April 26, 2024, 04:23:27 AM

Author Topic: Digicel Caribbean Championships Attracts Major League Soccer  (Read 3384 times)

Digicel Caribbean Championships Attracts Major League Soccer
« on: December 04, 2008, 11:36:46 AM »
Digicel Caribbean Championships Attracts Major League Soccer
digicelfootball.com.

MLS scouts attend DCC Finals

Wednesday, December 3 - Kingston, Jamaica:  The opening matches of the Digicel Caribbean Championships’ Finals saw two US Major League Soccer scouts earnestly watching as on as the top Caribbean teams played for the ultimate prize.

Houston Dynamo’s Head Coach, Dominic Kinnear and San Jose Earthquake’s General Manager, John Doyle flew in to Jamaica just to see the football action of the DCC.

Originally from Scotland, Dominic Kinnear has earned 54 caps with the US National team from 1990 – 1993.  Kinnear has led the Houston Dynamo’s to win three MLS Cup Championships.  Though the Houston Dynamo’s have no Caribbean players, Dominic Kinnear is hoping to find some: “I just wanted to see the talent on show.  There have been a lot of successful Caribbean players in the MLS.  Hopefully I’ll see someone.  If they are good, we will sign them.”

John Doyle, a former US National Defender, explains his reason for attending the DCC matches: “We currently have two Caribbean players: Scott Seally from Trinidad and Ryan Johnson from Jamaica so I am aware of the talent in the Caribbean. I came specifically to see Trinidad’s Cornell Glen who has played in the MLS before and I wanted to see how he’s playing now.  I am also hoping to discover some fresh talent for MLS.”

Doyle also spoke about the development of US Soccer over the years: “Soccer in the US has come a long way. We first made it to the World Cup in 1990 and have continued to do so.  MLS has been around for only 13 years and we are now building infrastructure for soccer.  We have new stadiums and training facilities.  We also have youth programs from age six with past players and soccer professionals teaching them the basics of the sport.

My first love is soccer, I have always played the game and I love it and I see a passion for this sport in the Caribbean.”

Doyle has earned 53 caps with the US National Team between 1987 and 1994 including two games at the 1990 FIFA World Cup.  He has played professionally in both Europe and the United States including the Western Soccer Alliance, A-League and Major League Soccer.

For match pictures and further information visit www.digicelfootball.com

ENDS

ABOUT DIGICEL GROUP

Since its launch in 2001, Digicel has become the largest wireless telecommunications operator in the Caribbean with more than six million customers.  After seven years, Digicel is renowned for competitive rates, unbeatable coverage, superior customer care, a wide variety of products and services, and state-of-the-art handsets. By offering innovative wireless services and community support, Digicel has become a leading brand in the Caribbean and has placed the region at the cutting-edge of wireless communications.

Digicel is incorporated in Bermuda and has operations in 23 markets, including Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Barbados, Bermuda, Bonaire, Curacao, The Cayman Islands, Dominica, El Salvador, French Guiana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, St Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Turks & Caicos. With new launches planned for the British Virgin Islands (BVI), Honduras and Panama, Digicel expects to be in 26 markets in the next 12 months.  The Caribbean company also has coverage in St. Martin and St. Barths.

Digicel is the lead sponsor of Caribbean sports teams including the West Indies Cricket Team, Special Olympics teams and is title sponsor of the Digicel Caribbean Championships in association with the Caribbean Football Union and the Copa de Naciones Digicel, the Caribbean and Central American qualifiers to the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Visit www.digicelgroup.com  for more information on Digicel

Re: Digicel Caribbean Championships Attracts Major League Soccer
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2008, 11:39:32 AM »
So u tink dey scoutin d coaches as well anyway 2 get rid ah d Colombian

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2008, 12:05:12 PM »
Dem men mus be rel disappointed over what they saw on the field last night.

« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2008, 12:07:32 PM »

Yeah.  He must have been extremely disappointed wit de goal Glen score.  He mus be wonderin why he waste he time....or should dat be waist?

« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2008, 12:30:43 PM »

Yeah.  He must have been extremely disappointed wit de goal Glen score.  He mus be wonderin why he waste he time....or should dat be waist?

and overjoyed with the 6 sure goals that Glen waist

« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2008, 12:34:00 PM »

Like yuh brain and eyesight gettin wusserer as yuh age bro.  Glen waisted 9 shore golds....not 6 

« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2008, 12:40:44 PM »

Like yuh brain and eyesight gettin wusserer as yuh age bro.  Glen waisted 9 shore golds....not 6 

well if thats the case it doesnt bode well for him!! i wonder if glen knew about this before the game? the coach made no secret of who he was coming to see at the tournament and maybe the pressure got to glen. if thats the case what a shame though! hopefully he will be able to rebound for the next two matches...lord knows T&T need him to if we trying to have any glimmer of hope for this tournament.  :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2008, 12:59:53 PM »
it have video of this tournament anywhere?

« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2008, 02:02:23 PM »

My comment was about the game in general not about any specific player.  The level of poor football on display was high.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2008, 06:12:08 PM »
From what I see so far, they will be disappointed unless they're in Jamaica to witness how the so-called minnows have finally closed the gap with the super super super giants.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
Scouting Cornell
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2008, 07:46:07 AM »
Regional footballers involved in the Digicel Caribbean Championships

Friday, December 05, 2008

KINGSTON, Jamaica (CMC) - Regional footballers involved in the Digicel Caribbean Championships here could get lucky if they manage to impress two key football figures from the United States' Major League Soccer (MLS).

Houston Dynamo's head coach, Dominic Kinnear and San Jose Earthquake's general manager, John Doyle, arrived here this week to scout for new talent and said they were willing to snap up any player who caught their eyes.

"I just wanted to see the talent on show. There have been a lot of successful Caribbean players in the MLS. Hopefully I'll see someone. If they are good, we will sign them," Kinnear pointed out.

Doyle said while he was keeping a close eye on Trinidadian forward Cornell Glen who had played in the MLS before for three different clubs, he was also scouting for new talent.

"We currently have two Caribbean players: Scott Sealy from Trinidad and Ryan Johnson from Jamaica so I am aware of the talent in the Caribbean," said the former US defender.

"I came specifically to see Trinidad's Cornell Glen who has played in the MLS before and I wanted to see how he's playing now. I am also hoping to discover some fresh talent for MLS."

Doyle represented the US 53 times between 1987 and 1994, including at the 1990 FIFA World Cup in Italy while Kinnear played 54 times for the national team between 1990 and 1993

Eight Caribbean teams - Barbados, Jamaica, Grenada, Trinidad & Tobago, Guadeloupe, Cuba, Haiti and Antigua & Barbuda - are doing battle in the finals of the tournament which kicked off on Wednesday at the National Stadium here.

The Digicel Caribbean Championships is the region's premier football competition.

« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2008, 01:34:54 PM »
Scouting is not just about watching a player to see if he can score a goal or miss a goal, you watch what you or your coaches would be able to do with the player if you had that player. How the player would fit in with the team plan. It is not cut and dry about missing a goal, the bigger thing will be getting himself in the position to have that opportunity to miss the goal  ;D, the finishing will come.

The MLS Hot Stove: Scouting in the Caribbean
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2008, 06:23:21 PM »
The MLS Hot Stove: Scouting in the Caribbean
soccerbyives.net

As we move into December you might think that MLS coaches and technical staffs would be preparing to take vacations. Well, some of them have made their way to a Caribbean island, but it isn't for a vacation.

Scouts from several MLS clubs are in Jamaica this week and weekend for the Digicel Caribbean Cup Championships and it's no secret what many of them are looking for: affordable attacking players.

The New York Red Bulls, Toronto FC, San Jose and Houston are just some of the teams in attendance, looking for the next Kenwyne Jones or Ricardo Fuller (or Dane Richards). It should come as no surprise that the four teams mentioned here happen to all need strikers, but there are some good midfield talents who are also drawing strong interest.

So who might MLS teams be looking at? Here are some possibilities:

Keon Daniel (Trinidad & Tobago)- The free-kick specialist is on the radar of several MLS teams, though he's not a striker, which is what most of the MLS teams in attendance need most. I am hearing he is one of the most sought-after players in this tournament by MLS and I would be shocked if he didn't land an MLS contract this winter.

Rudolph Austin (Jamaica)- A central midfielder with a nose for goal, Austin was set for a one million pound move to Stoke City in the English Premier League until he was denied a work permit because if Jamaica's low FIFA ranking. Austin wound up going on loan to SK Brann in Norway this fall, but could be available for the right price. The price might be too high for MLS though.

Cornell Glen (Trinidad & Tobago)- Okay, chances are you might have laughed at this inclusion if you are a fan of one of the teams Glen played for during his bumpy tour through MLS. While it might sound far-fetched to think an MLS team would take a chance on Glen, who bounced around four MLS teams in three seasons before returning to San Juan Jabloteh after the 2006 MLS season, Glen is a speed-burner when his head is on straight and might draw a few offers from teams in dire need of forward help.

Eric Vernon (Jamaica)- A speedy right winger who played well in Jamaica's 2-1 win vs. Barbados on Wednesday, Vernon plays in the Jamaican league and could be worth an investment for a team hoping to find another Dane Richards.

One other player I was going to add to this list is Jamaican striker Luton Shelton, who is currently on the books with Valerenga. He's exactly the kind of speedy striker teams like New York and Houston need, but I've been told Shelton makes an obscene amount of money. That said, I wouldn't be surprised if Valerenga were looking to unload their $ 1.5 million summer signing.

And for those of you wondering, Richards came on as a sub for Jamaica and made an instant impact, helping set up Jamaica's equalizing goal and troubling Barbados with his speed throughout his appearance on Wednesday night.

The Caribbean championships run through Dec. 14, with the top four teams earning berths in the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

I will look to add some more names to that list of potential MLS targets as the day goes on. For now, feel free to share your thoughts on MLS teams scouting the Caribbean Cup, and what players in the tournament you could see making their way to MLS.

« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2008, 09:36:05 PM »
Daniel doh even get tie up with that nasty MLS organization!!!

« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2008, 09:26:06 AM »
Wait, MLS not scouting Aklie and Power  ???  :o

« Reply #15 on: December 06, 2008, 09:37:57 AM »
Daniel doh even get tie up with that nasty MLS organization!!!
Better than what he have going on now.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #16 on: December 06, 2008, 10:32:50 AM »
Ah hope dey scouting for ah coach too........ ???
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2008, 03:07:56 PM »
From what I see so far, they will be disappointed unless they're in Jamaica to witness how the so-called minnows have finally closed the gap with the super super super giants.

How much has it closed? It may have narrowed marginally. Closed? Nah. The "minnows" have improved in some compartments, but time and time again it's clear that they have not achieved a comprehensive leap. A lot of what seems to be "closing" is attributable to fookery on the part of the teams with more of a history.

« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2008, 03:12:07 PM »
Shelton shouldn't even blink at MLS.