April 29, 2024, 07:27:58 AM

Author Topic: 35 nominated Caribbean Awards Sports Icons.  (Read 10160 times)

Offline jamaica98

Re: 35 nominated Caribbean Awards Sports Icons.
« Reply #30 on: October 30, 2008, 06:52:41 PM »
Oh jamaica 2099 change his name to jamaica98
Things looking up for dem
He move the year ahead by one
is JamaicaqualifyingforWCby2098 now? :devil:

cute --- but two totally different people. 

« Reply #31 on: October 30, 2008, 06:54:20 PM »
earle good but no latapy...esp considering his achievements, nominated for FIFA World player of the year

as for Ato he deserves it, if quarrie is there so should he...same olympic medal count.

usain is still too young, let him get through his career before he get his accolades, but he deserves a spot in the future...ato has done tons for the Caribbean in track and always bigging up his people.

this awards is a joke, i agree.  If you had to put two in each category winning who would u choose?

Latapy was nominated by the T&T coach who also nominated two other T&T players for FIFA player of the year.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #32 on: October 30, 2008, 06:55:57 PM »
So, no Haitians? ;D

Seriously though, in a perfect world Cuba and maybe DR would top the list.

« Last Edit: October 30, 2008, 06:59:08 PM by Toussaint »
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #33 on: October 30, 2008, 07:02:09 PM »
So, no Haitians? ;D

They probably shoulda say West Indain sports awards sports Icon. cause in reality dem baseball players from Dom. Republic.. woulda flock into large numbers..

on a next note.... were Jean Pierre ??

« Reply #34 on: October 30, 2008, 08:06:44 PM »
allyuh still on dis bullshit awards..jamaicans organise this bias shit and called it caribbean awards...ah man earlier brought up another good point (besides the Ato point)..where is jean pierre?...there are other west indian cricketers who have done better than walsh and holding and not awarded..dey could bun this friggin list cause most people in T&T dont give a shit bout this..

Offline jamaica98

« Reply #35 on: October 31, 2008, 05:21:38 AM »
So, no Haitians? ;D

I somewhat agree with Cuba, but which DR baseball player do you think would dominate....not to be argumentative, just curious.  ARod - never won anything, Sosa - Steroids.  I think Puerto Rico would/should have a few baseball players and boxers included.

I get your point about the West Indies though.

« Reply #36 on: October 31, 2008, 05:32:50 AM »
So, no Haitians? ;D

I somewhat agree with Cuba, but which DR baseball player do you think would dominate....not to be argumentative, just curious.  ARod - never won anything, Sosa - Steroids.  I think Puerto Rico would/should have a few baseball players and boxers included.

Are you kidding?

Off the top of my head: Manny Ramirez, Pedro Martinez & David Ortiz....
« Last Edit: October 31, 2008, 05:40:31 AM by kicker »

« Reply #37 on: October 31, 2008, 05:50:42 AM »

What about Surinam.

What was the man name who became the first blackman to win gold inna swimming pool in the olympics ?

« Reply #38 on: October 31, 2008, 05:56:32 AM »

What about Surinam.

What was the man name who became the first blackman to win gold inna swimming pool in the olympics ?

Anthony Nesty (who was born in Trinidad and migrated to Suriname early in his life)  :beermug:

« Reply #39 on: October 31, 2008, 05:57:42 AM »

What about Surinam.

Anthony Nesty  :beermug:
Who was born in T&T.

« Reply #40 on: October 31, 2008, 06:05:14 AM »

What about Surinam.

Anthony Nesty  :beermug:
Who was born in T&T.

Boss thanks for the reminder, Tallman for the roots.
Obviously this award thing did not have much research and the criteria dubious to say the least.
What about Stephen Ames ?
What about the Jamaican heavy that got murdered ? Was it Berbick?

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #41 on: October 31, 2008, 06:32:00 AM »
So, no Haitians? ;D

LOL. No way Cuba or DR can top any caribbean list of sporting personalities.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #42 on: October 31, 2008, 06:35:18 AM »
So, no Haitians? ;D

Are you kidding?

It doesnt help much wne Baseball is not a sport that is played throughout the caribbean. Football, cricket, netball etc are played by most nations in the caribbean...baseball is for the 3 latin countries (Cuba, PR, DR)

Perhaps someone in T&T should come uop with their own list....and make it 90% T&T sportsmen. then everyone would be happy :)

« Reply #43 on: October 31, 2008, 06:51:30 AM »
So, no Haitians? ;D

Are you kidding?

It doesnt help much wne Baseball is not a sport that is played throughout the caribbean. Football, cricket, netball etc are played by most nations in the caribbean...baseball is for the 3 latin countries (Cuba, PR, DR)

Perhaps someone in T&T should come uop with their own list....and make it 90% T&T sportsmen. then everyone would be happy :)

You're being facetious and silly.
If you look at some of the sports personalities that men have asked about here you would realise that this award is a misnomer since some true caribbean greats have been overlooked and the criteria used is obviously specious to say the least

« Reply #44 on: October 31, 2008, 03:55:59 PM »
The Award should be called the West Indian awards. It pertains to the English speaking Caribbean. Only the English speaking Caribbean plays cricket and netball. A true Caribbean award will have to be inclusive. That is how I see it.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #45 on: November 01, 2008, 08:33:39 AM »
The Award should be called the West Indian awards. It pertains to the English speaking Caribbean. Only the English speaking Caribbean plays cricket and netball. A true Caribbean award will have to be inclusive. That is how I see it.

To tell you the truth I grew up in the caribbean and have traveled a lot through the northern part of the region mostly from Cuba to St-Lucia (half of a circle!) I had never seen anyone playing cricket or heard anyone talking about it. The sport is quite unknown in french-speaking and spanish-speaking caribbean. In contrast baseball is 'hated' in non-hispanic caribbean but at least everybody knows what it is.

Here in the US, the only person who 'talks' cricket with me is an Indian colleague from work. Of course he has already noticed that my vocabulary is limited to just those few words: West-indies and Lara! ;D (As soon as I get those words off my chest, the conversation is over!!!)

On a different note, I think playing dominoes is the most popular past-time thoughout the caribbean. The rules are different though from one island to another.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #46 on: November 01, 2008, 02:09:19 PM »
If anything it might be more 'Beijing Bolt residue' than anything else - I don't feel slighted at all.