June 04, 2024, 02:46:22 AM

Author Topic: El Fenômeno - Ronaldo  (Read 32412 times)

Re: El Fenômeno - Ronaldo
« Reply #30 on: October 30, 2008, 02:38:12 PM »
That Jordan analogy is horrible. Jordan got injured in his 2nd year in the league. And I don't think anyone considered him the best in the world while he was in college or else he would have been drafted #1, not 3.

So you comparing that to Ronaldo who got TWO injuries AFTER already having won a world cup, player of the year and numerous domestic titles.

Talk about a stretch.

Ronaldo Returns!
« Reply #31 on: March 05, 2009, 07:46:29 AM »
Some courage in dis fella. He'll always be a shadow of his former self, but he is a legend.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=624806&sec=global&cc=5901

Former World Player of the Year Ronaldo made his long-awaited return from injury on Wednesday, but it was marred by a post-match media scrum which left the player nursing a black eye.

The 32-year-old, who has spent 13 months out of the game with yet another knee injury, came on in the second half of Corinthians' 2-0 win at Itumbiara in a Copa Brasil game.

He was mobbed by the press at full time when leaving the pitch and was given the black eye when a microphone was shoved into his face. The striker was surrounded by two dozen reporters and cameramen all battling to gain the first interview after his comeback.

Ronaldo appeared to have a badly bruised and swollen right eye when he finally escaped the playing area. He left the stadium without officially addressing the press.

"He had a good debut, moved well and tried a few dribbles," Corinthians coach Mano Menezes told reporters. In his favoured number nine shirt, Ronaldo had little chance to impress back in Brazilian football for the first time in 15 years after coming on in the 67th minute.

Ronaldo ruptured a tendon in his left knee in a Serie A game playing for AC Milan against Livorno and then left the Italian club at the end of his contract last summer. He joined Corinthians in December in a surprise move and has taken nearly three months to reach match fitness.

The former Barcelona, Real Madrid, PSV Eindhoven and Inter Milan player has suffered two serious injuries to his other knee in the past and it had been speculated that he would not recover from the latest setback. He has also struggled with weight problems and a lack of form in recent seasons.

He has courted controversy throughout his career and it has been no different at Corinthians. Last week he was suspended by the club after failing to return to the team hotel on time after the players were allowed out for the evening.

Corinthians were already 2-0 ahead when Ronaldo came on, Chicao and Andre Santos having scored either side of half-time.

Re: Ronaldo Returns!
« Reply #32 on: March 05, 2009, 07:51:52 AM »
glad to see him back.

hard luck for the black eye though.....the reporter was probably owing him that. :devil:

« Reply #33 on: March 05, 2009, 08:05:41 AM »
Respect O Fenômeno.
Just watch the man stats
                                   () goals
Cruzeiro                         14 (12)
PSV                              45 (42)
FC Barcelona                  37 (34)
Internazionale                 68 (49)
Real Madrid                     127 (83)
Milan                              20 (9)
Corinthians                          1 (0) 

Brazil                              97 (62)

291 goals over 409.An average of 0.71 goals per game and 0.64 goals per game in International football.

« Last Edit: March 05, 2009, 08:23:06 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #34 on: March 05, 2009, 08:25:49 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/NIpZ9vObEK8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/NIpZ9vObEK8</a>

« Reply #35 on: March 05, 2009, 08:32:31 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/HHVqONROZQA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/HHVqONROZQA</a>

« Reply #36 on: March 05, 2009, 08:34:37 AM »
can't deny at all the man was one of the greatest to lace up his boots, outside of the pitch tho is a next thing.

« Reply #37 on: March 05, 2009, 09:14:43 AM »
but that greedy forward coulda pass de fenomeno de ball to score in the clip there..

« Reply #38 on: March 05, 2009, 10:56:51 AM »
can't deny at all the man was one of the greatest to lace up his boots, outside of the pitch tho is a next thing.

he loves the trannies  :devil:

Offline Strip

« Reply #39 on: March 05, 2009, 11:24:09 AM »
the boss back in action!!

but that greedy forward coulda pass de fenomeno de ball to score in the clip there..

I second that :beermug:

« Reply #40 on: March 05, 2009, 12:14:59 PM »
D original is back now d copy eh badddddddd but d original is back.

« Reply #41 on: March 05, 2009, 12:46:53 PM »
Best player ever...

Good luck R9

« Reply #42 on: March 05, 2009, 02:00:07 PM »
He not looking like himself. YOu could see in his stride his running has changed drastically (shorter steps) guess cause he's just coming back.

« Reply #43 on: March 05, 2009, 02:37:14 PM »
He not looking like himself. YOu could see in his stride his running has changed drastically (shorter steps) guess cause he's just coming back.

He will never be himself again- He hasn't been himself for years...

After the number of times he's gone under the knife for near career ending injuries, it's good to see him still playing.

« Reply #44 on: March 05, 2009, 02:50:15 PM »

After the number of times he's gone under the knife for near career ending injuries, it's good to see him still playing.

Cosign

« Reply #45 on: March 05, 2009, 03:29:08 PM »

Cosign

Dais when ball is yuh life

« Reply #46 on: March 05, 2009, 03:52:46 PM »

« Reply #47 on: March 05, 2009, 04:07:58 PM »
I saw a documentary called The History of Football were in its segment concerning money in the game they did an interview with Ronaldo. They highlighted the sums of money involved in his club transfers, salaries endorsements etc. and how different it is from the past. Ronaldo was basically saying that regardless of the monetary rewards he would still play football. I nice reminder that at the end of the day you play the game because you love it.

« Reply #48 on: March 06, 2009, 06:19:42 AM »
If you watch the man stats, they really amazing. At Milan, he did nothing, was a shadow of himself and they called him tubbye yet he still score a goal nearly every other game! And at Inter he seem to be always recovering from injury yet he still had a phenomenal strike rate.

But what club do you associate him with? I still picture him in an Inter uniform more than a Real one for some reason.

« Reply #49 on: March 06, 2009, 07:43:01 AM »
If you watch the man stats, they really amazing. At Milan, he did nothing, was a shadow of himself and they called him tubbye yet he still score a goal nearly every other game! And at Inter he seem to be always recovering from injury yet he still had a phenomenal strike rate.

But what club do you associate him with? I still picture him in an Inter uniform more than a Real one for some reason.

All except Milan and Cruzeiro. I still even associate him with PSV and Barca.

« Reply #50 on: March 06, 2009, 08:03:04 AM »
He had an amazing year at Barca but when he was in the blue and black stripes is when I remember him most.

Even when he was coming back from injury jes the thought of him and Vieri lining up together........humph!!!

« Reply #51 on: March 06, 2009, 08:48:33 AM »
He had an amazing year at Barca but when he was in the blue and black stripes is when I remember him most.

Even when he was coming back from injury jes the thought of him and Vieri lining up together........humph!!!
To me he played his best football at Inter. Even though he did great things at Real. Before that injury at Inter  he was absolutely unstoppable. At Real he was a slower player .

« Reply #52 on: March 06, 2009, 09:53:32 AM »

But what club do you associate him with?

Ronaldo- Madrid... Even though his best years were arguably elsewhere...(his first season at Madrid was deadly though)

I was playing a game recently where one person would name a player who's played at a few clubs and ask which is the (club) team that you would associate the player most with  (yeah a real peong game) The answers were interesting. Some of the more popular responses I remember:

Ronaldo- Madrid
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa
Zidane- Juventus
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca

« Reply #53 on: March 06, 2009, 10:23:13 AM »
When a recovering Ronaldo put Mr. Real Madrid (Raul) on the bench he earned a lot respect from me.

« Reply #54 on: March 06, 2009, 11:21:44 AM »

Ronaldo- Madrid... Even though his best years were arguably elsewhere...(his first season at Madrid was deadly though)

I was playing a game recently where one person would name a player who's played at a few clubs and ask which is the (club) team that you would associate the player most with  (yeah a real peong game) The answers were interesting. Some of the more popular responses I remember:

Ronaldo- Madrid
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa
Zidane- Juventus
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca

Yorke hadda be Man U dred due to sheer impact
Maradona has to be Napoli for the same reason

« Reply #55 on: March 06, 2009, 11:47:23 AM »
For Ronaldo to get back fit he need to leave Brasil.
No way he will drop weight with his favourite foods on every corner.
He should go England, the food there have no taste and he will drop weight quick quick.

« Reply #56 on: March 06, 2009, 12:39:10 PM »

Fowler- Leeds

What allyuh was smoking that night to associate Robbie Fowler with Leeds and not liverpool? The man name is still "God" at the Kop.

« Reply #57 on: March 06, 2009, 01:02:09 PM »

Fowler- Leeds

What allyuh was smoking that night to associate Robbie Fowler with Leeds and not liverpool? The man name is still "God" at the Kop.

Yeah that one was odd...but the peeps leading the charge on that one were Leeds men....I suppose everyone draws different associations for whatever reasons. 
« Last Edit: March 06, 2009, 01:04:00 PM by kicker »

« Reply #58 on: March 06, 2009, 08:28:29 PM »
Ronaldo- Madrid Inter
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds Liverpool
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa Signal Hill
Zidane- Juventus Madrid
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid Inter
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca Napoli

heheh

Offline Bamboo Prince

« Reply #59 on: March 07, 2009, 10:42:12 AM »
Ronaldo- Madrid Inter
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds Liverpool
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa Signal Hill
Zidane- Juventus Madrid
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid Inter
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca Napoli

heheh

Yeah buh wah is de realll question, wha club you associate dem with, or wha club you feel dey is in dey heart?

Ah feel plenty fans wanna believe dem players have a inalienable association with dey club, but hommuch ah dat is media hype, hommuch is just talk from de players before/after a transfer, etc...?   :thinking: