April 23, 2024, 07:21:28 PM

Who was allyuh favourite strike squad player AT DE TIME!!?

Michael Maurice
0 (0%)
Earl Carter
4 (4.3%)
Brian Williams
8 (8.6%)
Dexter Francis
1 (1.1%)
Clayton Morris
4 (4.3%)
Marvin Faustin
9 (9.7%)
Hutson Charles
8 (8.6%)
Kerry Jamerson
7 (7.5%)
Russell Latapy
26 (28%)
Dwight Yorke
2 (2.2%)
Leonson Lewis
15 (16.1%)
Philbert Jones
0 (0%)
Marlon Morris
0 (0%)
Paul Elliot Allen
2 (2.2%)
Leroy Spann
5 (5.4%)
Dexter Lee
1 (1.1%)
Floyd Lawrence
0 (0%)
Other
1 (1.1%)

Total Members Voted: 50

Author Topic: Favourite Strike Squad Player  (Read 5990 times)

Favourite Strike Squad Player
« on: September 16, 2005, 09:36:04 AM »
Vote for yuh favourite Strike Squad members AT DE TIME... you can vote for up to three men

I remember being ah youth man and looking up to these three

1. Leonson Lewis
2. Hutson Charles (crucial goals)
3. Marvin Fuastin (representing Barataria)
« Last Edit: September 16, 2005, 09:56:54 AM by Tallman »

Re: Favourite Strike Squad Player
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2005, 09:48:08 AM »
Leonson Lewis.......without a doubt.

Hutson Charles and Latapy tied for second

And Brian Williams a distant 4th (because the dreadlocks added character to the squad)

« Last Edit: September 16, 2005, 09:50:58 AM by kicker »

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2005, 09:51:23 AM »
tha a tough one-hutson was a tough hardworking and skillfull player.  leo was a beast.
then yorke talented youngster. 
jb composed calm leader.

ah going with hutson

« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2005, 10:00:58 AM »
Hutson, Latas, and Brian..

« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2005, 10:17:04 AM »
Very hard to choose but Hutson Charles probaly just shades it from Leonson Lewis.

I could tell yuh that, right or wrong, Brow will probably get the least votes though.

« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2005, 11:37:50 AM »
Ah cyah pick three...it too hard.

Faustin, Hutson, Leonson, Latas and Brian

« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2005, 12:02:35 PM »
Leonson, Latas, Faustin and Hutson

« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2005, 04:10:56 PM »
Brian Williams, Faustin and Jamerson (biased for de defensive minded players)

« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2005, 04:23:02 PM »
Spiderman

« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2005, 04:27:59 PM »
ah cyar lie marvin and latas used to do it fuh me dan.

« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2005, 06:36:03 PM »
Leonson Lewis jed nobody hold da one from meh horss....De man real play he arse off.

Hutson charles hold dong de fort plenty fuh we

And de general......Russ.. Russ.....Russellll  LLLatapyyyyy!!!!!! 

Ah jus remember alyuh go laugh.....................we want alibey.Alibey. Alibey ;D
« Last Edit: September 16, 2005, 10:50:50 PM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2005, 06:53:35 PM »
Hard to pick 3, so i will try 4 which is almost as difficult. 1) Leonson Lewis  2)Latapy 3) Faustin 4)Williams
« Last Edit: September 16, 2005, 09:49:59 PM by Fire Brand »

« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2005, 09:09:03 PM »
 Where is Alibey !!!!!!!!!!!!

Leonson
Latapy
Michael Maurice (me eh care bout the last game...he real save before that)

I still feeling the urge to list out the whole team though...Flloyd Lawrence....Dexter Lee for cleaning up that Guatemalan....looking at that replay was nice.  Jamerson x 2.  Captain Morris.  Brian was/is jus cool.....the whole team man!!

« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2005, 11:23:09 PM »
boy ah have to join de chorus for alibey...thats meh boy!!!  :beermug: :beermug:  (angostura posse)

but definitely hutson charles...latas...marvin faustin!!!

lawd faustin had sooo much talent boy...was ah shame it didnt reach its full potential.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2005, 02:10:15 AM »
Latas for being the 'General'

Brain for his overlapping ability ("watch de man on de wing"!!)

Hutson and Marvin tied for 3rd. Hutson for being a work horse and Marvin for playing 'sexy football'

« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2005, 03:29:00 AM »
You know I wasn't home ın 89

but in 85 when I left...Maurice Alıbey was easılly my favourite player...The man had real skills and could turn a game on its head. Fellas like La Forest and Spann just paled in his presence.

But from what I understand...the  89 Alibey wasnt the 85 Alibey.

Peace

« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2005, 05:13:34 AM »
Aye VB,,,,,, Ah feel Maurice Alibey use to f**k you yuh know.....  :rotfl:

Yuh does real sweat de man.....

Nah, he was talented for real, but he needed to eat more food, them other players use to cut him down to easy....

All de Strike Squad players was equally balance, everyone contributed and did their share equally thats why they were so successful....

I believe Elliot Allen, Spann and Latapy could have turned a game... but Spann and Nakhid didn't play much in 1989....
« Last Edit: September 17, 2005, 05:13:57 AM by Flex »

« Reply #17 on: September 17, 2005, 09:42:48 AM »
I believe Elliot Allen, Spann and Latapy could have turned a game... but Spann and Nakhid didn't play much in 1989....

I was not home for de Strike Squad but this guy was a surprise to me in that last game in 1989 against the US.  Ah keep asking who de hell is dat guy in de middle (and ah was not saying it in a nice way >:().

Sam - Yuh could give some more info on this brother??  Many others told me that de brother was hot contrary to what I saw (or continue to remember).

« Reply #18 on: September 17, 2005, 09:49:05 AM »
st.john...elliot allen used to play for airport authority....de boy was bad...couldnt start in front of philbert jones but de boy had mad talent!!!

« Reply #19 on: September 17, 2005, 11:31:45 AM »
Dexter Skeene

« Reply #20 on: September 17, 2005, 12:03:08 PM »
Elliot Allen probably got his green card after that game on Nov 1989.....  :devil:

I see Allen blow way some defenders a few times and I was shocked, not only that,,,,, but hear this.... I work here with some Italians and one day they ask me where I was from, so ah tell them Trinidad, them men hold they head and bawl..... they say, well you know of Elliot Allen, I said yes....

They said one day they was training with they Italian side somewhere in Queens and Allen walked up to them and ask if he can train with them, they said sure..... well he impress them so much that he was on they team de next day, them men say he use to beat men with ease, he had a rocket left foot and strong on the ball, they said he was a selfish player but real talented, he pull they team for years, they became dependant on him.... they say they have never seen a player in real life play so good.....they was suprise when USA beat us on Nov 1989.... because they said Allen alone is like having Maradonna on your side, thats how much they loved this man.... up to today when I meet one of the Italians son who was on that team and ask for Allen, he say's I cant stand that man, he does show off to much, play like he tieing he lace and shake yuh,,,,, he said Allen love heself andI does just laugh because de man cant handle Allen he vex.....  :rotfl:

Flex was suppose to meet him once and do an interview, but any time we called him he was little busy, so we never bother again, I hear he does still play here in NY....

PS: Philbert Jones was a striker who could miss he birthday..... Allen was midfield.....
« Last Edit: September 17, 2005, 12:27:58 PM by Flex »

« Reply #21 on: September 17, 2005, 01:05:53 PM »
It is good to hear some confirmation for him being on the Strike Squad on Nov. 19th because he play the most amount of $h#t on that day.  I questioned Gally extensively for including him in the Strike Squad on that day, knowing that all we needed was a draw to qualify.  I wonder if the enormity of the moment got to Elliot and prevented him from playing to his true potential.  Anyway in 2005, man don't need to beat a dead horse from 1989.  Shining in big moments separates the great ones from the good ones.  They rise to the moment when all the pressure is on.  On that day only two players rose to the occasion, de Rasta and Leonson.

« Reply #22 on: September 17, 2005, 01:46:45 PM »
This was de team

Michael Maurice
Brian Williams, Clayton Morris (capt), Dexter Francis, Marvin Faustin
Russell Latapy, Kerry Jamerson, Dwight Yorke, Paul Elliot Allen
                       Philibert Jones, Leonson Lewis

Marlon Morris for Elliot Allen 60th
Dexter Lee for Dwight Yorke 76th

Hutson Charles and Maurice Alibey was missed. But Brian Williams was de man bro, he was HEART and SOUL...... never saw a rasta play so good yet, Bertille woulda vex.....
« Last Edit: September 17, 2005, 01:54:40 PM by Flex »

« Reply #23 on: September 17, 2005, 01:49:47 PM »
This was de team

Michael Maurice

Hutson Charles and Maurice Alibey was missed. But Brian Williams was de man bro, he was HEART and SOUL...... never saw a rasta play so good yet, Bertille woulda vex.....

You sure Hutson didn't come on in that game ?? I think I remember him coming on and hitting a shot into the side netting...........memory lil clouded though.

But yeah that was Brian Willams' best game of the campaign.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2005, 01:54:17 PM by Flex »

« Reply #24 on: September 17, 2005, 07:48:52 PM »
I play on ah youth team from Simeon Road Petit Valley named Rangers with Elliot Allen

he was called tiger....he was a good player.

« Reply #25 on: September 17, 2005, 08:52:57 PM »
Hutson all the way. Every since that man score the equaliser against the states that man is a boss. Like everybody forget the quality of that goal.  ;D

« Reply #26 on: September 18, 2005, 05:42:32 AM »
latas was always my fav but leo was meh boy pace like a missile plus i was cool with he sis.....id like marvellous marvin faustin too that fella could ball i know allyuh cyah remember when playing for trintoc and he cap a man by the corner flag and score a volley on the keeper from the corner flag best goal i ever see a player score in trinidad  club or national all...world class shit

« Reply #27 on: September 18, 2005, 09:39:57 AM »
This was de team

Michael Maurice

DIDNT ALIBEY PLAY IN THAT GAME AND MISSED AH SITTER IN DE 6 YARD BOX LATE IN DE GAME???

« Reply #28 on: September 18, 2005, 11:14:26 AM »
This was de team

Michael Maurice

DIDNT ALIBEY PLAY IN THAT GAME AND MISSED AH SITTER IN DE 6 YARD BOX LATE IN DE GAME???

Nah..........that was the home game against El Salvador
« Last Edit: September 18, 2005, 01:49:39 PM by kicker »

« Reply #29 on: September 18, 2005, 10:01:43 PM »
Alibey did play dat one cause ah remember him geting pull dong in de penalty box around de70th minute with he hands in de air begging de ref for ah penalty.