March 28, 2024, 09:13:59 AM

Author Topic: Belmont Intermediate  (Read 5732 times)

Offline behind-de-bridge

Belmont Intermediate
« on: September 13, 2005, 08:11:32 AM »
What ever happen to this school's football team? Anybody knows? Any posters went to this school? Just an observation but like it have more ex-college boys on this site than anyone else (no offence intended)

Re: Belmont Intermediate
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2005, 08:32:13 AM »
I didn't go to Belmont but am from there. I played against the LaForest brothers, in my time...The coach of that time was Rugged Tom, who eventually was one of  my coaches in Canada. My team was QRC.
I am also curious as to their situation today, in the scheme of Northern School football.

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2005, 08:42:01 AM »
What ever happen to this school's football team? Anybody knows?

First of all, de school is no longer known as Belmont Intermediate, it is now called Belmont Secondary. Here is an article that discusses the school's football team: Belmont Battalion is back

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2005, 09:04:41 AM »
Thanks for the helpful info Tallman. You are like a human encyclopedia. Actually, I know it is now known Belmont Secondary, as it was also called that when I left in the mid 80's. That team of the mid 70's was class!! I wonder what ever became of dem fellas!

« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2005, 09:06:28 AM »
Thanks as usual TallMan...Sounds like a very organized program....hmmmnn

« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2005, 09:16:46 AM »
I'm not sure what is going on with this school but ah know dey always have ah problem maintaining a good seasoned crop of players . The last time they did well was 1992 when they went on and win the north zone and intercol championships. They lost out to malick ah tink in the big four that year .

I know this as I attended Belmont for five years and was there to see the improvement in that 3 year programme which they topped off things with that big year in 92 . It seems that they go for long term progression instead of the one hit wonder as I saw in Tallman's post that they working on a five year plan.

This school doh really have ah footballing or sporting history ( except for ah few sporting hearoes like Ian Bishop, Dem biking boys dat ah cyar remember now Green and some other names ) so there was never an emphasis on sports as academics is there single and most interest. Everything thing else is just recreational . I won't be surprised if they come with ah bomb squad in ah two or three years though.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 09:21:03 AM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2005, 10:16:37 AM »
This school doh really have ah footballing or sporting history ( except for ah few sporting hearoes like Ian Bishop, Dem biking boys dat ah cyar remember now Green and some other names ) so there was never an emphasis on sports as academics is there single and most interest. Everything thing else is just recreational . I won't be surprised if they come with ah bomb squad in ah two or three years though.

Sorry sir, your above statement is wrong.

« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2005, 10:19:44 AM »
about what maxg?????

« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2005, 10:22:24 AM »
whey boy...men forgeting players like ian christmas...marvin joseph...colin roberts...darin lewis!!!

« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2005, 10:48:19 AM »
Fordy u went to Belmont too ? ;D

Yeah u call ah name dat cause real tears in de secondary championships oui...MARVIN JOSEPH boy ! Dat fella was worries he was like ah stern john in he times (the ole stern though).....talking bout dat,ah tink Stern and he was playing de league around de same time. Ah wonder wey he is now?

Darin Lewis was ah sad man too..Quiet but deadly on de ball .

Ah almost forget meh boy Colin Roberts......oh godohh......... He hurt real hard men in de league too......he was like ah bulldozer just move through men easy, easy.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 10:53:00 AM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2005, 10:54:43 AM »
Darin lewis was a very good footballer-complete palyer dribble, pass, finish, creative.  believe he old man was steve david or steve pierre one of them past great legends-so good pedigree. how he not in the national team pool is weird-he must have lost it.

he was that belmont team, hands down he make all them fellas better.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 10:56:52 AM by football king »

« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2005, 11:08:51 AM »
Fordy u went to Belmont too ? ;D

Yeah u call ah name dat cause real tears in de secondary championships oui...MARVIN JOSEPH boy ! Dat fella was worries he was like ah stern john in he times (the ole stern though).....talking bout dat,ah tink Stern and he was playing de league around de same time. Ah wonder wey he is now?

Darin Lewis was ah sad man too..Quiet but deadly on de ball .

Ah almost forget meh boy Colin Roberts......oh godohh......... He hurt real hard men in de league too......he was like ah bulldozer just move through men easy, easy.

nah boss...played against dem boys for years...2 years at trinity and 2 at cic. darin played with rahim when they won de ncaa nationals at uconn and den he played a little for portland A-league team. ah hear he playin for some local team...ah may be wrong. colin i always felt should have gotten more of ah run on de senior team. he and carlos shud be fighting for dat right flank position.

« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2005, 11:49:09 AM »
Fordy you went Trinity and play against Big Bird and dem?

If that is de case we know each odder den.

« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2005, 12:05:17 PM »
Darin hold tings in dey but Marvin Joseph was de main marksman for belmont back den...Darin tek over when he leave.

Yeah yeah ah hear u fordy. In my books Colin should ah mek ah lil National team if he was to continue de trade eh, But so it goes for ah lot ah fellas back home (de 'what if' factor).
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 12:10:52 PM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2005, 12:07:43 PM »
Darin hold tings in dey but Marvin Joseph was de main marksman for belmont back den...Darin tek over when he leave..

true dat!!!

« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2005, 12:08:28 PM »
Fordy you went Trinity and play against Big Bird and dem?

If that is de case we know each odder den.

u played with belmont? what year?

« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2005, 12:12:51 PM »
Ah never played for dem but ah was ah real supporter back den.

« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2005, 12:25:42 PM »
Belmont Inter/ Second. had a sporting history in Football, Track and Basketball. I am referring to the mid to late 60's. I know, cause my cousins went there, and I played ball, and ran against them regularly. Isn't that historical ? Tallman's article can also attest to that.
In Northern games, only 2 high schools were ever invited to participate against the major track & field clubs of the time, Belmont, and QRC.

« Reply #18 on: September 13, 2005, 12:42:20 PM »
How alyuh could forget alyuh national team player Anton pierre.

« Reply #19 on: September 13, 2005, 12:44:54 PM »
How alyuh could forget alyuh national team player Anton pierre.

next big player!!!

« Reply #20 on: September 13, 2005, 12:45:32 PM »
U know what maxg....u might be right.....but when I went dey dey really never do too much with sport other football one or two times when dey do ah lil ting.. but dey wasn't consistent and dais what I was refering to.

I take ur point .

Yeah Touches u right. Like u really in  touch wit tings sah ;D

« Reply #21 on: September 13, 2005, 01:00:23 PM »
doh forget Brian "Big Bird" Brown....

Belmont national players
« Reply #22 on: September 13, 2005, 03:50:57 PM »
Here is a list of Belmont Intermediate/Secondary alumni who represented the T&T senior football team:
Anton Pierre, Ron La Forest, Darin Lewis, Colin Roberts, Gerry Browne, Gordon Husbands, George Romano, Marlon Morris and Marlon Pierre.

Anyone missing from dat list?

It seems that they go for long term progression instead of the one hit wonder as I saw in Tallman's post that they working on a five year plan.

A detailed outline of their plan can be found here: Football Development Program Structure
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 07:40:04 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #23 on: September 13, 2005, 07:15:55 PM »
Allyuh really went Belmont? How de arse yuh go forget ballmen like red man Sosa and Rudder.  Is Mr. King de old coach still alive? Dat fella have class...I playing against dem and he coaching me. Yuh ever hear more?
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 07:18:36 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #24 on: September 13, 2005, 07:48:17 PM »
fordy, i went trinity

« Reply #25 on: September 13, 2005, 11:20:10 PM »
Mr. King ? Da was ah serious teacher but cool person. 

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #26 on: September 14, 2005, 07:50:52 AM »
Savannah Boy, Deon Sosa was OK, but I remember best for the nice sister he had!! I saw Albert King last year in the savannah jogging. De man looking the same as he did 20 years ago!!!

« Reply #27 on: September 14, 2005, 09:41:08 AM »
wait rudder was he nicknamed SABA or somethign weird like that.
play u-20 with latas, marcelle rocke.
man was a good player. just was around when belmont was having lean times.

mid 80's if this is in fact the same rudder.

« Reply #28 on: September 14, 2005, 07:55:20 PM »
Saba was he nickname yes....yuh know de man self...football king. He is another one like Gip from QRC dat jes fall off we radar for no blasted reason at all.

« Reply #29 on: September 14, 2005, 07:58:43 PM »
Here is a list of Belmont Intermediate/Secondary alumni who represented the T&T senior football team:
Anton Pierre, Ron La Forest, Darin Lewis, Colin Roberts, Gerry Browne, Gordon Husbands, George Romano, Marlon Morris and Marlon Pierre.

Tallman yuh is ah Trojan yes. Dat is jes a few ballers known from de St. Ann's/Belmont Area from dat one school.