Yes
12 (17.9%)
No
34 (50.7%)
Hell Yes
21 (31.3%)

Total Members Voted: 66

Voting closed: January 02, 2006, 04:58:17 PM

Author Topic: Jamaica Football Thread.  (Read 475918 times)

Offline Swima

Re: Jamaica vs Grenada
« Reply #1710 on: June 11, 2008, 07:27:51 AM »
Like I said RF. If yuh lorse to dem, den is allyuh ass tuh ketch. We done beat dem fellas fuh d year already, and yuh lucky yuh come down by us and ehn leave with a 2-0 cutass.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #1711 on: June 11, 2008, 07:31:36 AM »
Like I said RF. If yuh lorse to dem, den is allyuh ass tuh ketch. We done beat dem fellas fuh d year already, and yuh lucky yuh come down by us and ehn leave with a 2-0 cutass.

Yuh understand.....before they worship de Bajan ref, dey on here talking ah setta shyte...sstteeuuuppsss!!

« Reply #1712 on: June 11, 2008, 07:52:19 AM »

Allyuh is de fackin Bolton Wanderers of CONCACAF.. Just ah ugliness and ah stain on de sport.

first thing for the morning I buss out laughing in the office

yuh eh right boy Omar, yuh jes eh right. But I might jes go so far as to say dem is ah stain on the caribbean.

« Reply #1713 on: June 11, 2008, 07:56:00 AM »
Wait nah...ent is only me and Big Mag that used to bash in these shithongs?    All that talk about Caribbean Unity   ::)

f**k off RF and other yardies... f**k off Simoes... f**k off Jamaica....

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1714 on: June 11, 2008, 08:14:23 AM »
Oh no Dutty nooooooooooooo I await RF etal response dey cyah come back from dat 1
Actually we Jamaicans can respond.

See. Jamaica has the 2 fastest runners in the WORLD. And they are BLACK . Leaving Trinis and the rest of the world sh????ing their shorts.

Now you come back from dat. ;D

Arhmm...due to crime...EVERY JAMAICAN KNOWS from the time you hear a gunshot...to run as fast as you can. Dey jus doing what comes naturally.

AND EVERY TRINI knows that the Trini-based Muslim Brotherhood attempted to murder innocent men, women and children when they plotted with a Guyanese to blow up airplanes in the US last year.

Never post a statement unless you are 100% sure that your country is infallible from the same crime or committed worse.
jjbrown

« Reply #1715 on: June 11, 2008, 08:27:40 AM »
Dont let him distract you guys, stick to the topic at hand and put pressure in they as...

2-1........................ :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1716 on: June 11, 2008, 08:34:48 AM »
Say what you will, but on Sunday this reporter will be proven right.

Reggae Boyz slowly finding the right blend
published: Wednesday | June 11, 2008

THE Reggae Boyz are fine-tuning under rather fortunate circumstances, fiddling with new players and formation ahead of upcoming World Cup qualifying matches on Sunday and next Wednesday against The Bahamas.

Due to the low FIFA ranking (167th) and standard of their opponents, the Boyz have been afforded a certain amount of luxury to prepare as they search for the right combination to first, clear the first hurdle, then deal with more serious obstacles down the road .

Though the saying wisely advises 'never count your chickens before they're hatched' - as proven in Olympic qualifiers last year when they shockingly eliminated Jamaica 1-0 in Haiti - one can't help looking past The Bahamian fixtures as they have no record of success or reckoning in regional football.

Between 1989 and '98 they failed to advance to the group stage of the Caribbean Cup competition, in 1995 and 2005, they were eliminated in group play and last year they got as far as the second round. Additionally, they drew matches 1-1 and 2-2 against The British Virgin Islands in late March.

Senior ballers

As far as World Cup qualifying goes Bahamas' senior ballers, called the 'Rake n' Scrape Boyz' or 'Baha Boyz', were eliminated in the first stage of the 2006 qualifiers when they tied, then lost to Dominica. If they had advanced, their opponents would have been Mexico, the team which subjected them to their worst defeat, 13-0 in 1987.

The fixtures have also become more advantageous because both legs are to be played here, as FIFA deemed venues in that country unfit for World Cup qualifying competition.

Over the last two weeks, the Boyz have intensified their tune-up with a training camp at Braco and three matches in one week. During this period, technical director and head coach Rene Simoes had looked at almost 30 players, some in several positions, and he has also made use of the opportunity to change the 4-4-2 formation for the interchangeable 3-5-2/5-3-2, that is expected to lend greater assurance, stability and flexibility to the team in attacking and defensive aspects.

Such alterations are sure to prove beneficial in the expected scheme of qualification to impending tough clashes down the line against Canada, Mexico and Honduras who, like Jamaica, should cruise through this second round CONCACAF series.

A sweeper will offer more coverage at the back, as opposed to the flat back four in which Jamaica have struggled to find a workable central duo with a level of cohesion to deny the clear runs to goal as happened on Trinidad and Tobago's first goal in their 2-2 draw with the Boyz at the National Stadium on March 26.

Simon Ford, one of the new recruits - from Scottish team Kilmarnock - filled that role fairly comfortably in the St Vincent and the Grenadines game and based on the fact that he has been used in that position up to yesterday, the last practice match, he appears to be Simoes' choice for the position.

There is another competent sweeper, Shavar Thomas, who missed several Major League Soccer games for his club Chivas USA, through injury, and is now just back on the bench. He was selected to the Jamaica squad in Simoes' first game upon his return this year, against Costa Rica, but was not used. That match ended 1-1.

Preferred choice

A bigger search, though, is on for a central midfielder. Omar Daley played in that role yesterday and Oneil Thompson looks to have played himself out of the role with a back-pass that led to the first goal against Trinidad and Tobago on Saturday in the 1-1 draw.

In the previous 4-4-2 formation Rudolph Austin operated well, but in the new scheme of things, he does not seem to be the preferred choice in the central area. He has been funnelled into the flank position where his capabilities for attacking and defending are still being utilised.

Tyrone Marshall, whom I consider to be the best player in the team, has been used just about everywhere, but his all-round ability, knowledge and understanding of the game makes him the perfect choice.

Fortunately, the Boyz are playing The Bahamas now. There's a bit more time to fiddle as they fine-tune.
jjbrown

Offline R45

« Reply #1717 on: June 11, 2008, 08:56:14 AM »
We may not compare, but we can contrast the performances.

That's a good way.....there is no measuring stick for Trinidad and Tobago. JA and Grenada eh nobody.... but we sorting things out when it comes to the England game.
Yes we gave to be F@#king pessimistic, have you seen anything to make you optimistic? We first WC qualifier coming up in less than a week and we not sure  where we playing. Dais is alyuh who want to make things out beter than it is. Is real shyte, we like crab in ah bundle. How can we compete or beat people people like the USA who sure where they playing the final qualifying rounds and we cannot figure out the first round.   :bs:

Since when have we ever had a smooth qualifying campaign, especially at the start?!? Both 1990 and 2006 had shaky starts with some real dodgy results against mediocre opposition.

If you want to be optimistic? All you need to do is look at the positives.. there are enough.

1) We haven't lost to Bermuda in over a decade. In the last 5 games, we've won 4, drew one (when we were down to 10 men). Outscored them 13:2.
2) Against Cuba, last 10 games, we've won 8 and lost 2. Our last game against them we won 3:1.
3) Last 6 Games against Guatemala, we've won 3, lost 2 and drawn 1. We have never lost at home to Guatemala.

Regardless of all the crap going on, we still have a good chance of making the final round of qualifying.

« Reply #1718 on: June 11, 2008, 09:00:15 AM »
BONJAY!!!!
I thought JA had moved on from these type of results.
Yardies got stomped like Nutmeg,
Whey My Spice Islander/Nutmegger Posse!!!

BONJAY!!!! (AGAIN)

[/b][/size]
« Last Edit: June 11, 2008, 09:05:54 AM by Carib-Briton »

« Reply #1719 on: June 11, 2008, 09:11:56 AM »
Nice Carib-Briton.  What does Bonjay mean exactly?

« Reply #1720 on: June 11, 2008, 09:17:24 AM »

Bonjay:
Good God!

« Reply #1721 on: June 11, 2008, 09:28:37 AM »
Like we padna Lionpoor get a backhand slap from reality.
From de rboyz site.

"Lionpaw

Loc: Sunshine City, Jamaica

Honestly, I dont see us making it out the first group stage. We might beat up Bahamas but if we cant beat Grenada; Canada and Honduras gwine murder us. I wont even talk about what Mexico will do. We football dying a slow death.  "
« Last Edit: June 11, 2008, 09:36:30 AM by Peong »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1722 on: June 11, 2008, 09:52:34 AM »
Like we padna Lionpoor get a backhand slap from reality.
From de rboyz site.

"Lionpaw

Loc: Sunshine City, Jamaica

Honestly, I dont see us making it out the first group stage. We might beat up Bahamas but if we cant beat Grenada; Canada and Honduras gwine murder us. I wont even talk about what Mexico will do. We football dying a slow death.  "
That's how many Jamaicans and all of T&T who keeps saying the same thing. All that's left to do is make your predictions or something even close and pray that it comes true. Since I believe that it will be Guatemala, Cuba or Haiti that comes out of the group ahead of T&T.

This is how it works with football rivals. Hoping that the other team won't advance.
jjbrown

« Reply #1723 on: June 11, 2008, 10:04:56 AM »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Saywha

« Reply #1724 on: June 11, 2008, 10:28:00 AM »
:violin:  :timeout:  :praying:   Send More Britz   :rotfl:   :rotfl:
Funny and ironic isn't it.

Jamaica makes Trinis lives worthwhile to blame their failures when their Soca Warriors fail. More worthwhile to use the Jamaican-Britz argument as ammunition. This will not be said about the US football team and other Caribbean nations who make use of these human resources.

You have to love how hypocritical Trinis are. ;D   
No, you guys continue to spew your verbal excrement on board and your football ain't no good. You come on a Trini board and try to belittle Trinis and our football. We must respond with Trini venom.

Have you ever visited  Grenada ?  Its true they play some football but it is essentially a cricket country. Grenada's population could fit in Jamaica's front pocket and leave enough space for Caricou and Petit St. Martinique too . That result is atrocious, I can't believe you have the gall to even post here so soon after. I feel you is a masochist yes. 

Just post your congratulations to the Grenadian team and go hide for 3 days like a resilient cockroach. 
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: all yuh good yes  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Grenada beat Jamaica (i give that a Spalk WHATTTTT!!!)

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1725 on: June 11, 2008, 11:18:33 AM »
:violin:  :timeout:  :praying:   Send More Britz   :rotfl:   :rotfl:
Funny and ironic isn't it.

Jamaica makes Trinis lives worthwhile to blame their failures when their Soca Warriors fail. More worthwhile to use the Jamaican-Britz argument as ammunition. This will not be said about the US football team and other Caribbean nations who make use of these human resources.

You have to love how hypocritical Trinis are. ;D   
No, you guys continue to spew your verbal excrement on board and your football ain't no good. You come on a Trini board and try to belittle Trinis and our football. We must respond with Trini venom.

Have you ever visited  Grenada ?  Its true they play some football but it is essentially a cricket country. Grenada's population could fit in Jamaica's front pocket and leave enough space for Caricou and Petit St. Martinique too . That result is atrocious, I can't believe you have the gall to even post here so soon after. I feel you is a masochist yes. 

Just post your congratulations to the Grenadian team and go hide for 3 days like a resilient cockroach. 
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: all yuh good yes  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Grenada beat Jamaica (i give that a Spalk WHATTTTT!!!)
Jamaica draws with T&T. Then loses to Grenada. Now GolTv prefers to show both legs of Jamaica's World Cup qualifiers instead of T&T's. Now why is that?  ;D
jjbrown

« Reply #1726 on: June 11, 2008, 11:23:18 AM »
Congrats all yuh on tv losin 2 Grenada

« Reply #1727 on: June 11, 2008, 11:34:09 AM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1728 on: June 11, 2008, 11:58:28 AM »
You know why congrats are truly in order. GolTv's research team came to the Caribbean and witness the crowd attendance for various Caribbean teams. Jamaica had the highest attendance with Haiti coming in second. And this was done by population per capita. Guess what number T&T came in??? ;D

Now guess who came out on top when their research team went to Central America and asked the natives of several of those nations: which Caribbean football nation they rate as #1 and which they love to see play their country. So win, lose or draw Jamaica will always be tops in the Caribbean
FSC did the same research. Thus the reason for FOX SOCCER CHANNEL JAMAICA.  ;D

jjbrown

« Reply #1729 on: June 11, 2008, 12:15:24 PM »
The reason Central Americans want to see their teams play JA is becuz they know they will be able to ress plenty goal on allyuh

« Reply #1730 on: June 11, 2008, 12:24:38 PM »
You know why congrats are truly in order. GolTv's research team came to the Caribbean and witness the crowd attendance for various Caribbean teams. Jamaica had the highest attendance with Haiti coming in second. And this was done by population per capita. Guess what number T&T came in??? ;D

Now guess who came out on top when their research team went to Central America and asked the natives of several of those nations: which Caribbean football nation they rate as #1 and which they love to see play their country. So win, lose or draw Jamaica will always be tops in the Caribbean

Ha lord,dis man here ah day later STILL puttin up ah marshmallow defence....fren ah see yuh try racial talk, terrorist talk, track talk, recipe talk  and now central american satistics talk that nobody could give one ass about

do like RF and ress yuh fingers lil bit nah, yuh go get ah chance to come again...save all dat whining for letters to the Gleaner about simoes

« Reply #1731 on: June 11, 2008, 12:29:13 PM »

« Reply #1732 on: June 11, 2008, 12:30:27 PM »

Creolization of "Bon Dieu"...

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1733 on: June 11, 2008, 01:00:29 PM »
The reason Central Americans want to see their teams play JA is becuz they know they will be able to ress plenty goal on allyuh
You are partly rightabout that.
Have you seen the Reggae Boyz results since January against Central American teams El. Salvador, Guatemala and Costa Rica?  ;D
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1734 on: June 11, 2008, 01:06:58 PM »

Ha lord,dis man here ah day later STILL puttin up ah marshmallow defence....fren ah see yuh try racial talk, terrorist talk, track talk, recipe talk  and now central american satistics talk that nobody could give one ass about

do like RF and ress yuh fingers lil bit nah, yuh go get ah chance to come again...save all dat whining for letters to the Gleaner about simoes
Now I need you to remind me what is the title of the thread? Since I'm a Jamaican and it's obvious you are not. Shouldn't you be the one to rest your fingers.  ;D
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1735 on: June 11, 2008, 01:09:59 PM »

Since the thread involves me. This must be for your fellow Trinis and others. ;D
jjbrown

« Reply #1736 on: June 11, 2008, 01:12:26 PM »
Alrighty..well contrast the title with the end result...as you are aware all threads conclude at some point

Here is a quote from the coach that might indicate the fiery crash

"We didn't control the game, our passing was terrible, our focus was terrible and personally I am ashamed of what we did here today," said technical director Rene Simoes.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20080611/sports/sports1.html

Dis one say unno get hambush

http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20080611/sports/sports1.html

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1737 on: June 11, 2008, 01:20:00 PM »
Alrighty..well contrast the title with the end result...as you are aware all threads conclude at some point

Here is a quote from the coach that might indicate the fiery crash

"We didn't control the game, our passing was terrible, our focus was terrible and personally I am ashamed of what we did here today," said technical director Rene Simoes.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20080611/sports/sports1.html

Dis one say unno get hambush

http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/20080611/sports/sports1.html
Rather pre-mature. Isn't it.
Seeing as how Jamaica still have two matches to play in the following days. Save the images until then so that you will have a full scrapbook. 
jjbrown

« Reply #1738 on: June 11, 2008, 05:58:18 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXqNEOzDU4c
Look d goal. Kinda grainy though.

« Reply #1739 on: June 12, 2008, 02:43:49 AM »
'I'M ASHAMED'[/size]

Technical director Rene Simoes speaks with journalists on arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport from Grenada yesterday. The Reggae Boyz lost 1-2 against the hosts in a friendly international on Tuesday. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood).

Simoes mourns Ja's loss to lowly Grenada.
By: KAYON RAYNOR (OBSERVER).

DESCRIBING Tuesday's 1-2 defeat by lowly ranked Grenada as a "shame" and "unacceptable", national technical director Rene Simoes says the Reggae Boyz will rebound in Sunday's CONCACAF World Cup qualifier against the Bahamas at 'The Office'.

The second leg will be played at the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium on June 18.

"Nobody can be pleased to lose to Grenada; it's a shame, it's unacceptable, we are very upset," Simoes told journalists after arriving at the Norman Manley International Airport from the eastern Caribbean yesterday.

"I think maybe it will be a good wake-up call for the entire squad, that (we) don't look (at) Bahamas as we looked at Grenada, and football is not basketball, it's a different sport that anyone can beat anyone, so I think it's a good wake-up call," added the philosophical Brazilian.

Second-half goals by Sharlie Joseph (68th) and Blackburn Rovers' Jason Roberts (76th) lifted the 143 FIFA-ranked Grenadians to a stunning 2-1 come-from-behind win over Jamaica - ranked 45 places higher at 98. Ricardo Fuller scored first for the Reggae Boyz in the 20th minute.

"We started the game very well. The game looked like we would beat them easily, but we made so many mistakes, losing focus and concentration, so all of us, we have to settle down, think (and) learn lessons and know how to take the games against teams like that another way," Simoes stated.

"We have to make analysis and see what is supposed to be done... the next game will not be the same, I guarantee you it will not be the same," he emphasised.

Simoes, who is serving his second stint as technical director, having guided the country to the 1998 World Cup Finals in France, has already decided on his starting XI for Sunday's opening qualifying match.

"I can tell you the team (that) will start the game will be (Donovan) Ricketts, Tyrone (Marshall), (Jermaine) Taylor, (Ian) Goodison, Ricardo Gardner, (Rudolph) Austin, Evon Taylor, Andy Williams, (Demar) Phillips if he be OK, Ricardo Fuller if he be OK and Marlon King that's the team.

I have not doubt I think this team can perform well," Simoes disclosed.

Phillips and Fuller sustained respective ankle and knee injuries in Tuesday's match in St George's.

But Simoes seems confident both players, who will ply their trade in the English Premiership with Stoke City next season, will recover in time for Sunday's clash.

"I think Phillips looks much better... and Ricardo Fuller, I don't know, let's talk to doctors and see how he will recover for this game... We are pretty confident that both of them will play," he insisted.

The CONCACAF World Cup qualification stage for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa which started with 35 national teams competing for the three automatic berths is now down to 24 teams.

The fourth-placed finisher will play a two game play-off series against the fifth-placed finisher from CONMEBOL for a possible fourth berth.

A contemplative Reggae Boyz captain Ricardo Gardner on arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport yesterday from Grenada where the team lost 1-2 against the host nation. In the background are Luton Shelton (right) and Adrian Rei. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood).