back out how you went in in the first place ? Success Laventille, uhmm the new Government school (cyah remember the name). Doesn't matter the time you pass those schools, you will SEE the pupils outside liming, jumping into maxis and going in Frederick Street to 'hook up'.

Look lemme add dis line before ah get jam. 'Ah not saying is only those 2 schools that does happen in...ALL schools'  All the resources are there for you to grab ie free education, books, evening classes, 'dedicated teachers', St Vincent dey Paul have some programe with Sevol to help those in need of school books, uniforms etc. What he want now, is for the authorities to drag other people children to school ?

As dey saying goes ' you can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink'

Look lemme go and enjoy dey sun outside oui

Dey have free education from nursery to tertiary. Dey gettin breakfast/lunch. Books free, bus tickets free and most impt family planning free. Dey eh takin none. But dey cussin Manning. It have slum in Caroni u tink Bas fix dem he was 2 busy playin golf. Dem chirren takin al what d Manning govt providin and votin UNC. Check d technology centre by d tambrand tree on d EMR d students eh from d area. Dey 2 busy shootin each other up. So make all yuh documentary d wall eh high enough. Dey eh want 2 b part of d society wit dey behavior so wall dem in I say 

« Reply #23 on: April 05, 2009, 06:19:16 PM »
If you are not part of the solution, then you are part of the problem. Instead of putting your time into making a DVD how about putting in the time tuh improve your communities?

gorm ah could hug ya
:applause: :applause:

« Reply #24 on: April 05, 2009, 06:22:43 PM »
weary what is dey name of that new government high/secondary school by the Beetham ?
New as in maybe 5 years old ??? I remembered it being dark grey.

« Reply #25 on: April 06, 2009, 10:03:32 AM »
They should vote for ah "dougla" ;D

« Reply #26 on: April 06, 2009, 09:28:35 PM »
weary what is dey name of that new government high/secondary school by the Beetham ?
New as in maybe 5 years old ??? I remembered it being dark grey.

Excel Composite it is now a Pimary school will have 2 check d name Excel govt primary I tink

« Reply #27 on: April 07, 2009, 08:57:54 AM »

gorm ah could hug ya
:applause: :applause:
Ent! Meh cousin just tell meh police ketch some trying to tag up the wall with grafiti, and some fella does now be liming by and on de wall.

« Reply #28 on: April 15, 2009, 06:23:52 AM »
They gaining some international press attention already

Video and Photos hear => http://www.miamiherald.com/news/americas/v-fullstory/story/1000194.html

Community wall sparks poverty debate ahead of summit in Trinidad
The construction of a 'beautifying' wall along a troubled community in Trinidad has sparked a debate about poverty ahead of the Fifth Summit of the Americas.
Trinidad readies for Summit of the AmericasTrinidad prepares for the Summit of the Americas, which starts Friday.

Trinidad readies for Summit of the Americas
Trinidad prepares for the Summit of the Americas, which starts Friday.
•Trinidad readies for Summit of the Americas
•Photos BY JACQUELINE CHARLES
jcharles@MiamiHerald.com
PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad -- The residents of Beetham Gardens, a drab area of rundown government housing and relentless gang warfare, have been cut off from the rest of this sprawling Trinidadian capital.

The government has erected a wall along the neighborhood's frayed edges, blocking the view into a long troubled community that shares space with the murky waters of industrial waste, overgrown weeds and the constant stench of the nearby landfill.

The 5-foot-tall wall is simply a beautifying touch, say government officials, who have spent months prepping for the arrival this week of 33 leaders including President Barack Obama at the largest and most important gathering of hemispheric leaders.

But to those who live behind the wall, the structure means something else: It's a symbol of years of broken promises, government neglect and the widening gap between the haves and have-nots.

''They can talk prosperity. They can talk about development. But there can be no development in a country if you continue to leave behind any community or any of your people,'' said Sherma Wilson, 42, a mother of four and community activist who has taken on the plight of this long-suffering east Port of Spain community. ``The peace we seek? We can only do that if we develop community by community.''

As Obama and Secretary of State Hillary Clinton prepare to engage regional leaders at the three-day summit that begins Friday, the question of deep-rooted social and income inequalities in the region will be a priority for the new administration.

''We know that there has been progress . . . in this hemisphere on gross domestic product increase and reduction of poverty, particularly abject poverty,'' said Jeffrey Davidow, a former U.S. ambassador in Latin America and now a White House special advisor for the summit.

HIGH INEQUITY

``But the fact remains that Latin America, according to the United Nations, is the least equal of all the areas of the world. The level of inequity . . . is very high, higher than anywhere else.''

Until the current global economic crisis, Latin America and Caribbean countries had seen six years of robust economic growth following ''the lost decade'' debt crisis of the 1980s.

But as standards of living have increased, governments have struggled to meet the social and economic needs of their poorest citizens. From Port-au-Prince to Buenos Aires, where residents recently took a sledgehammer to a 10-foot ''Wall of Discord'' separating an impoverished neighborhood from a wealthy enclave, poverty persists.

Here in this oil- and natural gas-rich country, disagreement over the construction of the wall hasn't sparked its dismantling. Instead, it has fostered debate on not just the failures of the past, but the perils of growth.

''When you look at Beetham and understand the kinds of natural resources and wealth this country have, you ask yourself, why do communities like Beetham have to be in this poverty-stricken position?'' said Juliet Davy, 43, who moved to Beetham 38 years ago and fears the wall will make residents more vulnerable to crime. ``The government has taken the people for granted.''

Fueled by rising world oil prices, Trinidad and Tobago's economy has seen more than a decade of growth, hitting 12 percent in 2006, according to the World Bank. Even today as oil prices drop, the economy is still thriving as the twin-island nation boasts one of the highest per-capita incomes and lowest unemployment rates -- 5 percent -- in the region.

But pockets of poverty persist in places like Beetham Gardens, where some residents have threatened to produce a DVD to distribute to leaders.

''I am not ashamed to tell people I am from Beetham,'' said Anthony Bailey, adding that the squalor of his surroundings offers little hope for a better life. ``Every place I go, when you say you are from Beetham, you are stigmatized.''

Bailey, a father of two, says he was unemployed for two years before he was hired by the government ''to help beautify'' Beetham. He makes $29 a day, and gets paid every two weeks, he says. It's something, but still not enough when you are $2,000 behind in child support payments, he notes.

''For years, they didn't do nothing,'' he says about the government's lack of attention to Beetham, a stronghold of the ruling People's National Movement party. 'Just they hear Obama comin' there is all kind of work. Soon as they hear he comin' they put up the wall.''

Beetham Gardens is located near the Beetham Highway, a main thoroughfare into the city. There's no guarantee Obama or any of the hemispheric leaders will see it out the windows of their speeding motorcades. Recently the State Department updated its website, telling visitors that the Beetham Highway ''is dangerous'' if vehicles break down.

Government officials say the wall -- which they call a berm -- was requested by Beetham residents in a 2006 survey. ''The complaints about [the Beetham project] are nonsensical,'' said Mariano Browne, minister of trade and industry. ``We've had a number of difficulties in doing it because Beetham also had a number of people whom we can say were a little lawless and their idea was any contractor who came to do work in their area should hire them.''

Browne says 40 percent of government spending goes to aiding the poor.

''The argument would be maybe we aren't being sufficient enough in those areas, in those expenditures,'' he said. ``A substantial portion of the 40 percent is spent on training, additional programs to help those who are falling behind. We have a whole series of programs.''

But even Wilson, who sees value in the wall, says government has not done enough.

''Things are happening but at a slow pace,'' she said.

Once an all-squatter's community with people living in wooden shacks, Beetham was born more than 35 years ago out of the government's decision to finance construction of concrete homes with running water, indoor plumbing, electricity and even mail delivery. Five phases were built, and residents' quality of life improved.

CRIME INCREASE

But years of neglect and a national increase in violent crime -- which some link to the poverty -- have left residents vulnerable.

Still, even with its spiking murder and other crime rates, this stable democracy is far from exploding. The same can't be said for other nations in the region, where the global financial meltdown has sparked a slowdown in remittances, threatening human prosperity. This worries Obama, U.S. officials say.

''This is a new president looking for a new way to engage in the Americas who recognizes that the single biggest problem the region faces now is how to deal with the economic crisis and how to protect the poorest and most vulnerable countries of the region, and make sure in those countries, this economic crisis doesn't become a social and political crisis,'' Assistant Secretary of State Thomas Shannon told The Miami Herald.

''We and our colleagues have to show that democracies are capable of managing this kind of crisis,'' he added, ``in a way that doesn't require the cost to be borne by the poor because this is a region that has made a lot of progress in fighting poverty and in fighting inequality.''
« Last Edit: April 15, 2009, 06:26:45 AM by Babalawo »

« Reply #29 on: April 15, 2009, 07:37:59 AM »
*singing*

PATTTRRRIIICCCCCCCCKKKK WE STEPPING OUT WITH YOU!!