April 26, 2024, 03:51:13 PM

Author Topic: Gary Hunt promises to honour first Olympic hero  (Read 1536 times)

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
Gary Hunt promises to honour first Olympic hero
« on: November 16, 2008, 12:18:44 PM »
At last:

In our last issue, dated October 23, Adrenalin highlighted the fact that the country's first Olympic medallist, Rodney Wilkes, is virtually unknown and has been living in obscurity for the last 40 years since he brought home two medals - a silver and a bronze.

On Monday, Sports Minister Gary Hunt responded by giving his word that he will explore "all existing programmes that are available to assist Mr Wilkes". He also said that he will seek to honour the Olympian in a "more susbtantial and lasting way".

The Minister, a sportsman himself, revealed that his ministry plans to hold a recognition ceremony for all past Olympians in the coming fiscal year. "We have not forgotten our past heroes," he said. "They should be respected, and we want Mr Wilkes to be publicly honoured in such a way that young athletes coming up can look to him for inspiration and learn from him how to rise above all adversity."

We had asked readers to join us in a campaign to have the Government properly recognise the achievements of the former weightlifter, who is now 83 years old. The response was overwhelming. We received more than 60 emails from outraged and saddened citizens. We thank all of you who took the time to write in for responding and supporting this campaign. Here is what some of you had to say:
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."

Re: Gary Hunt promises to honour first Olympic hero
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2008, 01:08:31 PM »
Doh breath ah sigh of relief yet wait till it happen. CEO Hunt have 2 explore what he could do. Dat means contact d other CEO's in the other Ministries and c what is avialable.

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2008, 01:59:52 PM »
He promise...steupse >:(

Is stories like this that make me appreciate Iwer George's "Gimme ah Bligh"
You tell me something, the frigging first Olympic Hero and is ONLY NOW they looking to do something for him ?

Is only because of that story that ran a couple of months ago highlighthing the fact that the man is STILL ALIVE and Silver Medalist Bovell made a contribution to the man's well being. Thats the only reason! Dey blasted embarassed. More in fact they blasted embarassing to dey core.

weary they shouldn't have to explore nothing or have big meetings with every CEO they could find to come up with a decision. Financial assistance, sponsorship or whatever needs to be done should have already been written up and file in file 5 in dey cupboard.

steupse dey does jus vex me oui >:(

« Last Edit: November 16, 2008, 02:04:13 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2008, 02:22:53 PM »
Since meh boys get d lil mil dey talkin bout comin up wit a plan as 2 how 2 honour peeps when dey contribute. By d time dey figure it out it go b part of d gentleman estate. If dey honour it. All it need is 2 sent somebody from d Min of Soc Dev 2 interview d man and take it from there. How hard dat iz?

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2008, 07:53:47 PM »
so trinidad is a socialist state, wehave to give everybody a bligh!

« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2008, 11:00:24 PM »
Should be up to the TTOC to give him a bligh... but as I said, Trinidad is de ultimate welfare state.

« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2008, 05:09:21 PM »
Bakes,
             i kinda agree with you on that!!!!!!