March 29, 2024, 06:47:43 AM

Author Topic: Entire Guyana Digicel Team Resigns  (Read 3082 times)

Offline black chinee

Entire Guyana Digicel Team Resigns
« on: November 11, 2008, 08:44:50 AM »

Mutiny against Klass as..
BY Staff

http://www.stabroeknews.com/sports/mutiny-against-klass-as/

- entire Golden Jaguars retire amidst calls for Guyana Football Federation president Colin Klass to resign

By Rawle Toney

Guyana’s national football team known as the Golden Jaguars yesterday moved their battle from the field to the office of the Guyana Football Federation (GFF) with the members of the team which participated in the Group H matches of the Digicel Caribbean Cup tournament in Trinidad retiring from the sport until president of the GFF Colin Klass steps down.
However, contacted for a comment yesterday Klass surprisingly told this newspaper that he knew nothing of the development.
Reports are that the players met with Klass approximately 3:00am yesterday morning outside of the Crown Plaza hotel in Trinidad and Tobago (after drawing 1-1 with Trinidad and Tobago in their final group match) as Klass was about to return to Guyana.

All 20 players told him that they would not represent Guyana any longer if he remained as president of the GFF.
According to reports, the players complained of poor standards, poor training equipment, the poor state of encampment, monies outstanding and constant disorganization during international duty.

Speaking to Stabroek Sports yesterday, captain of the national team Charles ‘Lilly’ Pollard said that the decision was made because the players felt they have had enough of the ill treatment from the Klass-led GFF.

“This move is to make sure that our future generation doesn’t suffer the same fate like us. For far too long we have had to contend with held up in allowances, asking for proper conditions for our camps among plenty other things,” said the out-spoken Pollard.

He added that although no time frame was given for Klass to step down, the players were deadly serious about their decision and would be making another statement shortly. But Klass told this newspaper that he was not aware of this development.
“This is news to me. I know nothing about the players resigning if I don’t step down. I spoke to the players in Trinidad before I returned home about other issues but not on this, so as far as I know this is not so,” said the
GFF president.
Colin Klass

Colin Klass

But Stabroek Sports contacted an official at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Trinidad and Tobago who reported that the incident did take place and that the players did in fact issue that ultimatum to Klass.
The official, who asked to remain anonymous, said that as a matter of fact there was even some altercation as voices were being raised by the players in what sounded like a heated argument.
“I thought that they were going to harass him (Klass) because of how furious they were. This occured around three something this morning (yesterday) as he (Klass) was preparing to leave along with some other players who checked out to return home,” said the source at the hotel.

The players are calling for support. In a statement sent to this newspaper they  appealed for help and asked their fans not to support the GFF and its activities.

“We are appealing to all our fans to boycott all GFF sanctioned football until Klass and his administration go,” the players said in a statement, adding  …”enough is enough!”
Charles Pollard

Klass has been at the helm of the GFF for the past 20 years and has been coming in for strong criticism for not doing enough to enhance the sport despite the fact that the GFF receives an annual subvention of US$250,000 from its parent body FIFA.
Recently there were several calls from persons who are very upset about the state of the sport here for Klass to step down but the GFF president has remained completely immune to those calls.

According to the statement from the players it was a shame that such a drastic set of events have had to transpire but they added that they have had enough of the administration’s incompetence.

“This is for the future of Guyana’s football. May the football world hear our cry for help!”

Offline trinimuse

Re: Entire Guyana Digicel Team Resigns
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2008, 08:52:32 AM »
Good for them.  Maybe we should do the same against Jackula  :devil:

« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2008, 08:54:22 AM »
real sorry to hear that

but those who play for TTFF get treated the same way....well maybe NOT as bad
yet the TTFF took in $173 Million dollars ;)
Jackula would just get more hungry players to play for TTFF.
Hungry in the sense of wanting to play football.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2008, 08:56:18 AM »
All 20 players told him that they would not represent Guyana any longer if he remained as president of the GFF.
According to reports, the players complained of poor standards, poor training equipment, the poor state of encampment, monies outstanding and constant disorganization during international duty.

Them men arguing in Crown Plaza...poor state of encampment.  ::)

Poor Standards...See what does happen when yuh play TT five times in one year.  ;D

« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2008, 08:56:53 AM »
could have been worse,they could have defected  ;D

« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2008, 09:07:31 AM »
Them men strike after they get eliminated? That make no sense...they didn't learn from Hooper to strike B4 the tour start if u want to be taken seriously?

« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2008, 09:13:30 AM »
$250,000 US ???

That is how much 10 billion in Guyanese money ?

« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2008, 09:22:28 AM »
I say was Jamal y dey retire

« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2008, 09:28:58 AM »
I say was Jamal y dey retire

Nah, Jamal complained about the same things a couple months ago.  Unless yuh mean if he incite them.

« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2008, 09:29:31 AM »

BY Staff

Klass has been at the helm of the GFF for the past 20 years and has been coming in for strong criticism for not doing enough to enhance the sport despite the fact that the GFF receives an annual subvention of US$250,000 from its parent body FIFA.

De question begs to be asked, :Is it only theGFF that does get this moneyfrom FIFA?"  ???  ??? There are most likely supporters of Klass that would argue that Klass has been spending his own money to fund the GFF, just like a certain individual in TTFF always making this assertion.

Blessings

Offline black chinee

« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2008, 10:25:04 AM »

BY Staff

De question begs to be asked, :Is it only theGFF that does get this moneyfrom FIFA?"  ???  ??? There are most likely supporters of Klass that would argue that Klass has been spending his own money to fund the GFF, just like a certain individual in TTFF always making this assertion.

Blessings

Good Question.... Does anyone know if TTFF also gets this subvention?

« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2008, 12:14:10 PM »
We eh need no subvention we have JW

« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2008, 02:47:52 PM »
A few years ago, some clubs in Guyana went on strike to get rid of Klass. They almost succeeded, however, Jack back him and FIFA said if they didn't get into line, that Guy. would be banned from international football.

Klass has been considered by many in the Guy. ftbl community to be useless. Like a Camps but with no real Jack money.

TTFF paying for dey Coach and Jack get dem some FIFA dllrs.

But this is real serious. Hope they stick to their guns. If you ever Shabbaz talk about dem men is ketch dey ass, it's truly sad.

« Reply #13 on: November 11, 2008, 03:13:51 PM »
As long as Klass put his vote for Jack, everything going be alright.

All Jack need to do is make a law in Parliment that you cannot have more than one Guyanese on a PFL squad and all them players will shut up.

Sad but true.

we in the same sad sate of affairs.

It would be more effective to stike before the tournament.

The problem with these players is the same problem with TnT players.

Solidarity and self sacrifice.

If did did walk off the field from the first game and demand change they might had had more bargining.

They problem is they all want to play,

for caps for contact for glory

they all want to play.

So is play under crap conditions and complain or dont play.

Dont play and hold to your guns.

« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2008, 04:45:26 PM »
KND2,
           What FIFA needs to do is forbid their members from running for political office. It causes conflict of interest.

« Reply #15 on: November 11, 2008, 06:12:56 PM »
KND2,
           What FIFA needs to do is forbid their members from running for political office. It causes conflict of interest.
Deeks, that is the post of the year :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Guyanese-Baller

« Reply #16 on: November 11, 2008, 08:50:02 PM »
This development is truly sad. Unlike with T&T these players have been suffering and sacrificing for years and going by with little or nothing. Things have never really been good but they have been quiet and taken it all in stride just to try to get to play while hoping for the best. Klass is not like Jack, he has no money and no influence except as given to him by Jack or FIFA. JAck gets a guaranteed vote from Guyana and that will not change. Support for football in Guyana is going down the drain because of people's frustrations with the local federation.  Its very tough and will probably get worse for these players because there may be a backlash from Klass, Jack and FIFA that may hurt them. I hope they get some advice. Shabazz cannot do everything for them - he did his best with very little. You fellas have no idea what some of these guys have to go through just to be able to play in Trinidad much less think about trying elsewhere and they are not troublemakers in your TT league. They just try to get by. There is nothing wrong with ambition.

BTW Pardners, US$250,000 is only G$50M, not really a lot of money so you should not make fun of us. LIfe is a funny thing - today yuh could be up but tomorrow yuh could be down. We're not rich but we're doing our best to get by and things not fair always. To get an idea how much/little that is remember we had a few Guyanese cricketers who each won US$1M/G$200M recently in the Stanford 20/20 tournament. The cricketers live big in Guyana and the footballers suffer getting by on the scraps. Some of your footballers have made themselves into millionaires ($TT) playing abroad and your younger players have role models but our players have no such role models. I just like the fact that these players are standing up not only for themselves but for the younger players, for the future even risking their own limited careers to do it.

Respect.

« Reply #17 on: November 11, 2008, 11:32:59 PM »
This development is truly sad. Unlike with T&T these players have been suffering and sacrificing for years and going by with little or nothing. Things have never really been good but they have been quiet and taken it all in stride just to try to get to play while hoping for the best. Klass is not like Jack, he has no money and no influence except as given to him by Jack or FIFA. JAck gets a guaranteed vote from Guyana and that will not change. Support for football in Guyana is going down the drain because of people's frustrations with the local federation.  Its very tough and will probably get worse for these players because there may be a backlash from Klass, Jack and FIFA that may hurt them. I hope they get some advice. Shabazz cannot do everything for them - he did his best with very little. You fellas have no idea what some of these guys have to go through just to be able to play in Trinidad much less think about trying elsewhere and they are not troublemakers in your TT league. They just try to get by. There is nothing wrong with ambition.

BTW Pardners, US$250,000 is only G$50M, not really a lot of money so you should not make fun of us. LIfe is a funny thing - today yuh could be up but tomorrow yuh could be down. We're not rich but we're doing our best to get by and things not fair always. To get an idea how much/little that is remember we had a few Guyanese cricketers who each won US$1M/G$200M recently in the Stanford 20/20 tournament. The cricketers live big in Guyana and the footballers suffer getting by on the scraps. Some of your footballers have made themselves into millionaires ($TT) playing abroad and your younger players have role models but our players have no such role models. I just like the fact that these players are standing up not only for themselves but for the younger players, for the future even risking their own limited careers to do it.

Respect.

So sad bro.

« Reply #18 on: November 11, 2008, 11:44:58 PM »
Guyanese-baller,
                      It is unfortunate that GT ballers have to go thru all that crap. I know enough good ballers from GT in the DC area. Also the Guyanese people are real cool. Hope thing change in the future.

« Reply #19 on: November 12, 2008, 04:45:35 AM »
So when they tournament done then they protesting.... steups !!!!!! and a loud one too...

Hercules asks Guyana to stand behind them.
« Reply #20 on: November 12, 2008, 06:58:08 AM »

Hercules maintains Klass was told of ultimatum in Trinidad
BY Staff

- GFF president still  denies knowledge
By Rawle Toney

A member of the Golden Jaguars football team is maintaining that when the players confronted Guyana Football Federation (GFF) president Colin Klass in the wee hours of Monday morning at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Trinidad and Tobago that Klass was told that the players were going to retire from international football until such time as he (Klass) steps down.
Guyana’s Collie Hercules, left, is battling to save Guyana’s football.

“Yes, we met Mr. Klass and yes, we let him know that if he and his administration has anything to do with Guyana’s football we will retire for ever and, as a matter of fact, made it clear too that we want him to go for the betterment of football in Guyana since he is doing nothing for us,” dapper striker Collie `Hitman’ Hercules told Stabroek Sport yesterday in an exclusive interview.

Klass, however is maintaining his earlier stance that he was unaware of the players’ position.
Klass has admitted to a meeting with the players following the team’s failure to reach the finals of the Digicel Caribbean Cup football tournament which takes place next month but is adamant that they only met on “other football related matters like money and so on.”

However, the Golden Jaguars are continuing to roar for Klass’s head.
Hercules yesterday re-iterated the players’ position that they want Klass out of the office he has held for two decades and are making a further call for the public to support them in this venture.
“We are asking the entire nation to stand behind us in our attempt to rid football of a problem which has been hampering us from going forward,” Hercules added.

“We simply feel that we have had enough of what we are going through and Mr. Klass is acting like everything is all good with the sport. There’s no enthusiasm because the players have gotten fed up.”
All day yesterday Klass and his administration remained tight-lipped on the situation with Klass’s only comment being that the players never told him that they had a problem with him at the helm of Guyana’s football.

But Hercules said that the players will soon be upping their protest and they are seeking to have an audience with FIFA vice president and president of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) and CONCACAF Austin `Jack’ Warner.

Stabroek Sports yesterday contacted president of the Georgetown Football Association, Troy Mendonca, who, along with GFA secretary, Marlon Cole, have been strongly advocating that Klass step down for the good of the game.

“I’m not permitted as a representative of football to make a comment to the press but as you recall earlier in the year that I had made some statements and my position has not changed. I think what you are seeing now is a representation of the efforts being made for football,” said Mendonca.
He added: “I’m a servant of football and there are rules which will not allow me to go to the press as I would want to but like I said early in the year, I made my point about this same situation so I’m trying my best to continue within the rules so that I can continue to serve football for the best interest of the same players and the sport but to be honest, it leaves a lot to be desired.”

Meanwhile, a high-ranking football official (who spoke on the condition of anonymity) who has been following the Guyana football situation said he wondered how long it would have taken for the players to say enough was enough.

The official said he had followed the newspaper reports of the national football team being kicked out of grounds for the simple sin of wanting to train whilst preparing for important engagements and said he knew one day the players would finally be unable to stand it no longer and rebel.

The official said he hoped that Klass would show some decency and finally end his long reign at the helm of Guyana’s football which would enable a new course to be charted for the good of the game not only in Guyana but in the Caribbean.