March 28, 2024, 10:10:55 AM

Author Topic: Chilling reminder!  (Read 2219 times)

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
Chilling reminder!
« on: December 02, 2008, 10:53:53 AM »
click this link for photos

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/7751912.stm

Read this too.

Burlington: Gallery 1
You are in: Wiltshire > Wiltshire's Underground City > Burlington: Gallery 1 > Wiltshire's Secret Underground City

Burlington Nuclear Bunker at Corsham

Wiltshire's Secret Underground City
Burlington: The 35 acre, secret subterranean Cold War City that lies 100 feet beneath Corsham.
Welcome to Wiltshire’s Secret Underground City… the 35 acre subterranean Cold War City that lies 100 feet beneath Corsham.
Built in the late 50s this massive city complex was designed to safely house up to 4,000 central Government personnel in the event of a nuclear strike.
In a former Bath stone quarry the city, code named Burlington, was to be the site of the main Emergency Government War Headquarters - the hub of the Country’s alternative seat of power outside London.

The Telephone Exchange

Over 60 miles of Roads
Over a kilometre in length, and boasting over 60 miles of roads, the underground site was designed not only to accommodate the than Conservative Prime Minister, Harold MacMillan, but the entire Cabinet Office, civil servants and an army of domestic support staff.

The site was so top secret that many of the civil servants, who had been allocated a desk at Burlington, had no knowledge of it.

Blast proof and completely self-sufficient the secret underground site could accommodate up to 4,000 people, in complete isolation from the outside world, for up to three months.
Although never actually used, the New York grid-style city of roads and avenues was equipped with all the facilities needed to survive.  From underground hospitals, canteens, kitchens and laundries to storerooms of supplies, accommodation areas and offices.

An Underground Lake

An underground lake and treatment plant could provide all the drinking water needed whilst 12 huge tanks could store the fuel required to keep the four massive generators, in the underground power station, running for up to three months.  And unlike most urban cities, above ground, the air within the complex could also be kept at a constant humidity and heated to around 20 degrees.

A ward in the hospital

The city was also equipped with the second largest telephone exchange in Britain, a BBC studio from which the PM could address the nation and an internal Lamson Tube system that could relay messages, using compressed air, throughout the complex.

For 30 years Burlington was in operation but at the end of the Cold War, in 1991, the still un-used city complex was finally taken over by the MOD and kept on standby in case of future nuclear threats to the UK.
But last December, with the underground reservoir drained, emptied of fuel and supplies and with a skeleton staff of just four, the site was finally decommissioned…
« Last Edit: December 02, 2008, 10:55:59 AM by assrancid »

Re: Chilling reminder!
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2008, 11:04:46 AM »
sure usa have ah couple ah these bunkers spread out over de midwestern states,it would be stupid not to.kinda crazy times we live in every nation who could afford and have the mean should build.manning should see this. ;D

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2008, 11:14:49 AM »
sure usa have ah couple ah these bunkers spread out over de midwestern states,it would be stupid not to.kinda crazy times we live in every nation who could afford and have the mean should build.manning should see this. ;D
even Canada have something so
been in one in Alberta it was big no arse
I cant remember if it was a provincial or Federal bomb shelter.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2008, 11:33:13 AM »
what's de difference?

« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2008, 11:41:49 AM »
what's de difference?
well the provincial one would be for the premier of that province
I would imagine the federal one would be close to ottawa
I was only in the command room and getting there was amazing
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2008, 11:46:20 AM »
what's de difference?
so let we say disaster strike,yuh name on de list.

« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2008, 11:50:34 AM »
what's de difference?
so let we say disaster strike,yuh name on de list.
isnt it nice weather we are having today :devil:

« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2008, 02:00:59 PM »

Yuh back with weather talk! Remember the last time how yuh pay for yuh gallery!!! :devil: :devil: :devil:

How things looking in beautiful BC? I'm thinking of coming out there for vacation. How cold it does get in January?

« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2008, 02:17:57 PM »

Yuh back with weather talk! Remember the last time how yuh pay for yuh gallery!!! :devil: :devil: :devil:

How things looking in beautiful BC? I'm thinking of coming out there for vacation. How cold it does get in January?
you tink they go give you ah VISA after I send dem my letter :devil:

Spring weather here today
Sun shining, blue skies
check out historical weather data here remember Victoria, get HALF the rain that Vancouver gets and 35% of what Seattle gets ;D
check here also http://victoriabcmagazine.com/victoria-weather/

and I doh remember nothing of the sort that you mention :devil:

yeah yeah I NOW remember that a few days later we went all the way down to like -5C  that was very unusual :D
« Last Edit: December 02, 2008, 02:23:19 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2008, 02:34:53 PM »

A big shot eh?  :devil: Thats OK I'll be coming in from Ontario 

« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2008, 02:56:00 PM »
that declaration is NOT helping ya case ;D

« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2008, 02:58:17 PM »
that declaration is NOT helping ya case ;D

:rotfl: :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2008, 10:52:34 PM »

I now KNOW ya put goat mout on we
parts of Vancouver Island had 50cm (20 flippin inches) of snow last night
we had about 8cm and it is now -3C