April 23, 2024, 11:56:28 AM

Author Topic: Players who disappointed/failed at the International level?  (Read 6452 times)

Re: Players who disappointed/failed at the International level?
« Reply #30 on: November 11, 2008, 07:30:37 PM »
Any Italian and Portugese forward, any English goalie, any french defender.

over what time period?

Modern times.

« Reply #31 on: November 11, 2008, 07:31:24 PM »
Nope, never heard of Paul Rideout before you mentioned his name here.
Definitely talking about Paul Robinson - the keeper - who is reknowned for getting string-up all how.

« Reply #32 on: November 11, 2008, 07:34:18 PM »
Giggsy ... yuh name and yuh post remind me of a certain team that is part of Great Britian/ Britian/ UK (I think dem fellas still figuring it out on the next thread).

i like it. de inter thread shout. we done over dey  :devil:

All yuh loss me. Explain.

« Reply #33 on: November 11, 2008, 07:36:31 PM »
Cantona for sure and English wingers in modern times.

« Reply #34 on: November 11, 2008, 07:37:05 PM »
Nope, never heard of Paul Rideout before you mentioned his name here.
Definitely talking about Paul Robinson - the keeper - who is reknowned for getting string-up all how.

Well my bad on robinson,but paul rideout was deadly look it up.....

« Reply #35 on: November 11, 2008, 07:45:18 PM »

steups...

Luca Toni fail? Wha bout Del Piero?

Baggio anyone?

Thuram, Desailly, Lizarazu, Blanc, Sagnol, Gallas.. dem fail too?

« Reply #36 on: November 11, 2008, 08:00:38 PM »

steups...

Baggio anyone?

I later clarified by saying modern day. Toni thro ways, Gallas plays shit. Sagnol maybe. Del Piero, Desailly, Lizarazu, Blanc does still get pick??

« Reply #37 on: November 11, 2008, 08:02:21 PM »

steups...

Baggio anyone?

I later clarified by saying modern day. Toni thro ways, Gallas plays shit. Sagnol maybe. Del Piero, Desailly, Lizarazu, Blanc does still get pick??

Modern day, the way i interpret it could mean anything from the early 90s till present...

but anyhow.. Didnt Toni score the goals to fire Italy to a world cup victory?

Didn't Gallas and Sagnol help take France to a world cup final against all odds?

« Reply #38 on: November 11, 2008, 08:40:25 PM »

steups...

Baggio anyone?

Modern day, the way i interpret it could mean anything from the early 90s till present...

Didn't Gallas and Sagnol help take France to a world cup final against all odds?

Interpret how ever you wish. Sagnol is a very good player. I still stand by my opinion regarding Gallas and Toni.

« Reply #39 on: November 11, 2008, 08:46:34 PM »
Cantona dey must b revoke he French passport

« Reply #40 on: November 11, 2008, 08:53:43 PM »
kenwyne jones.

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #41 on: November 11, 2008, 10:01:31 PM »
one or two of them might be here.   This kinda jokey though

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qloK5CFCKGQ

« Reply #42 on: November 11, 2008, 10:15:57 PM »
ammmmmm!?!?!?  Palos and Patriot   I'm very disappointed to say the least.

« Reply #43 on: November 11, 2008, 10:30:14 PM »
Certainly Stephen Ireland...bastard (not necesarilly when he plays, but what he has done Internationally, if you know what I mean)

« Reply #44 on: November 11, 2008, 10:30:56 PM »
Colin Rocke

« Reply #45 on: November 12, 2008, 03:50:50 PM »

steups...

Baggio anyone?

Yeah. Dat is how I interpret modern day. That's whay I asked what period giggsy hinting at. The nature of the thread seem more suited for de older players anyway, since it premature to say a current play has already failed.

« Reply #46 on: November 13, 2008, 12:24:25 AM »
Onandi Lowe...the man had all de tools to be ah big time player but he was ah head case.

Offline legal alien

« Reply #47 on: November 13, 2008, 01:33:22 AM »
Giggsy ... yuh name and yuh post remind me of a certain team that is part of Great Britian/ Britian/ UK (I think dem fellas still figuring it out on the next thread).

How about the WHOLE Welsh team for major disappointment.
Dem fellas had one of the biggest bomb squads assembled and couldnt get a peep in the WC.

While we at it ... how about Bruce Grobbelar.
Big Big keeper for Liverpool .... but salt for Zimbabwe.

ah know allyuh men followin more ball than me, but I wonder what's your opinion of Terry. I find it painful to defend(no pun intended) him, I'm sure he is a really good player

Offline legal alien

« Reply #48 on: November 13, 2008, 01:34:25 AM »
Andy Cole. Never was that fortunate to play in  WC for England

« Reply #49 on: November 13, 2008, 07:17:12 AM »

steups...

Baggio anyone?

Yeah. Dat is how I interpret modern day. That's whay I asked what period giggsy hinting at. The nature of the thread seem more suited for de older players anyway, since it premature to say a current play has already failed.

I should have said present day. English is not by first language! ;D

« Reply #50 on: November 13, 2008, 08:13:38 AM »

How about the WHOLE Welsh team for major disappointment.
Dem fellas had one of the biggest bomb squads assembled and couldnt get a peep in the WC.

I feel yuh talking about the Welsh team that failed to qualify or Euro 2004. In modern times, that is the only Welsh squad worth even mentioning. They had an decent team with a few talented players..but let's not get carried away now. They never had one of the biggest bomb squads ever. And they missed out on the finals cuz Italy salt dem. Italy..4 times world champs. I wouldn't say Wales disappoint then..in fcat..they overachieve. If is another Welsh side yuh talking about...my apologies

As for Bruce Grobbelar and Zimbabwe..yuh real good. You are one of the few non-Zimbabweans who might actually be able to claim they saw him play enough for the national team to call him a failure.

« Reply #51 on: November 13, 2008, 09:31:39 AM »
As for Bruce Grobbelar and Zimbabwe..yuh real good. You are one of the few non-Zimbabweans who might actually be able to claim they saw him play enough for the national team to call him a failure.

To be honest, I never saw a full game that Grobbelar played for Zimbabwe ... just highlights and written accounts. I don't think too many non-Zimbabweans could say that they did either.
However, what I do remember was that Grobbelar was King of the goalkeeping castle back in the day when Peter Shilton was ageless and was a dan between the uprights for Liverpool.
Instead of saying salt for Zimbabwe, I shouldve said, never made a name for himself playing for Zimbabwe like he did at Liverpool.

« Reply #52 on: November 13, 2008, 09:48:24 AM »

To be honest, I never saw a full game that Grobbelar played for Zimbabwe ... just highlights and written accounts. I don't think too many non-Zimbabweans could say that they did either.
However, what I do remember was that Grobbelar was King of the goalkeeping castle back in the day when Peter Shilton was ageless and was a dan between the uprights for Liverpool.
Instead of saying salt for Zimbabwe, I shouldve said, never made a name for himself playing for Zimbabwe like he did at Liverpool.

true. but is it because Grobbelaar was poor..or Zimbabwe whole program was just toots  ;D

« Reply #53 on: November 13, 2008, 10:17:57 AM »
true. but is it because Grobbelaar was poor..or Zimbabwe whole program was just toots  ;D

Errm .... I think you're right.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zimbabwe_national_football_team
...The Zimbabwe national football team, nicknamed The Warriors, is the national team of Zimbabwe and is controlled by the Zimbabwe Football Association. They were known as the Rhodesia national football team until 1980, when Rhodesia became Zimbabwe. They have never qualified for the World Cup finals, and did not qualify for their first African Nations Cup until 2004...

If that's the case though, then what we make of our local legends that never got the opportunity to shine on the International stage?

« Reply #54 on: November 13, 2008, 10:24:18 AM »

Errm .... I think you're right.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zimbabwe_national_football_team
...The Zimbabwe national football team, nicknamed The Warriors, is the national team of Zimbabwe and is controlled by the Zimbabwe Football Association. They were known as the Rhodesia national football team until 1980, when Rhodesia became Zimbabwe. They have never qualified for the World Cup finals, and did not qualify for their first African Nations Cup until 2004...

If that's the case though, then what we make of our local legends that never got the opportunity to shine on the International stage?

Nah. I neither right nor wrong, cuz i doh have a clue. Grobbelaar could have been hugely disappointing for his nation. I just was surprised that someone might actually have known. It was an obscure reference given the anonymity of Zimbabwean football. One day we might really read somewhere, or hear that big Bruce didn't handle his stories for his country.