April 24, 2024, 07:53:44 PM

Author Topic: Greek player commits suicide after omission from squad  (Read 3771 times)

Greek player commits suicide after omission from squad
« on: October 29, 2008, 02:45:10 PM »
a trini would never do this.

ATHENS, Oct 29 (Reuters) - A Greek soccer player committed suicide after being left out of the squad for a
domestic cup game with Olympiakos Piraeus, police said on Wednesday.

The 25-year-old, Yiannis Koskiniatis, jumped off a 12-metre cliff after being omitted from third division Diagoras Rhodes’s squad to face the national champions in a fourth round match.

Police said the midfielder had left a note at the top of the cliff that read: “Being left out of the squad was a great injustice. I cannot take it any more.”

Koskiniatis had played 61 times for Diagoras, scoring four goals, but was sidelined all season following an operation on his injured left leg. Local media reported that the club had sent him for psychological help.

He went missing around midday when his team mates met for their pre-match lunch. His motorbike was found at about 1700 local time in the Profitis Ilias area just outside Rhodes town.

The news was relayed to the Diagoras players during a brief delay in the match, which they lost 3-2.

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=reu-europegreecesuicide&prov=reuters&type=lgns

Re: Greek player commits suicide after omission from squad
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2008, 02:52:55 PM »
tragic..........i never know a man cud tote so much feelings for a game :devil:

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2008, 03:12:10 PM »
that sad dread... 12m?he went head 1st or what?

« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2008, 03:17:46 PM »

ent!..an is not to say de man get omitted from de nat'l squad...is ah third string side de man flip off de cliff for

dais like killin yuhself for de only hunchback gyirl in yuh village

« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2008, 03:25:56 PM »
Sorry to hear that he took it so personal. He had serious issues which people around him did not detect. RIP baller! Go with God!!!!

« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2008, 03:36:03 PM »
de fella was right...look how dey loss.....manager got de tactics all wrong

« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2008, 04:15:44 PM »
real sad. rest in peace fella.

depression is a hell of a thing yes. this time it was football..but he probably would have gone off on any type of rejection.

is a small world. lewwe doh catch kix off de man

« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2008, 05:43:23 PM »
Sorry to hear that he took it so personal. He had serious issues which people around him did not detect. RIP baller! Go with God!!!!

Nah breds ... the people around him did detect something was wrong.
Koskiniatis had played 61 times for Diagoras, scoring four goals, but was sidelined all season following an operation on his injured left leg. Local media reported that the club had sent him for psychological help.

Sad story allround.

« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2008, 05:54:23 PM »
football ent a game. it's a passion....rel rel sad....RIP

« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2008, 05:59:56 PM »
RIP is only ah game lawddddddddddddd

« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2008, 06:07:32 PM »
Anybody ever see the documentary on Setanta with the Italian man suffering from schizophrenia?

The man wife said she wasn't sure if he was sick, so she take a guitar and buss it on the man head. She say if he was normal, he would blow she out afterwards .... if he was sick, he wouldn't say nuttin. Well he didn't say nuttin.

Went by the doctor, doctor invite him to knock some ball ... and he using that as part of therapy since then.

« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2008, 06:09:33 PM »
blessings to the man family....

I get take off half time in the oval 2 weeks ago...ah neary cry...serious... but ah jump off the bar instead...

sad story....

« Reply #12 on: October 30, 2008, 09:14:53 AM »
that wasn't the same thing that happen on a Dream Team episode?

« Reply #13 on: October 30, 2008, 09:21:26 AM »
lawdddd....hmmm football is ah passion eh...but come nah man, how yuh go jump off ah cliff cuz yuh eh geh pick...

but it kinda sad in a sense yea...but that soulja had to hv some kinda deficiency...that eh normal...de article mention something bout psychologist...

anyway fella R.I.P

« Reply #14 on: October 30, 2008, 09:42:32 AM »
While i feel for this guy,this one is scarey and not hard to understand,if you all notice the way some people play and support this game you will swere they are nuts,can you imagine being the Coach or Technical director of the team this guy was left off,this just added another dimention to the game,i'm sure he is feeling like he is responsible for the death of that guy,i wonder who is the next player he leaving of the team,i guess they will have to evaluate that guy before he do so,this is what nice about this game it never have a dull day.RIP Breds.   

« Reply #15 on: October 30, 2008, 09:45:15 AM »

ATHENS, Oct 29 (Reuters) - A Greek soccer player committed suicide after being left out of the squad for a

The 25-year-old, Yiannis Koskiniatis, jumped off a 12-metre cliff after being omitted from third division Diagoras Rhodes’s squad to face the national champions in a fourth round match.

Police said the midfielder had left a note at the top of the cliff that read: “Being left out of the squad was a great injustice. I cannot take it any more.”

He went missing around midday when his team mates met for their pre-match lunch. His motorbike was found at about 1700 local time in the Profitis Ilias area just outside Rhodes town.

The news was relayed to the Diagoras players during a brief delay in the match, which they lost 3-2.

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=reu-europegreecesuicide&prov=reuters&type=lgns

Well de unusual fuh me in these last few weeks, ah happen to be on de forum 2 consecutive days. Nice dat is cool. Me eh see nothing tuh make me even think about committing suicide in dis life nah, ah really mean dat, nothing, nothing, nothing. Ah mean what kind ah up bringing a human being cud have dat he cud want to take a precious thing, as his own life. As much as ah love and respect meh wife, not even she cud make me entertain dat thought, worst yet not being selected for a national team. Even if ah loose meh house, job and vehicles, ah might cry like ah baby, but is as far as it goes. Cuz de way dat I was brought by my christian parents, whom are Pentecostals (bless their hearts) and learning the streets as an adult, dat will never be in my thoughts. Well so sad for that player, I guess to each his own. Well Andre, ah doh know how long yuh have dat avatar dey, but ah just obserevd, cuz as yuh know ah doh be here these days, as de breddah here does say "Ah love it". Dis rush thing ah doing on de forum, hurry tuh post and get off, after ah come back and check meh post ah noticing a lot damn mistakes dat ah have to correct, steupsss. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2008, 10:30:05 AM by SUPA »

« Reply #16 on: October 30, 2008, 12:31:01 PM »
This man had more serious problems than football.  Sad, sad!

Offline #8

« Reply #17 on: October 30, 2008, 06:44:55 PM »

come on man shotta..yuh smarter than that. This isn't much different from those brazilians that jump off off buildings,crash their cars into buildings,start riots when brazil/team they support lose world cup/cup finals. To some people it's not just a game.It's life

Maybe de man was on a 'pay when you play' salary/contract and that game meant extra money to take care of the man family etc. I not talking down to you but really this story is not no skin thing(my opinion)

Offline #8

« Reply #18 on: October 30, 2008, 06:50:05 PM »

No. A trini woulda probably buss up de coach head,break up he car windows/puncture tires and pelt big stone at he house

« Reply #19 on: October 30, 2008, 07:12:42 PM »
That man was ah physco ,dey figure him out ah long time that is what yuh call being angry for the slightest 
 thing that bother yuh  . suppozin the man did get ah gun and pass out the team that would dah be a tragedy, but he did the rightest thing by passin himself out he iz ah weaklin . >:( >:( >:(