March 29, 2024, 09:33:26 AM

Author Topic: Sell out crowd to see Cuba ?  (Read 2423 times)

Sell out crowd to see Cuba ?
« on: November 20, 2008, 06:24:37 PM »
Was the the biggest crowd to see a game vs a Caribbean opponent in History ?

Tallman, e-man, Flex, where allyuh.

Re: Sell out crowd to see Cuba ?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2008, 06:30:20 PM »
Probably the World Cup Qualifier against Jamaica in de Office in 2001 when we lorse 1-0. De official attendance was reported as 34,000, and unofficially it was said to be between 35,000 and 40,000.

De crowd against Cuba was good, but it wasn't no sell-out.

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2008, 06:36:38 PM »
Probably the World Cup Qualifier against Jamaica in de Office in 2001 when we lorse 1-0. De official attendance was reported as 34,000, and unofficially it was said to be between 35,000 and 40,000.

Thanks Tallman, but I was talking about in T&T and against Caribbean opposition.

« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2008, 06:42:52 PM »

Thanks Tallman, but I was talking about in T&T and against Caribbean opposition.

OK, well then it might be against Jamaica in the Hasely Crawford Stadium on March 28, 1999. The match was reported to be watched by a capacity crowd of 28,000. We won 2-0 on goals by Nakhid and Stern.

« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2008, 06:49:21 PM »
I was checking thru the thread and realise it take about 6mins for Tallman responses.  Considering the time to check the database and then post a response, I would say that time real good sah  :)

Offline Swima

« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2008, 07:03:12 PM »

OK, well then it might be against Jamaica in the Hasely Crawford Stadium on March 28, 1999. The match was reported to be watched by a capacity crowd of 28,000. We won 2-0 on goals by Nakhid and Stern.

Would definitely agree, though disagreeing with Tallman on stats is usually not advisable anyway. That was the so-called dream team with Stern Nixon Nakhid Yorke Latas Marcelle Shaka, Andrews, Elcock, David and Julien. I get it right Tallest?
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2008, 07:09:20 PM »

Would definitely agree, though disagreeing with Tallman on stats is usually not advisable anyway. That was the so-called dream team with Stern Nixon Nakhid Yorke Latas Marcelle Shaka, Andrews, Elcock, David and Julien. I get it right Tallest?
Yeh, is dem self.

Offline legal alien

« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2008, 07:30:37 PM »

Yeh, is dem self.
i only remember that yorke was reaching  the top of his worldwide fame and it was his first international since joining and ripping up for ManU.The fact that Shaka finally decide to play for us probabaly also help guarantee that game get sell out. I  watch it live on tv.
  I speaking about the 2001 away game, i think that that was our best starting dream team up til then. too bad they lost .

« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2008, 09:06:07 PM »
I was checking thru the thread and realise it take about 6mins for Tallman responses.  Considering the time to check the database and then post a response, I would say that time real good sah  :)
I feel Tallman have one ah these that gives him an unfair advantage over us,
like it did for Barack over McSame. :D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2008, 09:53:50 PM »
what is the Hasley Crawford's max. capacity??

i heard on the news they said 20,000 ppls....that was laughable

« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2008, 06:28:06 AM »

David Nakhid's Goal

Stern John's Goal

« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2008, 03:21:04 PM »
I was real surprised about the crowd,

Things must be changing in TnT football wise.

To me men would have stayed hime because of the Rain and the fact that most people would have believed that we would make it through.

chance are every game in the Hex will sell out now which means reall $$$ for the TTFF and warner.

« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2008, 03:59:56 PM »
Wait the HCS don't hold 25 000?    ???

« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2008, 02:54:48 AM »

Used to when there was just the concrete to sit on , when they upgraded for the 2001 WC and installed seating everywhere the number came down to 20,000.

I have a theory that TTFF still operates by selling a max of 25,000 though, i believe they cater for people standing in aisles and on the top areas or in general man jus finding somewhere to see the game inside.

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2008, 04:37:57 AM »

Used to when there was just the concrete to sit on , when they upgraded for the 2001 WC and installed seating everywhere the number came down to 20,000.

I have a theory that TTFF still operates by selling a max of 25,000 though, i believe they cater for people standing in aisles and on the top areas or in general man jus finding somewhere to see the game inside.

I always thought the stadium holds 27,000...

« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2008, 04:46:15 AM »
It used to hold 30,000 I think, but that cut to about 25,000 when they put in the seats....ah stand to be corrected...

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2008, 05:21:33 AM »
I tort allawe had photographic memories all this time !    :-X
« Last Edit: November 22, 2008, 07:50:51 AM by mwanasoka »
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.