April 27, 2024, 05:18:24 PM

Author Topic: Best SSFL team you ever witness.  (Read 18412 times)

Best SSFL team you ever witness.
« on: November 04, 2008, 10:30:45 AM »
What's the best SSFL team you ever witness personally play live.

For me in this order for 1987/88.

1. St Benedicts
2. Signall Hill
3. Presentation (Sando)
4. Arima
5. St Augustine

Re: Best SSFL team you ever witness.
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2008, 10:47:59 AM »
You forgot the biggest team of all

SAN FERNANDO TECH!

« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2008, 10:49:37 AM »
You forgot the biggest team of all

SAN FERNANDO TECH!

I said 'witness live' I never see them play live. In 1987/88 they wasn't hot, maybe back in de days.

« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2008, 10:55:43 AM »
Well Benedicts didn't look to good here...  :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_u6lFLboH5k

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2008, 10:58:03 AM »
For me Arima...think is around 91 or 92 there...when Trotman was embarassin men every game. East was bess all them time with Nixon and Stern etc
It's only kinky the 1st time

Offline trinimuse

« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2008, 11:08:26 AM »
1987 Pres Sando, team with Sherwood, Colin Osborne, Lester Branker, Romano Paul et al.

vs St Mary's 1987
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6gP7HDF94qA&feature=related

« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2008, 11:10:33 AM »
well i saw them many times live...and the answer is sando tech...

« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2008, 11:15:31 AM »
well i saw them many times live...and the answer is sando tech...

Wha year ?

Sherwood was special. Hislop collect some goals in de ass for St Marys....  :rotfl:

Trotman was good at school, never liked him at international level.

Benedicts did lose vs Signal Hill but they had a good team, Pres was hot too.

« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2008, 11:20:39 AM »
Signal Hill!!!....talk done!!... ;D

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2008, 11:33:17 AM »
Sando Tech ...with latas
Arima snr comp...with jamerson
Signal Hill..with Yorke
St Augustine ....with Nixon
Malick.....with Dwarika
Belmont....with (I think Colin Roberts) The year they win intercol

My absolute favorite ssfl Team....Arima snr Comp 91' with Mickey Trotman, Dwayne Demmin, Darron Gooding, Pope, Powtan, Bishop, Carrera, Austin, Thomas, Khari Williams (khari Kill), Coa

« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2008, 11:37:17 AM »
1. Malick in the late 90's a la Conrad

2. St Anthony's with carlos

3. Altho i doh like them playing QRC on QRC grounds was the bessss experience, that music, the chant, the ropeoff field. EPIC

4. Tranquil

5. Mucorapo

« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2008, 11:37:32 AM »
Presentation (San F'do) in 1996 had a wicked squad. Had a keeper that was converted to a striker that season, and he rain goals on other teams. Too bad the season was officially suspended in the middle of season due to the teachers' strike.
That year however, an un-official Intercol of sorts was conducted, and most of the team continued to play.
Pres came away unofficial Nat'l Champs that year.

My favourite squad from Pres is the 93 squad that Avery John skippered. In South Intercol, beat Naps 3-0. We scored in the last min of regulation time with a curling corner vs Benedicts and ended up beating them on penalties. Then Avery Score the winner from a PK vs. Ike Jurwan led Princes Town in the finals. Eventually got beat by Signal Hill in the National Semis.  

Saw lots of Benedicts and Pres while in primary school up to 91, and those teams starred Ivan Sampson and Anthony Sherwood respectively. During that time, also witnessed the St. Benedict's vs. Arima debacle in Skinner Park, when the crowd invaded the pitch and the game was called off.

From the North when regional intercol started, St. Anthony's always seemed to have a good squad in the mid-late 90s.  

« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2008, 11:40:04 AM »
Belmont in 93 with Colin Roberts, Marvin Joseph, Darin Lewis, Ian Christmas & co. - probably not the best team but possibly some of the neatest, organized football I've seen at that level...

« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2008, 11:49:22 AM »
Benedicts 88 !!!! talk done.

Presentation College (San Fernando) was a site to see. Sherwood was a one man team like Yorke for Signal Hill.

Big crowds in them days boy. Skinner Park was de place !!!!!!!!

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2008, 12:02:58 PM »
benadicts win in 88?....was that a QRC / Benadicts final?   dont remember much bout benadicts ....was not impressed with benadicts in the early 90's...they cheat and complain plenty

« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2008, 12:11:47 PM »
As a man who played in the SSFL and see hundreds of games, the best team ever assembled that I saw was Sando Tech, bar none.

Signal Hill was good but that team get bout 6 from Sando Tech in the Intercol Semi Final.  Yorkie was a one man show when he played for Signal Hill but Tech had an entire assemblement that was downright advantagous.  Is like them men from Sando Tech was playing paid.

Take this from a man who wanted Arima to beat Sando Tech in the final but they were on another level....

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2008, 12:16:25 PM »
Lordo, is ah bunch ah youth men on here boy!

CIC - Dexter Skeene, David Nakhid, Kurt Hernandez, Barry Henderson, Gonzy, Stephen Choy Yuen, Regis,

Then:
Mucurapo - with CLauzel, Eric White, Emmerson D, Wendell Belgrave
Mucurapo - with Clint Marcell, Russel Sutton Walkes, Sean Walkes, Andy haynes
John D - the year with men like Brian Haynes, Garfield De Silva (I think), Pugh
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #17 on: November 04, 2008, 12:20:31 PM »
....Tech had an entire assemblement that was downright advantagous.  Is like them men from Sando Tech was playing paid...

What is the story behind the demise of Sando Tech?
I remember hearing about Sando Tech (and John D) when I was growing up from partners who had played against them and collect licks for years. There seemed to be a real uproar about how the team was assembled and had Leonson, Latas and Faustin.

Did they get banned or suspended, and the program never recovered?

By the time I got around to following the SSFL, the teams to follow were Pres, Benedicts, QRC, CIC, Malick, St. Augustine, ElDo, Arima and Signal Hill. Never had the chance to see Sando Tech.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2008, 12:22:30 PM by acb »

« Reply #18 on: November 04, 2008, 12:27:28 PM »
....Tech had an entire assemblement that was downright advantagous.  Is like them men from Sando Tech was playing paid...

What is the story behind the demise of Sando Tech?
I remember hearing about Sando Tech (and John D) when I was growing up from partners who had played against them and collect licks for years. There seemed to be a real uproar about how the team was assembled and had Leonson, Latas and Faustin.

Did they get banned or suspended, and the program never recovered?

By the time I got around to following the SSFL, the teams to follow were Pres, Benedicts, QRC, CIC, Malick, St. Augustine, ElDo, Arima and Signal Hill. Never had the chance to see Sando Tech.
From what I remember, they changed the rules so that they could not compete with the regular "high schools".
And yes, talent wise, they were the best; remember basically everyone from that team was a national player.

« Reply #19 on: November 04, 2008, 12:55:14 PM »
'66
Benedict's ; Fatima ; QRC

« Reply #20 on: November 04, 2008, 01:04:42 PM »
I love my Benedicts teams I cyah lie but the best College team I saw had to be Sando tech in 85 with Latas , Faustin and Leo etc I witness dem beat our benedicts team 11-1 in skinner park after I scale the wall to get in sigh.....and one of the neatest playing teams was Belmont with Colin roberts and Darren lewis and Marvin Joseph ...Colin Roberts to me is the best crosser of the ball I've ever seen in College league far and away

« Reply #21 on: November 04, 2008, 01:07:19 PM »
As a man who played in the SSFL and see hundreds of games, the best team ever assembled that I saw was Sando Tech, bar none.

Signal Hill was good but that team get bout 6 from Sando Tech in the Intercol Semi Final.  Yorkie was a one man show when he played for Signal Hill but Tech had an entire assemblement that was downright advantagous.  Is like them men from Sando Tech was playing paid.

Take this from a man who wanted Arima to beat Sando Tech in the final but they were on another level....

I kinda always question some of dem fellas age but have to give them the nod as the best ever. All yuh wasn't bad either that year,especially the 2nd game ah thought arima had them but faustin was thinking otherwise.  
Signal hill had a good team after that  not sure if yorke was on it They  run off 3 straight titles.

« Reply #22 on: November 04, 2008, 01:11:36 PM »
Benedicts in the 60's but I was small & more remember the crowd and tra la la.
Actually following football, San F'do Technical 71-72-73 dem times.

« Reply #23 on: November 04, 2008, 01:15:47 PM »
1987 Pres Sando, team with Sherwood, Colin Osborne, Lester Branker, Romano Paul et al.

vs St Mary's 1987
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6gP7HDF94qA&feature=related

yuh mean 1986 team, won big 7 and lost in natinal intercol final...the big 7 game against eldo was one of the best comebacks i have seen in the SSFL.

« Reply #24 on: November 04, 2008, 01:17:39 PM »
St Anthony's....Kenwyne Jones, Carlos Edwards, Evans Wise, Julius James, Kevon Neaves etc

« Reply #25 on: November 04, 2008, 01:19:35 PM »
Sando Tech by a mile a landslide

Offline sinned

« Reply #26 on: November 04, 2008, 01:26:20 PM »
St Anthony's....Kenwyne Jones, Carlos Edwards, Evans Wise, Julius James, Kevon Neaves etc

i'd agree with that. i think steve sealy was in the mix too. that was a beastly team. they added roderick anthony too.

my father was a teacher at sando tech and he saw them in the glory days and said no other ssfl team he's seen compared.

i have to add the 1999 and 2000 naps team. in 1999 i believe naps went undefeated all season winning 19 out of 20 with the draw coming in the Big 4 final where naps drew 2-2 with el do and then in the replay won. naps won everything on offer that year

« Reply #27 on: November 04, 2008, 01:33:10 PM »

i'd agree with that. i think steve sealy was in the mix too. that was a beastly team. they added roderick anthony too.

my father was a teacher at sando tech and he saw them in the glory days and said no other ssfl team he's seen compared.

i have to add the 1999 and 2000 naps team. in 1999 i believe naps went undefeated all season winning 19 out of 20 with the draw coming in the Big 4 final where naps drew 2-2 with el do and then in the replay won. naps won everything on offer that year

Yeah...Sealey was poison wit dem too.

Dem win everyting it ever had to win.  North Zone, Big 7, Intercol, de works.  One a de few teams to do so.  Ah TINK dem went unbeaten too if ah not mistaken.  Not sure if any other SSFL ever do dat eedah.

Actually...daz a good question fuh Tallman.  How many SSFL teams won de treble since de Big 7/Big 5 came to be?
« Last Edit: November 04, 2008, 01:36:25 PM by palos »

« Reply #28 on: November 04, 2008, 01:47:46 PM »

Yeah...Sealey was poison wit dem too.

Dem win everyting it ever had to win.  North Zone, Big 7, Intercol, de works.  One a de few teams to do so.  Ah TINK dem went unbeaten too if ah not mistaken.  Not sure if any other SSFL ever do dat eedah.

Actually...daz a good question fuh Tallman.  How many SSFL teams won de treble since de Big 7/Big 5 came to be?

Well Carlos Edwards never play with Kenwyne Jones and de rest of dat lot.. doh even talk for Evans Wise...  ::)

« Reply #29 on: November 04, 2008, 01:48:10 PM »

palos whais dah one? wise went st anthonys long before KJ and carlos, etc,  ;D