April 27, 2024, 04:06:15 AM

Author Topic: Cisse and I can click, says Jones  (Read 1277 times)

Cisse and I can click, says Jones
« on: November 13, 2008, 06:33:40 AM »
Cisse and I can click, says Jones
BBC Sport

Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones has said he believes there is potential in his partnership with fellow striker Djibril Cisse at the Stadium of Light.

Jones, 24, lined up alongside the Frenchman in Wednesday's 2-1 Carling Cup loss to Blackburn and is confident the duo can forge a strong pairing.

"There's more to build on," he told BBC Radio Newcastle.

"That's the first time we've started a game together so hopefully we can do more of that and get the team winning."

Jones opened his account for the season when he rifled a shot past Rovers keeper Paul Robinson to hand Sunderland a lifeline in Wednesday's tie.

The Trinidad & Tobago international, who suffered a serious knee injury in the summer, had endured more worries during the last week after being withdrawn during Saturday's 2-1 home defeat by Portsmouth.

And he added: "It was good to have a run-out and get back into the team. The worries were since Sunday but I went to see the specialist and everything was fine.

"You can't really celebrate that kind of thing when you're on the losing side but it was good to get back in and score.

"At the end of the day that's what happened and you've got to live with it."

Manager Roy Keane signed Jones from Southampton for £6m in August 2007.

Re: Cisse and I can click, says Jones
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2008, 07:52:17 AM »
Jones should just stop talking and start scoring.

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2008, 08:00:38 AM »
Jones should just stop talking and start scoring.

Sam..yuh do realize he scored last night right?

And footballers are asked to give interviews and press conferences. He hadda say something.

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2008, 08:20:35 AM »
better click b4 he get cut.

« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2008, 08:24:17 AM »
Watchnah Kenwyne ... de best of luck. The chips will fall in place.

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2008, 10:37:27 AM »
I think they can make a decent partnership but it is in the hands of the midfield and thats not really working at the minute.  Cisse needs the ball in front of him and Kenwyn is better with his back to goal.  Both have pace and can actually keep up with eachother but Kenwyn needs to realise this when Cisse has the ball, 1 instance last night Cisse ran and crossed no one in the box. 

Both need playing time together but same old same old if the midfield don't deliver teh balls neither is going to have a decent time.  At the minute seem happy to play 5 yards passes across the park  and scared to go forward and support whoever is up front, it is bewildering to watch when you have 2 forwards with a mixture of such pace and power.

« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2008, 10:52:35 AM »
There's more to build on,"

"That's the first time we've started a game together so hopefully we can do more of that and get the team winning."

"It was good to have a run-out and get back into the team. The worries were since Sunday but I went to see the specialist and everything was fine.

"You can't really celebrate that kind of thing when you're on the losing side but it was good to get back in and score.

"At the end of the day that's what happened and you've got to live with it."

Above are the quotes that kenwyne gave in the article.

Ah guess if yuh look long and hard enough yuh could find something negative or stupid to say bout him!