April 25, 2024, 08:01:58 AM

Author Topic: Warriors fans killed in crash  (Read 4351 times)

Warriors fans killed in crash
« on: November 21, 2008, 08:47:21 AM »
Warriors fans killed in crash
By Cecily Asson (Trinidad Newsday)

A former volleyball player and a student of the University of the West Indies (UWI) died in a car crash early yesterday morning while returning home from a Port-of-Spain nightclub where they had gone to celebrate Trinidad and Tobago’s victory over Cuba in a 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying round game.

Former insurance salesman Vindra Rocky Ramai, 27, of Ramai Trace, Debe and UWI first-year student Shannon Phillip, 20, of Coora Road, Siparia were among the thousands in the Hasley Crawford Stadium who witnessed Soca Warriors’ triumph, on Wednesday night, to head into the next round of the World Cup qualifiers.

Phillip is one of the twin sons of ASP Celestine Phillip, head of the Homicide Bureau, Southwestern Division. His brother is Sean.

Injured and in serious condition at the San Fernando General Hospital is Ramai’s brother Russell, 22, who is also a first-year UWI student. Russell was transferred from the Adult Hospital, Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, Mt Hope, where he first received treatment. Two other unidentified UWI students were also injured.

Ramai was on his way to UWI, St Augustine, to drop off Russell, Phillip and their two friends when tragedy struck. It is reported that Ramai was preparing for his wedding early next year.

According to a police report, at about 4.30 am, a white Lexus driven by Ramai was proceeding east along the Churchill Roosevelt Highway when he lost control of the car near Valpark Plaza. Police said the car flipped several times then crashed into a TSTT cabinet. Ramai and Phillip succumbed to their injuries at the Mt Hope hospital.

Ramai’s sister, Linda Ramai-Doodnath, yesterday described him as a sports fanatic and an ardent Warriors fan.

“Last year he had to quit volleyball because of a serious knee injury. He played competitive All Fours and cricket and also had a passion for football and the Soca Warriors. We were tiling the house in preparation for his wedding next year.”

Ramai-Doodnath, a senior accounts clerk, said her surviving brother Russell and Phillip were good friends and Ramai was invited to join them for the football lime at the stadium on Wednesday.

“He took Russell and three UWI friends and after the match, I heard they went to the nightclub to celebrate. He was on his way to drop them off at UWI when the accident happened,” she said, adding that their father Tarran died five years ago. Their mother Liloutee was too distraught to speak yesterday.

At Siparia, one of Phillip’s relatives told Newsday the family was trying to come to terms with his death. Cpl Salandy of the St Joseph Police Station is investigating.

Re: Warriors fans killed in crash
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2008, 08:58:52 AM »
Sad,sad ,sad.Why these fellas lose control on the roads like that.I drive in England on all the big Motorways and see de same ting happenning.People are speeding to get everywhere and they end up getting nowhere.I am real sorry. :'(

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2008, 09:00:17 AM »
designate ah driver people,nutten wrong with de celebration.put priorities in place.....RIP fellas.

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2008, 09:06:53 AM »
rip

sad.

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2008, 09:12:58 AM »
RIP  :'( :'(
All American

« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2008, 09:42:36 AM »
RIP Warrior fans.

« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2008, 10:54:24 AM »
This is real sad. Life is like a vapor, it comes and it goes.  Hope and pray that their families be comforted.

« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2008, 11:00:24 AM »
Prayers and support goes out to the families....  :(

« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2008, 01:12:47 PM »
Condolences to family & friends!

Really sad to hear this!  :'(

« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2008, 01:26:22 PM »
blessings from the magicians

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2008, 01:42:23 PM »
R.I.P soldiers

« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2008, 01:57:10 PM »
condolences to the family and friends.

Come on folks, ppl have to be more careful on the road esp after partying.

« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2008, 02:03:35 PM »
Truly a sad incident.  Brings one back to earth with a thump when thinking of what's truly important in life.  RIP.

Blessings

« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2008, 02:15:44 PM »
RIP......

whilst ya up there, talk to somebody about our participation in the Hex nuh
« Last Edit: November 21, 2008, 11:09:48 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2008, 02:21:43 PM »
 I saw the picture in the papers. One of the fellas look like somebody who was sitting in front of me but not sure. That fella was real making noise. Anyway r.i.p

Offline legal alien

« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2008, 03:54:35 PM »
My condolences. and I was just looking at the the warrior nation pics and thinking how these games help us be happy and  forget our country's troubles, dangerous driving being one of them. I wasn't there , so don't think I'm blaming the victims.

« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2008, 04:09:09 PM »
Saw the smashed up car on the news.  To tell the truth a lot of these accidents could be avoided with sensible driving.  I see it so much on the roads almost EVERYDAY since I travel the length of the highway everyday...I actually see more than a couple men take their last breath right there on the ground.  Drivers show no respect for other road users and themselves....my heart get kinda hardened by all the road carnage...I does just look to see if I know the number of the vehicles involved and once is nobody I know, I keep going.  If I early on the scene, I will stop to render first aid if needed.

« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2008, 04:19:09 PM »
RIP stop d madness please

« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2008, 04:31:44 PM »
RIP and God Bless!

Tell the Warriors at home to please slow down. The mortuary is open all day, all night!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2008, 05:17:10 PM »
Sorry to hear yuh geh yuh jack heng this rounds buh the game continues ,RIP warrior.

« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2008, 05:24:31 PM »
RIP from TO

« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2008, 05:31:48 PM »
I read the "offline" version of this story and its really sad,

BUT
When we going to learn??!!....Designate a driver!!...How many more must die??!!  :'( >:(

« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2008, 05:59:45 PM »
sad to see and theyre young too. ill keep saying 1950's roads and modern faster cars are a bad mix in TnT,

« Reply #23 on: November 21, 2008, 08:11:52 PM »
This is rel sad...

R.I.P. soulja!

« Reply #24 on: November 22, 2008, 04:56:55 AM »
sad to see and theyre young too. ill keep saying 1950's roads and modern faster cars are a bad mix in TnT,

At 4:30 am the 1950's roads would most likely be less of a factor in accidents of this nature.  Its most likely;
Driver and everybody drunk
Speeding
No seat belts
The driver tired and sleepy...

We just too damn harden!!...

« Reply #25 on: November 23, 2008, 07:18:54 AM »
I drive on all the major Highways in England,M1,M4,M6,M11 and more I drive a 3 yearold Mondeo and the fastest I ever do is 80mph yet still cars pass me in ah flash doing bout 100,I am a very good driver coz ah used to test drive new cars but when ah come to TT ah dead scared to drive from how ah see so many mad people driving on TT motorways.Sometimes ah pay ah driver to take me alone and ah tell how ah want him to drive and ah give nuff money.