April 18, 2024, 04:26:19 PM

Author Topic: manchester united v aston villa  (Read 3450 times)

manchester united v aston villa
« on: November 21, 2008, 09:11:04 AM »
Carrick braced for tough Villa testby RivalsDM
Michael Carrick believes Manchester United will have to be at the very top of their game if they are to beat Aston Villa on Saturday.

Just seven days after United were beaten at the Emirates Stadium, Villa came out on top against Arsenal on the same ground to maintain their push for a top-four slot.
At the same time, the Red Devils were getting back to winning ways, registering their biggest win of the season, 5-0, against newly-promoted Stoke.

But Carrick knows his team-mates must maintain that form if they are to keep up with current pacesetters Chelsea and Liverpool - and the England midfielder believes they will.

"We know what Aston Villa bring to the table," said Carrick, a team-mate of Gareth Barry and Gabriel Agbonlahor in victory for England in Berlin on Wednesday.

"They have got some good players and some young players with bags of energy and enthusiasm.

"For them to go to the Emirates and win says a lot and will put them in confident mood.

"But if we play like we can, we are confident we will win the game."

United usually do win at Villa Park. In fact of their last 12 visits, they have emerged victorious on 11 occasions. Throw in a few famous FA Cup semi-final triumphs as well and it is little wonder Sir Alex Ferguson regards it as one of his favourite grounds.

It is certainly the ideal place to launch another Premier League title drive, with Carrick claiming United still have what it takes despite slipping eight points off the pace.

"There are no doubts within our camp," he said.

"We know what is required and what is expected of us.

"Matches will come thick and fast now but we have the squad to cope.

"There is still a long way to go and we are confident we will be there at the end of the season."

Aside from the usual bumps and bruises, Ferguson is sweating on the return of three players from Brazil.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Nani and Anderson were all involved in Portugal's defeat to Brazil in Brasilia.
Ferguson is not expecting to see the trio until later today and must then assess whether they are in any fit state to play.

At least Argentina's Carlos Tevez was spared a lengthy journey after the encounter with Scotland at Hampden Park, while Rio Ferdinand and Wayne Rooney are expected to have recovered from back and calf injuries respectively.

Re: manchester united v aston villa
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2008, 09:11:38 AM »
live on FSC @ 12:30pm.

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2008, 09:18:58 AM »
go Villa!

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2008, 09:26:53 AM »
Berbatov ruled out for two Man United matchesUpdated: November 21, 2008, 9:01 AM EST  MANCHESTER, England (AP) - Dimitar Berbatov has been ruled out of Manchester United's next two matches with a hamstring injury.
The Bulgaria striker will miss Saturday's Premier League match against Aston Villa and Tuesday's Champions League trip to Villarreal, and remains a doubt for the following Sunday's derby against Manchester City.

Berbatov limped out of Wednesday's friendly against Serbia.
"It is a slight strain rather than a tear, so that is positive news," Ferguson said Friday.

Centerback Rio Ferdinand is also doubtful for the match at Villa Park because of a back injury that ruled him out of last Saturday's 5-0 rout of Stoke.

Defender Wes Brown will be out for between four and five weeks after an exploratory ankle operation.

"Fortunately we have plenty of cover at right-back, with Gary Neville, Rafael Da Silva and John O'Shea available to come in," Ferguson said.

« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2008, 09:39:41 AM »
Come on the Villans! 8)

« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2008, 10:44:50 AM »
Should be a cracker...  3-1 United...  Rooney Tevez Ronaldo

Tevez and Wazza getting a chance to play together... Time to rekindle the partnership

Berba get fit! we need you....absolute quality

« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2008, 11:54:32 AM »
Villa - 2 (Agbonlahor 58, 83)
Man U - 1 (Park 67)

(HT 0-0)

:angel:

Offline Giggsy's Chestwig

« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2008, 09:57:10 PM »
We have a great record there...

It has to end sometime, hopefully it won't tomorrow.

1-0 to United, maybe.

Its a tough one to call considering the form Villa are in.

« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2008, 12:12:10 AM »
So who is brave enough to bet against a ManU victory? lol

« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2008, 12:18:45 AM »
So who is brave enough to bet against a ManU victory? lol

what we betting?

I have some Citi and Lehman stocks I willing to wager.

Offline triniracketeer

« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2008, 12:39:39 PM »
Anybody know of a decent link to watch this game? Ah not home to watch FSC.

« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2008, 12:55:04 PM »
0-0 in the 63rd.

Man U controlled the pace of the 1st half....The 2nd half is more even- Villa getting into some dangerous attacking positions.

Rooney just missed the clearest chance of the game..

« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2008, 01:02:38 PM »
Is rel long I eh watch a Man United game and well that eh the same team from last year, I guess SAF getting advice from Maturana on the Cobo brand.

The ref very much favouring Man United.

« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2008, 01:12:36 PM »
Is this the great Man United. I have never seen Chelsea been torn all across the park and physically dominated like this. What a laugh.

« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2008, 01:17:14 PM »
this is the kinda game that something could happen in de last 5 mins..

i smelling it coming.

« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2008, 01:18:30 PM »
Man United  in Shambles......pants they are.

« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2008, 01:27:34 PM »
Villa didn't lose their discipline and deserved to walk away with a point. 

fair result.

« Reply #18 on: November 22, 2008, 01:29:24 PM »

fair result.

Villa deserved the win.

« Reply #19 on: November 22, 2008, 02:11:27 PM »

fair result.

Villa deserved the win.

what weed you smoking?

f**k off rentboy

« Reply #20 on: November 22, 2008, 02:25:47 PM »

fair result.

Villa deserved the win.

what weed you smoking?

f**k off rentboy

All Man United got in the 2nd half was the last 4-5 minutes. Milner distressing OShea on the side, Ablongahor, have Vidic and Ferdinand in bits. VanDer Sar scrambling.  You have to be joking. It was all Villa in the 2nd, the dominated ManUnited in the middle would not let them play. How many passes did Man United put together in the 2nd in the middle of the park? Get of it son. 

At least we grown enough and believe in we rent boys enough to say when they play shite.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2008, 02:30:48 PM by elan »

« Reply #21 on: November 22, 2008, 03:45:36 PM »
today was perfect fuh man u to cut into that lead.

« Reply #22 on: November 22, 2008, 07:33:38 PM »

fair result.

Villa deserved the win.

what weed you smoking?

f**k off rentboy

All Man United got in the 2nd half was the last 4-5 minutes. Milner distressing OShea on the side, Ablongahor, have Vidic and Ferdinand in bits. VanDer Sar scrambling.  You have to be joking. It was all Villa in the 2nd, the dominated ManUnited in the middle would not let them play. How many passes did Man United put together in the 2nd in the middle of the park? Get of it son. 

At least we grown enough and believe in we rent boys enough to say when they play shite.

Say nothing of the penalty that could/should have been called on Vidic for impeding, then bringing down Agbonlahor in the box in the second half.

« Reply #23 on: November 22, 2008, 07:54:47 PM »

fair result.

Villa deserved the win.

what weed you smoking?

f**k off rentboy

Say nothing of the penalty that could/should have been called on Vidic for impeding, then bringing down Agbonlahor in the box in the second half.

Nah man, dat was ah good play by Vidic, it was all ball. If dey wanted tuh call anyting for de jostling it would have had to be outside de box, because as soon as Agbonlahor reach de area, Vidic cool heself.

« Reply #24 on: November 22, 2008, 08:11:39 PM »
I wonder when is the last time ManU, Chelsea, Liverpool and Arsenal all fail to score in the same round.

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #25 on: November 22, 2008, 10:03:13 PM »

fair result.

Villa deserved the win.

what weed you smoking?

f**k off rentboy

Nah man, dat was ah good play by Vidic, it was all ball. If dey wanted tuh call anyting for de jostling it would have had to be outside de box, because as soon as Agbonlahor reach de area, Vidic cool heself.

None ah them know when a penalty is given, check de highlights from 7.20 to see de play dem arguing about

http://footycast.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=1107

where is the penalty, if anything ref could of given a freekick.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #26 on: November 22, 2008, 11:07:58 PM »
None ah them know when a penalty is given, check de highlights from 7.20 to see de play dem arguing about

http://footycast.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=1107

where is the penalty, if anything ref could of given a freekick.

Dred is not even that serious... if yuh notice anything about me I doh get into de back and forth about who club dis or dat.  Dat was a clear foul to me watching the play, Vidic grab de man shoulder to slow him down and prevent him from reaching the ball.  When that wasn't enough he grab he shirt.  Notice I never said he tripped him, because when he stabbed his foot he got all ball.  I wasn't really watching where the contact took place (I ent watching no highlights), if allyuh say it was outside de box then so be it  :beermug: