June 17, 2024, 12:54:12 PM

Author Topic: Keane not happy with Jones call up  (Read 2198 times)

Keane not happy with Jones call up
« on: November 10, 2008, 08:35:41 PM »
Keane not happy with Jones call up
Trinidad Gaurdian

SUNDERLAND manager Roy Keane could be heading for another row with Fifa vice-president and T&T Football Federation special advisor Jack Warner after striker Kenwyne Jones was called up for international duty with T& T.

Jones, who was injured during T&T's friendly against England in June, missed Saturday's defeat to Portsmouth after injuring the same knee in training on Friday.

However, he has been included in an 18-man squad along with 10 other overseas-based players to face Cuba in a World Cup qualifier on November 19, apparently at his own request.

T&T only needs a draw to join group leaders USA in the Concacaf six-team final round tournament from where the top three teams will qualify for South Africa 2010.

In September, Keane called Warner, who is also Concacaf president, "a clown" after a row over Dwight Yorke's withdrawal from a squad and blasted his failure to apologise for Jones' injury.

Warner, who retaliated by calling Keane "disrespectful", has insisted Jones would be well looked after.

Warner told the T&TFF's official website: "We are happy to have him back in the team.

"At first he was not called into the squad because of the fact that he was only now coming back from injury and we all know how difficult it can be for a player to get back to his accustomed place in the starting team for a club.

"We felt that it would serve him well to allow him that time.

"But when he indicated that he wanted to make a return for the Cuba game, we thought about it with manager Francisco Maturana and we went ahead with the invitation.

"It will give him a chance to fit back into the team before the critical matches we should have coming up next year, once of course we seal our spot with a positive result against Cuba."

Re: Keane not happy with Jones call up
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2008, 08:41:09 PM »
Keane spouting because Sunderland one spot away from propping up the table.
He have to look to dish out the blame somewhere, and of course a small side like TT requesting their player rightfully is an easy scape-goat.

Until KJ himself comes out and says that he wouldn't like to be considered for the Cuba game due to injury/ lack of fitness - then so be it.

Otherwise, Keane needs to stop fighting battles he can't win.

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2008, 08:44:01 PM »
IU aggree with Keane on this one this time, do we really need Jones fuh this game? He should stay and keep Keane happy till the tim comes and we realy need him, leh the man stay and ketch some form fuh next year

« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2008, 08:44:49 PM »
In what part of the article does Keane say he is not happy?

« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2008, 08:52:20 PM »

now about to ask...talk about poor journalism

« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2008, 09:55:16 PM »
In what part of de article does Keane say anything? Like Guardian had a column to fill on de back page.

« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2008, 10:06:04 PM »
Never a dull moment oui.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2008, 10:23:19 PM »
In what part of de article does Keane say anything? Like Guardian had a column to fill on de back page.
ent

« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2008, 10:32:35 PM »
well when/ in case it ever were to happen, at least they could say they covered it first.

men speculating on Roy Keane quotes like is oil prices.

« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2008, 11:51:10 PM »
I hope he not flying coach and would actually get medical coverage.

« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2008, 09:42:27 AM »
Doh worry Keanos is not d team dat get name a ghost writer submitted it 2 d press

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2008, 09:52:58 AM »
Keanes interview on KJ here doesn't say unhappy about anything but not the full interview so maybe he has but I doubt he will be realised if not fit for saturday.  The knee has swelling again, so it maybe nothing or something.

http://www.skysports.com/video/clips/0,23791,12606_4486551,00.html

« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2008, 09:54:47 AM »

After I see de headline ah read de article 4 time to make sure ah wasn't missing something.  Ah still looking fuh de part wey Keane say something.

Offline Sentinel

• Adapt, Improvise and Overcome
« Reply #13 on: November 11, 2008, 10:18:26 AM »
We doh really need KJ at this time!

Lets play along....keep Keene happy.

But....when it come to when we do need KJ....no compromise.....because we have shown understanding.....

No compromise when it come to the HEX!

We have enough ammunition to beat CUBA

Back off for now T&T!

Luv U T&T!

« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2008, 10:41:37 AM »
We doh really need KJ at this time!

Lets play along....keep Keene happy.

But....when it come to when we do need KJ....no compromise.....because we have shown understanding.....

No compromise when it come to the HEX!

We have enough ammunition to beat CUBA

Back off for now T&T!

Luv U T&T!

Breddrin!  Waz de scenes?  Tell Rawle ah still tinkin bout dah pelau in de car park!... ;D

Good seein allyuh again..even doh it was too short.

As fuh Keane...let he HHMC!  But ah agree wit yuh...doh bring back KJ now.  But it have nutting to do wit Keane or Sunderland.  He jes not ready yet and it have oddah men who could do de job right now.