March 28, 2024, 06:00:24 PM

Author Topic: Latapy Day  (Read 15793 times)

Offline keiththebairn

Latapy Day
« on: November 02, 2008, 03:45:42 AM »
Hi,

I am organising a Russell Latapy Day at Falkirk FC on the 29th of November. Falkirk play Hibs one of Russell's former clubs where he is still regarded as a Legend.

Basically if any T&T fans could make it to the game it would add to the atmosphere of what should be a great day.

Russell seemed up for this idea when i met him and i think it would be a fitting way to honour him for the pleasure that he has brought to Scottish Football fans over the years.

Cheers

Good Luck with WC 2010

Re: Latapy Day
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2008, 11:14:03 AM »
Nice info. You'll certainly get responses. Keep up the good work.

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2008, 12:00:17 PM »
Thank u for d day and d wishes it mus have some Trinis in Scotland who can make dis

Offline keiththebairn

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2008, 02:23:31 PM »
Yeah guys any ideas that you've got to add to the day even if you can't make it would be appreciated.

Would love to get a Trin band playing again. However not sure how possibly that is. Other than footballers is there any famous British based Trini people we could invite to present Latas a memento?

We are hoping for a huge fan display at our stadium...

Can anyone tell me Latas fave trini music? Or some famous trini bands so we can play them before the game at half time.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2008, 02:33:57 PM by keiththebairn »

« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2008, 03:04:11 PM »
Yeah guys any ideas that you've got to add to the day even if you can't make it would be appreciated.
Would love to get a Trin band playing again. However not sure how possibly that is. Other than footballers is there any famous British based Trini people we could invite to present Latas a memento?
We are hoping for a huge fan display at our stadium...
Can anyone tell me Latas fave trini music? Or some famous trini bands so we can play them before the game at half time.
some ideas off the top of my head ;D

a steel band was featured at the half time of this game...maybe find out who hired them
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6960736.stm

Glasgow, 32 miles away have these
http://www.freakmusic.co.uk/bands/blackstar
http://www.themagicagency.com/steel.htm
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2008, 04:22:12 PM »
Billy Ocean!

Aye Dreamer where have you reappeared from.

Missed your inspired comments

Good to have you back

« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2008, 04:24:57 PM »
he biggest fan has a rock group

just check this thread later on and you would get the details

« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2008, 08:14:36 PM »
An ex BBC anchor is Trini...is it Trevor McDonald..sorry completely forgot the name.

Billy Ocean

Dwight Yorke :-)

Charran Singh, the ex WI cricketer lives in Scotland.

The actor from East Enders and love thy neighbour Rudolph Walker.

Offline keiththebairn

« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2008, 03:17:40 AM »
Thank you i will invite them all!!

Dwight is playing against Bolton that day so thats a shame.

Cheers

Keith

Offline soca_randy

« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2008, 05:57:10 AM »
That sounds good!

If we have a crew coming from London I would not mind making that  trip.

socarandy
East London

Offline keiththebairn

« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2008, 06:21:58 AM »
You'd be welcomed with open arms.

« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2008, 07:33:08 AM »
What about arguably LATAS biggest fan on this forum....Jointpop !!!

Big Mag where u at ?

« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2008, 07:53:09 AM »
ah here...lol..

Keith the Bairn...good idea at the Falkirk stadium...hope it all goes well...

my band jointpop just toured the UK in July..( www.myspace.com/jointpop)
we stayed in Falkirk also...and Russell took us to 2 pre season matches at the Falkirk stadium ( Ross county and QPR)...

wish we could be there to be part of it.....all the best

"come on you Bairns"...

« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2008, 07:24:49 PM »
would someone send the strike squad song to this man so they could learn the chant

"ee ooh aye...check de danger..ooo Latapy inna de area"

Offline keiththebairn

« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2008, 03:35:53 AM »
Is the strike squad song on youtube?

Offline keiththebairn

« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2008, 04:22:31 PM »
Here's the official Latapy Day video stick it on your bebo's/myspace or whatever get it out there people.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=0JISSemMQo8

Offline keiththebairn

« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2008, 03:59:25 PM »
Here's the official club link thanks for your support guys and girls!

http://www.falkirkfc.co.uk/club-news/coming-soon---latapy-day-.html

Does this get me free drinks and accomodation in T&T? We are creating a huge Latapy shirt at the moment!!

« Reply #17 on: November 06, 2008, 04:07:43 PM »
would someone send the strike squad song to this man so they could learn the chant

"ee ooh aye...check de danger..ooo Latapy inna de area"

Keith here is the link to download
"licks like fire.....".
http://www.thewarriornation.com/component/option,com_docman/task,cat_view/gid,18/Itemid,29/

you might as well listen to "On the road to Italy" also ;)

Bonus Track:
This one by Latapy's BIGGEST fan, Big Magician
http://www.thewarriornation.com/component/option,com_docman/task,doc_download/gid,2/  ;D
« Last Edit: November 06, 2008, 04:34:21 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: November 06, 2008, 04:43:04 PM »

you can find it here:

http://www.tntingermany.com/music.php

bottom of 2nd column - all these mention Latapy:

(1989) Sound Revolution: Football Dance
(1989) Sound Revolution: Licks Like Fire, Licks Like Peas
(1989) Super Blue: On The Road To Italy
(1990) Sound Revolution: Football Dance Too
(1990) Sound Revolution: '94 For Sure
(1990) Super Blue: Soccer
(2001) Denyse Plummer: Football Jam "Soca Ninja"
(2001) Jointpop: Little Giants

« Reply #19 on: November 06, 2008, 05:56:03 PM »
E-Man, can  I download those songs directly from your site ???
« Last Edit: November 06, 2008, 05:58:24 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #20 on: November 06, 2008, 06:22:33 PM »

It's streaming only.

« Reply #21 on: November 06, 2008, 06:27:11 PM »
It's streaming only.
OK, Thanks

Offline keiththebairn

« Reply #22 on: November 10, 2008, 04:54:43 AM »
Here's the official site!! http://www.russelllatapy.info/#nogo

I'm also looking to make a nice banner for Russell from you guys to him as you probably can't attend. So describe Russell in 5 words and i'll pick the best quote and make a banner to represent Soca Warriors at the game.

Offline Ned

« Reply #23 on: November 10, 2008, 05:08:59 AM »
Just popped on to see if anyone had mentioned this.

Not been here for a while, great to see Latas playing for T&T again - Ned Jnr is going to be well upset when the Wee Magician goes  :-[

Good Luck with 2010.

« Reply #24 on: November 10, 2008, 07:54:32 AM »

you can find it here:

Do you have Shadow song ? de remix for Horn. De song he sing for de T&T team. ?

« Reply #25 on: November 10, 2008, 02:03:49 PM »

you can find it here:

Do you have Shadow song ? de remix for Horn. De song he sing for de T&T team. ?

I don't have that remix, no.

Offline Thundermonkey

« Reply #26 on: November 10, 2008, 03:28:19 PM »
Hi guys, another Falkirk fan here.

As part of the Latapy celebrations I have designed some T-Shirts for fans to buy and wear to the match.  Obviously it is a bit much to ask if you guys are planning a trans-atlantic trip but I thought that you might be interested in my designs.

www.comboutique.com/latapyday

Hopefully see some UK-based (or further afield) Socawarriors at The Falkirk Stadium on Nov 29th :)

« Reply #27 on: November 10, 2008, 04:06:42 PM »
good stuff Thundermonkey... i want one

« Reply #28 on: November 11, 2008, 09:49:52 AM »
FLEX/Tman organze so we can get dem juzzy

« Reply #29 on: November 11, 2008, 03:36:48 PM »

looking good