April 28, 2024, 09:41:58 PM

Author Topic: Should T&T have day-light saving time ?  (Read 3830 times)

Should T&T have day-light saving time ?
« on: November 03, 2008, 07:37:35 AM »
I think many countries in the Caribbean do it including Jamaica.

Re: Should T&T have day-light saving time ?
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2008, 08:10:34 AM »
The vast majority of Caribbean countries are on Atlantic Standard Time (AST), and the remainder are on Eastern Standard Time (EST). Those that are on EST are the more northern islands (Cuba, Jamaica, Haiti, Bahamas, Cayman Islands, and Turks & Caicos Islands). The only islands that observe daylight savings time are Cuba, Haiti, and Turks & Caicos.

With de confusion dat DST would bring, I eh tink it would be someting necessarily beneficial to T&T.

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2008, 08:16:44 AM »
I don't think that Jamaica does. They are in a different time zone though so they are off from TnT and in line with the east coast.

People question the practicality of DST in the US as the economy is not as fundamentally linked to agriculture. The main reason for it now is tradition and supposed energy savings. It would be even more questionable in the Caribbean where you don’t have as much of a fluctuation in daylight.

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2008, 09:13:28 AM »
The only benefit it will have is that men sweat in the afternoon go have more light.

« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2008, 09:21:11 AM »
The only benefit it will have is that men sweat in the afternoon go have more light.

Nah yuh will have less daylight in the afternoon.   

« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2008, 10:36:32 AM »
I in a party Sunday morning and when the party done my Blackberry saying 2 am and I asking myself how this party ending so early.

Sunday afternoon I had to go a lil function and when I reach nobody there cause I'm a hour early. Only to realise  yesterday was DST and my Blackberry in the wrong time zone.

« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2008, 10:51:49 AM »
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2008, 12:06:09 PM »

I think the TTFA self proposed day light savings just for this reason.

I can't find the reference right now, but I came across it somewhere.

« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2008, 12:40:50 PM »

Nah yuh will have less daylight in the afternoon.   

...in the fall and winter....

It good in the summer becuz yuh have real daylight in the afternoon but almost none in the fall/winter.
I prefer not to have it, at least then I might have a chance to do something in the sun on winter afternoons.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2008, 12:45:13 PM by Peong »

« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2008, 12:59:47 PM »
come on.  trinidad less than 11 degrees north (unless it float northwhile I wasn't looking).  not even arizona does promote dat.

« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2008, 01:23:38 PM »
ah fine allyuh should get ah good snow storm in allyuh arse... :devil:

« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2008, 01:24:03 PM »
wot wud be the point? what we trying to save daylight for...we have enuf!

« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2008, 03:48:28 PM »

I think the TTFA self proposed day light savings just for this reason.

I can't find the reference right now, but I came across it somewhere.

Found it. This was in 1965. There were other attempts in the 1920's and in 1959 by business to implement it.

Sportsbeat
Date Published: 1965-12-19
Source: Jamaica Gleaner

TRINIDAD'S GOVERNMENT has been called upon by the Trinidad Football Association to introduce daylight-saving time to assist the organizing of football in particular as any other sports. In his first address as president, Basil Matthews, said "All our efforts will be futile if serious consideration is not given by all and sundry to the introduction of daylight-saving time." He added that if Trinidad desired its home-grown footballers to play against exponents of world class, a big shake-up and re-organization in the structure of the local game was necessary.

« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2008, 12:33:09 AM »
again...one of the great things about being trini is that we stick to we own blasted time...so people please dont try and add more Americanization in we culture...time too? Oh gosh allyuh stop nah...next ting..allyuh goe want hail, blizzard...and wind chill.... ;D   

« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2008, 02:14:04 AM »
come on.  trinidad less than 11 degrees north (unless it float northwhile I wasn't looking).  not even arizona does promote dat.

I think yuh mixing up yuh latitudes wid yuh longitudes.

« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2008, 02:19:52 AM »

?

« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2008, 03:57:46 AM »

?

The discussion is about time zones... which are predicated upon longitudinal positioning.  "trinidad less than 11 degrees north (of the Equator)" = a latitudinal position. 

Lines of longitude/distance from Greenwich Meridian determine time.  Lines of latitude/distance from the equator has no bearing on time zones.  Of course it's been about 50 yrs since I last had Geography... but I don't think the convention has changed.

« Reply #17 on: November 04, 2008, 09:25:14 AM »
The discussion is about time zones... which are predicated upon longitudinal positioning.  "trinidad less than 11 degrees north (of the Equator)" = a latitudinal position. 

Lines of longitude/distance from Greenwich Meridian determine time.  Lines of latitude/distance from the equator has no bearing on time zones.  Of course it's been about 50 yrs since I last had Geography... but I don't think the convention has changed.

Actually this discussion is about daylight savings, which is implemented because distance from the equator and time of year cause a change in the number of hours of daylight each day.

Further from the equator the effect is more pronounced.

« Reply #18 on: November 04, 2008, 11:24:56 AM »

?

Yeah but these fellas talkin' about daylight savings...

« Reply #19 on: November 04, 2008, 02:01:09 PM »
Yeah but these fellas talkin' about daylight savings...

Actually this discussion is about daylight savings, which is implemented because distance from the equator and time of year cause a change in the number of hours of daylight each day.

Further from the equator the effect is more pronounced.

Now that I think about it... this does make sense.

I stand corrected  :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: November 05, 2008, 01:21:43 PM »
I personally think Trinidad should move our clocks forward permeanently 1/2 hour so sunset of 6:30 say would be 7:00.
The light at the beginning of the day is used less effectively than the light at the end. As in the amount of people benfitting from sunrise at 6:30 is a lot less than would benefit from sunlight till 7:00 pm

« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2008, 08:40:25 PM »
I personally think Trinidad should move our clocks forward permeanently 1/2 hour so sunset of 6:30 say would be 7:00.
The light at the beginning of the day is used less effectively than the light at the end. As in the amount of people benfitting from sunrise at 6:30 is a lot less than would benefit from sunlight till 7:00 pm

a whole 30 mins?  I say about a 20 mins  lol
Dat go be enuff so that the blasted sun not in my eye when i heading out

We eh really need all that drama nah...the amount of bacchanal it go cause.  Lazy people go leave all dem clock on the wall with the wrong time...all them computer go remain with wrong time.  I wud catch real kicks when the time actually changing...men go be cornfused and talking all kinda heights bout how 30 mins cud just disappear. It go be entertaining in the very least...we like that kinda excitement   ;D

« Reply #22 on: November 06, 2008, 07:00:21 AM »
yeah no DST just permeanently forward 30 mins that way is only once ever they could mess things up after a month or so I sure they will catch on !
they use 1/2 time zones in India and Russia

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #23 on: November 06, 2008, 09:36:13 AM »
First it was f**kin Halloween now this shit. 

I was in Trinidad this past weekend and to my disgust observed people in costumes looking like at pack of ass on the Avenue, now man talking about turning back the clock.  What next, ah call fuh four seasons?
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #24 on: November 06, 2008, 09:57:36 AM »
What next, ah call fuh four seasons?

At least dis way poor Sammy Claus wouldn' dead ah heat stroke...