April 27, 2024, 06:18:59 PM

Author Topic: manchester united v celtic CHAMPIONS LEAGUE  (Read 3445 times)

manchester united v celtic CHAMPIONS LEAGUE
« on: November 03, 2008, 08:33:39 AM »
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson insists that neither he nor his superstar players have found an atmosphere quite like Celtic Park...
In-form Mancheter United travel to Sir Alex's home city of Glasgow this week hoping to do the Champions League Group E double over Celtic.

The Hoops may be injury stricken and still shaken after a meek display in the 3-0 defeat at Old Trafford a fortnight ago, but Ferguson is still wary of the stirring Parkhead factor. Some of the giants of Europe have fallen on their travels to the Bhoys' fortress in recent seasons, with their home form propelling them to back-to-back last-16 appearances in the elite competition.

Former Rangers striker Ferguson himself tasted defeat at Celtic Park in 2006 and admits that United's dressing room chatter of late has centred around the impending Scottish showdown.

He told The Mail, "Parkhead is the best I've experienced, certainly.

"The players were just talking about that the other day. [Nemanja] Vidic and [Cristiano] Ronaldo were saying it's the best atmosphere they had ever played in. Credit to the supporters for that because they don't half raise the roof."

United and Villarreal are almost guaranteed a place in the knock-out stages, but Ferguson isn't taking anything for granted and clearly wants his players to handle Wednesday's grudge match acid test.

He continued, "Only Barcelona have won at Parkhead so that tells you everything.

"It won't be easy, as it's obvious the Celtic players react to it. We're going to have to run that extra yard or we'll soon be found out by them."

Celtic's confidence has been boosted by good wins over Kilmarnock and Hearts and will look to both salvage pride and take a step towards beating Aalborg to third place in midweek.

Re: manchester united v celtic CHAMPIONS LEAGUE
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2008, 07:22:55 AM »
Brown Out Of Celtic ClashManchester United defender Wes Brown seems set to miss his side’s Champions League clash with Celtic on Wednesday.
The two sides will meet at Celtic Park on the back of United’s comprehensive 3-0 victory over the Scots at Old Trafford two weeks ago.

But memories remain from the Celts’ famous 1-0 home win over the Red Devils in 2006, where a Shunsuke Nakamura free-kick handed his side three critical points.

And ahead of the crucial contest, United have been dealt a blow with Brown now almost certain to miss the game.

The England right-back has been absent from the Reds’ last two matches with an ankle problem and was again unable to train today, meaning any involvement tomorrow is unlikely with Saturday’s Premier League clash with Arsenal looming.

As a result it will be a battle between experience and youth as club captain Gary Neville and Brazilian starlet Rafael da Silva compete for selection.

The captain of United’s reserve team, James Chester, has been drafted into the match-day squad as cover with manager Sir Alex Ferguson already having to do without long-term midfield absentees Paul Scholes and Owen Hargreaves.

Brown was a crucial element in United’s double winning side last season, making 52 appearances in all competitions in the absence of Neville, who has only returned to full fitness in this campaign after over a year on the sidelines.

« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2008, 07:26:41 AM »
Neville will be rested for Le Arse on Saturday....also VDS might be rested as well

-------------Foster(big keeper!)---

Rafael------Rio----Vida------Evra

Ronaldo----Fletch---Carrick-----Park

----------Wazza---Tevez(Berbs rest)

Bench: Kooshie...Neville..Evans..Nani...Anderson..Giggs..Tevez

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2008, 10:14:48 AM »
Neville will be rested for Le Arse on Saturday....also VDS might be rested as well

-------------Foster(big keeper!)---

Rafael------Rio----Vida------Evra

Ronaldo----Fletch---Carrick-----Park

----------Wazza---Tevez(Berbs rest)

Bench: Kooshie...Neville..Evans..Nani...Anderson..Giggs..Tevez

Both VDS and Neille didnt travel with the team to Scotland so Rafael is de only RB we travel with.........i would put Anderson to start instead of Carrick cause he still didn't look ready against Hull, bring him on as a sub.......start Tevez and Berbs let them work on that partnership......could also rest Rio or Vida for weekend and start Evans.........Time to start rotating Manucho into  strike force to get familiar with them boys.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2008, 12:26:12 PM »
 :yawning:

« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2008, 12:28:54 PM »
Giggs warns against repeat of 2006 Celtic lossUpdated: November 4, 2008, 9:13 AM EST GLASGOW, Scotland (AP) - Ryan Giggs has urged his Manchester United teammates to quickly see off Celtic's challenge Wednesday to avoid a repeat of their loss in the 2006 Champions League.

The veteran winger is still astonished that United's supremacy was undone by one of Shunsuke Nakamura's trademark free kicks with 10 minutes remaining.

"We played really well in the first half but we just didn't put our chances away," Giggs said. "If you do that in Europe it doesn't matter who you're playing against, you're going to get punished. We played well, but ultimately we didn't put our chances away - so we didn't deserve to win."

That defeat troubles manager Alex Ferguson even more as a former player with Celtic's fierce Glasgow rival Rangers.

The last trip to Glasgow, however, came after a slender 3-2 victory over Celtic, while the return two years later is on the back of an emphatic 3-0 win over Gordon Strachan's side last month.

"We need to win because it would guarantee qualification from the group," Ferguson said. "In 2006 we dominated possession and enjoyed our football but forgot to score a goal. We must remember it's important to finish the game off."

United is tied for the Group E lead with Villarreal on seven points, while both Celtic and Aalborg have just one.

"It won't be easy, only Barcelona have won at Parkhead (in the Champions League) so that tells you everything," Ferguson said. "You are going to have to run that extra yard or you will soon be found out by them. I don't think the Celtic fans would forgive non-triers. We know what it's like from two years ago and having watched the Champions League games over the years.

"You have to respect their home record and their fans have been fantastic. With 60,000 screaming banshees it will be electric. Celtic have also been chastened by the 3-0 defeat down here so the players will be fired up."

Strachan isn't relishing facing his former side.

"We need to be at our best and need to have a bit of luck. We must have things going for us," Strachan said. "In terms of effort, motivation, character and determination, we will be fine. But United are the best team in the world in terms of ability.

"Italy would have no chance against Man. United. France? No chance. Man United are far better. Roma lost 7-1 to them. It's unbelievable what they can do to other teams."

« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2008, 08:13:11 AM »
CL Preview: Celtic – Manchester UnitedWhat: UEFA Champions League Group E, Matchday 4
Who: Celtic (3rd, 1 point) vs. Manchester United (1st, 7 points)
When: Wednesday, 5th November, 19:45 GMT
Where: Celtic Park, Glasgow

In the aftermath of Celtic’s 3-0 defeat by Manchester United two weeks ago, the doom and gloom cast the way of Gordon Strachan’s side was overwhelming.

Critics were quick to talk about a vast gulf in class, predicting another embarrassing set back for the Bhoys in the return match this Wednesday.

Such barbs fail to take in to account the power of Celtic’s home record of just one defeat in their last 11 matches in the Champions League. The contrast with a run of 23 away games in the competition without a win is staggering.

Their tremendous form at Celtic Park was on show in 2006 when United were on the end of a 1-0 reversal. Shunsuke Nakamura was the hero that day after his stunning free kick saw the three points go the way of the Scottish club.

Rather than looking towards another strike out of the blue, Gordon Strachan has been quick to infuse in his team the importance of hard work if they’re going to get anything from this fixture.

The Bhoys will have also gained confidence from their clinical display against Hearts at the weekend. A measured Shaun Maloney volley and scrambled effort from a corner by Gary Caldwell put them in to a quick fire 2-0 lead which they held with steady assurance.

Celtic desperately need to continue this winning streak if they’re to stand any chance of making it in to the second round of the Champions League once again.

Georgios Samaras’ failure to recover from knee cartilage surgery in time for this game has dealt a significant blow to these hopes. Strachan will now be relying on the inspirational powers of Parkhead to see the Bhoys through.

Record Breakers

Sir Alex Ferguson has never been one to be intimidated by records. His teams have always been instilled with an unshakeable confidence that charges them with the belief that they can win anywhere, any time.

This mentality broke up the Old Firm cartel when he managed Aberdeen in the 1980s, shattered Arsenal’s 49 game unbeaten run in 2004, and ended Jose Mourinho’s stranglehold on the English game in 2007.

It could also inspire his squad to claim a win at Celtic Park, the ground which boasts the joint best home record in the Champions League.

He is a man who never misses a chance to settle a grudge as well. The Scottish manager and his opposite number at Celtic, Gordon Strachan, have enjoyed a fractious relationship since their time together at Aberdeen and Manchester United over 20 years ago.

While there are claims that the scars have healed in recent years, the 1-0 defeat the Red Devils registered the last time they travelled to Glasgow in 2006 must have hurt Ferguson.

That day, United were undone by a late Shunsuke Nakamura goal in a game they should have put to bed before the Japanese midfielder struck.

A repeat of such a performance is not beyond the realms of possibility if some of the champions' last few performances are anything to go by.

Against Hull City and Everton, the once unbreakable pairing of Nemanja Vidic and Rio Ferdinand was roughed up and unsettled, while at the other end the opportunity to put up two cricket scores was spurned as chance after chance went begging.

United need to get a grip on these relentless qualities if Ferguson is to get one over his wee nemesis by putting a dent in Celtic’s towering home record.

FORM GUIDE

Celtic:

2nd November vs. Hearts (A) won 2-0 (SCOT PREM)

29th October vs. Kilmarnock (A) won 3-1 (CIS CUP)

25th October vs. Hibernian (H) won 4-2 (SCOT PREM)

21st October vs. Manchester United (A) lost 3-0 (CHAMP LG)

18th vs. Inverness C.T. (A) won 1-2 (SCOT PREM)

Manchester United:

1st November vs. Hull City (H) won 4-3 (PREM)

29th October vs. West Ham United (H) won 2-0 (PREM)

25th October vs. Everton (A) drew 1-1 (PREM)

21st October vs. Celtic (H) won 3-0 (CHAMP LG)

18th October vs. West Bromwich Albion (H) won 4-0 (PREM)

TEAM NEWS

Celtic:

Gordon Strachan will be disappointed with the news that Greek centre forward Georgios Samaras (knee) will not be making his first team return against Manchester United. He remains stuck on the Celtic Park treatment table with fellow target man Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink (groin), Chris Killen (knee), Glenn Loovens (thigh) & Marc Crosas (hamstring).

Last starting XI (vs. Hearts): Boruc, Hinkel, Caldwell, McManus, Wilson, Maloney (McGeady 66), Scott Brown, Hartley, Robson (Donati 78), McDonald (McCourt 89), Sheridan.
Subs Not Used: Mark Brown, Nakamura, O'Dea, Caddis.

Squad: Boruc, Hinkel, Naylor, Caldwell, McManus, Wilson, Maloney, McGeady, Scott Brown, Hartley, Robson, Donati, McDonald, McCourt, Sheridan, Mark Brown, Nakamura, O'Dea, Caddis.

Manchester United:

United have a problem at right back for this game as Sir Alex Ferguson will be without Gary Neville (undisclosed) and Wes Brown (ankle). Rafael Da Silva will deputise. Veteran goalkeeper Edwin Van Der Sar has been left in Manchester to rest, with Ben Foster expected to make his Champions League debut. Owen Hargreaves (knee) and Paul Scholes (knee) continue their rehabilitation from long-term injuries.

Last starting XI (vs. Hull City): Van Der Sar, Neville, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra, Ronaldo, Carrick (Giggs 72), Anderson (O'Shea 88), Nani (Tevez 64), Berbatov, Rooney.
Subs Not Used: Foster, Park, Rafael Da Silva, Fletcher.

Squad: Kuszczak, Foster, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra, O'Shea, Rafael, Evans, Possebon, Anderson, Fletcher, Nani, Ronaldo, Gibson, Giggs, Carrick, Park, Tevez, Berbatov, Rooney.

PLAYERS TO WATCH

Celtic: An incredible amount of pressure will be placed on the shoulders of Cillian Sheridan if Gordon Strachan selects him on Wednesday night. The 19-year-old striker has only managed five first team appearances for the Bhoys, but his height and enthusiasm could unsettle the United defence in a way that the vertically challenged Scott McDonald was unable to do when the two teams met at Old Trafford. The Irishman will also be desperate to add to his total of just one goal for Celtic.

Manchester United: Amidst the madness going on around him, Dimitar Berbatov was the only United player to keep his composure against Hull City. The ice-cold Bulgarian laid on a host of chance for his team mates as he picked apart the Tigers’ defence at will. Berbatov was in just as devastating form against Celtic when they met at Old Trafford, showcasing his poacher’s instinct with two opportune goals. A performance that combines both these qualities will leave the Bhoys’ qualification hopes in ruins.

PREDICTION

Gordon Strachan’s side will be a much tougher nut to crack for United on Wednesday night. The Bhoys are almost untouchable at their Celtic Park home, and you can bet that the mammoth gulf in class between the two teams will not be repeated this time.

The Red Devils aren’t the Champions League holders by chance though. The quality that shines through the team will put the Hoops’ proud Parkhead record to the test. 

Celtic 1-2 Manchester United

« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2008, 08:16:31 AM »
Celtic 1-2 Manchester United

that could win longest post ever. The only part I read is that last part.
So said, where the links for Real Madrid v. Juventus game?

« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2008, 02:02:02 PM »
1 nil celtic in de 13th.

« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2008, 03:09:06 PM »
celtic defendin damn good.man u under pressure.

« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2008, 03:29:34 PM »
haha giggs score

« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2008, 04:46:12 PM »
What going on with this game?any scores/updates?

« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2008, 04:59:57 PM »
Coop's men don't type when they struggling.

The game finish 1-1 in favor of Man United.  ;D

« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2008, 05:03:33 PM »
Coops...

shit side in red 1 - shit side in green hoops 1

« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2008, 05:17:25 PM »
United played in blue this time.

« Reply #16 on: November 05, 2008, 05:21:45 PM »

they aspiring to be like Chelsea.

« Reply #17 on: November 05, 2008, 06:08:34 PM »

if dat was true we woulda loss  :devil:

« Reply #18 on: November 05, 2008, 06:13:03 PM »

if dat was true we woulda loss  :devil:

Ha, ha! Wait we talkin about dat shit side who get dey arse buss by the same team we does whip wit regularity in the CL? Dise the shit side in blue we talkin about?

« Reply #19 on: November 05, 2008, 06:56:19 PM »
Well Berba playing for the wrong red team.
Should be lining up for Arsenal.
Man trying to walk the ball in the back of the net and UNSCORING goals.
$30M+ for that shit?

I would ask for a refund.

Time for metaphor of the day.

How is Berba and a coconut vendor alike? (The answer is NOT "he does sell he nuts to C. Ronaldo")

Imagine you stop by a coconut truck round the savannah, and after you pay for, and drink the water - the man holding the cutlash take back the coconut and tell you yuh have to pay more for the jelly.

« Reply #20 on: November 05, 2008, 07:06:55 PM »
Well Berba playing for the wrong red team.
Should be lining up for Arsenal.
Man trying to walk the ball in the back of the net and UNSCORING goals.
$30M+ for that shit?

I would ask for a refund.

Time for metaphor of the day.

How is Berba and a coconut vendor alike? (The answer is NOT "he does sell he nuts to C. Ronaldo")

Imagine you stop by a coconut truck round the savannah, and after you pay for, and drink the water - the man holding the cutlash take back the coconut and tell you yuh have to pay more for the jelly.

if only your team use to try as hard as u, dey woulda probably only get 2 yesterday

« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2008, 07:12:59 PM »
if only your team use to try as hard as u, dey woulda probably only get 2 yesterday

horse, IF I was Scolari, my punishment for Mikel forking up on that 3rd goal woulda be to pick up all the sweaty jock strap after the match, carry it home, handwash them, and iron them.

I know that eh punishment for C. Ronaldo. The man does be tiefing sniff after every match ... da is why yuh does always see him leaving the pitch last. All dem men done gone in the change room and gears down.

« Reply #22 on: November 05, 2008, 07:13:31 PM »
Coops...

stueps your team is not the one that loss yesterday  ::)

« Reply #23 on: November 05, 2008, 07:23:11 PM »

horse, IF I was Scolari, my punishment for Mikel forking up on that 3rd goal woulda be to pick up all the sweaty jock strap after the match, carry it home, handwash them, and iron them.

I know that eh punishment for C. Ronaldo. The man does be tiefing sniff after every match ... da is why yuh does always see him leaving the pitch last. All dem men done gone in the change room and gears down.

he does probably boil it in corn soup and sell it on independence sq too.

« Reply #24 on: November 05, 2008, 07:25:22 PM »

he does probably boil it in corn soup and sell it on independence sq too.

hahaha

« Reply #25 on: November 05, 2008, 08:31:55 PM »
Coops...

But I doh hide, I does man up and say we get beat, but this thread get abandoned rel quick. You would a swear is Villa Capri and the police buss the place.

« Reply #26 on: November 05, 2008, 08:33:05 PM »
Coops...

But I doh hide, I does man up and say we get beat, but this thread get abandoned rel quick. You would a swear is Villa Capri and the police buss the place.

At least in Villa people does wait 5 mins after the police leave and go back.