April 27, 2024, 11:58:24 PM

Author Topic: De best football ground yuh ever play on.  (Read 7405 times)

De best football ground yuh ever play on.
« on: October 31, 2008, 06:28:53 PM »
Fuh me....we did play Bionic Bunch a fete match down on Forest Reserve a time (Ah was playin fuh Republic Bank dem times).

De fleckin grong like a billiards table.  IMMACUFORKINLATE ah tell yuh!  Ball rollin nice nice.  Bess field by far I ever play on and ah did even take a tush in de Oval once but it couldn't compare.

On a side note.....de worse field?

Poor House tek win fuh me.  Lawd......dat was a pit.

Offline Anbrat

Re: De best football ground yuh ever play on.
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2008, 06:34:25 PM »
When you refer to down Forest Reserve, are you talking about 'the acre'???

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2008, 07:36:52 PM »
Lever bros ground was one of the best for me.............

« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2008, 07:46:23 PM »
best was in highbury when i used to play fuh arsenal fuh the invencibles, miss reyes, viera, pires and de crew

worst is a tie between poor house, psa grounds, and norfolk virginia naval base. st james sec grounds bad too. jah i fotget africa field up morvant. listen that grounds have one wall on one side and ah big drain on the other, the ball doh go out if it bounce off the wall and if it go in the drain yuh have to go for it.

« Last Edit: October 31, 2008, 08:04:49 PM by morvant »

« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2008, 07:52:03 PM »
A park in Miami had immaculate turf...  5x better than HCS   it had fields print out and thing

and we sweat in Germany on a 1st division training pitch...was reall nice too

worst ... muco senior comp or diego sec ground

« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2008, 07:57:34 PM »
Cal Fullerton have a nice pitch.  Yuh could roll the ball from one end of the field to the other with little effort.  Nice tight bermuda grass.

« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2008, 08:23:25 PM »
palos...yuh know bionic bunch boy...nice

forest reserve nice...huge

the new turf at marvin lee sweet...and the new oval turf

« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2008, 08:56:51 PM »
De best one I play on in Trinidad could ah be woodford lodge ah tink.  but den it had some times when meh old school field use to be in top notch condition too (QRC field), but den CIC field use to roll nice also.  But den UWI front field was ah nice one too.....  I cyah really say nah.  But ah remember one ah dem junior sec field have ah manhole wid de metal cover on de side ah de field closer to de building.  ah tink is Mucurapo junior sec.....Den when yuh go dong Diego sec is real goat grazing rong de field.  But den it have a field in de savannah where yuh does only see de top of de goal post from when yuh look dong from one end ah de field.  it like ah scate board ramp......hahahahahahah.....ah like dis tread

« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2008, 09:02:30 PM »
De best ground I play on is in the USA.  In Trini it was ok to bad to worst.

« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2008, 10:02:22 PM »
De biggest and de best: Forest Reserve.  Fete Match game.  De ground as log as it is wide.

Blessings

« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2008, 10:20:12 PM »
The best for me have to be Carson-Newman, east Tennessee..

« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2008, 05:34:44 AM »
play on plenty decent grounds..growing up playing on the uwi grounds where they have the cricket field now has always been my favourite, always well grassed, nice thick turf and well maintained.

some of the bad ones were
1) constantine park
2) hillview ground (it was a square, regulation width, but same length with potholes, gravel and perennial mud)
3) mona bowl (the one by the pool) in jamaica
4) aranguez savannah eastern pitch- it like playing on a hill that sloping north to south, with the goals on either end.

« Reply #12 on: November 01, 2008, 05:59:10 AM »
Worst would be in Coconut Drive...........as far as ah could remember back in d late 80's it had some big stone in d ground dat use tuh hurt when yuh dive tuh save ah goal.............ah cah remember if it was d goal post by d pavillion or d 1 on d odder side................best was probably QRC or Fatima grounds.  D Barracks and PSA grounds wasnt too bad either.  Chinapoo school grounds and Africa grounds was rell shit but served its purpose.  Morvant Laventille school grounds wasnt too bad either.

« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2008, 06:50:18 AM »
Worst would be in Coconut Drive...........as far as ah could remember back in d late 80's it had some big stone in d ground dat use tuh hurt when yuh dive tuh save ah goal.............ah cah remember if it was d goal post by d pavillion or d 1 on d odder side................best was probably QRC or Fatima grounds.  D Barracks and PSA grounds wasnt too bad either.  Chinapoo school grounds and Africa grounds was rell shit but served its purpose.  Morvant Laventille school grounds wasnt too bad either.

morvant lavantille grounds was nice but when rain fall we used to go fuh ah "mud" sweat they. probally what mashup de grounds. Africa grounds have pavallion with covered stands and night lights now plus ah fence by the big drain. currently it besss

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #14 on: November 01, 2008, 07:04:50 AM »
best:

1) cic grounds
2) mannie ramjohn
3) witco grounds eh so bad
4) uwi front field
5) the natural pitches at my uni

worst:

1) constantine park
2) d savannah
3) mayaro resource centre (d black mud dey does smell REL stink!!!)
4) d field up in cumana where we had play our pre seson games on camp wit cic
5) any pitch that have a cricket pitch in d middle!

« Reply #15 on: November 01, 2008, 07:18:07 AM »
Best:
         Mannie Ramjohn
         Forest Reserve (but doh let it get waterlogged, dat black mud does smell rel stink)
         Carib Grounds
         UWI Front
         QRC (post-schools maintenance workers)

Worst:

Presentation grounds (used to have one setta gravel in de damned goalposts/6-yard box)
         QRC (pre-schools maintenance workers)
         Boys' High where dey does play weekend league and Caribbean Cup in Brooklyn back in de early 90's.

« Reply #16 on: November 01, 2008, 08:14:47 AM »
A park in Miami had immaculate turf...  5x better than HCS   it had fields print out and thing

and we sweat in Germany on a 1st division training pitch...was reall nice too

worst ... muco senior comp or diego sec ground

Small mag if you think diego sec ground bad now then you should ah see it in the eight's
sand ,stone and teemarey . Ah old man with a big tractor used to cut the grass for us a day before we play ah game. One time de man did not show up so de big belly coach send me home for my father's lawn mower . the two teams in the change room ready to play and I mowing grass. St.Anthonys beat us 5 nil and meh father almost kill me because de stones on the pitch dent up his mower blades.

The best football ground ah ever play on was small goal on meh father front lawn.It was well worth de cutass for braking his rose bush because that lawn was sweet like ah golf course.

« Reply #17 on: November 01, 2008, 08:22:21 AM »

morvant lavantille grounds was nice but when rain fall we used to go fuh ah "mud" sweat they. probally what mashup de grounds. Africa grounds have pavallion with covered stands and night lights now plus ah fence by the big drain. currently it besss
Is that the ground that Neal and Massy is going to develop ?

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #18 on: November 01, 2008, 09:31:05 AM »
Never really play on any impressive field but I use to like playing games on UWI front field. That uwi league was real fun and there was always a good crowd when you palyin on the front field.  The best kept fields that I have played on are all in the US.....but the most exciting grounds to play on were all in TRINI so far.  The crowd, the ole talk and girls on the side lines in Trini makes games special no matter how ragged the field might be.

« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2008, 10:09:59 AM »
1. Hershey park- PA... home of the Hershey Wildcats (APSL/USL)....

2. My college field- used by Baltimore Ravens for Summer preseason camp so they used to hook us up real nice when they left...Our groundsman was also good at cutting the grass in good visual patterns...

« Reply #20 on: November 01, 2008, 10:22:57 AM »
Forest Reserve, Gurracara, Brechin Castle in T&T

« Reply #21 on: November 01, 2008, 11:38:06 AM »

Is that the ground that Neal and Massy is going to develop ?

nah different. morvanh savannah i think they goin and develop

« Reply #22 on: November 01, 2008, 12:53:30 PM »
best i play on was ato boldon when it now build and the turf was sweet.. all them training grounds used to knock real nice too.. yuh brand improving by ah automatic 50%..

de worst....

aranguez savannah.. it have a canal for the center field line, it have a the bylines so deep the ball rolling and settling in it, it have some potholes big like woah and de goalmouth is gravel and some break bottle too..

ah play ah fete match on a ground in grande in dry season, well it was like playing on the serengeti.. is only dust kicking up and sparse patches of weed..

« Reply #23 on: November 01, 2008, 02:36:51 PM »
One of the best grounds in my time not too long ago... the northern half of Fatima first 11 pitch... that half was immaculate, flat and well grassed.. best for knocking ball

One of de worst...de southern half going down hill on de same pitch... pressure in yuh arse... In front de goal mouth was de worst...

« Reply #24 on: November 01, 2008, 03:51:12 PM »
Forest reserve in tt
in usa-furman university and clemson university

worst-moka trinity in the rain
and i absolutely hated psa, skinner park and the velodrome

« Reply #25 on: November 01, 2008, 03:58:50 PM »
The best grounds I ever play on, well natural grass. It go have to be RFK grounds or the auxiliary fields next to RFK. Tuff, that would have to be Georgetown University. 

Thee worst grounds I ever played on was ah park in Washington DC weh all thee tournament uses to be, called Blair Rd. That had ah ravine in thee middle ah thee field.

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #26 on: November 02, 2008, 09:57:01 AM »
For me the best ground I play on in T&T is Lever Brothers...

in Foreign, Terryland Park in Galway, Ireland... dem fellas have a fulltime grounds crew who does wuk dat field for free... just to keep it pristine, (all ah dem is farmers too so yuh know everything organic...)

Although it had a Indian fella with bright eyes who used to do QRC grounds back in de day... ah MTS man, ah forget he name now...

but I think the prize for de worst ground has to go to Moka... (no disrespect fellas...)

and in Foreign, I was playing for a squad for a while Crescent FC in Galway and I hate to say it but the facility left a lot to be desired... it's become better now though...
« Last Edit: November 02, 2008, 10:25:57 AM by kaisocagoals »
a minute in football is a very long time...

« Reply #27 on: November 02, 2008, 10:02:59 AM »

in Foreign, Terryland Park in Galway, Ireland... dem fellas have a fulltime grounds crew who does wuk dat field for free... just to keep it pristine, (all ah dem is farmers too so yuh know everything organic...)

Although it had a Indian fella with bright eyes who used to do QRC grounds back in de day... ah MTS man, ah forget he name now...

;D Ah glad fuh yuh....yuh wouldn'ta want to see the grounds pre-mts, Padnah.....it was rough!

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #28 on: November 02, 2008, 10:10:29 AM »

;D Ah glad fuh yuh....yuh wouldn'ta want to see the grounds pre-mts, Padnah.....it was rough!

Ah know... is 2 generations pass through de "Q"...  :D

wha's dat fella name though... Moses?... nah... it go come to meh soon man...
a minute in football is a very long time...

« Reply #29 on: November 02, 2008, 10:17:46 AM »

Ah know... is 2 generations pass through de "Q"...  :D

wha's dat fella name though... Moses?... nah... it go come to meh soon man...

Arkse Deeks! He would know.  ;D