March 28, 2024, 07:53:54 PM

Author Topic: Maturana wants Caribbean Cup.  (Read 8071 times)

Maturana wants Caribbean Cup.
« on: November 21, 2008, 05:10:54 AM »
By: Ian Prescott (T&T Express).

"Our dreams continue and, from tomorrow, we will start thinking of the Digicel Cup," declared head coach Francisco Maturana following Trinidad and Tobago's 3-0 victory over Cuba in the 2010 World Cup qualifier on Wednesday night at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

"We feel satisfied. We have achieved the first objective, which is to qualify for the Final Round for the World Cup," Colombian Maturana said through interpreter Kamasha Robertson.

And having tasted sweet success, Maturana also stated his intention to have Trinidad and Tobago win the Digicel Caribbean Championships (DCC), which takes place in Jamaica from December 3-14.

"We are going to try to win it," Maturana said of the Caribbean Championships. "This is a fantastic opportunity for players like Khaleem (Hyland), Keon (Daniel), (Clyde) Leon and Aklie Edwards to strengthen and grow in the process."

Maturana was basking in the limelight, for a moment out of the long shadow cast by football pundits and media over some of his tactics on the way to the Final Round of CONCACAF Qualifying.

Clearly enjoying the moment, he reflected on many things, including his deliberate decision to develop inexperienced players.

"No one can say that Maturana did not give an opportunity to anyone," he declared. "This is a team of open doors and we have had the opportunity to look at over 68 local players. We've given the opportunity to each one and at the end of it we are going to choose the best players."

The Colombian said he could have taken the easy route and selected 15 popular players for any one match. He said, instead, he chose to give as many players the chance to develop with the team and show if they are up to the required level.

Maturana also defended his decision to include Wales-based winger Josh Johnson and Fulham keeper Anthony Warner in his squad, although they did not play against Cuba.

"Football is a game of teams and to be a team, first of all you have to be a group," he said. "And to be a group you have to live together. And although these players that have not yet played...they are part of the group. They know what are the codes...they know what is the discipline, and they want to know who they would want to emulate."

Re: Maturana wants Caribbean Cup.
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2008, 05:25:24 AM »
Dis iz yuh big chance 2 do what Wim eh do win d C'bbean Cup and in JA 2. Dis was prove dat d cobeau brand has been replaced by an eagle.

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2008, 05:32:10 AM »
Dis iz yuh big chance 2 do what Wim eh do win d C'bbean Cup and in JA 2. Dis was prove dat d cobeau brand has been replaced by an eagle.
If we win the Cup I will remove my signature and henceforth refrain from calling him shitsnake, shithound, lucky goat, stupidman or any other fitting terms that have been used to describe his leadership thus far.

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2008, 05:33:38 AM »
Jah u is a man of your word we will c.

« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2008, 06:17:01 AM »
da man still here ??

« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2008, 07:22:08 AM »
this cup should be very easy for TNT to win wid there local Squad. di only threath I saw was Jamaica but Jamaica will be playing there local 11 wich is a shit squad  , So I settle for nothing less than a victiory For TNT in this cup!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2008, 07:40:21 AM »
da man still here ??
man like ah shit stain on yah draws oui ;D

« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2008, 08:18:22 AM »
they need to strengthen that local sqaud first b4 you say you winning the digicel

« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2008, 08:45:27 AM »
ah jam TnT final will b war.

« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2008, 01:26:49 PM »

Lets hope this happens!

I assume RF & Portia should be over here regularly before we win & will rarely be seen over here thereafter!  :devil:

« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2008, 02:57:48 PM »

"Our dreams continue and, from tomorrow, we will start thinking of the Digicel Cup," declared head coach Francisco Maturana following Trinidad and Tobago's 3-0 victory over Cuba in the 2010 World Cup qualifier on Wednesday night at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

"We feel satisfied. We have achieved the first objective, which is to qualify for the Final Round for the World Cup," Colombian Maturana said through interpreter Kamasha Robertson.

So is almost a full year now he been the coach, and he still talking thru an interpreter??

« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2008, 03:08:36 PM »

Leh we hope Sam take in this tournament on TV oui....ah feel they have pictures of him in de airport and in de 'Office'  ;)

Offline legal alien

« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2008, 03:29:48 PM »

Maturana was basking in the limelight, for a moment out of the long shadow cast by football pundits and media over some of his tactics on the way to the Final Round of CONCACAF Qualifying.

Clearly enjoying the moment, he reflected on many things, including his deliberate decision to develop inexperienced players.

"No one can say that Maturana did not give an opportunity to anyone," he declared. "This is a team of open doors and we have had the opportunity to look at over 68 local players. We've given the opportunity to each one and at the end of it we are going to choose the best players."

The Colombian said he could have taken the easy route and selected 15 popular players for any one match. He said, instead, he chose to give as many players the chance to develop with the team and show if they are up to the required level. ....

Well, love him or hate him, you have to give him credit for that. That's the one thing I had against the Dutch coaches:  not giving the locals a good chance on senior level. Thanks for Maturana, otherwise there'd be no Keon Daniel on our regular team.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2008, 03:51:34 PM »
this cup should be very easy for TNT to win wid there local Squad. di only threath I saw was Jamaica but Jamaica will be playing there local 11 wich is a shit squad  , So I settle for nothing less than a victiory For TNT in this cup!!!!!!!!!
As long as you understand that it was a local Reggae Boyz squad that beat T&T, Barbados and Cuba in 2005 to lift he inaugural Digicel Cup in 2005 in Barbados. And in 2007 where Jamaica was not in the tournament it was a local Haitian team that beat you in the final in T&T. ;D
jjbrown

« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2008, 04:35:06 PM »
Dutch coach use locals in d last Digicup so what is your pt. D locals dat could cut it made d trip.

« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2008, 06:28:19 PM »

So is almost a full year now he been the coach, and he still talking thru an interpreter??

Yeah fire de coach llleh we get one who could speak english ...... any names ?

Offline ChipChipSilver

• 'Let the Good Times Roll'
  • Do you feel like working today?
« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2008, 05:23:11 PM »

And having tasted sweet success, Maturana also stated his intention to have Trinidad and Tobago win the Digicel Caribbean Championships (DCC), which takes place in Jamaica from December 3-14.

"We are going to try to win it," Maturana said of the Caribbean Championships. "This is a fantastic opportunity for players like Khaleem (Hyland), Keon (Daniel), (Clyde) Leon and Aklie Edwards to strengthen and grow in the process."

The Colombian said he could have taken the easy route and selected 15 popular players for any one match. He said, instead, he chose to give as many players the chance to develop with the team and show if they are up to the required level.

Maturana also defended his decision to include Wales-based winger Josh Johnson and Fulham keeper Anthony Warner in his squad, although they did not play against Cuba.

"Football is a game of teams and to be a team, first of all you have to be a group," he said. "And to be a group you have to live together. And although these players that have not yet played...they are part of the group. They know what are the codes...they know what is the discipline, and they want to know who they would want to emulate."

De man is ah philosopher?  Ah eh know he so smart  ::) ::)
In Everything, Give Thanks

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2008, 06:00:54 PM »
This is the Reggae Boyz squad that who will not offer any threat to T&T 10th Caribbean Cup aspirations. And if you don't recognise any of the names then Jamaica will truly offer no threat to T&T. 8) ::)

Full squad: Goalkeepers - Donovan Ricketts (Village United), Dwayne Kerr (Portmore United), Dwayne Miller (Harbour View); Defenders- Tyrone Marshall (Toronto FC) Shavar Thomas (Chivas USA), Rafe Wolfe (Fencvaros) Demar Stewart (Cheng Du), Lance Laing (Harbour View), Eric Vernan (Portmore United), O’brian Woodbine (Reno FC), Desmond Breakenridge (Arnett Gardens), Adrian Reid (Portmore United) Nicholy Finlayson (Reno FC) Keniel Moodie (Reno FC), Andre Campbell (Portmore FC); Midfielders – Rodolph Austin (SK Brann), Jason Morrison (Fencvaros), Oneil Thompson (Nottoden FC), Sean Fraser, Wolry Wolfe (Joe Public) Keith Kelly (Harbour View) Ricardo Cousins (Portmore United); Forwards - .Keammar Daley (Meadhaven FC), Roland Dean (Tivoli Gardens FC), Steven Morrissey (Portmore United) Jermaine Anderson (Waterhouse FC), Luton Shelton (Valerenga), Dane Richards (New York Red Bulls) and Omar Cummings (Colorado Rapids).

jjbrown

« Reply #18 on: November 22, 2008, 06:03:37 PM »
This is the Reggae Boyz squad that who will not offer any threat to T&T 10th Caribbean Cup aspirations. And if you don't recognise any of the names then Jamaica will truly offer no threat to T&T. 8) ::)

Full squad: Goalkeepers - Donovan Ricketts (Village United), Dwayne Kerr (Portmore United), Dwayne Miller (Harbour View); Defenders- Tyrone Marshall (Toronto FC) Shavar Thomas (Chivas USA), Rafe Wolfe (Fencvaros) Demar Stewart (Cheng Du), Lance Laing (Harbour View), Eric Vernan (Portmore United), O’brian Woodbine (Reno FC), Desmond Breakenridge (Arnett Gardens), Adrian Reid (Portmore United) Nicholy Finlayson (Reno FC) Keniel Moodie (Reno FC), Andre Campbell (Portmore FC); Midfielders – Rodolph Austin (SK Brann), Jason Morrison (Fencvaros), Oneil Thompson (Nottoden FC), Sean Fraser, Wolry Wolfe (Joe Public) Keith Kelly (Harbour View) Ricardo Cousins (Portmore United); Forwards - .Keammar Daley (Meadhaven FC), Roland Dean (Tivoli Gardens FC), Steven Morrissey (Portmore United) Jermaine Anderson (Waterhouse FC), Luton Shelton (Valerenga), Dane Richards (New York Red Bulls) and Omar Cummings (Colorado Rapids).

that squad sound good. i think they could make the world cup

« Reply #19 on: November 22, 2008, 06:43:54 PM »
Aaaaahhh Morvant twice tonite yuh nearly make mih fall out mih chair.... :rotfl:

« Reply #20 on: November 22, 2008, 07:07:01 PM »

The Colombian said he could have taken the easy route and selected 15 popular players for any one match. He said, instead, he chose to give as many players the chance to develop with the team and show if they are up to the required level. ....

Well, love him or hate him, you have to give him credit for that. That's the one thing I had against the Dutch coaches:  not giving the locals a good chance on senior level. Thanks for Maturana, otherwise there'd be no Keon Daniel on our regular team.

Why allyuh always have it in for the Dutch coaches so pal ?  Why should the coach pick local players, just to say he giving everybody a bligh ?  When the team is mainly local players, men complaining that is not the best team on the field.

The Dutch coaches did pick the locals who were good enough to make the team.  When Beenie took over we were already in the Hex, there was no time to experiment.  He even hesitated a bit with Latas.  After the WC, the team was mainly local that Wim played, a couple friendlies and the DigiCup.

Maturana tried 64 players since he took over....how much of them around today ?  Only Keon Daniel, Hyland, Keyeno are regulars on the team.  I not going to count Glen because he was in WC06.  We even had to bring back the aged Latapy and Yorke to give some stability to the team.  So what does that say about the local players ?  What have our 100% local national U20s and U17s done for the past couple years...figure out that and you have an idea of where our local football is.  Our SSFL select team always losing to Jamaica.  So Maturana just confirmed what we already know (even to the point of being ridiculous), but have an immense amount of trouble accepting....is that the local playes need to improve their game significantly before they could represent we on the international stage.  Try to separate emotions from realism.

« Reply #21 on: November 22, 2008, 07:17:31 PM »
Wim dais you??   :devil:

« Reply #22 on: November 22, 2008, 07:18:56 PM »
Thanks Pardners like a Dutch man tief dey gyul so unless she was mad dey did not treat her right so she went Dutch.

« Reply #23 on: November 22, 2008, 07:21:43 PM »
Wim dais you??   :devil:

Yep, that post was sent from my blackberry whilst i am sipping rum and coka cola under a palm tree at the beach  ;D

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #24 on: November 22, 2008, 07:48:17 PM »

that squad sound good. i think they could make the world cup
No they couldn't. As Warmonga pointed out: he called them a local Jamaican squad with no teeth. So therefore, they won't offer a threat to T&T.
It seems Warmonga knew the Reggae Boyz squad for the Digicel Cup even before they were selected for him to make that statement.
jjbrown

« Reply #25 on: November 22, 2008, 09:16:13 PM »
this competition gives us a chance to achieve something we have not done in decades - beat Ja in Ja.

At the end of the day, TT will always find it very tough to beat them in kingston, WC hex or not.

In reality, i much prefer us play Honduras and El Salvador than Jamaica, cause we always seem to struggle against them.

Our chances are good for this tourney, the fringe players need to step up.

I am also assuming this competition is not fifa sanctioned, ie FIFA official games for release of players right..?

It will be a totally local squad with maybe Birchall and the MLS men..

Men like Dwarika, Glen etc etc will be licking they chops...wonder if we will see bomber..

« Reply #26 on: November 22, 2008, 09:18:42 PM »
Total local and my goal 4 d Digicup is 2 qualify 4 d GC. Anyting beyond dat go b a bonus

« Reply #27 on: November 22, 2008, 09:31:20 PM »
Total local and my goal 4 d Digicup is 2 qualify 4 d GC. Anyting beyond dat go b a bonus

Correk

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #28 on: November 22, 2008, 10:09:00 PM »
this competition gives us a chance to achieve something we have not done in decades - beat Ja in Ja.

At the end of the day, TT will always find it very tough to beat them in kingston, WC hex or not.

In reality, i much prefer us play Honduras and El Salvador than Jamaica, cause we always seem to struggle against them.

I am also assuming this competition is not fifa sanctioned, ie FIFA official games for release of players right..?

Men like Dwarika, Glen etc etc will be licking they chops...wonder if we will see bomber..
True! Very lucky for T&T that Jamaica is not it the Hex where Jamaica would have gotten a total of 12 points from T&T and El Salvador. Unfortunately, with T&T being one of the 32 teams at the 2006 World Cup it has made Honduras and El Salvador aware.
And thinking that playing Mexico on the last matchday is some sort of hope for a win. I doubt it. With Sven Erikksson still not Mexican fans favourite coach it probably means a full strength Mexican team for all 10 games to regain the CONCACAF Giants tag which many believe USA holds.

Now for the non-threating local Reggae Boyz squad that Warmonga believes T&T will face to take the Cup away from Haiti. Well!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What can I say. 8) :bringiton: :bringiton: :bringiton: :bringiton: :bringiton: :bringiton:
jjbrown

« Reply #29 on: November 22, 2008, 11:13:41 PM »

True! Very lucky for T&T that Jamaica is not it the Hex where Jamaica would have gotten a total of 12 points from T&T and El Salvador. Unfortunately, with T&T being one of the 32 teams at the 2006 World Cup it has made Honduras and El Salvador aware.
And thinking that playing Mexico on the last matchday is some sort of hope for a win. I doubt it. With Sven Erikksson still not Mexican fans favourite coach it probably means a full strength Mexican team for all 10 games to regain the CONCACAF Giants tag which many believe USA holds.

Now for the non-threating local Reggae Boyz squad that Warmonga believes T&T will face to take the Cup away from Haiti. Well!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What can I say. 8) :bringiton: :bringiton: :bringiton: :bringiton: :bringiton: :bringiton:

Stupesss

RF...how you talking so...i realize that you hv a JA team in yuh head that mash up everybody they play...and they reach de HEx...and they going on to win the WC...i wah some ah wuh you smoking!