April 25, 2024, 04:19:44 AM

Author Topic: Manchester derby  (Read 2667 times)

Manchester derby
« on: November 30, 2008, 07:26:05 AM »
Robinho Aware Of Derby Significance
2008-11-28 16:09:00
buy adidas cleats

Manchester City star Robinho says he is ready to face Manchester United in the hotly contested Manchester derby.

The Premier League's record signing says he is aware of the significance, which will be the 150th meeting between the two sides.

Robinho said: "This is a game which rivals any derby in world football.

"Madrid v Barca is a huge rivalry and playing those games is extremely intense because you know just what it means to the fans. The pride of the club is at stake every time you play against Barcelona.

"Here, though, the derby match has another dimension because the two teams are here in the same city. And that means families and neighbours can be supporting opposing sides on the same day. I already know what this means to our fans.

"Everybody tells me everywhere I go. In the supermarket, in the street they stop me and say 'Robinho, you must beat United. This is our game. This is our day'. I understand them and I love the passion."

small  mag when last man u won this fixture?

Re: Manchester derby
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2008, 07:41:00 AM »
any special reason why brazilians prefer their 1st name on their t shirts?

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2008, 07:43:45 AM »
It probably able 2 fit on a juzzy det surname very long

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2008, 08:33:14 AM »
1-0 UNITED.

Wazza with his 100th goal.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2008, 08:54:46 AM »
fletcher, oh gorm take yuh fan like ah man nuh....

« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2008, 09:01:42 AM »
Wait nah Ronaldo protecting he pretty face??  :rotfl:

but what about he manicure??

« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2008, 09:26:45 AM »
save of the year joe hart...   :rotfl:

« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2008, 09:35:22 AM »
buy adidas cleats

Manchester City star Robinho says he is ready to face Manchester United in the hotly contested Manchester derby.

wait nah robin ho play?

wright phillips have real energy yes.

Cronaldo needs to warm some bench lil bit so he head cud get deflated a bit.

Thankfully Rooney finally get his 100th goal, so it back to business for him now. Clearly his mind was on that 100 for some time now and it was clearly affecting his game.

Ref was wilting to the home pressure for the calls against Utd, although I guess he had no choice with Cronaldo.

Van der sar still a lil shakey in the goal, i dunno wha going on with him nah.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2008, 09:49:47 AM by sammy »

« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2008, 09:44:11 AM »
buy adidas cleats

wait nah robin ho play?

responding as a trini, my answer will have to be "why yuh eh ask fletcher if he play after dat fan he eat?"

« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2008, 09:46:48 AM »
any special reason why brazilians prefer their 1st name on their t shirts?

Many Brazilian football players choose to go by just one name (it's like an act of celebrity) which is often their first name or some variation of it....Robson- Robinho, Jair- Jairzinho, Ricardo- Kaka, Jose Maria-  Ze Maria,  Mauro Da Silva - Mauro Silva.

Sometimes it's the last (Falcao, Taffarel) and sometimes it's a nickname unrelated to their real names (Pele, Tostao Careca, Dunga, Pato, Dida)....

« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2008, 09:50:47 AM »
buy adidas cleats

wait nah robin ho play?

responding as a trini, my answer will have to be "why yuh eh ask fletcher if he play after dat fan he eat?"

well at least daiz proof he play  ;)

« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2008, 09:54:50 AM »
This is how it feels to be City! This is how it feels to be Small! How does it feel for your team to win NOTHING AT ALL!!

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2008, 10:00:00 AM »
buy adidas cleats

wait nah robin ho play?

dats why tnt footbal will struggle on the world stage, one beats and we ready tuh walk off d pitch or kick the man who beat we into the stands al la cyd gray.

grow up and play the game, you will get skin, you will get beat, you will get pass by.

but just make sure you give it back with interest thats how you play the game
« Last Edit: November 30, 2008, 08:54:34 PM by GunnerStunner »

« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2008, 10:02:40 AM »
buy adidas cleats

wait nah robin ho play?

dats why tnt footbal will struggle on the world stage one beats and we ready tuh walk off d pitch or kick the man who beat we into the stands al la cyd gray.

grow up an dplay the game you well get skin you will get beat you will get pass by  but just make sure you give it back with interest thats how you play the game

he eh realize that Fletcher walk away with a fan + 3 Points. All he see (as a trini) is the fan.

« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2008, 10:07:44 AM »
buy adidas cleats

wait nah robin ho play?

dats why tnt footbal will struggle on the world stage one beats and we ready tuh walk off d pitch or kick the man who beat we into the stands al la cyd gray.

grow up an dplay the game you well get skin you will get beat you will get pass by  but just make sure you give it back with interest thats how you play the game

he eh realize that Fletcher walk away with a fan + 3 Points. All he see (as a trini) is the fan.

Dance Puppets...

Dance!

« Reply #15 on: November 30, 2008, 12:26:31 PM »
Rooney's century lifts United win(AFP) Sunday 30 November 2008
Cristiano Ronaldo was sent off for the third time in his Manchester United career as Wayne Rooney's 100th goal in club football sealed a 1-0 victory for Sir Alex Ferguson's men against Manchester City at Eastlands on Sunday. Rooney's goal, his first in seven games, settled the 150th meeting between the Manchester neighbours and cemented United in third spot in the Premier League.

But United were forced to play the final 21 minutes with ten men after Ronaldo was dismissed for handling the ball from Rooney's corner, his second booking in the space of nine minutes. With five other players booked, United now face an FA fine for failing to control their players, but Ferguson will not be concerned by that having sealed a crucial victory. City hadn't landed back in Manchester until early on Friday morning following their UEFA Cup tie against Schalke in Germany, and United went into this game with the advantage of having had an extra two days to prepare.

The extra freshness within the United ranks showed in the first half as the European champions dominated possession and created the best chances. Not for the first time this season, though, Ferguson's team failed to capitalise on their early dominance and, just as happened at Liverpool, Everton and Arsenal earlier this campaign, United struggled to kill off their bitter rivals. The visitors could have gone ahead as early as the eighth minute when City goalkeeper Joe Hart fumbled a Rooney shot, but Darren Fletcher failed to convert the loose ball from six yards.

Moments later, Ronaldo went close to opening the scoring when he rose above the City defence to head Rooney's corner inches over the crossbar. City, who won both derby clashes against United last season, simply could not get into the game and £32 million star signing Robinho was nowhere to be seen as United tightened their grip. But while the chances continued to be created, United just could not put them away.

Dimitar Berbatov's glancing header from Rafael's cross brought a stunning save from Hart. City finally created a scoring chance on 32 minutes when Javier Garrido's free-kick was met with a weak punch by goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar. The ball dropped to Stephen Ireland on the edge of the penalty area, but the Irish midfielder's shot struck the outside of the post.

Just as the game appeared to be drifting towards a 0-0 half-time scoreline, however, United finally profited from their good work when Rooney pounced to open the scoring. The home side were unable to clear the danger inside their own penalty area and Michael Carrick's left-foot shot was blocked by Hart. Hovering yards from the goalline, Rooney was never going to miss.

Although United continued to hold control in the second-half, City at least threatened their opponents' goal on a more regular basis and Benjani Mwaruwari was unlucky not to equalise when he hit the sidenetting from a tight angle on 56 minutes. Spanish full-back Garrido then sent a free-kick narrowly wide of the United post ten minutes later as Mark Hughes's team attempted to claw themselves back into the game.

United looked lively on the counter-attack, though, and Rooney and Berbatov could have made it 2-0 when they broke forward only to see Richard Dunne clear the danger. But United were forced into a defensive end to the game following Ronaldo's dismissal for his second yellow card. The Portuguese forward protested, but it was a deliberate handball and referee Howard Webb had no option but to send him off. City almost scrambled an equaliser in stoppage time when Dunne's shot was cleared off the line by Patrice Evra. Rooney's long-range chip was well-stopped by Hart.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #16 on: November 30, 2008, 03:31:19 PM »
fortune favours manu

« Reply #17 on: November 30, 2008, 04:56:42 PM »
fortune favours manu

u eh easy nah boy. Fortune favor we, but the ref and linesman favor allyuh?

be happy for u win nah and doh come here looking for pong.  :devil:

« Reply #18 on: November 30, 2008, 07:39:51 PM »
city united  city divided