April 27, 2024, 07:39:50 AM

Author Topic: Maturana names 20-man squad for Digicel Championships.  (Read 13345 times)

Re: Maturana names 20-man squad for Digicel Championships.
« Reply #30 on: November 29, 2008, 11:28:52 PM »
No matter what 20 did pick..peeps here woulda find some fault. 

« Reply #31 on: November 29, 2008, 11:48:38 PM »
Possible starting XI

_________________________Marvin Phillip____________________________________________

Cyd Gray______________Makan Hislop________Keyeno Thomas_______________Akile Edwards

____________________________Clyde Leon__________________________________________

Anthony Wolfe____________Khaleem Hyland__________Aurtis Whitley____________Keon Daniel

___________________________Cornell Glen__________________________________________

An alternative could be to play 4-4-1-1 with Dwarika in the hole behind Glen and no cover for the defence in the form of Leon.

« Reply #32 on: November 30, 2008, 12:16:49 AM »
well we have to deal wid what we got .. but 2 keepers only? also this facking jan micheal  guy I cya stand seeing him Goal Keeping. our guys dont look good on paper lets hope dey look better on di field!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #33 on: November 30, 2008, 12:45:45 AM »
our guys dont look good on paper lets hope dey look better on di field!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lemme guess.  jamaica look good on paper to you ent?  ;D

« Reply #34 on: November 30, 2008, 06:19:34 AM »
Saga BM answer yuh he is a central defender dat Jabloteh hardly use 4 d season

so how he make the team then....   Forbes scoring he eh on the team ..... what bout the primus youth ent he is a starter for jabloteh

« Reply #35 on: November 30, 2008, 06:34:44 AM »
---------------Phillip---

-Cyd-----Thomas---James---Avery

Hyland----Whitley--Leon----Wolfe

------------------Daniel
-------------Glenn

« Reply #36 on: November 30, 2008, 06:50:13 AM »
How we make d team have u been followin d selection policy of esteemed gentleman?

Offline tsingh

« Reply #37 on: November 30, 2008, 09:26:33 AM »
All the best to the team ... however ... if i was a betting man ... my 2cents on JA for this one!

« Reply #38 on: November 30, 2008, 09:40:59 AM »
go Errol.  good luck TnT.

« Reply #39 on: November 30, 2008, 10:16:01 AM »
All the best to the team ... however ... if i was a betting man ... my 2cents on JA for this one!

Noted & Archived.

« Reply #40 on: November 30, 2008, 10:29:02 AM »
Goal one : we in the hex.

Goal two: we exposing more players to the international game.

But yuh know the TnT crowd is a hard crowd to please. So  let's recall this quotation from Abraham Lincoln, "You can please all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot please all the people all the time.""

« Reply #41 on: November 30, 2008, 10:42:28 AM »

U BRAVE to make them kinda statements around here lol

« Reply #42 on: November 30, 2008, 10:48:13 AM »
This is a good team.  We could win this Cup.  JA go hold their heads and bawl.

« Reply #43 on: November 30, 2008, 11:09:09 AM »

I curious to see who OBVIOUSLY DESERVE to be on de team ahead of Karlon Murray & Errol MacFarlane

When Jamal Gay did fuss get pick...everybody was bawlin who he and how he make de side?  Now he not dey, people bawlin why he not dey.

Scott Sealey tootoo dong de place in de Digicel Cup qualifiers but apparently because he does play in MLS and he have a "name" he supposed to be dey

If yuh pick a youth or 2...peeps bawlin bout Sancho and Trent Noel

If yuh pick a Errol Macfarlane....peeps cryin bout how dey doh give de youths a chance.

Woe be unto de selectors if dey pick a foreign based who have "less high profile" dan oddahs.....den yuh go get a list about 65 local based who should get play.

Nutting yuh do could be right fuh dem.  Stay chuned fuh de weepin and wailin and gnashin of teet on dis forum when Yohance Marshall & Kevon Neaves get a call up in de future.

« Reply #44 on: November 30, 2008, 11:26:01 AM »
once julius they we safe ;D

« Reply #45 on: November 30, 2008, 11:26:25 AM »
For dem people who dont know...Errol MC Farlane is a very powerful striker in the air - reminding me of Kenwyn Jones, the only difference is that he is physically bigger than Jones.  As long as the crosses coming in nice, he will be a force to reckon with.  Also, I doh see how Autis could be a fixture on dat side still.  I doh see no man who living in Trinidad, recovering from dat kinda nerve injury so quickly and back on de national team, and maybe as a starter too.....wha de hell, he is Beckam?...steuppes....De man make he come back and tootoo dong de place.  Yuh remember when he went Asia wha dey say bout him?    Anyway, I find is time to give Theobald ah recall.  De man had a very good digicel cup and gold cup stint last time around.  Ah matter ah fact, bring back Bleedah and Hardest, and put Julius right behind them, and have Kenyeno Thomas covering.....And surely we goh mash up de tournament

Offline lil damo

« Reply #46 on: November 30, 2008, 11:39:47 AM »

I curious to see who OBVIOUSLY DESERVE to be on de team ahead of Karlon Murray & Errol MacFarlane

When Jamal Gay did fuss get pick...everybody was bawlin who he and how he make de side?  Now he not dey, people bawlin why he not dey.

Scott Sealey tootoo dong de place in de Digicel Cup qualifiers but apparently because he does play in MLS and he have a "name" he supposed to be dey

If yuh pick a Errol Macfarlane....peeps cryin bout how dey doh give de youths a chance.

Woe be unto de selectors if dey pick a foreign based who have "less high profile" dan oddahs.....den yuh go get a list about 65 local based who should get play.

Nutting yuh do could be right fuh dem.  Stay chuned fuh de weepin and wailin and gnashin of teet on dis forum when Yohance Marshall & Kevon Neaves get a call up in de future.
Well said

« Reply #47 on: November 30, 2008, 12:01:13 PM »

Maturana pick the cream of the pro-league crop and players who have proven performance in the international crunch. It would be nice to see some younger blood who hot right now, like Forbes who have 11 more goals than Cornell Glen THIS seson, or even Josimar Belgrave or Robert Primus. But with $US120,000 and his ass on the line he pick a tried and squad that should make it into the finals and definitely capable of winning the whole thing. Make sense to me this time around.

« Reply #48 on: November 30, 2008, 12:10:24 PM »

could not agree with you more..

i watch the squad and find is a good team. No real surprises and I have no issue if he want to try a lil something different to give Murray and McFarlane a look. The article even went as far as to explain his reasonings behind the selection, which is good considering we have not been privy to the method to his madness in the past.

but some people need to maintain the daily dose of negativity in they diet.

yuh does just hadda learn to blanket out the nonsense.

« Reply #49 on: November 30, 2008, 12:15:02 PM »
I think Mats starting to show a pattern, did he not pick a player from Connection who was a sub?

Why can't we play a 4-4-2 or some variation of in this competition. We so limited that the 4-5-1 is the answer to everything. What will happen in a few years from now, play 5-4-1 or 5-1-3-1?

« Reply #50 on: November 30, 2008, 12:15:53 PM »
For dem people who dont know...Errol MC Farlane is a very powerful striker in the air - reminding me of Kenwyn Jones, the only difference is that he is physically bigger than Jones.  As long as the crosses coming in nice, he will be a force to reckon with.  Also, I doh see how Autis could be a fixture on dat side still.  I doh see no man who living in Trinidad, recovering from dat kinda nerve injury so quickly and back on de national team, and maybe as a starter too.....wha de hell, he is Beckam?...steuppes....De man make he come back and tootoo dong de place.  Yuh remember when he went Asia wha dey say bout him?    Anyway, I find is time to give Theobald ah recall.  De man had a very good digicel cup and gold cup stint last time around.  Ah matter ah fact, bring back Bleedah and Hardest, and put Julius right behind them, and have Kenyeno Thomas covering.....And surely we goh mash up de tournament

Kiffy,  Jesus done mash up he defibrillator on Hardest chest. Let them fellas rest in peace  ::)

« Reply #51 on: November 30, 2008, 12:55:05 PM »
Guy's look at something hear...look at how much defenders we taking Jamaica they need that experienced.....we need capable midfielder with experienced as well as consistant play to back Lata, York or Chris...depending what roll they play and at forward we stack..so take a good look at the lineup

« Reply #52 on: November 30, 2008, 02:32:58 PM »
Guys this is a good squad, capable of winning the tournament.....and elan i agree, I do not like that 4-5-1 formation too. But because he choosed three forwards its easy to assume that his intention is to play that formation and we will just have to deal with it....Dont see the need to play that formation in this tournament.

« Reply #53 on: November 30, 2008, 02:42:37 PM »
We should want to win every game and quite rightly so, but lets not forget what the ultmate goal is....

« Reply #54 on: November 30, 2008, 02:49:17 PM »
Qualify 4 d GC

« Reply #55 on: November 30, 2008, 02:56:35 PM »
our guys dont look good on paper lets hope dey look better on di field!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lemme guess.  jamaica look good on paper to you ent?  ;D
yes they do but  as I sey its not how good yu look on paper its how good yu perform.

« Reply #56 on: November 30, 2008, 03:13:29 PM »
So lemme see if I gettin dis correck.

We play 4-5-1 in de friendly games before de WCQ's

We play 4-5-1 throughout de WCQ's.  Depending on de game situation, we switch to 4-4-2 in de 2nd half of some games

We play 4-5-1 in de Digicel Cup

So we playin in de Digicel Cup Finals and we should NOW play a different formation

Yet dese is de same peeps accusin Maturana of lack of consistency.

Yuh tink de reason we might be playin dis formation is possibly because of whether is de WCQ's or de Digicel Cup, is de T&T Senior Men's National Team playin and whoever playin will be familiar wit de formations and strategy's (Touches does call it cobo brand) ?   Is not like we doh ever change to a different formation as de need arises.

But me eh know...I jes takin a wile guess.

« Reply #57 on: November 30, 2008, 04:42:19 PM »

Thats a for real statement,I would agree....however

I know my Warriors will step up and measure this one out correctly,man playing for spots in the Hex and beyond,so this the last is the last tournament to impress the coaching staff and make some of us arm chair coaches eat our words and have more to talk about but then again that will come if we get over the mountain top or not....seen........ :beermug:

« Reply #58 on: November 30, 2008, 04:42:48 PM »
But ent the last translator was a woman who they appoint by some kinda voting process...yuh mean she last ONE game  :rotfl:

Ah boy...maybe she was distracting the players and coaching staff.

wham dey leggo de other one after the 'our people' comment?

« Reply #59 on: November 30, 2008, 04:51:16 PM »

Thats a for real statement,I would agree....however

I know my Warriors will step up and measure this one out correctly,man playing for spots in the Hex and beyond,so this the last is the last tournament to impress the coaching staff and make some of us arm chair coaches eat our words and have more to talk about but then again that will come if we get over the mountain top or not....seen........ :beermug:

What is your rational for putting your 2cents on them?????