April 19, 2024, 12:22:11 PM

Author Topic: Could Britain have a black PM?  (Read 5657 times)

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
Could Britain have a black PM?
« on: November 08, 2008, 09:28:44 PM »
Could Britain have a black PM? 

By Tom Geoghegan
BBC News Magazine 

Now the US has elected its first black president, how long until the UK has a black or Asian prime minister?

When Barack Obama claimed that his story could only have happened in America, he might have been looking across the Atlantic for evidence.

The odds of a black or Asian person taking the keys to 10 Downing Street any time soon are slim.

Tony Blair acknowledged as much in 2001, when he suggested the US was ahead of the UK in having people from ethnic minorities occupying some of the top political posts.

Mr Blair was mindful of Colin Powell and Condoleezza Rice at the heart of the White House, but probably hadn't even heard of Obama.

In the US they dare to dream the American dream, talking about hope, using that kind of language is something that Americans do naturally

Baroness Amos

The president-elect, who has a white mother and black father, was careful not to invoke race in his campaign, which he won by appealing to many parts of American society. But his success has been seen as a major step forward in a country scarred by slavery and segregation.

So why not a similar story in the UK, which had a Jewish prime minister in the 19th Century and this week celebrated a British black man becoming Formula One world champion?

There have only ever been three non-white Cabinet members in Britain and there are only 15 MPs (2% of the total). And while the US has black mayors and state governors, in Britain there are few black and Asian leaders in local government.

Partly the transatlantic difference is about numbers. In the US, black people make up 13% of the population while in the UK all ethnic minorities make up about 8%. They have also been living in the US far longer, although it is only in the last 40 years that they have been doing so on an equal footing.

But figures only tell part of a wider story, which touches on class, ideology and political power.

Actor Colin McFarlane, who played a black prime minister in a primetime BBC drama four years ago, says don't hold your breath. 
Britain's only black prime minister, in TV land at least - Colin McFarlane

Researching the part and speaking to politicians about it, McFarlane realised how far away fiction was from reality, with the House of Commons dominated by public school-educated, white males.

"We realised that if there was to be a black prime minister, education would be the key. We identified a route not dissimilar to my own - public school in Cambridge then university."

Having spent a lot of time in the US - he appeared in two Batman films - he thinks the UK can learn from the way Americans responded to their racist history.

"Since the civil rights movement of the Sixties they have had to put in laws and rules in place because racism was more overt. It's more subtle in this country but there is a sense there's a glass ceiling across most industries.

"In America it's more acknowledged and they've put in positive discrimination. There was much resistance at the beginning but they have the fruits of that, which is people being forced into certain positions."

Consequently the US has a large and powerful black middle class, he says. While the UK is arguably more integrated, he says, a black prime minister will only be closer when there are more black business leaders and commissioning editors, operating the levers of power and educating society about black and Asian experiences.

In the US a fresh face like Obama can make it in one electoral cycle. In Britain it's generally a gradual process of service and promotion over many years, and often decades

Adam Afriyie

The British political system counts against a newcomer like Mr Obama bursting on to the scene, says black Conservative MP Adam Afriyie. He doesn't expect to see a black leader of the country in his lifetime.

"You need enough MPs from a variety of backgrounds and political parties that promote on merit.

"In the US a fresh face like Obama can make it in one electoral cycle. In Britain it's generally a gradual process of service and promotion over many years, and often decades, before leading a political party.

"An MP needs to get within electable distance of the leadership of their party and that usually means a successful stint in cabinet or shadow cabinet."

For Baroness Amos, one of only three black people to have sat in cabinet, much is down to the difference in attitudes to aspiration between the US and UK.

"In the US they dare to dream the American dream, talking about hope. Using that kind of language is something Americans do naturally. Here, we are I think culturally much more understated. We tend to be more cynical generally.

"And while I don't think we are anti-aspirational, the aspiration of what we are and who we are comes without the language of America. Americans are proud that they have brought about change no-one thought possible in the time they have.

"The language of Barack Obama and Martin Luther King is very singular to America but we're not able to use that kind of language. So we need to find a way to get out of that cynicism."

Pressure

There are also systemic problems in political parties and more needs to be done to train, support and mentor emerging talent from ethnic minorities, she says.

"You need to be plugged into networks. Political parties are a bit like families and communities, so you need to know the right people and the right people need to be speaking up on your behalf." 
Rising stars: Prospective parliamentary candidates Helen Grant, Shaun Bailey (both Tory) and Chuka Umunna (Lab)

David Lammy, arguably Britain's most powerful black MP of the moment and a personal friend of Mr Obama, knows all about the label of "Britain's next black prime minister" - it was one pinned on him when he was elected to the Commons at 27.

"Of course a black prime minister is possible," he says. "After all, we elected our first female prime minister nearly 30 years ago, and we have made clear strides since then in showing how diverse Britain is.

"I think that in 10 years the representation will be much healthier but putting pressure on individuals is unhelpful and we need to do much more work within political parties to bring people on, because it's a long route to the top."

But there are grounds for optimism. A report by the Fabian Society estimates there will be 10 new black and Asian MPs at the next election.  IS THE ELECTORATE READY?

Sadiq Khan MP has no doubt it is
"The myth that ethnic minority candidates are vote-losers, or that black voters only vote for black candidates, has once and for all been dispelled."
"The electorate in the UK is very sophisticated and looks beyond skin colour at what candidates stand for."
"I've met and seen so many incredibly talented black and Asian politicians I think it could happen within 10 or 20 years"

And Simon Woolley, director of Operation Black Vote, says the US election marks a watershed that could mean a black prime minister in 10 or 20 years.

"The greatest problem has been the lack of self-belief that you see aspiring to the highest office and in one fell swoop the shackles have been broken. There's a deluge of talent but they may well be eclipsed by a new talent that could suddenly emerge with great dynamism and oratory skills."

The obstacles in the UK are still immense, he says, and all-black shortlists for candidates would help, but the "Barack Obama generation" has been a theme for the past year, driving people to serve in their community.

"We're asking them to come out of the shadows, to become leaders, school governors, magistrates and elected councillors, and they've responded fantastically.

"Obama's candidacy has energised a great number of people and many individuals are now standing for office."

The British Obama could already be among us.

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
Re: Could Canada have a minority PM?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2008, 09:45:28 PM »

Canadians not ready to elect aboriginal as PM
Doug Cuthand, The StarPhoenix
Published: Friday, November 07, 2008
Obama is committed to shut down the Guantánamo Bay detention facility in Cuba, while Prime Minister Stephen Harper so far has remained silent on the imprisonment of Canadian citizen Omar Khadr.

Although Britain and Australia have had their nationals repatriated, the Guantánamo process is fair as far as Harper is concerned and Khadr's trial is going ahead. Now Canada will have to come up with an independent foreign policy.

Aboriginal people in Canada are the equivalent of the blacks in the U.S. Would Canadians elect an aboriginal person as prime minister?

Email to a friend

Printer friendly
Font:****We have Native people in both the House of Commons and the Senate, as well as in several provincial legislatures. But these aboriginal politicians have been elected in constituencies where we form the majority of voters. Getting elected elsewhere is another matter.

In spite of all the hype and good feelings south of the border, the polls showed that 16 percent of American voters stated that they could not vote for a black person as president, no matter what.

I feel that an aboriginal candidate in Canada would be up against the same prejudice, especially here in the West. Given the level of racism in Western Canada,
I don't think it's likely that we will elect an aboriginal prime minister in the foreseeable future. The public has a lot of maturing to do before that.

In any event, the election of Obama to the highest office in the United States has given hope to minorities. We will have to see if his election changes America and, by extension, what impact it has on Canada.

Re: Could Britain have a black PM?
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2008, 10:20:47 PM »
Good discussion.

« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2008, 11:09:23 PM »
Britain may not be as far along as the US in key political positions, but its not inconceivable.

One person who I have alot of respect for is Baroness Valerie Amos, the Leader of the House of Lords.

She was born in Guyana and is the first black woman to occupy a position in the British Cabinet.

Here is some more info - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valerie_Amos

She's actually a family friend and was kind enough to give me a personal tour of the House of Lords while I lived in London. Truly amazing experience and I even got to see first hand all the places not open to the public.

But yeah, I think its definitely a possibility but no time soon.

« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2008, 11:58:13 PM »
For all the talk about race in the US and how much people are conscious of race it helps the country.

The US has benefited from having to confront racial inequality and having to change. In that respect countries that do not have a 200+ year history of tackling race questions are behind. That is why yuh have the dissonance in Italy, Spain and Eastern Europe where otherwise reasonable people are insensitive to the phenomena of monkey chants and racial taunts.

« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2008, 12:16:57 AM »
I dont think so. Europe is traditional caucasion nations. America was native indian land reformed by migrants and african slaves.  Similar to places like Colombia and Brazil, Lets see if a Black president in Brazil and Colombia.

« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2008, 12:29:42 AM »
The odds of a black or Asian person taking the keys to 10 Downing Street any time soon are slim.

What shit yuh talking....

Yuh never hear about Chaffeur...

BTW..is TNT ready for an Amerindian PM ??

« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2008, 03:53:57 AM »
I dont think Britain would have a problem with a black Prime Minister at all. But the reality is that there just isn't anyone high enough up the political chain at the moment with a significant public persona.

Britain is a country based on tradition and the restrictions on there being a black Prime Minister are more down to becoming part of the establishment (e.g. - being a student/member of the right schools, right universities, right organisations, right cliques etc) to even be put forward, rather than actually getting the support of voters. So a black Prime Minister would really almost need to be groomed for the job from a very early age.

« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2008, 06:35:07 AM »
YUH MAD??!!!!!!!! :o

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2008, 07:17:48 AM »
I dont think Britain would have a problem with a black Prime Minister at all. But the reality is that there just isn't anyone high enough up the political chain at the moment with a significant public persona.

Britain is a country based on tradition and the restrictions on there being a black Prime Minister are more down to becoming part of the establishment (e.g. - being a student/member of the right schools, right universities, right organisations, right cliques etc) to even be put forward, rather than actually getting the support of voters. So a black Prime Minister would really almost need to be groomed for the job from a very early age.

Thatcher wasn't a student of Harrow or Eaton, and she was not a man, she was a chemist.  Yet she made it.

England is too damn racist to allow a balck man to rise to that office anytime soon.

Partly the transatlantic difference is about numbers. In the US, black people make up 13% of the population while in the UK all ethnic minorities make up about 8%. They have also been living in the US far longer, although it is only in the last 40 years that they have been doing so on an equal footing.
[/b]

This is an important point.  Blacks in the US only achieved racially equal footing in the last 40 years and this occured the US legislated it.   In England which is supposed to be so forward thinking, why is it based on such "traditions" as aschools, race etc.?

« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2008, 07:41:39 AM »

Thatcher wasn't a student of Harrow or Eaton, and she was not a man, she was a chemist.  Yet she made it.

England is too damn racist to allow a balck man to rise to that office anytime soon.

Well for a start Harrow and Eton are both boys schools.

Thatcher might not have been from a rich family, but her father was a politician and she did go to Oxford. She also married a very rich man and subsequently trained as a lawyer with his financial support.

As for why tradition is important...it just is. England has a much longer history than most countries do and they are very proud of it.

« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2008, 07:44:29 AM »

boss, one of deze days take a trip to Britain, iz not as bad as u think it is  :beermug:

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2008, 07:56:30 AM »

Well for a start Harrow and Eton are both boys schools.

Thatcher might not have been from a rich family, but her father was a politician and she did go to Oxford. She also married a very rich man and subsequently trained as a lawyer with his financial support.

As for why tradition is important...it just is. England has a much longer history than most countries do and they are very proud of it.
Yes I KNOW that Harrow and Eaton are boy schools.  You spoke of the traditions, Thatcher broke ALL the existing traditions at that time.

Marrying a rich man is nothing, she did NOT come from old money, thats another place where she bucked tradition.

« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2008, 10:26:21 AM »
For all the talk about race in the US and how much people are conscious of race it helps the country.

The US has benefited from having to confront racial inequality and having to change. In that respect countries that do not have a 200+ year history of tackling race questions are behind. That is why yuh have the dissonance in Italy, Spain and Eastern Europe where otherwise reasonable people are insensitive to the phenomena of monkey chants and racial taunts.

Look de shot call dey

Blacks in the states build de country on dey back and still had to drink from separate water fountain...
Immigrants to the u.k. & europe had ah easier time than what dem yankee went through...however if obama do a good job I feel it will set a precedent because the demographics of them metropole countries changin

Too besides it have chinee, indian and arab livin in de colonial countries ...how nobody eh aks if dem could get ah top political wukk too?? yuh eh see allyuh just racial like dem redneck allyuh does complain about?  :devil:
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 10:31:31 AM by Dutty »

« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2008, 01:12:25 PM »
Just last night on the BBC there was this story
http://www.bbc.co.uk/caribbean/news/story/2004/10/041009_phillips-countryside.shtml
so in this respect I say that peoples thinking has to change in the UK before a "person of colour",  as some like to phrase it, will ascend into the PM's job.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2008, 01:29:42 PM »
http://www.bbc.co.uk/caribbean/news/story/2004/10/041009_phillips-countryside.shtml
so in this respect I say that peoples thinking has to change in the UK before a "person of colour",  as some like to phrase it, will ascend into the PM's job.

WestCoast, the reason why there are no blacks/Asians in the countryside isnt because its racist, it because no blacks/Asians want to live in the countryside. You're not going to find anyone moving to Britain (or anywhere else) from a developing country and deciding to become a farmer.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 01:31:53 PM by Ryan »

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2008, 01:37:18 PM »

WestCoast, the reason why there are no blacks/Asians in the countryside isnt because its racist, it because no blacks/Asians want to live in the countryside. You're not going to find anyone moving to Britain (or anywhere else) from a developing country and deciding to become a farmer.

maybe ryan they are also afraid of being chased and beaten for being asian?

« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2008, 02:17:24 PM »

lol. this is england not alabama. u shud come visit

« Reply #18 on: November 09, 2008, 02:32:03 PM »
interesting thread...

I think it is possible for Britain to have a black Prime Minister both sexes - after last week, anything is possible.

That being said, I think it impossible for Prince William to marry a dark skinned woman. Lawd lemme spell this out. Dark skinned I mean not Cascasian. Or someone outside his heritage - well unless he gives up his throne.

Australia and New Zealand on the other hand....I don't think that would ever be possible. :-\

But can I ask you this assrancid. What do you mean by black? Skin tone or being african?
Cause if you look at Obama, he ain't what i consider a black man, more like as we call them in Trinidad a red man. He ain't African either - he's American.

So black as in ??  Shades of 'black' (forget who have weave and relaxer)

What about this guy. Some may remember him from the Apprentice and winning the game. Highly intelligent and also a business man (owns successful computering firm). Much darker (in real life) than Obama, so do you think he would have also been successful ??? 
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 02:41:27 PM by TriniCana »

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #19 on: November 09, 2008, 03:04:39 PM »

I have already visited, not my cup of tea.  Too cold and clammy.

Let me ask you a question, have you ever heard of Burnley, Bradford and Oldham?
Writers in England proclaim that wave after wave of immigration has mutilated English heritage.

They chase and beat dark skinned immigrants, yet there is a great wave of immigrants from Poland, Portugal, and the ex-Soviet bloc nations. 

People in the UK claim that they are strangers in their own land becasue dark skinned asians have taken over their streets.

You talk baout Alabama yet you do not mention the national front.  There have been government reposts in the UK which describes the Police Service as institutionalized racism.

Maybe you need to visit the USA

« Reply #20 on: November 09, 2008, 03:26:26 PM »

Writers in England proclaim that wave after wave of immigration has mutilated English heritage.

They chase and beat dark skinned immigrants, yet there is a great wave of immigrants from Poland, Portugal, and the ex-Soviet bloc nations. 

People in the UK claim that they are strangers in their own land becasue dark skinned asians have taken over their streets.

You talk baout Alabama yet you do not mention the national front.  There have been government reposts in the UK which describes the Police Service as institutionalized racism.

Cant really respond to your statements that writers say this and people say that, becuz yuh cud find a writer or a person who says anything.

But ur right, it is cold and clammy here, in fact iz raining now. Ur also right that Asians are discriminated against in Burnley, Bradford and Oldham - that definitely exists and I'm not trying to play it down. Generally, the element of society u describe dislike anyone with a different culture - that includes Eastern Europeans. And its probably why black people fare a bit better in these areas, because they tend to be willing to accept traditional British ideals more readily. The National Front is pretty irrelevant in Britain, a relic of the 80s, but the BNP is a similarly racist party that thrives in towns like the one you named and represents the views that you highlighted. They got less than 1% of the vote in the last election and won no seats in parliament.

But we was talkin bout d countryside, and there aint gonna be noone getting beatup there anytime soon.

« Reply #21 on: November 09, 2008, 07:01:00 PM »

They chase and beat dark skinned and black people right in Brooklyn... Michael Stewart (Trinidadian) in Rockaway and Yusuf Hawkins in Bensonhurst, both 20 yrs ago.  5 yrs ago or so James Byrd was dragged behind a truck and killed in Texas.  There are pockets of virulent racism throughout Europe as there are throughout N. America.

I'm really not sure where this particuar strain of the conversation is going.

------------------------

'Cana... maybe it's different in Canada but being 'black' is about more than just complexion or skin tone.  Obama might be a red man in Trinidad but his ethnicity is still black... or 'mixed' if you want.  Black is also not limited to 'African', but to those of African descent, so in that regard Obama, like many of us, certainly qualify as black.  Of course it's up to the individual whether s/he chooses to embrace the term.

« Reply #22 on: November 09, 2008, 07:04:52 PM »

boss, one of deze days take a trip to Britain, iz not as bad as u think it is  :beermug:
You late! i've been all around the globe fella! with the exception of down under, the eastern block and the orient!

i even stayed in england longer than i should.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 07:06:42 PM by just cool »

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2008, 10:42:48 PM »
Bakes Ryan asked if I thought the UK was Alabama, so I gave examples of that behaviour right there in the UK.

Wasn't leading it anywhere, just responding.

I was about to answer Cana, but I saw you did a commendable job thank you.

« Reply #24 on: November 09, 2008, 11:36:56 PM »
Bakes Ryan asked if I thought the UK was Alabama, so I gave examples of that behaviour right there in the UK.

Wasn't leading it anywhere, just responding.

I was about to answer Cana, but I saw you did a commendable job thank you.

Oh... okay  :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: November 10, 2008, 12:35:00 AM »

You late! i've been all around the globe fella! with the exception of down under, the eastern block and the orient!

i even stayed in england longer than i should.

hmmmm JC eastern block and orient is like half the world , so yuh well travelled but all around the globe might be streching it too far.  ;D

« Reply #26 on: November 10, 2008, 09:29:08 AM »
Same way TT cyar have a White PM

« Reply #27 on: November 10, 2008, 10:00:47 AM »

any ah dem ever make ah run?...come to think of it I cyah recall too many whites in TnT politics...it had montano and de nex fellah wit de santa claus beard...cyah recall any,,but there must have been more

dem fellahs must be figure..to much headache, not enough profit in da wukk

« Reply #28 on: November 10, 2008, 10:53:18 AM »

any ah dem ever make ah run?...come to think of it I cyah recall too many whites in TnT politics...it had montano and de nex fellah wit de santa claus beard...cyah recall any,,but there must have been more

dem fellahs must be figure..to much headache, not enough profit in da wukk

Colm Imbert for PM
he would get all the 4foot tall ppl vote

« Reply #29 on: November 10, 2008, 01:00:41 PM »

disagree....