March 28, 2024, 09:11:57 AM

Author Topic: 2008 Warrior Nation/SW.net Fantasy Football Knockout Cup  (Read 29072 times)

Re: 2008 Warrior Nation/SW.net Fantasy Football Knockout Cup
« Reply #90 on: March 23, 2009, 08:46:16 PM »

Semifinals      
Last 4      
Gameweek 32 & 33 & 34   

Matchups
1st Game

Rank       Team             1st Game       2nd Game    3rd Game      TOTAL   
#64 - BESBRAHN FC    
#20 - Hell_Boy_AC

#2 - Manuvelona      
#22 - Red Fire FC  

For your perusal, the teams are hyperlinked to the EPL website now.

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #91 on: March 24, 2009, 10:33:22 AM »
feliz how you made up that bracket?
that match going on with me and 2 cents should be the final.
Man have me sweating here boy

should be a final yea...but thaz d thing bout d cup king...big teams could knock off each other and Millwall reach d final. its all about d draw...
look like yuh goin for broke with them 3 transfers though...i aint mad at yuh. think it will come down to captain and bonus though cuz nobody side eh really better...good luck...bless

Looks like is u and me in de semis 2cents. Congrats on getting past ricky... dat was a tight battle. Ah hope yuh team still have some fight left in it tho....cause tings now start to heat up. Respect!

Does my team look like it doesn't have fight left...or is that a figure of speech? The battle with Ricky was definitely serious...but in about the past 3 rounds I felt like I was surely getting knocked out and manage to survive. I will take survival once again to get into the final...i've jus rented a well equipped underground lab from a popular super-hero who is on vacation and will stay holed up in there for the next few weeks while getting the team in order. I nearly panic and sell Cahill and Ireland for Gerrard and Whelan when I c I could afford him but I gonna back Fulham to hold down Liverpool to 1 goal and come with something not so obvious. Stay tuned Firebrand...
It's only kinky the 1st time

Offline BESBRAHN

• Football is life!
« Reply #92 on: March 24, 2009, 08:02:38 PM »
AWWWW...BESBRAHN!!! WHAT A SIDE!!! WHAT PEDIGREE!!! WHAT HISTORY!!! OMAR..learn how to get on in cup competitions boy!! Now I real lucky to get thru to d semis eh because dis year my luck run out..sell modric to buy Ronaldo..Modric 8 pts,Ronaldo 1 pt...sell Van Persie to buy Beattie...VP 11 pts..Beattie 2 pts...sell Hangeland to buy Nzogbia..Hangeland 8 pts,Nzogbia 1(only sweat 45 mins)...who in this whole league cud beat that sourness???

« Reply #93 on: March 25, 2009, 08:34:01 AM »
AWWWW...BESBRAHN!!! WHAT A SIDE!!! WHAT PEDIGREE!!! WHAT HISTORY!!! OMAR..learn how to get on in cup competitions boy!! Now I real lucky to get thru to d semis eh because dis year my luck run out..sell modric to buy Ronaldo..Modric 8 pts,Ronaldo 1 pt...sell Van Persie to buy Beattie...VP 11 pts..Beattie 2 pts...sell Hangeland to buy Nzogbia..Hangeland 8 pts,Nzogbia 1(only sweat 45 mins)...who in this whole league cud beat that sourness???

give a non-league conference pub team a wildcard into the cup and this is the gratitude you get.. steups... lol

anyway boss, ah backing yuh doh let meh down eh..

Offline BESBRAHN

• Football is life!
« Reply #94 on: March 27, 2009, 04:30:58 PM »
Ah smellin a cup win and fourth place finish in the league...awww d Gunners!!! only side in the top 4 without a sugar daddy . We in the top 4 without cesc,ade,rosicky,walcott eh..BIG SIDE!!

« Reply #95 on: March 27, 2009, 04:53:48 PM »
feliz how you made up that bracket?
that match going on with me and 2 cents should be the final.
Man have me sweating here boy

should be a final yea...but thaz d thing bout d cup king...big teams could knock off each other and Millwall reach d final. its all about d draw...
look like yuh goin for broke with them 3 transfers though...i aint mad at yuh. think it will come down to captain and bonus though cuz nobody side eh really better...good luck...bless

Looks like is u and me in de semis 2cents. Congrats on getting past ricky... dat was a tight battle. Ah hope yuh team still have some fight left in it tho....cause tings now start to heat up. Respect!

Does my team look like it doesn't have fight left...or is that a figure of speech? The battle with Ricky was definitely serious...but in about the past 3 rounds I felt like I was surely getting knocked out and manage to survive. I will take survival once again to get into the final...i've jus rented a well equipped underground lab from a popular super-hero who is on vacation and will stay holed up in there for the next few weeks while getting the team in order. I nearly panic and sell Cahill and Ireland for Gerrard and Whelan when I c I could afford him but I gonna back Fulham to hold down Liverpool to 1 goal and come with something not so obvious. Stay tuned Firebrand...

Based on yuh team's last score yuh really want me to answer dat?  :devil:  Nah man I jus on kicks...I doh take no opponent for granted. Yuh eh see ah give yuh respect at de end of meh post.  Anyway do yuh ting and make sure yuh team in order, cause come de end of week 34 it will be judgment! FIRE BLAZIN'!
« Last Edit: March 27, 2009, 04:56:28 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #96 on: April 04, 2009, 02:55:42 AM »
SEMI-FINALS PREVIEW
by Omarldinho

As the 2008 Warrior Nation/SW.net Fantasy Football Knockout Cup reaches an exciting climax, we take the time to preview the matchups and the teams vying for the title.

BESBRAHN FC FC (#64) vs Hell_Boy_AC (#20)   
This match brings together ASL rookie team BESBRAHN FC with formidable opponent in Hell Boy AC.

Hell Boy comes into the semi-finals currently perched atop both his 'Di Picong League' and enjoying a good run of form. Meanwhile, BESBRAHN FC compensates for his current page 2 ASL position with a storming cup run.

Road to the Semis:

Hell Boy AC has enjoyed a comfortable run to the semis with double digit wins in all of his fixtures. He followed up wins against dguesser, FC Gasbraingina, la bombanera and JahJah United with a comfortable quarterfinal victory over the bombers.

BESBRAHN FC's charge has been slightly trickier. A narrow win against Man. United was followed up with a shock victory over long standing 2008-09ASL leader The Rossoneri. This was followed by wins against TriniThugz and The Mighty "O" and culminated in a quarterfinal victory over Blackcity.

Manuvelona (#2) vs Red Fire FC (#22)

This match pits perennial ASL competitors Manuvelona and Red Fire FC in a clash of the heavyweights.

Manuvelona enters the cup semifinals currently placed 14th in the ASL league. Meanwhile, Red Fire FC comes into the match currently placed 5th in the ASL league on the back of a monster gameweek 30.

Road to the Semis:

Manuvelona followed up victories against Malabar FC, Malvern SC and RLFC by squeezing a slender win against FC Bowcat despite entering the first leg 10 pts down. This was followed by a win over in-form FC Ricky in the quarters.

Red Fire FC overcame a tricky first round match against WOB United and notched wins against Bohemians, Toepee United and Dubmasters. This was followed by a crushing 108 point demolition of Arsenola FC in the quarterfinal matchup.

Good luck to the 4 teams involved. Stay tuned over the next 3 gameweeks as these 4 teams do battle for cup glory.

« Reply #97 on: April 04, 2009, 07:11:00 AM »
Boss preview omar!  ;D

« Reply #98 on: April 04, 2009, 08:53:17 AM »
Steups I still vex with that lorse to manuvelona.... de man win by some facking bonus points!!!  :'(

and allyuh know bout dem sh!t bonus points!!  >:(

anyhow ah backing de man to win it!

« Reply #99 on: April 04, 2009, 09:05:34 AM »
It still hurtin me I get knockout this ting...one bad game week.

I woulda win it 4 sho

« Reply #100 on: April 04, 2009, 10:02:17 AM »
It still hurtin me I get knockout this ting...one bad game week.

I woulda win it 4 sho

woulda, coulda, shoulda.... :devil:

« Reply #101 on: April 10, 2009, 07:42:02 AM »
remember Semifinals starting this weekend fellas  :)

« Reply #102 on: April 10, 2009, 05:13:06 PM »

Look ting ,last year ah come 3rd in de league cup and man bawling this eh no big league .Now ah geh knock out in de fuss rongs and every body riding this tuh de finish ...anyway Firebrand go buss all yuh arse ....Light dem up Fire dey eh want nuttin wid yuh ,bring it home bredda .....
Oh and ah reach fuss page in A.S. league ...Phew !! at last ..all yuh doh laugh  ah trying meh bess jes tuh finish on de fuss page . ;D

« Reply #103 on: April 10, 2009, 05:51:44 PM »

Look ting ,last year ah come 3rd in de league cup and man bawling this eh no big league .Now ah geh knock out in de fuss rongs and every body riding this tuh de finish ...anyway Firebrand go buss all yuh arse ....Light dem up Fire dey eh want nuttin wid yuh ,bring it home bredda .....
Oh and ah reach fuss page in A.S. league ...Phew !! at last ..all yuh doh laugh  ah trying meh bess jes tuh finish on de fuss page . ;D

Ah was wondering when yuh go join us on de first page berris. ;D  It was only a matter of time tho...managers of your caliber doh belong on de 2nd page.  Anyway thanks breds.... 2cents is ah worthy opponent, but ah go do ah ting. RED FIRE BLAZIN'!  :flamethrower:

« Reply #104 on: April 13, 2009, 10:15:21 PM »

Semifinals      
Last 4      
Gameweek 32 & 33 & 34   

Matchups
1st Game Results

#64 - BESBRAHN FC        61 
#20 - Hell_Boy_AC          49

#2 - Manuvelona             54
#22 - Red Fire FC            57

« Reply #105 on: April 13, 2009, 11:43:56 PM »
Fire in all yuh baxide,go on big horse light dem up  :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

« Reply #106 on: April 14, 2009, 03:27:22 PM »
Fire in all yuh baxide,go on big horse light dem up  :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

Thanks B. Ah win de 1st week by de skin of meh teeth....thanks to Dempsey's brace, but ah taking dat! Now on to week 33... RED FIRE BLAZIN'!

« Reply #107 on: April 15, 2009, 10:15:35 AM »
Yes BESBRAHN, meh prodigy...

Show dem what time it is.

Offline BESBRAHN

• Football is life!
« Reply #108 on: April 16, 2009, 08:21:47 PM »
Yes...Omardinho...I goin for d victory...who say BESBRAHN!!! Tobas..what jersey yuh winnin?

« Reply #109 on: April 23, 2009, 07:47:21 PM »
Semifinals      
Last 4      
Gameweek 32 & 33 & 34   

Matchups
2nd Game Results

#64 - BESBRAHN FC         61                 61                             122
#20 - Hell_Boy_AC          49                 50                               99

#2 - Manuvelona             54                 61                             115
#22 - Red Fire FC             57                 79                             136

Revised score:
Manuvelona from 105 to 115
« Last Edit: April 25, 2009, 01:21:36 PM by Feliziano »

« Reply #110 on: April 25, 2009, 08:32:54 PM »
Aye 2 cents yuh show rel heart today breds.  Yuh cap Ronaldo and mounted a massive comeback to destroy dat 21 point lead I had on u.  Now you're leading, but only by 3 points and I still have meh captain Asrhavin and Hreidarsson to play still while you just have Arshavin. Things could still turn in your favor if cards pass and/or Ports get hammered by Newcastle on Monday. I hoping this could be all over tomorrow tho... when meh captain get on bad again.  :devil:   

Classic Battle!

« Reply #111 on: April 26, 2009, 03:53:41 PM »
Post de finalist for de Cup nah Feliz.  ;D

RED FIRE BLAZIN'!  :flamethrower:

edit: Oh shocks I forget de game week ends tomorrow. Ah probably mix with Russian  :devil:
« Last Edit: April 26, 2009, 03:56:36 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #112 on: April 28, 2009, 07:58:11 PM »

Semifinals      
Last 4      
Gameweek 32 & 33 & 34   

Matchups
3rd Game Results

#64 - BESBRAHN FC         61                 61              69            191
#20 - Hell_Boy_AC          49                 50              47            146         

#2 - Manuvelona              54                 61             74             189
#22 - Red Fire FC             57                 79             62             198

« Reply #113 on: April 28, 2009, 08:05:31 PM »

Finals      
Last 4      
Gameweek 36 & 37 & 38   

1st Place Matchup
#64 - BESBRAHN FC              
#22 - Red Fire FC

3rd Place Matchup:   
#20 - Hell_Boy_AC          
#2 - Manuvelona

« Reply #114 on: April 29, 2009, 09:42:03 AM »
Thanks for de update Feliz. ;D   RED FIRE BLAZIN'!  :flamethrower:

« Reply #115 on: April 29, 2009, 04:26:37 PM »
congrats boy firebrand but the road ends here...

meh prodigy going and douse dat down like ah stale barbecue..

vicariousness ah on right now.. :devil:

Offline BESBRAHN

• Football is life!
« Reply #116 on: April 29, 2009, 08:37:18 PM »
Thanks eh Omardinho...had a bad year this year..made some big mistakes early on in the league...the cup is my one chance to salvage the season!!

Firebrand man..may the best BRAHN win!!!

« Reply #117 on: April 30, 2009, 10:15:15 AM »
The battle of the Brands/Brahns!  Wha happen Omar...no preview for de finalist? Look ah just give yuh de title for de write up right dey! ;D

I rel enjoying dis season so far yes... finalist in de WN Cup, top 5 in de ASL and numero uno in Picong, and with 4 game weeks left I aiming to finish strong on all fronts.

Omar it must be easy to back yuh boy when he has the luxury of making unlimited transfers week after week. Say what tho...that will just make the challenge more interesting and the victory even sweeter for me.  :devil:

But seriously Besbrahn, congrats on reaching the finals breds....yuh doing well. :beermug:  The best BRAND will win!!!  ;D   

Red Fire Blazin'!  :flamethrower:

« Last Edit: April 30, 2009, 10:19:35 AM by FireBrand »

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #118 on: May 03, 2009, 01:34:13 PM »
One stop short on d train ride to d trophy....ah get away too much time and it catch up with me. That Arshavin 21 off d bench was d killer...
Props to the final 2...should b a good contest...i'll b watchin it closely and tryin to c if ah could move up d league somehow...bless
It's only kinky the 1st time

« Reply #119 on: May 10, 2009, 07:44:08 PM »
Finals Preview
by Omarldinho

2008-09 Warrior Nation/SW.Net Fantasy Football Knockout Cup Finals

BESBRAHN vs Red Fire FC
                aka
The Battle of the Brans

This is it and here we are.

After 161 days of grueling competition between 144 teams, a combined total of 143 transfers and 3466 hard earned points between the finalists, countless hours of ponderous tinkering, prophetic decision making and immeasurable frustration, the finals of the 2008-2009 Warrior Nation Fantasy Football Cup is here.

With both teams having guaranteed a share of the prize of the most sought after Soca Warriors jersey on the planet, Red Fire FC and BESBRAHN will battle it out for bragging rights for the season.

Semi-Final Recap
                                               Red Fire FC vs Manuvelona
Red Fire FC blazed a trail to the finals by emerging victorious from a thrilling 3 round semi-final bout with Manuvelona. After ending the first leg almost even, Red Fire FC opened up a 21 point gap on his rival with a 79 point 2nd leg performance earned on the back of a 4 goal performance by Andrey Arshavin and a shrewd transfer for Danny Collins of Sunderland.

Not to be outdone, Manuvelona came roaring back in the 3rd leg with a 74 point performance. This was spurred on by a truly remarkable move for West Brom’s Fortune up front, and captain Ronaldo as he repaid his faith with a 2 goal/assist/bonus output that left his rival sweating bullets ahead of Monday’s last gameweek fixture. It was not enough though as Arshavin was once again the difference maker.

BESBRAHN vs Hell_Boy_AC
BESBRAHN cruised into the finals by dominating his semi-final matchup with a unanimous victory over Hell_Boy_AC. The tie could have been a foregone conclusion after the first leg had BESBRAHN not made the cardinal mistake of selling the prolific Arshavin for the profligate Peter Crouch, losing 21 points in the process. Nevertheless, solid performances by the likes of Fabregas, Matt Taylor and Glen Johnson over the 3 legs made for an easy path to the final.

Hell_Boy_AC on the other hand decided to take the conservative route, making only 2 transfers over the 3 legs of the semi-final. Despite consistent returns from the likes of Ireland, Lampard and Geovanni, he lives to rue the injury to Steven Gerrard and the Arsenal surge over the last few weeks that has been a thorn in side of many a fantasy football manager over the past couple weeks. Hell_Boy_AC can look back with pride on an excellent Cup run and will look ahead to his 3rd place encounter with Manuvelona with the last remaining Warrior Nation jersey/Membership Renewal at stake.

Who will triumph at the final hurdle and don the coveted jersey? Who will falter?

Tune in as these teams battle it out for the title over the next 3 Gameweeks!!
« Last Edit: May 10, 2009, 07:45:54 PM by Feliziano »