Yes
12 (17.9%)
No
34 (50.7%)
Hell Yes
21 (31.3%)

Total Members Voted: 66

Voting closed: January 02, 2006, 04:58:17 PM

Author Topic: Jamaica Football Thread.  (Read 488831 times)

Re: Jamaica Football Thread.
« Reply #2280 on: October 09, 2010, 07:18:36 AM »
Australian aid to Jamaica a '2022 World Cup tactic'
By - Matthew Hall (Sydney Herald).

FOOTBALL Federation Australia has promised to help Jamaica implement Australian taxpayer-funded projects in the Caribbean in what some sports fans believe is an attempt to win support for its 2022 World Cup bid.

Jamaican government and football officials and senior Australian football official John Boultbee were signatories of the memorandum of understanding between Jamaica and the FFA.

The agreement was trumpeted in the Jamaican press as a means of giving the Caribbean nation's football industry access to $60 million in Australian aid money pledged to the region last year by former prime minister Kevin Rudd.

But Australia's Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade said it “has not provided any funding towards this agreement”.

The FFA has pointed out it has pledged to help Jamaica with projects only if and when aid money is approved for developing football in Jamaica.

“Our objective is to serve up some football-related projects in Jamaica and, eventually, other countries, as possible recipients of funding under the overall government development program,” Mr Boultbee said.

The agreement has raised eyebrows because it was instigated by Peter Hargitay, a Swiss-Hungarian hired by the FFA as a strategy adviser to influence the FIFA executive committee members, who will vote on the Cup host in Zurich on December 2.

Mr Hargitay is considered close to controversial FIFA committee member Jack Warner, who is from Trinidad and Tobago and wields huge power in Caribbean football circles. Mr Warner's support for Australia could be crucial in the later stages of the vote. “The suggestion to consider Jamaica in this context came from Peter Hargitay,” Mr Boultbee said.

FIFA rules prohibit bidding nations from striking secret deals with officials and member federations to get support for their bids but encourage nations to promote football development in poorer countries.

Mr Hargitay's wife is Jamaican and he owns property on the island. In 2006, he received an apology from its government after he was arrested but acquitted of a drug trafficking incident a decade earlier.

The memorandum of understanding was signed in Kingston, coinciding with a September 27 visit to Jamaica by Mr Warner and FIFA president Sepp Blatter, whom Mr Hargitay has previously advised.

Jamaican sports minister Olivia Grange said the FFA help would be financial or in-kind support such as resources, education and equipment. "Australian experts and companies will help to implement the various initiatives. Such support will come either from the FFA or Australian agencies directly," she said.

Australia's courting of the Caribbean has not gone unnoticed in the US, a major rival for the 2022 rights.

As chief of the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football, Mr Warner will support the US bid during early voting.

“We're very pleased that Australia is spending money in the Caribbean, that's fine, that's a good thing,” US Soccer Federation Sunil Gulati said at the Leaders in Football conference in London last week.

While Prime Minister Julia Gillard met Mr Blatter at FIFA's headquarters in Zurich last weekend, Australia was conspicuous by its absence in London.

Instead, FFA executives hosted Paraguay's football team and officials before their match against the Socceroos in Sydney last night. The vote of Paraguayan FIFA executive member Nicolas Leoz is highly sought after by bidding nations.

Another Anticipated Derby at the "Office"
« Reply #2281 on: October 09, 2010, 04:37:40 PM »
Another Anticipated Derby at the "Office"
Shaun Fuentes (TTFF Press)

Sunday’s friendly international between Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica has enjoyed a colourful build up with both teams encountering their fair share of prematch interaction with the stakeholders and fans wherever they appeared  ahead of the Caribbean derby at the National Stadium in Kingston which kicks off at 7pm (6pm Jamaica time).

This spanned from an outburst of Jamaican onlookers at the T&T training session, to the gentle reminders from school kids of Jamaica’s 1998 World Cup appearance to a verbal boost from Jamaican Sports Minister Olivia “Babsy” Grange for the “Reggae Boyz”.

Jamaicans love their football, matter of fact they love sports on a whole and they are keen followers of the game and as well as T&T’s history in it. It’s been customary to hear the names  Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, Stern John, Arnold Dwarika and Jerren Nixon in the Jamaican accent being hurled around the training venues.

That was the case when the T&T team was present in the land of Reggae for a 2002 World Cup qualifier in February 2001. And it was no different when the team bus pulled up at St George’s College ground for training on Friday evening shortly before 6pm. It was almost as if the same group of men had been turning up on site near a T&T team for the past decade or more.

They were quick to remind those present about the threat of Dwarika’s skill in the middle and Nixon’s pace on the flank. This time there was a new addition to the list – Kenwyne Jones.  “A whey  Kenwyne  Jones...  im come fi play pon Sunday?” one man asked.

Then came the obvious as Latapy led the team onto the training field.

“Im (him) Latapy ah de Greatest in de West Indies. Im ah genius… Im an Yorke”

Then an argument broke out as to who was better between Latapy and Yorke and as the team began its warm up under a sudden downpour of rain, one could easily hear  the same men shouting “Trini Yuh inna big chobble (trouble) pon Sunday”.

Latapy would have hoped for more football than talk as the players were forced to leave the field after only  15 minutes because of severe lightening and rainfall. The host team meantime had a 4pm session at the National Stadium. T&T however will train at the game venue from 6pm on Saturday.

Jamaican Sports Minister Grange made it her turn to respond to Anil Roberts’ comment earlier this month about a much needed T&T victory.

“My counterpart Minister, Minister Roberts of Trinidad and Tobago has said to his team that there is a lot at stake and they can’t afford to lose, they must win.

Well I am saying to the Reggae Boyz of Jamaica that we believe in you, and we know that you are going to go out there and do your best.

We have a tradition in sports, we are talented and we train hard and we always continue to excel in sport so we know you’re going to go out there and do your best,” Grange said in a public appeal that was played at the press conference by the Jamaican Football Federation officials for all to hear including the T&T contingent.

She continued: “ I’m saying to Jamaican fans out there to fill out the stadium. The Reggae Boyz need all the support and all the wonderful love you have to give so come out and fill the stadium and be there for them.

Yes Minster Roberts, a lot is at stake… Jamaica has started the Road to Brazil. Reggae Boyz,” she told them “‘Don’t play mas, play  hard and go for it.”

Latapy was asked on more than one occasion by the Jamaican reporters to comment on Roberts’ ultimatum regarding the head coach position.

“It’s a rivalry and I think he (Roberts) wants Trinidad to win every game just like everybody wants. Again it is a process and where we are right now, we are building towards the Digicel Cup and hopefully we’ll be there ready for it,” Latapy said.

Looking ahead to the encounter, Latapy told TTFF Media “We won’t divulge too much of our plans except to say that hopefully they can see it on Sunday. My job is to coach a football team to the best that they can and I think if we can produce that on the day then it should be good enough to come out victorious.”

“It is important to win games but it’s not a personal thing with me. It’s more about putting out the best football on the pitch and have them play the best possible game and if that happens then I would be satisfied.”

San Jose Earthquakes striker Cornell Glen will be coming up against teammate Ryan Johnson who is in the Jamaica line up. But Stoke City’s Ricardo Fuller, also in Kingston for the encounter, will not have to worry about the threat of Jones.

T&T’s line up could see debutant Yohance Marshall in the back line with DC United’s Julius James, Daneil Cyrus and Kern Cupid all available. Defence Force striker Devorn Jorsling scored for T&T in the 3-1 loss to Jamaica earlier this year and is hope to turn the table.

Jamaica’s team has been strengthened by  the inclusion of  Fuller, Kansas City Wizards' Shavar Thomas, San Jose Earthquakes Ryan Johnson, New York Red Bull's Dane Richards Shaun Francis of the Columbus Crew and SK Brann's Rodolph Austin.

“This time we should be better prepared for the match and I think playing away from home may not be such a bad thing. We want to play good football and bring home the result,” Jorsling said.

Mexican Armando Archundia will carry the whistle in Sunday’s affair. He officiated the 2010 World Cup third place match between  Germany and Uruguay. The JFF has also promised surprised appearances by some of the country’s well known reggae and dancehall artistes at half time.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/wXdtJIrrITo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/wXdtJIrrITo</a>
« Last Edit: October 10, 2010, 08:48:02 AM by Flex »

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
Re: Another Anticipated Derby at the "Office"
« Reply #2282 on: October 09, 2010, 05:12:08 PM »
me aint know it so serious,when last we play them in d HCS and was it full
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #2283 on: October 09, 2010, 07:29:55 PM »
We go purge dem 1-0

« Reply #2284 on: October 09, 2010, 10:09:48 PM »
We go purge dem 1-0

i hope latas ent purge instead

« Reply #2285 on: October 10, 2010, 12:46:40 AM »
F#CK DEM....tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

« Reply #2286 on: October 10, 2010, 09:33:56 AM »
This is becoming like a bad case of diarrhea coming out of the mouths of Jamaica...... I mean it's just a friendly!!!!! It's not a semi, not a hex match not a WC qualifier, not a Caribbean Cup!!!!! simply a match for those who like to bray the loudest and so far the most of that is coming from that island.

Smash talk, and open exuberance of ethnocentrism........ Yuh want to be the best in the Caribbean Jamaica? ok yuh doing the right thing bring yuh top ace from the UK.....load up and  win all yuh friendlies, rest on yuh laurels and when time come for it to count , leh we see if yuh go deliver .

On the other hand if our players, coaches and management had any gumption or psychological ply, they would use all these clippings and post them up and come out blazing and put one f ..a..cking embarrassment in allyuh asses dat that go shut allyuh up fuh fac...king years to come.

But again allyuh doing the rightful thing smash  and kick ah team when they down and out. Right now TnT fighting tuh  even beat we U17 women's team so go Jamaica go on with allyuh bad self.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #2287 on: October 10, 2010, 09:37:18 AM »
This is becoming like a bad case of diarrhea coming out of the mouths of Jamaica...... I mean it's just a friendly!!!!! It's not a semi, not a hex match not a WC qualifier, not a Caribbean Cup!!!!! simply a match for those who like to bray the loudest and so far the most of that is coming from that island.

Smash talk, and open exuberance of ethnocentrism........ Yuh want to be the best in the Caribbean Jamaica? ok yuh doing the right thing bring yuh top ace from the UK.....load up and  win all yuh friendlies, rest on yuh laurels and when time come for it to count , leh we see if yuh go deliver .

On the other hand if our players, coaches and management had any gumption or psychological ply, they would use all these clippings and post them up and come out blazing and put one f ..a..cking embarrassment in allyuh asses dat that go shut allyuh up fuh fac...king years to come.

But again allyuh doing the rightful thing smash  and kick ah team when they down and out. Right now TnT fighting tuh  even beat we U17 women's team so go Jamaica go on with allyuh bad self.
Would you be saying this if T&T had won the first leg by convincing means against Jamaica?
jjbrown

« Reply #2288 on: October 10, 2010, 09:43:15 AM »

Would you be saying this if T&T had won the first leg by convincing means against Jamaica?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

gO TO REGGAYEBOY.Z .COM AND POST ALL YUH WANT.......  it's just ah friendly  .... it will only serve to build confidence and to establish a quasi ethnocentric superiority by those who suffer form football complex.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #2289 on: October 10, 2010, 09:50:49 AM »

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

gO TO REGGAYEBOY.Z .COM AND POST ALL YUH WANT.......  it's just ah friendly  .... it will only serve to build confidence and to establish a quasi ethnocentric superiority by those who suffer form football complex.
[/quote I repeat:
jjbrown

« Reply #2290 on: October 10, 2010, 10:20:32 AM »

I always tell people....THIS IS A BIG, BIG, BIG, deal for Jamaicans. The "rivalry" is mostly in the minds of Jamaicans. I think Trinis in general view USA in that light, NOT Jamaica. Particularly the older Trini heads doh consider Jamaica competition, and tend to class them with the rest of the Caribbean, right or wrong.
The younger folks who only start paying attention to Trini ball from strike squad days seem to view it differently. In general, I doh think we take them seriously enough. And to be honest as a man who watching Trini ball from the late '70's, I don't either.

« Reply #2291 on: October 10, 2010, 10:31:29 AM »

I always tell people....THIS IS A BIG, BIG, BIG, deal for Jamaicans. The "rivalry" is mostly in the minds of Jamaicans. I think Trinis in general view USA in that light, NOT Jamaica. Particularly the older Trini heads doh consider Jamaica competition, and tend to class them with the rest of the Caribbean, right or wrong.
The younger folks who only start paying attention to Trini ball from strike squad days seem to view it differently. In general, I doh think we take them seriously enough. And to be honest as a man who watching Trini ball from the late '70's, I don't either.

trinidad's biggest rivalry is the US, not jamaica. jamaica's biggest rivalry is us bc of the boasting factor they attach to it if they win.

our rivalries lie with mexico, US and costa rica not jamaica.

« Reply #2292 on: October 10, 2010, 10:33:35 AM »
Jamaicans are passionate about sport in general. And this emotion is not only reserverd for when we are playing any particular nation, its the same when we play any international games. You are seeing it now because we are playing T&T for the first time in a long while. But overall, every game played in Kingston is normally well supported. I remeber when i was a teenager driving from St. thomas to Kingston at 11:00 am for a game that starts ay 5:00PM, and the stadium is normally half full by 1:00PM. go to Central America and they take it to a whole new level.

On the flip side, football on a whole in T&T is not well supported. I recall you guys playing a game which was the frst game you were playing in T&T on return hone from the world cup, and there were only 5000 spectators in the stadium. A typical game like that would have pulled at least 25K in Kingston. I wastch the champions league game on TV and I rarely see any type of atmosphere gong on in the stands...there is no real fan support for football in the caribbean on a whole.

« Reply #2293 on: October 10, 2010, 10:38:29 AM »

AB Trini, I have never seen you this emotional. Hey man, dont allow the Jamaican media to get to your head, its in our nature to be like this. We are proud people who believe we are the best on the planet at everything we do. I agree, the typical Trini is very more docile in nature, but when you read sporting articles written by Jamaicans for the Jamaicans fans, you have to understand. its just a part of wh we are.

Like I said, whenever we play a friendly game, this is par for the course, same thing happens when we play Honduras, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Canda etc...same treatment, same exhuberance. Its part of the tactics that is used to get the fans out in their numbers.

I suspect the Jamaicans are flying hign in confidence given the result of the last game played 2 months ago. This is a perfect opprtunity for the Socawarriors to rise o the occasion and prove to their fans that that the national team is not as bad as they appear.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2010, 10:42:01 AM by Reggaefan »

« Reply #2294 on: October 10, 2010, 10:42:46 AM »

AB Trini, I have never seen you this emotional. Hey man, dont allow the Jamaican media to get to your head, its in our nature to be like this. We are proud people who believe we are the best on the planet at everything we do. I agree, the typical Trini is very more docile in nature, but when you read sporting articles written by Jamaicans for the Jamaicans fans, you have to understand. its just a part of wh we are.

Like I said, whenever we play a friendly game, this is par for the course...same treatment, same exhuberance. Its part of the tactics that is used to get the fans out in their numbers.

docile?

which trinis are you talking about? the ones who started black power maybe? or maybe mr williams who was the founder of pan-africanism where marcus garvey took almost all his ideas? or maybe it was george padmore and clr james who were key in liberating the first african nations for independence?

would you like me to continue with these docile trinis you refer to?

you obviously haven't met the ones that beyond your counterparts yet, or maybe you have thats why you are being sarcastic.

dont mistake not caring about this rivalry for being docile.

if it was the US you would see a whole different tune sang by the same posters who really dont care.

« Reply #2295 on: October 10, 2010, 10:46:32 AM »
Jamaicans are passionate about sport in general. And this emotion is not only reserverd for when we are playing any particular nation, its the same when we play any international games. You are seeing it now because we are playing T&T for the first time in a long while. But overall, every game played in Kingston is normally well supported. I remeber when i was a teenager driving from St. thomas to Kingston at 11:00 am for a game that starts ay 5:00PM, and the stadium is normally half full by 1:00PM. go to Central America and they take it to a whole new level.

On the flip side, football on a whole in T&T is not well supported. I recall you guys playing a game which was the frst game you were playing in T&T on return hone from the world cup, and there were only 5000 spectators in the stadium. A typical game like that would have pulled at least 25K in Kingston. I wastch the champions league game on TV and I rarely see any type of atmosphere gong on in the stands...there is no real fan support for football in the caribbean on a whole.

Pardnuh.....The USA will always fill up the stands in Trinidad. So too Mexico. I guess it have something to do with the competition. These days, yuh right, people eh coming out to see the sport, but this is a relatively new phenomenon . Many factors are contributing to this, but when the head honcho of the TTFF could tell people when they complain about ticket prices, rightly or wrongly "take it or leave it!", guess wha' go happen.
I'm glad for your passion pardnuh but football didn't begin when Jamaica went to the Worldcup. We've been playing the sport on a grand stage a  lot longer than that. That's why perhaps for us, yuh not really considered competition.

« Reply #2296 on: October 10, 2010, 10:50:59 AM »

trinidad's biggest rivalry is the US, not jamaica. jamaica's biggest rivalry is us bc of the boasting factor they attach to it if they win.

Rivalry is a two way thing my brother (you cant claim riva;ry with a team whos fans not even acknowledge same). For you to say that the USA is your biggest rival is funny, very funny, because the typical supporter of US soccer will not even list T&T as one of the top five toughest opponents in CONCACAF.

Like it or not, your biggest international football rivalry is Jamaica...Its the "caribbean derby" each time both countries play. The USA's biggest rival in regional football is Mexico, followed by Costa Rica...

If the USA were to play a friendly game in POS tomorrow, you would probably habve 5000 fans show upp. so much for fan rivalry.

« Reply #2297 on: October 10, 2010, 10:58:09 AM »
Pardnuh.....The USA will always fill up the stands in Trinidad. So too Mexico. I guess it have something to do with the competition.

The USA and Mexico will fill a stadium ANYWHERE in concacaf. Thats pretty much a given. You dont have to tell me that football existed before France '98....it actually began for us at a serious level in 1994 when Simoes came to the island with a mandate to get our team to the world cup. I was just a little kid then, and for most of the Jamaican posters who post here, that fact hold true. See, I cant talk for 2hat happened 60 or 80 years ago...I can only vouch for happenings form 1994 to present...16 years ago. Actually, my first football game seeing the reggaeboyz play was 2001 in Kingston when Jamaica defeated the then strike squad 2-1 to lift the caribbean Cup. Here we are 20 years later.

« Reply #2298 on: October 10, 2010, 11:01:11 AM »

Like I said, whenever we play a friendly game, this is par for the course...same treatment, same exhuberance. Its part of the tactics that is used to get the fans out in their numbers.

docile?

which trinis are you talking about? the ones who started black power maybe? or maybe mr williams who was the founder of pan-africanism where marcus garvey took almost all his ideas? or maybe it was george padmore and clr james who were key in liberating the first african nations for independence?

you obviously haven't met the ones that beyond your counterparts yet, or maybe you have thats why you are being sarcastic.

if it was the US you would see a whole different tune sang by the same posters who really dont care.

So Garvey took Eric williams ideas and ran with it? What, Eric Williams didnt have the guts to put hiw own ideas into motion? talk about being docile.

and who exactly is Eric williams? It must be hard being  afan of T&T...seeing that you only support your team when they are playing the USA...I dont think the USA is even interested in playing T&T unless it absolutely has to...for instance during world cup qualifying.  when last the USA obliged and give you guys a friendly game?
« Last Edit: October 10, 2010, 11:03:20 AM by Reggaefan »

Offline jamaica98

« Reply #2299 on: October 10, 2010, 11:04:05 AM »

Pardnuh.....The USA will always fill up the stands in Trinidad. So too Mexico. I guess it have something to do with the competition. These days, yuh right, people eh coming out to see the sport, but this is a relatively new phenomenon .

I am curious, what was the attendance for these two teams in T&T the last two cycle...an honest question, not trying to make a point... just want to see if you theory holds.

« Reply #2300 on: October 10, 2010, 11:13:15 AM »

Rivalry is a two way thing my brother (you cant claim riva;ry with a team whos fans not even acknowledge same). For you to say that the USA is your biggest rival is funny, very funny, because the typical supporter of US soccer will not even list T&T as one of the top five toughest opponents in CONCACAF.

Like it or not, your biggest international football rivalry is Jamaica...Its the "caribbean derby" each time both countries play. The USA's biggest rival in regional football is Mexico, followed by Costa Rica...

If the USA were to play a friendly game in POS tomorrow, you would probably habve 5000 fans show upp. so much for fan rivalry.

Rivalry is a two way thing.....My point exactly. Yuh cyar then say "like it or not"

« Reply #2301 on: October 10, 2010, 11:16:40 AM »
Some men need to be diagnosed quickly yes, since when the US is our biggest rivals?  Ask any objective US football supporter who their biggest rival is, we'd be luckly if < 1% said TT.  Our biggest rivals in concacaf football and football period is JA, full stop.

When we start beating a full strength US team consistently then we claim the former, not before, get the horse back in de barn

« Reply #2302 on: October 10, 2010, 11:19:39 AM »

docile?

So Garvey took Eric williams ideas and ran with it? What, Eric Williams didnt have the guts to put hiw own ideas into motion? talk about being docile.

and who exactly is Eric williams? It must be hard being  afan of T&T...seeing that you only support your team when they are playing the USA...I dont think the USA is even interested in playing T&T unless it absolutely has to...for instance during world cup qualifying.  when last the USA obliged and give you guys a friendly game?

The Pan-African movement was started by a Trini (not Eric Williams). I'll leave you to google it. Learn yuh history. The very first office outside of London was in Trinidad. Marcus Garvey and DuBois, and Nyere, and everbody else who came after were just part of the movement. You would be surprised to know just how "large" our little twin island is. Is not only you though, most Trinis too.

Yuh right about the football. These days we in a deep funk. But as alyuh would say "we soon come".

« Reply #2303 on: October 10, 2010, 11:20:49 AM »

Pardnuh.....The USA will always fill up the stands in Trinidad. So too Mexico. I guess it have something to do with the competition. These days, yuh right, people eh coming out to see the sport, but this is a relatively new phenomenon .

I am curious, what was the attendance for these two teams in T&T the last two cycle...an honest question, not trying to make a point... just want to see if you theory holds.

Me eh know...stadium was full.

« Reply #2304 on: October 10, 2010, 11:22:14 AM »
Some men need to be diagnosed quickly yes, since when the US is our biggest rivals?  Ask any objective US football supporter who their biggest rival is, we'd be luckly if < 1% said TT.  Our biggest rivals in concacaf football and football period is JA, full stop.

When we start beating a full strength US team consistently then we claim the former, not before, get the horse back in de barn

Was not always so dread. Steups....besides get with the program nuh!! Geez man...

« Reply #2305 on: October 10, 2010, 11:23:25 AM »
2 words.........Air Jamaica

« Reply #2306 on: October 10, 2010, 11:24:16 AM »

Was not always so dread. Steups....besides get with the program nuh!! Geez man...

Ok SF, I understand the MO now

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #2307 on: October 10, 2010, 12:32:31 PM »
If some Trinis want to remain in a state of denial about how serious this Jamaica vs Trinidad rivalry is. Try googling Jamaica vs Trinidad and see what pages open, including bets and predictions from an international point of view.
jjbrown

Offline jamaica98

« Reply #2309 on: October 10, 2010, 12:44:33 PM »
Watch these results change in 5,4,3..