April 23, 2024, 05:01:54 PM

Author Topic: Venezuela to get Nuclear Reactor  (Read 4345 times)

Venezuela to get Nuclear Reactor
« on: November 19, 2008, 10:28:19 AM »
What allyuh think of this one? To me it disturbing as I wonder what Chavez could be planning to use this for in the future a la Iran, the US reaction depending on his intentions, I am concerned about T&T getting caught in the middle and our proximity to the reactor in case of any kind of emergency.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/nov/18/medvedev-chavez-nuclear-russia-venezuela

Russia to build nuclear reactor for Chávez
Russian president Dmitry Medvedev expected to sign a nuclear agreement next week

Russia's deepening strategic partnership with Venezuela took a dramatic step forward today when it emerged that Moscow has agreed to build Venezuela's first ever nuclear reactor.

President Dmitry Medvedev is expected to sign a nuclear cooperation agreement with his Venezuelan counterpart, Hugo Chávez, during a visit to Latin America next week, part of a determined Russian push into the region.

The reactor is to be named after Humberto Fernandez Moran, a late Venezuelan research scientist and former science minister, Chávez has announced. It is one of many accords he hopes to sign while hosting Medvedev in Caracas next week.

The prospect of a nuclear deal between Moscow and Caracas, following a surge in Russian economic, military, political and intelligence activity in Latin America, is likely to alarm the US and present an early challenge to the Obama administration.

"Hugo Chávez joins the nuclear club," Russian's Vedomosti newspaper trumpeted today.

Venezuela's socialist leader said the reactor may be based in the eastern state of Zulia. He stressed that the project would be for peaceful purposes. As if to underline that point, four Japanese survivors from the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombs visited Venezuela this week at the government's invitation.

The energy ministry, which is scouting locations, said the project was at a very early stage. A report which mooted a nuclear reactor long before Chávez came to power has been dusted off.

Despite abundant oil reserves, Venezuela's energy infrastructure is creaking and prone to blackouts. A nuclear reactor would enable the country to utilise its rich uranium deposits and allay criticism that the government has neglected energy investment.

More importantly for Moscow and Caracas, a nuclear deal will showcase a partnership which advocates creating new "poles" of power to check American hegemony.

Nick Day, a Latin American specialist, said the nuclear deal was deliberately timed to pile pressure on the US administration during a moment of transition and weakness.

"Russia is manoeuvring hard in the time between Obama's election and his inauguration. What the Russians are trying to do is to set up a chessboard that gives them greater mobility in negotiations when he [Obama] comes to power," Day said.

He added: "Russia's message is: 'We can exert influence in your backyard if you continue to exert influence in our backyard. If you don't take your missiles out of Poland and end Nato expansion we're going to increase our influence in Latin America and do things to provoke you.'"

According to Sergei Novikov, spokesman for Russia's federal nuclear agency, no reactor can be built until both countries have signed a preliminary agreement on nuclear cooperation. This will be signed next week, Novikov told Vedomosti.

Both presidents are also expected to firm up details of a Russian-Venezuelan energy consortium to jointly produce and sell oil and gas.

Russian companies which are already exploring oilfields in Venezuela could then extend their reach to fields in Ecuador and Bolivia.

Venezuela has bought $4bn of Russian arms, including Sukhoi fighter jets, making it one of Moscow's best clients. Chávez has spoken of also buying Project 636 diesel submarines, Mi-28 combat helicopters, T72 tanks and air-defence systems.

Despite the spending spree, Venezuela's military has not tipped the regional balance of power.

Chávez's armed forces lag behind that of Brazil, Chile and Colombia and analysts question Venezuelan effectiveness.

For Russia's president, however, Caracas is a valuable springboard into Latin America. In addition to Venezuela, Medvedev will visit Peru, Brazil and Cuba — the first trip by a Russian leader to Havana in eight years.

Moscow has spoken of reviving Soviet-era intelligence cooperation with the communist island and in a sign of dramatically improved ties, President Raul Castro last month attended the opening of a Russian Orthodox cathedral in Havana.

Re: Venezuela to get Nuclear Reactor
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2008, 10:37:06 AM »
nothin good could come outta this.ah next madman with nukes.

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2008, 05:15:49 PM »
Mih initial reaction to the thread's title.....Eh??... :o :o

nothin good could come outta this.ah next madman with nukes.

Except that this madman right next door.....steups...Chavez behave yuh arse nah Obama win...everything is alright with the world now...wha happen yuh didn't get the memo??...steups...

« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2008, 05:29:35 PM »
I personally think is great news... is time Chavez stand up tuh de yanqui oppressors and show them that he ent no pushover.  How dare they send warship tuh Trinidad and send Marines and ting dey... who dey think they fooling, de region doh need dem yanqui bastards.

Yanqui go home!

« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2008, 05:43:06 PM »
I doh feel the uss go take that sitting down .

« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2008, 05:46:07 PM »
I personally think is great news... is time Chavez stand up tuh de yanqui oppressors and show them that he ent no pushover.  How dare they send warship tuh Trinidad and send Marines and ting dey... who dey think they fooling, de region doh need dem yanqui bastards.

Yanqui go home!
Right ,now we have to go get Vader back :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2008, 06:03:01 PM »
It have nothing like a fail-safe nuclear reactor. Big or small

« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2008, 08:00:15 PM »
me ain't have no problem wid dat. like every other big nation, dey man juss protecting he self.

dem ole spanish hot oui :o
« Last Edit: November 19, 2008, 08:03:16 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2008, 08:13:33 PM »
me ain't have no problem wid dat. like every other big nation, dey man juss protecting he self.

Agreed... I mean, if later on Chavez wants to take that nuclear technology and fashion it into weapons then Where's the harm. Chavez' oppressive dictatorial tendencies and erratic behavior notwithstanding, what a few nuclear warheads in the hands of a megalomaniac who answers to no one but himself?

« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2008, 08:57:05 PM »

Agreed... I mean, if later on Chavez wants to take that nuclear technology and fashion it into weapons then Where's the harm. Chavez' oppressive dictatorial tendencies and erratic behavior notwithstanding, what a few nuclear warheads in the hands of a megalomaniac who answers to no one but himself?
ya ent find that Baby Bush acted that way with Iraq?

« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2008, 10:15:33 PM »

Who does Bush answer to?

Who does Chavez answer to?

Righto.

« Reply #12 on: November 19, 2008, 10:27:50 PM »

Who does Bush answer to?

Who does Chavez answer to?

Righto.
Try again
I missed your point

« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2008, 04:50:19 AM »

Try again
I missed your point

... and so is my responsibility to 'try again'??

« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2008, 11:22:43 AM »
Allyuh men missing an important part of this article...The reactor going in Eastern Venezuela which is pretty our back door.

Personally I feel that the Venezuelans should be free to explore the use of nuclear enegry as they see fit but having it close to home makes me uncomfortable.  I also would have preferred for them to have the plant built by the French rather than the Russians. 

Accidents in those plants affect a very wide area and there's also the matter of disposing of nuclear waste.

There's also the matter of the Russians looking to provoke the US into another Cold War.  If the Russians are using the Venezuelans as their pawns who will the US use to counter?

The US considers the Carribean as their area-of-influence so you know they wn't take this lying down.

If you see a sudden influx of US military hardware into the T&T military you'll what's going down.  Especially considering that T&T has been seeking to expand the size of the regiment to get it designated as an Army.

The only things I can think of to mitigate this is that I don't think Manning has the balls to try and stand up to Chavez even with US backing and don't think the Obama administration will be as agressive as the Bush admin.

Of course bear in mind that I had sugery recently and I'm on some powerful narcotics so I'm probably not making any sense :D

« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2008, 12:38:21 PM »
Chavez is not a madman.

« Reply #16 on: November 20, 2008, 12:58:45 PM »
Nah, PantherX, ya making lots of good points there except the part about
"The US considers the Carribean as their area-of-influence so you know they wn't take this lying down."
The US considers the WHOLE world as their jurisdiction to move in and do what they want.
check this website  http://www.newamericancentury.org/

Over the last 50 or more years they have totally screwed many countries to attain their aim. Look at the many countries.......Philippines, most or all of south and central America, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq and many others......they have propped up Dictators who kill and very harshly subjugate their citizens just because those leaders say " I doh like communism" but the alternative has been JUST AS BAD for many of those citizens of those same countries. eg: Burma
and the sad part is MANY on here cant see that....they blind to what the USA and the CIA have done for many years.

addendum: I guess that they would prefer the Devil they know over the devil they don't know.....I am willing to bet that I will see, in my life time, the Chinese becoming the world power that America once was.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2008, 01:18:13 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #17 on: November 20, 2008, 01:03:59 PM »
Chavez is not a madman.

ay mister...yuh bess learn to eat yuh propaganda oats direct from de bag yuh hear

De yankee and dem say he is ah madman and a dictator...therefore he is.
Next ting allyuh left wingnuts go say is de yankee and dem makin up story.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2008, 01:08:44 PM by Dutty »

« Reply #18 on: November 20, 2008, 01:08:39 PM »
Chavez is not a madman.

ay mister...yuh bess learn to eat yuh propganda oats direct from de bag yuh hear

I believe EVERYTHING de Yankees does say until THEY OPEN THEIR MOUTHS, especially them Republican NEW WORLD ORDER fanatics. :devil: :devil:

Check them names here  http://www.newamericancentury.org/statementofprinciples.htm
« Last Edit: November 20, 2008, 01:20:36 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #19 on: November 20, 2008, 03:26:52 PM »
Most of the people I heard refer to Chavez as a madman were Venezuelans who fled the country.

I don't know if he's a madman but he's appears to have marxist or socialist leanings.  He's also been busted supporting FARC (communist insurgents) in Colombia.

« Reply #20 on: November 20, 2008, 04:53:25 PM »

I don't know if he's a madman but he's appears to have marxist or socialist leanings. 

Does that make him a madman?  Look how much of Latin America could be described same way...even in our own country it have....haha never mind.

How easy is it to take nuclear reactor technology and build on it to make weapons when you basically outsourcing the job to another state from bottom up?

« Reply #21 on: November 20, 2008, 05:08:43 PM »

I don't know if he's a madman but he's appears to have marxist or socialist leanings. 

Does that make him a madman?  Look how much of Latin America could be described same way...even in our own country it have....haha never mind. lmao :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

How easy is it to take nuclear reactor technology and build on it to make weapons when you basically outsourcing the job to another state from bottom up?

« Reply #22 on: November 20, 2008, 05:11:22 PM »
Chavez is not a madman.

ay mister...yuh bess learn to eat yuh propaganda oats direct from de bag yuh hear

:) Independent thought is a punishable offence but ah doh seem to learn

« Reply #23 on: November 20, 2008, 05:16:29 PM »
Most of the people I heard refer to Chavez as a madman were Venezuelans who fled the country.

I don't know if he's a madman but he's appears to have marxist or socialist leanings.  He's also been busted supporting FARC (communist insurgents) in Colombia.

If support of rebels was a madhouse credential, then ... Sam yuh fadda's brodda would ... well, yuh know what I mean ...

« Reply #24 on: November 20, 2008, 09:27:30 PM »
His support of FARC was to support my marxist characterisation not implicate him as a madman ;).

BTW Asylumseeker I never did say that Marxism/socialism was a sign of madness.

« Reply #25 on: November 20, 2008, 09:38:12 PM »
His support of FARC was to support my marxist characterisation not implicate him as a madman ;).

Very good observation PantherX....

so let me ask you, or ANYONE for that matter, a question.....

when the USA supports certain Organisations against Russia, could we classify the President of the USA, at that time, one and the same as the organisation that he supports.
Well the point I am trying to make is that the USA has supported MANY organisations around the world like the Taliban in Afghanistan. 
read article here: http://www.ip-global.org/archiv/2002/spring2002/early-american-support-for-the-taliban.html

so if I am to understand MANY people's reasoning about Chavez, then the President of the USA was a TALIBAN also?
NOT SO ???
I have MANY other examples if you need them ;)

Just asking eh, as I am sure MOST people who support the USA don't think about their government in those terms...jmho

I bet the oncoming refutings going and be the most creative you will ever see ANYWHERE.....FACT :devil:
and I talking about this definition of the word refuting: 2 : to deny the truth or accuracy of
« Last Edit: November 20, 2008, 10:24:26 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #26 on: November 20, 2008, 10:48:42 PM »
Simple question... outside ah Capo who ever said Chavez was a "madman"?

thanks.

« Reply #27 on: November 21, 2008, 07:24:16 AM »

thanks.

Fox news,,couple reporters on CBS, a whole heap ah right wing blog sites, Rush Limbaugh, Hannity, Oreilly etc etc....oh and capo
« Last Edit: November 21, 2008, 07:26:31 AM by Dutty »

« Reply #28 on: November 21, 2008, 08:57:33 AM »

thanks.
he also have method to de madness.now ah neva say i didn't like de chap.i enjoy de how yuh say de constant bit one sided banter with bush.

« Reply #29 on: November 21, 2008, 09:33:53 AM »

Ah know.

Nonetheless, this thread reeks of insanity by implication.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2008, 09:38:53 AM by asylumseeker »