March 28, 2024, 05:14:41 PM

Author Topic: KEANE'S WISE WORDS FOR KENWYNE  (Read 961 times)

KEANE'S WISE WORDS FOR KENWYNE
« on: November 14, 2008, 06:10:10 PM »
KEANE'S WISE WORDS FOR KENWYNE      

Sunderland boss Roy Keane is hoping Kenwyne Jones will lead by example as he prepares to relaunch his Barclays Premier League career.

The 24-year-old returned to the starting line-up against Blackburn in the Carling Cup on Wednesday after fears that he had aggravated his knee injury were dispelled by his surgeon.

Trinidad and Tobago international Jones has managed only four appearances for his club since damaging knee ligaments in a collision with England keeper David James in June.

He was the club's top scorer last season with just seven goals, but his influence was far more wide reaching as he led the line with pace and power and established himself as a genuine top-flight player.

Now Keane is hoping for more of the same with the club sitting uncomfortably inside the relegation zone and having blown their big chance in the Carling Cup when they lost 2-1 at home to Rovers.

Asked if Jones is ready for a sustained run in the team, he said: "We hope so. It is a balancing act.

"I was tempted to leave him on - you think, if we get it back to 2-2, you are looking at extra time.

"But he has only just come back a couple of weeks ago from a serious injury, so we have got to get the balance right.

"He gives me a headache because when he came on against Stoke, he did ever so well and last night, he led the line well, he was a handful for defenders and he scored.

"He is staking his claim to me, saying 'You have got to play me on Saturday'. If strikers score you goals, they pick themselves.

"You look at his position and can he lead from there, but different people can lead in different ways. Kenwyne can lead with his physical presence, the way he plays, scoring goals.

"Michael Owen is a captain, Alan Shearer was a captain, and they were about putting the ball in the back of the net.

"Kenwyne has a good chance of leading us, and we will need him over the next few weeks and months because it is a testing time for everyone."

Keane admitted he did not know what to expect when he sent Jones off to see his specialist after hurting his knee in training last Friday, but he is delighted to have him back in harness.

However, he knows that creates its own problems with the former Southampton frontman certain to join up with his international squad for their World Cup qualifier against Cuba next week if he plays in Saturday's league fixture at Blackburn.

The Irishman said: "Kenwyne is a big plus for everyone at the football club and he will be a top, top player.

"Remember, he is nowhere near match fit yet, and that will come with games.

"If he is involved on Saturday, he will have that international next week. But that's what top players have to deal with.

"The demands of being a top player, everybody wants a part of you."

Wednesday's game was Keane's first chance to see Jones in partnership with summer signing Djibril Cisse over an extended period, although he admits it will take time for the two to establish an understanding.

He said: "Kenwyne is coming back from injury and you look at other strike partnerships in the Premier League and it takes time.

"It takes a hell of a long time, especially when one of them is coming back from an injury.

"It's well and good when they start off in pre-season and they are both up and running fitness-wise.

"If they are to benefit and play well together, I don't think we will see that for a while yet."(Nov 14,2008)

Re: KEANE'S WISE WORDS FOR KENWYNE
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2008, 06:18:00 PM »
I say he tell him betta doh comeback injured

Re: KEANE'S WISE WORDS FOR KENWYNE
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2008, 06:35:18 PM »
Kenwyne can lead with his physical presence, the way he plays, scoring goals.

Wuh kinda leader he cud wuh again...Kenwyne is only 24 ah think...he in de front running to be de next Yorke...maybe even LaTAS.

and i thought he did relly say sumthing like and all yes Weary.