Yes
12 (17.9%)
No
34 (50.7%)
Hell Yes
21 (31.3%)

Total Members Voted: 66

Voting closed: January 02, 2006, 04:58:17 PM

Author Topic: Jamaica Football Thread.  (Read 473883 times)

Re: Jamaica Football Thread.
« Reply #3060 on: May 16, 2015, 02:03:34 PM »
Wrong site to post - go to ReggaeBoyz - who gives a

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #3061 on: May 17, 2015, 06:11:18 PM »
Now, as with anything else, I am sure the new reggae-boyz kits will generate some discussions amongst the fans (and the rivals too ha). Looks OK to me...nothing to write home about...I believe most will either absolutely hate it (I suspect most posters in this forum will be hating on it) or absolutely love it with very few sitting on the fence.

I'm one of the few sitting on the fence.

« Last Edit: May 17, 2015, 06:19:17 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #3062 on: May 17, 2015, 06:32:14 PM »
Who cares?

« Reply #3063 on: May 17, 2015, 07:47:55 PM »
Excuse my ignorance, never heard of Romai sportswear before. But just checked the internet. From UAE. The brigadier is courting the Arab money. Nothing wrong with that. The end justifies the means.

Behind our design Romai Sports is a UAE based sports brand that designs and manufactures sports clothing and accessories. Our group has over 20 years of experience in the regional sportswear industry, as well as having supported and been part of the growth of various international sportswear brands such as Hummel, Le Coq Sportif and Erima amongst others. Romai Sports is the only Emirati sportswear company, that develops and manufactures its own range of sport products. Behind our design philosophy is the belief that speed and agility are the cornerstones of athletic performance. At Romai Sports, we see our products as empowerers of athletes. Our creations are meticulously designed to offer the best in mobility and comfort. We achieve all this as we strive to build an efficient and highly-adaptive business infrastructure, so that our partners get what they want and when they want it, in the most uncompromising highest quality possible.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #3064 on: May 18, 2015, 04:15:13 AM »
Excuse my ignorance, never heard of Romai sportswear before. But just checked the internet. From UAE. The brigadier is courting the Arab money. Nothing wrong with that. The end justifies the means.

Behind our design Romai Sports is a UAE based sports brand that designs and manufactures sports clothing and accessories. Our group has over 20 years of experience in the regional sportswear industry, as well as having supported and been part of the growth of various international sportswear brands such as Hummel, Le Coq Sportif and Erima amongst others. Romai Sports is the only Emirati sportswear company, that develops and manufactures its own range of sport products. Behind our design philosophy is the belief that speed and agility are the cornerstones of athletic performance. At Romai Sports, we see our products as empowerers of athletes. Our creations are meticulously designed to offer the best in mobility and comfort. We achieve all this as we strive to build an efficient and highly-adaptive business infrastructure, so that our partners get what they want and when they want it, in the most uncompromising highest quality possible.

Romai is new to the scene, Jamaica would be their flagship national team, hence the custom kits. I believe they also outfit the Bahrain national team.  This sponsorship is worth close to $us 5m per year.

« Reply #3065 on: May 18, 2015, 04:25:56 AM »
Whoa... That's some serious flow...I like that kit...its edgy

« Reply #3066 on: May 18, 2015, 07:22:51 AM »
that looking REAL good... GOOD FOR LICKS

« Reply #3067 on: May 19, 2015, 07:55:34 AM »
The last news of the summer transfer market ..... Monday 06/17/2015

Stay away! Do not follow this link.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2015, 09:43:05 AM by Flex »

« Reply #3068 on: June 29, 2015, 07:14:27 AM »

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #3069 on: June 29, 2015, 01:31:53 PM »
A special video for Reggaefart about your people downa yard.

https://www.facebook.com/100004279906758/videos/vob.100004279906758/402251019927558/?type=2&theater

Stick to football fella.... If you agree with this lady then inbox her on FB.... not sure exactly what your intent is posting that here addressed to me. 
« Last Edit: June 29, 2015, 01:38:31 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #3070 on: June 30, 2015, 06:38:18 AM »
A special video for Reggaefart about your people downa yard.

https://www.facebook.com/100004279906758/videos/vob.100004279906758/402251019927558/?type=2&theater

Stick to football fella.... If you agree with this lady then inbox her on FB.... not sure exactly what your intent is posting that here addressed to me.

F00ck you, yuh bullerman.

JFF claims agreement with Boyz, possible boycott averted
« Reply #3071 on: July 07, 2015, 08:41:04 AM »

JFF claims agreement with Boyz, possible boycott averted
Tuesday, July 07, 2015 | 12:54 AM

LOS ANGELES, California --- The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) says it was able to head off a possible strike by players after both parties reportedly agreed to terms regarding fees related to the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Players and JFF officials, led by president Captain Horace Burrell, were engaged in a series of meetings on Monday night as both sides traded counter proposals as they searched for an amicable solution to the deadlock.

The players first indicated that they were dissatisfied with what was put on the table by boycotting a training session at the Stubhub Centre on Monday evening.

According to Burrell, while addressing Jamaican journalists here, the JFF had offered the players "100 per cent of whatever will be earned" from the Gold Cup, a sum which could soar to US$1 million (J$112 million) if they win the tournament.

But the players, it was said, had demanded more. JFF officials would not say what the players' demands were, but by all indications, it appeared to be more than the 100 per cent offered.

"In the end, the players and the JFF came to an agreement and I can tell you that the players will train tomorrow (Tuesday) and that they will lace up to face Costa Rica on Wednesday," said Burrell.

Following the meetings, which went on for hours, OBSERVER ONLINE was unable to get comments from players regarding the matter.

Sean Williams

« Reply #3072 on: July 08, 2015, 01:07:39 AM »
a classic case of counting eggs in fowl batty. well the JFF need not worry anyway because their chances of winning the gold cup is slim to none.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2015, 01:10:09 AM by pull stones »

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #3073 on: July 08, 2015, 06:23:14 AM »
a classic case of counting eggs in fowl batty. well the JFF need not worry anyway because their chances of winning the gold cup is slim to none.

Let me break it down for you. What the JFF boss is saying in a nutsell is that the further the team goes into the tournament, the bigger the players bonus payout will be.   I do not believe anyone expects or imply that Jamaica will win the Gold Cup..the players themselves has set a target of Semi-Finals...which is achievable, anything from there is bonus.  not quite getting your "chickens before they hatch" bit.

The players match fee is different from their per-diem, and is also different from match bonuses. The Per-Diems have been an issue of contention in the past.

Unlike the fortunate TTFF, our JFF does not have the luxury to rely on hand-outs for player salaries and bonuses from the central government...I believe the JFF is doing the best they can with what they have (Or are they?).  They just signed a $5M deal with Romai to wear its kits, so its not like the JFF is broke...they players trying to get their piece of the pie...they have delivered the caribbean cup, did better than expected at Copa America...etc
« Last Edit: July 08, 2015, 06:47:10 AM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #3074 on: September 08, 2015, 09:20:41 AM »
Reggae Boyz to play South Korea in friendly
By Ian Burnett (Jamaica Observer).

MANAGUA, Nicaragua – The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) has secured a date for a friendly international between the Reggae Boyz and South Korea, slated for Tuesday, October 13, 2015 in Seoul.

Captain Horace Burrell, president of the JFF, made the announcement shortly after watching the Reggae Boyz in their final training session ahead of tomorrow’s do-or-die return-leg Fourth Round CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying campaign against Nicaragua inside the National Football Stadium, here, at 8:30 pm Jamaica time.

“We have just confirmed a big friendly international against the South Korea National team in Seoul, and this game is going to be on the FIFA date of the 13th of October,” Captain Burrell said.

“We expect to have our full delegation for that game and from all reports there is a lot of interest towards this game, having moved up to the 52nd spot on the FIFA ranking we are once again getting the level of recognition that we deserve and so we are happy to have in fact finalised all the arrangements for that big friendly in South Korea,” he added.

Jamaica and South Korea have met twice before on May 16, 1998, when the Asians won 2-1 and three days later the teams played to a 0-0 result. Both games were played in South Korea.

Meanwhile, it was a militant, yet authoritative Captain Burrell who addressed the Boyz at the end of their training session earlier this evening. Immediately upon the conclusion of the session, Head Coach Winfried Schaefer addressed the players ahead of Captain Burrell, who arrived here in Nicaragua earlier and journeyed across to the far side of the field where the players, coaching staff and support staff had gathered.

An animated Captain Burrell addressed the group for about 15 minutes before making his exit, after which the players held a private meeting among themselves to bring the session to a close.

During the session, Michael Hector, who left the pitch prematurely on Sunday afternoon due to a stretched groin, trained with his teammates normally, and didn’t seem to suffer any discomfort. Captain Rodolph Austin was absent, as he is yet to join his teammates, while the coach tried a few combinations with Joel Grant starting at the top of a five-man midfield alongside Lee Williamson, Je-Vaughn Watson, Kemar Lawrence, and Christopher Humphrey, and behind strikers Darren Mattocks and Deshorn Brown.

The three-man defence comprised Hector, Adrian Mariappa and Alvas Powell. Andre Blake tended goal.

Halfway through the session, Demar Phillips switched positions with Grant. However, Andre Clennon, who practised on the ‘B’ side throughout, continued to impress and could force his way into the fray at some stage as his efforts have not gone unnoticed by Schaefer.

Jamaica currently trail Nicaragua 2-3 after last Friday’s shock result, and need to win tomorrow’s game by at least two clear goals, or by one if they score at least four goals. Failure to overturn the deficit would see the Boyz crash out of the Russia 2018 World Cup Finals campaign, thus making the progress made recently redundant.

« Reply #3075 on: September 08, 2015, 09:57:01 AM »
Good luck.

« Reply #3076 on: September 08, 2015, 11:55:45 AM »
Good luck.

Huge huge hill for JA to climb. The odds are really against them:

- No Austin
- Playing on turf (Nicaragua is very familiar with their artificial pitch)
- No Barnes
- Need to score 2 on the road
- Nicaraguan fans will be coming out in full force (this is the furthest they ever made it in a wcq campaign )
- Need a win on the road (always tough in wcq)

I know many of the yardies would have been rooting for the opposing team if we were in their position. However,  I will still cheer them on. It will be devastating  to see them end their wcq campaign after a promising summer. I predict 2-1 in favor of JA. But the away goals will come back to haunt them like a duppy inna de nite..

Jamaica's football needs a sound base
« Reply #3077 on: October 25, 2015, 08:15:17 AM »
The following article could very well apply to Trinidad and Tobago:

Jamaica's football needs a sound base
By Adrian Frater (Jamaica Star)

Despite the relative success Jamaica's football has had so far this year in terms of our commendable showing at both the Copa America and the CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament, I still don't believe that Jamaica's football is at a very good place.

While we are probably a step or two ahead of the teams in the English-speaking Caribbean, which, except for Trinidad & Tobago, is really nothing to write home about, once we step out into the wider CONCACAF region to include Costa Rica, El Salvador, Mexico, and the United States, it is a totally different ball game.

While we might be able to win the occasional game against the US or Mexico, one is always of the impression that once these teams are ready and firing on all cylinders, the best we can hope for in a tournament in which they are competing, regardless of the age group, is a third-place finish.

To be honest, when it comes to raw talent, I am of the belief that we are just as good as our United States and Mexico counterparts - even some of the big guns in Central America - however, when it comes to fine-tuning the talent, we have been falling flat.

While the US, Mexico, and even Canada have solid youth programmes, where their youngsters are taught the basics of the game in a structured way, our approach is haphazard.

Before getting into the high school system, our football is quite informal, causing our youngsters to develop bad habits, which are sometimes very difficult to correct later.

Even at the high school level, rather than helping the youngsters to develop their game from a technical and tactical standpoint, the emphasis is primarily on winning the daCosta Cup, the Manning Cup, or whatever trophies are at stake, not on producing good players.

While the schoolboy games can be very exciting at times, if one wishes to be honest, when it comes to the display of real quality, it is usually the teams parading the top coaches that generally come out looking very organised in terms of their understanding of the game and their capacity to consistently perform well.

Local club structure

As a consequence, when these youngsters graduate from the high school system and are drafted into the local club structure, they are usually way behind the Mexican and the American counterparts, who by age 18, would have had four to five years' experience in a professional set-up.

I think our track athletes are able to move seamlessly from the high school to the senior ranks because unlike the footballers, they are exposed to high- quality coaching back-up by high- quality competition from a young age. It is, therefore, no wonder that having passed through our competitive basic, primary, and high school system, some of our athletes are ready to conquer even while they are still in school.

I am of the view that if we took the same approach to football as we do to track and field in terms of proper coaches and regular high-class competitions as we regularly see at development meets across the island, our footballers would be better able to realise their full potential at the same age level as the track athletes.

Unfortunately, the Jamaica Football Federation, which should be planning programmes to keep our bright young talent in active competition all year round, has delegated that responsibility to the Inter-Secondary School Sports Association, whose four-month football season is just not enough to foster serious development.

« Reply #3078 on: October 26, 2015, 04:51:11 AM »
What is "raw talent"?

Aside from kind of insinuating Canada as a youth factory, a generally good article.

Being "taught the basics of the game in a structured way" is insufficient.

« Reply #3079 on: October 26, 2015, 09:31:11 AM »
Sen more goat.

« Reply #3080 on: October 26, 2015, 11:01:37 AM »
How many UB40s were on JA's recent Copa and GC squads? What is the breakdown?

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #3081 on: October 27, 2015, 11:58:38 AM »
How many UB40s were on JA's recent Copa and GC squads? What is the breakdown?

Copa Squad below: Starters vs Argentina highlighted

D Miller-JM
K. Lawrence-JM
J. Watson-JM
R. Austin-JM
D. Brown-JM

L. Laing-JM
D. Kerr-JM
R. Thompson-JM
J. Taylor-JM
H. Gray-JM
A. Ottey-JM
D. Williams-JM
D. Mattocks   -JM
R. Parkes-JM
---------------------
J. McAnuff-UK
M. Hector-UK
W. Morgan-UK
A. Mariappa-UK
G. McLeary-UK
G. Barnes-UK
S. Dawkins-UK
J. Grant-UK
----------------------
D. Gordon-DE
« Last Edit: October 27, 2015, 03:17:20 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #3082 on: October 28, 2015, 12:00:23 PM »
MBU's Powell launches bid to unseat Burrell
BY PAUL A REID Observer writer

MONTEGO BAY, St James -- Orville Powell, president of Red Stripe Premier League club Montego Bay United, has thrown his hat into the ring to be the 13th president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) at the annual general meeting set for later this year.

The outspoken Powell, a former president of the St James Football Association and chairman of the JFF Western Confederation between 2006 and 2009, when he was also a director of the JFF, launched his ambitious bid to replace Captain Horace Burrell as head of the JFF yesterday at a press conference held at the ritzy Blue Beat club along the Montego Bay Hip Strip.

"Today is, to me, what I call decision time... I will be making myself available for the presidency of the JFF and the work for me begins now, and I will be engaging all the parishes to have meaningful discussions and the future is with us," Powell said.

While he said he had preliminary discussions with "several FA presidents" and has got consensus that the time is ripe for a change in the leadership of the JFF, Powell, who appeared to be keeping his cards close to his chest, said he had not secured any nominations as yet.

According to the rules of the JFF, each candidate seeking office must be nominated by at least four parish associations, and the nominations close next Thursday, November 5.

"I am not just going for the nominations of four FAs, but to make a resounding statement to Jamaica, the (FA) presidents now, it is now in their hands to effect that change, and we have to do it."

Powell, who has been in football administration for some 15 years since he took over the Seba United team, then moved to Village United before forming Montego Bay United, called for "change from the current path the JFF is taking", and pointed out that Jamaica's football administration had lost the respect of the region.

Since 2009 Powell said he has seen a "steady decline" in the administration of the game. "What I believe is needed now is change from the path that our current leader is taking. The facts are Jamaica has gone from being a powerhouse in this region; we were leaders at the CFU level (and) at the CONCACAF level," he said.

Powell said there are serious questions in Jamaican football circles that have not been asked. "What are the implications to Jamaica re FIFA and the current reforms? Will Jamaica be part of the reform and how will the implications play out with what is happening at the CONCACAF level and CFU? Will Jamaica continue to get support out of these reforms? Will we have that serious lobby at the FIFA if we do not conform or reform?"

Powell also blasted what he said was a lack of development in the local game which has led the JFF to go overseas to scout for players for national teams merely participating in the FIFA competition and not being real contenders.

The tipping point for him, he said, came during the first- leg CONCACAF World Cup qualifier against Nicaragua at the National Stadium when Jamaica trailed 0-3, but managed to score two goals and win the return leg and scrape through to the semi-final round.

The MoBay businessman claims he had discussions with Burrell regarding his proposed challenge, but he thought the next voting congress would have been in three years' time, in 2018.

He said it was only recently that he realised the voting congress would be this year, so he fast-forwarded his decision.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #3083 on: October 28, 2015, 12:41:50 PM »

The MoBay businessman claims he had discussions with Burrell regarding his proposed challenge, but he thought the next voting congress would have been in three years' time, in 2018.

He said it was only recently that he realized the voting congress would be this year, so he fast-forwarded his decision.
  ::) ::)

Do yourself a favor, keep your aspirations to yourself until you get your house in order.  No one will take you seriously.

« Reply #3084 on: November 23, 2015, 03:39:04 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/xswk98JMYUE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/xswk98JMYUE</a>

« Reply #3085 on: November 23, 2015, 10:20:44 PM »
Very soon this Jamaican team would be an england C team?

I like to see local talent on display, not a bunch of foreigners who's vaguely familiar with the culture and the vibe of the place. I would rather have our own home grown talent on showcase with one of two foreign born trinis in the mix, but when half your team is foreign born players then imo that is not your national team.

Thank god we don't have to deal with that. For instance Germaine beckford and the way he blew off Jamaica, I doubt he would have done that to the lions had he been in the squad, for that matter he would have been more than glad for the call up instead of saying that international football was not on his list of priorities.

As a British citizen I could say with certainty that these boys love England like cook food and their dream to don the union jack is overwhelmingly great. In reality they don't have the level of affinity and patriotism for their parents home land the way they feel for england and our little Caribbean island will always be second fiddle compared to their beloved John bull dog.

« Reply #3086 on: November 24, 2015, 08:24:38 AM »

He said it was only recently that he realized the voting congress would be this year, so he fast-forwarded his decision.
  ::) ::)

Do yourself a favor, keep your aspirations to yourself until you get your house in order.  No one will take you seriously.

Seems like the TTBO sniffles is spreading to Jamdown.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #3087 on: November 25, 2015, 09:43:18 AM »
Very soon this Jamaican team would be an england C team?

I like to see local talent on display, not a bunch of foreigners who's vaguely familiar with the culture and the vibe of the place. I would rather have our own home grown talent on showcase with one of two foreign born trinis in the mix, but when half your team is foreign born players then imo that is not your national team.

Thank god we don't have to deal with that. For instance Germaine beckford and the way he blew off Jamaica, I doubt he would have done that to the lions had he been in the squad, for that matter he would have been more than glad for the call up instead of saying that international football was not on his list of priorities.

As a British citizen I could say with certainty that these boys love England like cook food and their dream to don the union jack is overwhelmingly great. In reality they don't have the level of affinity and patriotism for their parents home land the way they feel for england and our little Caribbean island will always be second fiddle compared to their beloved John bull dog.

Sadly, Jamaica's domestic league is not good enough to supply players that can take our football to the next level. We have had several coaches from overseas tell us this...our domestic clubs/leagues do not prepare players for the international stage.  Until that changes...we will continue to tap into the diaspora, be it Jamaican born players playing there, or players born there with Jamaican heritage. Keep in mind that our local domestic league is still mostly Semi-pro facilities are still behind world standards.

I believe any country in CONCACAF with the player pool Jamaica has over-seas would have done the same...including T&T...you have some of your own in your team today and have been served well in the past....only not in the same quantity as Jamaica has to choose from.

When you look at players like Ashley Young, Raheem Stirling, Daniel Sturridge, and before them John Barnes, Sol Campbell, Ian Wright, all england Legends who would have been eligble to play for Jamaica.

In fact, if the JFF wasnt so third world in its operations, Jamaica could harness the overseas talent to its benefit. Many of these players stay away because of our amateur Federation.

« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 09:58:51 AM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #3088 on: November 25, 2015, 09:50:58 AM »
I believe any country in CONCACAF with the player pool Jamaica has over-seas would have done the same...including T&T...you have some of your own in your team today and have been served well in the past....only not in the same quantity as Jamaica has to choose from.

Very true!!!!

« Reply #3089 on: December 05, 2016, 04:17:57 AM »
I am Jamaican!
By Joel Grant, Jamaica Observer.

Something that I have constantly heard, or read, is that the Jamaica Football Federation has ignored home-grown players and has instead opted to use “average and mediocre” foreign-born players.

When I say foreign players, more often than not, it is a direct reference to Jamaican footballers born and raised in England

As an English-based player, I would like to share my thoughts on the issue. To begin, Jamaican-born players Raheem Sterling and our latest prodigy, Leon Bailey, are very highly thought of in football circles, but have chosen not to represent their country of their birth.

So it’s funny that there are Jamaican-born players who have opted to play for another country, and while that is okay, the commitment of foreign-born Jamaican players is questioned, even though some us have underlined that commitment from an early age.

In 1998, the Jamaica World Cup team consisted of seven English-based players, and the use of English-based players has been a consistent feature when it comes to team selection. Since 2014, this number has remained steady and includes players such as Wes Morgan, who carries the flag for the current Premier League champions, and we also have Michael Hector, currently at Chelsea. These two high-profile players increase the following of Jamaican football worldwide. I believe, as a country, we must support players that are committed, regardless of where they were born.

Some of the best teams in the world use players with dual citizenship, but I agree, it is important to improve and help our own, local players to reach their potential.

Why is it that our track and field team is so strong? The development of athletes starts at an early age. Jamaica has a lot of natural talent, which is something that is not often seen in England and causes managers to ask about local (Jamaican) players. These managers question the consistency of such players, but I believe all it takes is an opportunity.

Ever since I was able to make decisions, I decided I was Jamaican. I wasn’t born on the land, but my spirit was. As a young boy playing marbles with my cousins in the countryside, to growing up and partying at Asylum and Quad, I have always lived with Jamaican blood.

My mother’s birth country and current home will always be what I refer to as my adopted place of birth. I wanted to be the next Walter Boyd, before I saw Whitmore and Onandi Lowe play in the World Cup.

During my many vacations back to Jamaica, I got to spend time with Bibi (Gardner), and being around him as one of the Jamaican players I looked up to was enough to convince me that Jamaica was the right place for me.

At a young age, I had the chance to represent England, but why would I? In my mind, I am Jamaican. I represented Jamaica at Under-20 and Under-23 levels, and it still took me seven years to break into the senior team, which is one of my greatest achievements.

I still dream of making it to a World Cup and will keep giving my best and praying for this to become a reality. It is fair to say that I am fully committed to everything Jamaica, which is why it disappoints me to see my love and commitment, and that of other England-born players, questioned.

Myself and the majority of my teammates have made sacrifices so that we are able to represent our ‘adopted country’. Sometimes certain issues are not known or seen. For example, in my case, I left my home, England, less than 24 hours after the birth of my first child to head for the Copa America, a tournament that I did not feature in. Luckily for me, I have an understanding family who appreciates my commitment to the cause of Jamaica’s football.

Having been involved with the programme on and off for many years, I hope that going forward we get the balance right between local and overseas-born players, for as we say: Out of many, one people.

Note: Joel Grant, an England-born Reggae Boy midfielder/winger, plies his trade for League Two Exeter City in England.