March 28, 2024, 06:09:51 AM

Author Topic: Players who disappointed/failed at the International level?  (Read 6417 times)

Players who disappointed/failed at the International level?
« on: November 10, 2008, 09:04:07 PM »
Let we hear bout players who were real good at Club level but for whatever reason never lit up games played at the International level.

My picks are Ian Wright probably cause he never got a consistent sequence of games for England
and Dugarry from France cause he was a 1 in 10 finisher, same like Andy Cole.

« Last Edit: November 10, 2008, 10:19:38 PM by Feliziano »

Re: Players who failed at the International level?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2008, 09:28:29 PM »
Paul Robinson (England)
Densil Theobald (I doh care, I fighting that down to the last)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)
Abel Xavier (shithound squared)
Carlos Ruiz (just for spite)

« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2008, 11:18:37 PM »

Which club was he real good at?

« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2008, 11:28:41 PM »

Gamblers in John John

Re: Players who disappointed/failed at the International level?
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2008, 01:49:56 AM »
Paul Robinson (England)
Densil Theobald (I doh care, I fighting that down to the last)Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)

Boy ACB....rock so eh boy....ah matter ah fact...rock so with interest.  Before yuh talk bout men like Wise or Cox, yuh want to play yuh calling out de yute man.  I not saying Theobald doh disappoint me sometimes, but yuh wrong to say dat he fail at de international level

« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2008, 04:47:35 AM »
I not saying Theobald doh disappoint me sometimes, but yuh wrong to say dat he fail at de international level

::) ::) ::)

« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2008, 06:22:10 AM »
birchall is the complete opposite

good fuh we but shit fuh club

« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2008, 06:52:22 AM »
Densill Theobald, Kerwin Jemmott, Brent Rahim, Nicolas Anelka, Thierry Henry, Gary Neville, Patrick Onstad, Derek King, Sean Julien, Jason Scotland, Silvio Spann and Hayden Thomas.

« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2008, 07:37:32 AM »
Somehow this thread sounding like it come up sometime last year or two years ago.  :-\

Offline PIMP

« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2008, 08:09:24 AM »
kerry baptiste....

« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2008, 08:20:47 AM »
Nigel 'Pistol' Pierre
Josh Johnson
Jean Pierre Papan

I was going to include Aklie Edwards, but then again, he doh star out for he club.

« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2008, 09:09:16 AM »
Paul Robinson (England)

Abel Xavier is only a snake in his old age. Fail at Everton, looked shite in MLS...but from what I've seen, at his peak he was good for Portugal. De man real hold it dong for Portugal in Euro 2000.

Zlatan too young to be on that list, especially since he rip in Euro 2004. Injuries hamper him in Wc 2006. CYah remember what was his story in Euro 2008.

I going with Roberto Mancini. Destroy for Samp and Lazio. Didn't do too much for Italy when he got the chance.

Same with his strike partner Vialli.

Marco Van Basten. Made his name in Euro 88, and then after that was pure toots for Holland in big tournaments. Culdn't hit the side of a barn in WC 1990. Needed to score a single goal in Euro 92 to break Holland's Euro record.  Missed chance after chance and was completely outshone by a young and upcoming Dennis Bergkamp. Score a total of 1 goal from a penalty in something like 9 games in major tournaments after Euro 88.

Totti won a WC with Italy but he was crap..coming off an injury so kinda harsh...but he really never shine for Italy. Euro 2004 anyone?

i wouldn't say these fellas fail. there is more to international football than big tournaments. but as that is all i relly getting to see of these fellas save the odd friendly here and there..i would have to say they disappointed..especially when you look at their club form

« Last Edit: November 11, 2008, 11:35:21 AM by Filho »

« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2008, 10:28:33 AM »
Denilson fuh Brazil.

« Reply #13 on: November 11, 2008, 10:37:25 AM »

arrow ah fully endorse that!!!! :beermug: :beermug:

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2008, 11:02:26 AM »
Paul Robinson (England)

but he is lala for he club too, d man ALWAYS goes missing in the big games!!!! and we go prove it next week saturday too when we storm d san siro. he go be in giorgio & legro back pocket

but to add to d original topic,

i go hadda throw my boy Del Piero name into the hat sadly!!! as much as he is king in black & white he never really shine for the azzuri.

Luca toni is a nex 1, good for he club but one potsnake for italy.

and if allyuh takin dem in combos we cud put gerard and lampard in dey together or as individuals!!

« Last Edit: November 11, 2008, 11:54:47 AM by scarface »

« Reply #15 on: November 11, 2008, 11:35:49 AM »
Denilson fuh Brazil.

disappoint at club level too

« Reply #16 on: November 11, 2008, 11:41:15 AM »
Everybody on Chelski- except for the African players!   ;D

« Reply #17 on: November 11, 2008, 11:58:39 AM »

Cech - disappointment - agree.
Belletti - what International level?
Alex - pigeon sweat here and there.
Carvalho - outstanding.
Deco - outstanding.
Ballack - outstanding.
England players - You can lump them altogether, while singling out Lampard and Joe Cole. Joe Cole is outstanding for both club and country. Lampard is a disappointment alongside Gerrad. The rest of them are average, and their performance reviews are based on how the English team performs on any given day - which is tantamount to flipping a coin.

« Reply #18 on: November 11, 2008, 12:15:08 PM »
Nigel 'Pistol' Pierre
Josh Johnson
Jean Pierre Papan

I was going to include Aklie Edwards, but then again, he doh star out for he club.

Papin failed at international level?  you mean in terms of failing to qualify for the world cup?

« Reply #19 on: November 11, 2008, 12:22:42 PM »

Cech - disappointment - agree.
Belletti - what International level?
Alex - pigeon sweat here and there.
Carvalho - outstanding.
Deco - outstanding.
Ballack - outstanding.
England players - You can lump them altogether, while singling out Lampard and Joe Cole. Joe Cole is outstanding for both club and country. Lampard is a disappointment alongside Gerrad. The rest of them are average, and their performance reviews are based on how the English team performs on any given day - which is tantamount to flipping a coin.

wham..yuh doh like Bosingwa and Anelka or wha? I know dey have african roots, but come on ;D

doh agree w. Cech. One poor Euro. He was outstanding in Euro 2004 and yuh can't fault him for Czech R. poor showing in WC 2006. Plus de man is 26 years old. For a keeper..dat is a yute with plenty of his career still ahead of him. :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: November 11, 2008, 12:25:56 PM »
Nigel 'Pistol' Pierre
Josh Johnson
Jean Pierre Papan

Papin failed at international level?  you mean in terms of failing to qualify for the world cup?

Doh remember too much about Papin for France, but he did play in WC 1986. Started the opening game against Canada and play real mess. Ride pine after that. Doh even think a get a small corbeaux after that, as France made it all the way to the semis.

Nobody call Rai yet

« Reply #21 on: November 11, 2008, 12:47:05 PM »
The only reason I disappointed in Cech is because he is supposed to be the best keeper in the world alongside Casillias and Buffon, but he makes mistakes in big games - and moreso in the last two years.

Bosingwa - Born in The Congo, and could possibly make starting right back on any team in Europe. Club or National.

Anelka - Compared to club level - a disappointment. Didn't even make the WC squad if I recall correctly, and definitely didn't impact Euro 08, two times when he should be at the peak of his career. 

Rai yes!! - the man did win a WC winners medal, albeit from the bench ... I just get a flashback to collecting football photos from chewing gum wrappers back in 1990. I think that Rai was more or less overshadowed by his brother's brilliance, rather than his own shortcomings. He wouldve always been shitty compared to Socrates.

... ALMOST forget what I came here for though.
What about David Nakhid?
I think disappointment!!
« Last Edit: November 11, 2008, 12:50:42 PM by acb »

« Reply #22 on: November 11, 2008, 12:52:42 PM »
Nigel 'Pistol' Pierre
Josh Johnson
Jean Pierre Papan

Doh remember too much about Papin for France, but he did play in WC 1986. Started the opening game against Canada and play real mess. Ride pine after that. Doh even think a get a small corbeaux after that, as France made it all the way to the semis.

Nobody call Rai yet

I meant in reference to the fact that he was considered the star of the group that failed to qualify for 90 and 94 as opposed to being one of the younger players on the 86 squad.

it seems to me that he used to score plenty goals for france (which is what strikers ultimately get judged by) so that seems like the only criterion you could rate him as a failure.  If anything he was a disappointment with Milan.  but das just how I remember it.

« Reply #23 on: November 11, 2008, 12:56:05 PM »
Nigel 'Pistol' Pierre
Josh Johnson
Jean Pierre Papan

Nobody call Rai yet

I meant in reference to the fact that he was considered the star of the group that failed to qualify for 90 and 94 as opposed to being one of the younger players on the 86 squad.

it seems to me that he used to score plenty goals for france (which is what strikers ultimately get judged by) so that seems like the only criterion you could rate him as a failure.  If anything he was a disappointment with Milan.  but das just how I remember it.

yeah..my post was in agreement wit yuh

« Reply #24 on: November 11, 2008, 01:04:02 PM »
Bertille other stepson...Shurland David

« Reply #25 on: November 11, 2008, 06:53:17 PM »
Any Italian and Portugese forward, any English goalie, any french defender.

« Reply #26 on: November 11, 2008, 06:56:32 PM »
Giggsy ... yuh name and yuh post remind me of a certain team that is part of Great Britian/ Britian/ UK (I think dem fellas still figuring it out on the next thread).

How about the WHOLE Welsh team for major disappointment.
Dem fellas had one of the biggest bomb squads assembled and couldnt get a peep in the WC.

While we at it ... how about Bruce Grobbelar.
Big Big keeper for Liverpool .... but salt for Zimbabwe.

« Reply #27 on: November 11, 2008, 07:09:15 PM »
Any Italian and Portugese forward, any English goalie, any french defender.

over what time period?

« Reply #28 on: November 11, 2008, 07:11:03 PM »
Giggsy ... yuh name and yuh post remind me of a certain team that is part of Great Britian/ Britian/ UK (I think dem fellas still figuring it out on the next thread).

i like it. de inter thread shout. we done over dey  :devil:

« Reply #29 on: November 11, 2008, 07:29:30 PM »
Paul Robinson (England)

I think you meant paul rideout who played in italy,top goal scorer for two years straight in the serie a,but for some reason england would never pick him,that baffled me for years.............