March 28, 2024, 07:26:02 PM

Author Topic: manchester utd v villarreal CL matchday 5  (Read 2745 times)

manchester utd v villarreal CL matchday 5
« on: November 24, 2008, 08:01:15 AM »
Villarreal and Man United clash in EuropeUpdated: November 24, 2008, 7:59 AM EST VILLARREAL, Spain (AP) - Villarreal and Manchester United meet on Tuesday with top spot in their Champions League group on the line.

Both clubs are tied atop Group E with eight points - six clear of Celtic and Aalborg - with a draw being enough to see both progress to the last 16.

Champion Manchester United hasn't lost away in eight European matches but has only one prior victory in 17 trips to Spain, and may be without two its most potent offensive threats - Cristiano Ronaldo and Dimitar Berbatov.

Ronaldo seemed set to miss the clash after limping out of Saturday's frustrating 0-0 draw against Aston Villa, which denied Man United a chance to reduce the eight-point gap on Premier League pacesetters Chelsea and Liverpool. However, the Portugal winger trained with the team on Monday, while Berbatov is sidelined with a hamstring injury.

The Red Devils are already without the injured Wes Brown, Paul Scholes and Owen Hargreaves, while Darren Fletcher is also racing to return from a knee injury.

Villarreal has never lost a home game in European Cup play, but is coming off an embarrassing 3-0 loss to Valladolid for its first defeat at El Madrigal stadium in nearly a year.

Villarreal coach Manuel Pellegrini expects a better outing after the club saw its 17-match unbeaten run - stretching to last season - snapped as Villarreal dropped to third, four points behind leader Barcelona.

"These type of defeats always affect you but we have to lift ourselves. We have to accept this loss, learn from it and move on," the Chilean coach said after his team's unbeaten start to the season ended. "The important thing is to get our rhythm back and concentrate on qualifying for the next phase of the Champions League."

Giuseppe Rossi looks set to start against his former club with fellow strikers Nihat Kahveci and Joseba Llorente out to injury and Jozy Altidore unavailable. Midfielder Diego Godin is also missing because of a hamstring problem.

The Red Devils fear that Rossi could come back to haunt them after the 21-year-old striker left Old Trafford in 2007 after three years and just five appearances.

"I knew he was going to be a good player," United defender Patrice Evra said. "If you give him the ball in the box he will score every time. I am not surprised what he is doing now."
It will be Rossi's first meeting against his former club after missing the first-leg match to injury.

United is eager to secure a place in the knockout phase after having missed a chance earlier this month when held 1-1 by Celtic.

"We need to win the group, like we did last year because it sets you up for the rest of the competition," Evra said. "This is a very important game but a very difficult one."

United have been the competition's steadiest team with only one goal conceded through four matches and can count on center back Rio Ferdinand, who returned from injury to play against Villa.

Evra said the team feels it has something to prove by defending the trophy that was won on penalty kicks against Chelsea in May.

"When you play for Manchester United it is easy to win the trophy. To keep it is more difficult," he said. "Everybody wants to beat you. We have the squad to do overcome that. But you need to fight within yourself more than last year to win the Champions League again."

« Last Edit: November 24, 2008, 08:03:05 AM by capodetutticapi »

Re: manchester utd v villarreal CL matchday 5
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2008, 08:02:01 AM »
live on espn @ 2:30pm tuesday.

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2008, 10:13:46 AM »
Ronaldo passed fit

Berbs, Neville, Brown, Scholes, Hargreaves- injured  Van Der Sar-rested

Expect:

Foster

Rafael
Rio
Vida
Evra

Fletch
Carrick
Anderson

Rooney
Ronaldo
Tevez

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2008, 10:47:23 AM »
Ronaldo passed fit

Berbs, Neville, Brown, Scholes, Hargreaves- injured  Van Der Sar-rested

Expect:

Foster

Rafael
Rio
Vida
Evra

Fletch
Carrick
Anderson

Rooney
Ronaldo
Tevez

J.Evans and Nani might start, He'll rest Rio and Ando maybe bring them on as subs.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2008, 01:23:38 PM »
Today's starting lineup.

Tomasz Kuszczak    (G)
   Jonathan Evans   (CD-L)
   Rio Ferdinand   (CD-R)
   Patrice Evra   (LB)
   John O'Shea   (RB)
   Michael Carrick   (CM-L)
   Darren Fletcher   (CM-R)
   Nani   (LM)
   Cristiano Ronaldo   (RM)
   Wayne Rooney   (ST)
   Anderson   (RCF)
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2008, 01:56:28 PM »
did that Villareal player just spock CRonaldo?  :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2008, 02:27:03 PM »
What a shyte game.

« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2008, 02:31:03 PM »
Not even the Portugese theatrics entertaining.
Dem fellas get rusty in dey diving skills.

... and like Senna is the bobolie today. Everybody jess kicking down the man.

« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2008, 02:33:10 PM »
Man United like they doing just enough, to get through the game. I guess they have an eye on Man City this weekend. Hope going through the motion in this game does not come back to haunt them.

« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2008, 02:54:44 PM »
I am shocked.....since when Rooney start diving? That's one thing I like about Shrek he never did that, but apparently he ketching the fever.

« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2008, 02:57:12 PM »
Rooney definitely trying to make the Olympics in London .... for diving.

1st Dive: 6.2 (the degree of difficulty in trying to convince the ref was high.)
2nd Dive: 7.8 (much better dive, better circumstance, back to the ref, "genuine" appeal)

« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2008, 03:00:05 PM »
Rio Ferdinand should be playing Intercol.

« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2008, 03:53:07 PM »
i suspected a "gentlemen's agreement" in this game as both teams would advance with a draw.

i shoulda bet $ on the score being 0-0.

« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2008, 03:59:07 PM »
I am shocked.....since when Rooney start diving? That's one thing I like about Shrek he never did that, but apparently he ketching the fever.

never? sarcasm perhaps? he ent dat bad, but everyone does take a lil flop nowadays. part of the game i guess...sadly. yuh ever realize T&T players at the national team level doh dive. I think we are one of the most honest national teams on the globe..if not the most honest.

check skillzzzz

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cmpozcslIA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zm4iG6ZBFzQ&NR=1

« Reply #14 on: November 25, 2008, 04:21:02 PM »
damn 2 legs produce zip.

« Reply #15 on: November 25, 2008, 05:06:15 PM »

« Reply #16 on: November 25, 2008, 05:16:50 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zm4iG6ZBFzQ&NR=1

Capdevila get a red card for that tackle today.

At least Devila own was from in front....what the hell. That tackle in that clip is a straight red, fine and ban for 3 games.

« Reply #17 on: November 25, 2008, 06:09:51 PM »
Shrek...................wazzzzz dat man?
stop dat shit now before ya gorn trough like swan dive boy CR7
sad day for Man BOOOOOOOO
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: November 25, 2008, 06:35:02 PM »

yea a real sad day...we are in pole position to top the group and we are through to the RO16... not to mention we hit the bar and dominated the game ...

real sad day...

::)

« Reply #19 on: November 25, 2008, 06:37:36 PM »

It's one of the STDs CRonaldo give him.

« Reply #20 on: November 25, 2008, 07:34:08 PM »
International Clubs - UEFA Champions League, Group E     
 Aalborg BK - Celtic 2 : 1   
 CF Villarreal - Manchester United 0 : 0   
International Clubs - UEFA Champions League, Group F     
 Bayern Munich - Steaua Bucuresti 3 : 0   
 Fiorentina - Olympique Lyonnais 1 : 2   
International Clubs - UEFA Champions League, Group G     
 Arsenal FC - Dynamo Kiev 1 : 0   
 Fenerbahce - FC Porto 1 : 2   
International Clubs - UEFA Champions League, Group H     
 Zenit St.Petersburg - Juventus 0 : 0   
 Bate Borisov - Real Madrid 0 : 1   

« Reply #21 on: November 25, 2008, 07:37:18 PM »

hmmm, could be.

But hear this, how come u always thinking about ronaldo and sex soo much? i see u thinking and talking bout ronaldo dropping he pants in a free kick in another thread, now u talking about ronaldo stds.
U is he doctor/ stalker? seems to me u always finding some kinda bullerman thing to think/fantasize about when it comes to cronaldo?

« Reply #22 on: November 25, 2008, 07:50:44 PM »

hmmm, could be.

But hear this, how come u always thinking about ronaldo and sex soo much? i see u thinking and talking bout ronaldo dropping he pants in a free kick in another thread, now u talking about ronaldo stds.
U is he doctor/ stalker? seems to me u always finding some kinda bullerman thing to think/fantasize about when it comes to cronaldo?

i agree.acb yuh better change yuh name to g a y. ;D

« Reply #23 on: November 25, 2008, 09:14:26 PM »

hmmm, could be.

how come you didn't add in sugardaddy?

« Reply #24 on: November 25, 2008, 09:15:54 PM »
i agree.acb yuh better change yuh name to g a y. ;D

that name already taken.

« Reply #25 on: November 25, 2008, 10:22:11 PM »

yea a real sad day...we are in pole position to top the group and we are through to the RO16... not to mention we hit the bar and dominated the game ...

real sad day...

::)

How much points CL does give for hitting d bar? And here it was all these other idiot clubs killing themselves to hit the net on the inside.

57%-43% possession Man United....talk about Domination.