April 20, 2024, 03:09:32 AM

Author Topic: Who is the best captain?  (Read 5203 times)

Who is the best captain?
« on: December 02, 2008, 10:13:20 AM »
Jose Nasazzi, Ernst Ocwirk, Bobby Moore, Franz Beckenbauer, Franco Baresi, Dunga and Roy Keane all made significant contributions to great sides. Not just as formidable players, but also as inspiring on-field leaders.

They are, of course, just a handful of the countless legendary captains to have graced football with their presence.Past or present,who you would consider the greatest.

Some believe an ideal skipper should be a vociferous enforcer, roaring out instructions; others think he should quietly exude his influence, encouraging rather than berating his team-mates? Experts also hold different views on the position in which he should play, and on whether he necessarily has to be an outstanding player.

So, who is football's greatest captain?

Re: Who is the best captain?
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2008, 10:15:20 AM »
fuh me was maradona,2 WC finals,1 trophy,excellent (understatement) player,motivator and commander.

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2008, 10:16:03 AM »
for me it was viera

« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2008, 10:20:27 AM »
maradonna

« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2008, 10:20:53 AM »
Patrick Viera for club.

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge for country.

Blessing

« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2008, 10:30:29 AM »
Franz Beckenbauer

4 straight League Titles
2 german Cups
3 European cups
1 WC

2 Euro Footballer of the Year
Captain 3 European Cup Winning Sides

Say no more  ;D

« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2008, 10:31:39 AM »
Patrick Viera for club.

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge for country.

Blessing
rummenigge is one of my all time top players,ah real general on de field.

« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2008, 10:37:34 AM »
Franz Beckenbauer

4 straight League Titles
2 german Cups
3 European cups
1 WC

Say no more  ;D
But wha happen like yuh forget de man win Cosmos too.  ;D
NASL Championship -
Winner: 1976–1977, 1977–1978, 1979–1980

« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2008, 10:39:41 AM »
Dwight Yorke
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2008, 10:53:22 AM »
Franz Beckenbauer

4 straight League Titles
2 german Cups
3 European cups
1 WC

Say no more  ;D
But wha happen like yuh forget de man win Cosmos too.  ;D
NASL Championship -
Winner: 1976–1977, 1977–1978, 1979–1980
der Kaiser, for real

« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2008, 10:53:54 AM »
Franz Beckenbauer

4 straight League Titles
2 german Cups
3 European cups
1 WC

Say no more  ;D

Ok.....I won't.. ;D

« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2008, 12:06:12 PM »
de Kaiser fuh sure...followed by maradona. Cafu must get a honorable mention as well!

must give a shout to Clayton Morris...one of Trinidad's best skippers!!! :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2008, 12:13:37 PM »
de Kaiser fuh sure...followed by maradona. Cafu must get a honorable mention as well!

must give a shout to Clayton Morris...one of Trinidad's best skippers!!! :beermug:

Surely you meant T&T's best skippers.....

« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2008, 12:17:40 PM »

Ent!  ;D

« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2008, 12:20:30 PM »

BrownSugar,
when will we ever learn ;D

dat not sweet atall  :-[
« Last Edit: December 02, 2008, 12:23:31 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2008, 12:52:24 PM »

LOL...thanks for the correction...T&T best skipper!!!!! :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2008, 01:01:12 PM »
Hate ManUre but loved Keane as captain. He willing to go to battle for any of  his teammates.

Josep Guardiola is probably meh favourite captain of all times though. Barcelona has not had a inspirational leader since.

« Reply #17 on: December 02, 2008, 01:12:51 PM »
Hate ManUre but loved Keane as captain. He willing to go to battle for any of  his teammates.

Josep Guardiola is probably meh favourite captain of all times though. Barcelona has not had a inspirational leader since.

i can endorse that.

« Reply #18 on: December 02, 2008, 01:37:57 PM »
Lothar Matheus as Germany captain.

For T&T captain I would say Dwight Yorke 2005 to present.

« Reply #19 on: December 02, 2008, 01:56:35 PM »
Beckenbauer and Dwight Yorke

« Reply #20 on: December 02, 2008, 02:09:38 PM »

LOL...thanks for the correction...T&T best skipper!!!!! :beermug: :beermug:

No problem... :) :beermug:

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #21 on: December 02, 2008, 03:43:27 PM »
I is a Ac milan diehard , but i hadda give props to Javier  Zanetti .. Inter is a revolving door.. but the man at the helm since 99.. And of course Franco.. the master in the back...and Maldini.. Pep and hierro use to command it to .
I is not a avodacte of a captain screamin and bawling at players...

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #22 on: December 02, 2008, 03:47:57 PM »
Lothar Matheus as Germany captain.

For T&T captain I would say Dwight Yorke 2005 to present.

my pick too... :beermug:

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #23 on: December 02, 2008, 04:34:26 PM »
I'd have to go with Antonio Conte...real boss...similar to Keane. One of the best box-to-box men i've seen, good defending and also going forward.
It's only kinky the 1st time

« Reply #24 on: December 02, 2008, 04:39:52 PM »
Dwight, Selwyn Murren, Clayton

« Reply #25 on: December 02, 2008, 04:50:00 PM »
honestly i really thought was tnt captains when i see the thread. so i expected to see a great divide between clayton morris and dwight yorke.

but for internationals i will have to go with dunga.  he was the glue tat kept that side togther. the general that kept the skilled youngsters in check and on course

« Reply #26 on: December 02, 2008, 05:02:55 PM »
Franz Beckenbaur- Germany

Carlton ""The General"" Franco- Malvern & T&T

« Reply #27 on: December 02, 2008, 05:16:16 PM »
honestly i really thought was tnt captains when i see the thread. so i expected to see a great divide between clayton morris and dwight yorke.

maybe it's just me but I thought Latas was a very inspirational captain.  Nakhid did a good job too.

or maybe yuh have to lead the team to the brink of WC qualification to fit the bill.

« Reply #28 on: December 02, 2008, 06:35:34 PM »

maybe it's just me but I thought Latas was a very inspirational captain.  Nakhid did a good job too.

or maybe yuh have to lead the team to the brink of WC qualification to fit the bill.

True talk DR, even w/o the WC qual though, Yorke's come back after the 02 fiasco has been extremely admirable

« Reply #29 on: December 02, 2008, 07:53:27 PM »
JACK bestist of captain trinbago have he win all games he never loze doh matter wah team he come up against . ;D ;D