April 27, 2024, 02:03:00 PM

Author Topic: PM Sick  (Read 3253 times)

PM Sick
« on: December 11, 2008, 07:48:44 PM »
Patrick Manning flew back out to Cuba tonight to remove a malignant tumor found on his kidney. They claim it was found when he went to Cuba recently for his routine heart check up. 

Re: PM Sick
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2008, 07:51:15 PM »
Manning has kidney cancer

Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, Patrick Manning, has disclosed that he has kidney cancer.

Speaking after the weekly cabinet meeting on Thursday, Mr. Manning revealed that the malignant tumour in his left kidney has to be removed surgically but is in its early stages.

The diagnosis was made in Cuba where the Prime Minister travelled last week for a medical check-up.

Mr. Manning will return to Havana for surgery.

He said steps have been taken to ensure the smooth functioning of the government in his absence.

"Because of the condition that I have, I'm on a tablet which lengthens the time it takes for your blood to coagulate and so, the process would involve seven day to be weaned off that drug and the operation should take place next Thursday or Friday.

Yesterday (Wednesday) morning, I advised his Excellency, the President of this development ... that I will be away from the country between now and January 3 or 4," said Mr. Manning.   

Radio Jamaica

« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2008, 09:29:59 PM »
Reactions to PM’s condition

FORMER MINISTER DR KEITH ROWLEY:

“I’m saddened to hear that he has been diagnosed like that and I’m hoping everything goes well and that he gets the best medical attention available. I wish him a speedy recovery.”

COP LEADER WINSTON DOOKERAN :

“I would like to extend my best wishes for a very successful surgery and for his speedy recovery.”

“I think, though based on my own experience in 1990 when the-then Prime Minister was unable to perform his duties a Constitutional dilemma arose that prevented a Prime Minister from being appointed for at least six days and that matter has never been resolved. Therefore I believe a constitutional issue could arise that could impact on the stability of the leadership of the Government. I hope those matters will be resolved.”

Opposition Leader Basdeo Panday

Panday said he is sorry to learn of Prime Minister Patrick Manning’s illness and hopes he would have a successful surgery in Cuba.

Earlier this year, Panday’s wife, Oma, underwent open-heart surgery in London earlier this year.

UNC DEPUTY LEADER KAMLA PERSAD-BISSESSAR:

“I’m indeed very sorry to hear about this and I wish Mr Manning all The best for his surgery and a speedy recovery thereafter.”

Persad-Bissessar, who had a breast cancer scare last year —which turned out not to be cancer— said her health so far has been good and she has been having tests annually.

UNC DEPUTY LEADER JACK WARNER:

“I wish Mr Manning a speedy recovery especially at this Christmas time but I would like him to know we are all mortals and therefore whatever we do in this world must be to the benefit of our people and I hope he is satisfied that he has done the best he could for his people and T&T.”

Nothwithstanding, I will keep him in my prayers and on behalf of my constituents and myself I wish him a speedy recovery.”

UNC MP DR TIM GOPEESINGH:

“I want to express my sincerest best wishes to him for a speedy recovery and to his family who I know must be distressed at this time. I know he will do well—but being a cancer specialist in gynecology I can’t help him unfortunately. But I’m sure he has the best of medical care.”

PNM chairman Conrad Enill

“He is going through a challenging time and the party’s arms are all praying for his safe return and successful surgery.”

Former minister Ken Valley

“I’m saddened by the news and I wish Mr Manning a speedy recovery.”

Health Minister Jerry Narace

“I have faith in God that everything will be alright.”

« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2008, 12:11:17 AM »
I know you can't do chemo on the kidneys. anybody could shed light on if "recovery" even possible?

« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2008, 12:25:08 AM »

UNC DEPUTY LEADER JACK WARNER:

“I wish Mr Manning a speedy recovery especially at this Christmas time but I would like him to know we are all mortals and therefore whatever we do in this world must be to the benefit of our people and I hope he is satisfied that he has done the best he could for his people and T&T.

Well yes, Jack eh easy at all nah... I guess he satisfied with all that he has done.

« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2008, 12:29:06 AM »
I know you can't do chemo on the kidneys. anybody could shed light on if "recovery" even possible?

well, worst case, u cud just remove the kidney

« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2008, 04:52:07 AM »
Heard dis on the radio just now driving to work.  Waaayyy boy ah really, really wish him well....
According to Dr. Sawh this is not no simple surgery is major thing especially since he has heart condition...is wait and see I guess...

As for Jack, all yuh remember he say after the earthquake experience in China he basically say he rethinking how he's do things and acknowledge he mortality etc. etc.  ah goh take dat with huge grain of salt...

« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2008, 08:54:52 AM »
once the cancer didn't spread,he cool.just take de kidney out.man could live on one.

« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2008, 11:36:02 AM »
Politicians in charge ah de country's health system ... yet not one a dem going under de knife in de country. Hmmmmmmmmm

Offline Swima

« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2008, 11:50:32 AM »
Politicians in charge ah de country's health system ... yet not one a dem going under de knife in de country. Hmmmmmmmmm

BIG BIG STATEMENT! I was waiting for the first man to say it.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2008, 12:08:23 PM »
To be fair Cuba's has distinguished itself for its medical advancement. We can't say whether this is a surgery that we even have the capacity to do at home. If it is a rare surgery it would be understandable that it is not available in TnT.

What is a little bit off-putting is that his check-up wasn't done locally. But again we don't know whether he was referred there for diagnosis based on the recommendation of his local doctor. We should at least have the diagnostic tools and ability necessary to facilitate citizens living healthy lives.

On a lighter note did any body else, after reading the title "PM sick..." think it would be followed by
"...in his head".

« Reply #11 on: December 12, 2008, 12:14:20 PM »
All the best to the PM and his family

he cool man, all he have to do is go China, as I hear organs does go cheap over there :-[

On a lighter note did any body else, after reading the title "PM sick..." think it would be followed by
"...in his head".
ya ketch meh nappin man :rotfl:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #12 on: December 12, 2008, 12:24:00 PM »

BIG BIG STATEMENT! I was waiting for the first man to say it.
he doh trust cuz the surgeon could be UNC  :rotfl:

« Reply #13 on: December 12, 2008, 05:00:01 PM »
I remain in a state of amazement whenever I even contemplate doctors performing any kind of surgery on the liver, lungs or kideys.  One touch...even ah bruise and dem things does bleed all over the place.

Let alone tuh cut, probe and sew back.

Speedy recovery Mr. Manning.

...Jack, doh worry is all ah we turn one day.

« Reply #14 on: December 12, 2008, 07:10:06 PM »
I have serious issues with Manning and his politics, but on this occasion, God speed.

« Reply #15 on: December 12, 2008, 08:56:24 PM »
Thankfully as far as Kidney cancer goes he might be in relatively good shape. Its seems like a somatic/chance lesion and because it was caught early it might not have reached his blood stream. A worst case is when the cancer is genetic and can appear in both kidneys and has been discovered late.

Hope he makes a quick recovery

« Reply #16 on: December 12, 2008, 11:46:40 PM »

ent, doh get mih started on dis topic, dem muddah f**kers.

« Reply #17 on: December 13, 2008, 11:02:07 AM »
That not true Vasant d Indian rice man had a heart attack and will have 2 go under d knife.

« Reply #18 on: December 13, 2008, 03:29:33 PM »
That not true Vasant d Indian rice man had a heart attack and will have 2 go under d knife.

« Reply #19 on: December 13, 2008, 03:34:31 PM »
To be fair Cuba's has distinguished itself for its medical advancement. We can't say whether this is a surgery that we even have the capacity to do at home. If it is a rare surgery it would be understandable that it is not available in TnT.

According to Dr. Lal Sawh ah top local oncologist, the surgery is available here.  I doh fault Manning for going to Cuba on this or any of his medical trips cuz is dem Cubans taking care of him for about a decade.

Mih problem is why we health care generally cyar come up to the standard of Cuba after all these years??!!

Offline Swima

« Reply #20 on: December 15, 2008, 10:13:31 AM »

According to Dr. Lal Sawh ah top local oncologist, the surgery is available here.  I doh fault Manning for going to Cuba on this or any of his medical trips cuz is dem Cubans taking care of him for about a decade.

Mih problem is why we health care generally cyar come up to the standard of Cuba after all these years??!!

Not just that. We have Cuban doctors here, we have philipino doctors and nurses here and you tellin me none of our locals can reach the standard right here where they are supposed to be training under these same doctors? What really going on? Allyuh understand yuh cya sue nobody when yuh family dead in the hospital cause the nurse give yuh d wrong pill and yuh vomit in yuh sleep. Manning alright yes. Carry on.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #21 on: December 15, 2008, 05:08:03 PM »
Surgery is wednesday.

« Reply #22 on: December 15, 2008, 05:12:05 PM »
Not just that. We have Cuban doctors here, we have philipino doctors and nurses here and you tellin me none of our locals can reach the standard right here where they are supposed to be training under these same doctors? What really going on? Allyuh understand yuh cya sue nobody when yuh family dead in the hospital cause the nurse give yuh d wrong pill and yuh vomit in yuh sleep. Manning alright yes. Carry on.

Yuh feel yuh could sue dem doctors in Cuba?  Jes joking.

Is a real sad indictment.

« Reply #23 on: December 15, 2008, 05:51:41 PM »
To be fair, his medical history of treatment in cuba withstanding, if he prefers to have the surgery there then i have no issue with that.

This is a very serious proceedure, can't play politics with your health. The fact that he was very upfront and open of his condition coming out to media no delay no speculation was good. When i was listening to the briefing i studying if that was me it have no way i could ah be infront of cameras with media reporters asking all kinda ting bout successors etc.

I doh like some of his decisions, especially lately but i wish him well. 

And yes he does have a local physician in Trinidad as well.