April 28, 2024, 01:30:08 PM

Author Topic: Veterans want to coach in schools  (Read 2056 times)

Veterans want to coach in schools
« on: December 01, 2008, 08:21:01 AM »
Veterans want to coach in schools
By Walter Alibey (Trinidad & Tobago Newsday)

A CALL for the veteran footballers to be placed in coaching programmes at the primary school level came yesterday at the first Veteran Football Foundation’s Brunch to celebrate 100 years of football in Trinidad and Tobago at the Hyatt-Regency Hotel, Port- of-Spain.

The plea came from former national defender Selris Figaro, midfielder Ian Clauzel and striker Neil “Leathers” Sorzano.

They believe the ex-stars could assist in the development of the sport locally.

Their call was echoed by football icons Keith Reneaud and Ivan Cyrus, who like many others yesterday at the Hyatt-Regency, expressed the view that development of the sport has been neglected.

The former outstanding national footballers who are members of the Veteran Footballers Foundation (VFF) explained that thay can provide youngsters in the primary schools with the basic foundation for playing the game, such as trapping, shooting, heading, chesting and simple ball control.

Their skills can be polished and enhanced at the secondary schools where the young footballers can also be exposed to “structural football” at the same time. This it was said, will avoid having players on national teams without knowing the basics of the game. Members of the VFF also expressed disappointment in having a rich history of football while the sport, they say, “continues to suffer”.

They feel that there is no development taking place and this is evident by the recall of 40-year-old midfielder Russell Latapy and his close friend and colleague Dwight Yorke of Sunderland to the national team.

They have been drafted to help the national team to qualify for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

The veteran players feel that because of the wealth of talent produced over the years, the veterans should be used as a part of “holistic development programme” that should start at the primary school level.

But Clauzel, a coach at Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive School questioned: “How can we celebrate 100 years of football and we do not have a development programme?” Development he said is being done by coaches who have coaching academies and those who are coaching at the schools.

Known in his heyday as the “Dread Dribbler” Clauzel pointed out that the coaches are still not being recognised for the work that they are doing.

“We have been doing all of the ground work,” Clauzel added. “We have been hiring coaches left, right and centre but we have our own culture of football here and we are failing to develop that. We also need continuity in the sport, so that we will not have one team playing one system and another team playing a different one,” he said.

Another veteran football Rawle Aimey described as “rubbish” the views that sports prevent students from academic progress and that sportsmen and women are not intelligent people. “Sportsmen have to be extremely intelligent because they are called on to make spur-of-the-moment decisions,” he said.

Aimey who after his playing days moved on to study at the University of the West Indies and to teach later on, said that sports help in instilling discipline. Figaro, who apart from coaching at “Compre” as Mucurapo is known, presently works in the Unemployment Relief Programme (URP), but he revealed that he wants to coach at the national level.

He feels however that he is not being given a fair chance by those in authority. The sturdy defender who played for Trinidad and Tobago both home and away, takes credit for producing top players including Cornell Glen and Kerry Baptiste.

Yesterday’s function featured performances by Calypsonian Relator and was attended by hundreds of players from yesteryear such as Leon Carpette, Carlton Franco, Robbie Greenidge, Desmond ”Baby” Headley, Leroy De Leon, Leonson Lewis, Brian Wiliams, Jimmy Blanc, Frank De Freitas, Everard “Gally” Cummings, Marvin Faustin and Andrew Carty.

No member of the ruling Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) was present but the veterans socialised well into late evening, reminiscing about the golden days of football in TT.

Re: Veterans want to coach in schools
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2008, 05:34:56 PM »
No members of the current the TTFF were there!!!!.  No wonder club football is crap.

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2008, 07:24:25 PM »
1) approach the schools
and if the schools dont want to participate
2) have the Veteran Footballers Foundation (VFF) set up football academies around TnT with those players who want to coach
3) Get every player who signs up to join FPATT
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2008, 08:51:29 PM »
sounds like plenty ah dem fellas unemployed .... Ah wonder if dey kept up wid football or just hitting we wid ah remember when ?

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2008, 09:10:10 PM »
1) approach the schools
2) have the Veteran Footballers Foundation (VFF) set up football academies around TnT with those players who want to coach
     I am a veteran myself and i will say Clauzel,Selas etc etc could say what they want,if they have not kept up with the game/elevated themselves with the modern methods of coaching they are lost.I have coached T&T at all the different levels but since coming out here i have not been involved at that level and that's years,i will not involve myself at that level after all these years being away from it,the game i'm seeing now is a lot different,my strength's right now is developing youths.
      It's easy to say the things they are saying but implementing them is another thing,yes the ideas are excellent,is years we talking about that when we going to act,fingers are just pointing and people blaming each other,lets don't fool ourselves for any program to be successful finance is needed and we got to have qualified personnel.
      The country just don't have a structure,anybody once you play Football can coach a school,from reports i read on here the level is very poor,so much so our Youth team players are not allowed to participate,what beats me today is growing up we had no Coaches,today everybody have an Academy but it's more about the dollar and not the product,you know every kid in the US that plays Football have a ball,boots and shinguards.
       I agree with you on approaching the schools but it must be done through the ministry else we spinning top in mud,Coaches will be guaranteed a little salary and would have to account for the schools placed under them,they will be responsible for the development programs at all age levels both girls and boys.  

« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2008, 09:57:37 PM »
No members of the current the TTFF were there!!!!.  No wonder club football is crap.

has the TTFF ever cared about development?????

« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2008, 06:57:49 AM »
1) approach the schools
     I am a veteran myself and i will say Clauzel,Selas etc etc could say what they want,if they have not kept up with the game/elevated themselves with the modern methods of coaching they are lost.I have coached T&T at all the different levels but since coming out here i have not been involved at that level and that's years,i will not involve myself at that level after all these years being away from it,the game i'm seeing now is a lot different,my strength's right now is developing youths.
      It's easy to say the things they are saying but implementing them is another thing,yes the ideas are excellent,is years we talking about that when we going to act,fingers are just pointing and people blaming each other,lets don't fool ourselves for any program to be successful finance is needed and we got to have qualified personnel.
      The country just don't have a structure,anybody once you play Football can coach a school,from reports i read on here the level is very poor,so much so our Youth team players are not allowed to participate,what beats me today is growing up we had no Coaches,today everybody have an Academy but it's more about the dollar and not the product,you know every kid in the US that plays Football have a ball,boots and shinguards.
       I agree with you on approaching the schools but it must be done through the ministry else we spinning top in mud,Coaches will be guaranteed a little salary and would have to account for the schools placed under them,they will be responsible for the development programs at all age levels both girls and boys.  

With all due respect, Coop's, if we want to talk about financing our football development, should we look no further than the honorable jack warner for that?  How much munny has this man siphoned away from our football that could have been better spent on all the things that Clauzel and Co. talked about? Why is it that these ideas are coming from men and organizations like this and not the ttff?  I confused...

« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2008, 07:49:57 AM »
1) approach the schools

With all due respect, Coop's, if we want to talk about financing our football development, should we look no further than the honorable jack warner for that?  How much munny has this man siphoned away from our football that could have been better spent on all the things that Clauzel and Co. talked about? Why is it that these ideas are coming from men and organizations like this and not the ttff?  I confused...
         It's the reason myself and others had to get out,i've been in there for years fighting the fight just like they are doing and i commend them for that,i still give my support for what ever they want to do but from the outside.I might be wrong but i think the best way to change anything is to get involved in it,look how long Selas finish playing Pro Football,what has he done after that,from my knowledge coach Barataria and Mucurapo now he is talking about coaching a national team,what level of coaching Clauzel has done besides coach Mucurapo,what level of Football has he played from my knowledge Colleges league...i have to work, laters   

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2008, 03:21:16 PM »
1) approach the schools

steups, more shit talk from coops ..again..again!

The men talk about developing young players you talking about coaching national side!

Then you say you not able at the national level you good at coaching youngsters.  what shit!

The men asking for old stars to coach PRIMARY SCHOOL LEVEL BALL!

You coaching in the States, and MANY of them coaches CYAR train an elephant to eat ah peanut, but each week you rubbing shoulders with them.

What the hell you know about Clauzel and his coaching credentials?

The men talking the good talk, and ypou on one set of fight down.

I feel Jack Warner have you training men how to shine his balls!

« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2008, 03:24:09 PM »

6 and out

as usaul we overanalyzing this because thats what we do best. them want to coach in primary school to teach men to pass and trap. if them play for trini and have first aid certificate them should be good to go.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2008, 05:24:46 PM by morvant »

« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2008, 04:57:48 PM »
Guys while it is good that the veterans want to coach schools. It must be said that they should not be allowed to do so without proper coaching certification. There is a lot more to coaching than just teaching the practical aspects of the game. A youth coach has to pass on mental knowledge , heath and fitness knowledge , proper training knowledge. They have to know first aid and also have to be guidance councilors to these young kids .They have to help develop them not just in football but in life on a whole.

« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2008, 05:15:57 PM »
Football, football management and coaching has changed. Long ago, an ex-national could coach a school team, a club side and national team simply because he was an ex-national.

Now, you need more than just football skills. You need people skills to nuture these young people in some of the hard knocks of life and not just football.

These youths nowadays have a different mind set. Some of these youths are from areas where the gun is a fact of life. Growing up in Tunapuna, Five Rivers, St. Joseph and EDR I probably heard 3 or four gunshots if that many. All I use to hear is cock crowing when the night come. So like somebody mentioned that these guys need to get at least the minimum certificate to be a high school coach.

« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2008, 05:48:37 PM »
1 - Ah find allyuh does be too harsh on Coop's sometimes.  Daz all ah go say on dat.  8)

2 - Certification is an important thing and I think that ALL coaches should be ENCOURAGED to get their ceritification.

That said, there are anomalies to every situation.  I don't know what systems and/or resources we have in place to assist those who may not be able to get certification on their own.  Some of our past stars may simply be in a position where they can't afford to pay for certification.  I don't know.

But what I do know is that if some coaches show interest and potential, we should be trying to encourage their development as much as possible...even in the absence of official coaching credentials.

It's dangerous to give a coach with little or no credentials the reins to a national program.  This was painfully exhibited when ex national star Ron la Forest was placed in charge of our U 21's qualifying chances.  Ron La was a standout success as a coach with St Anthony's in the SSFL but proved to be a catastrophic failure at the national level.  And is not like he didn't have talent at his disposal.  I'm not saying that even with the proper coaching credentials, Ron la would have qualified us from that CFU Group, but the team would have been better prepared tactically.  He was disastrous and hasn't seen another coaching job at national level since.  Ma Pau United, the team of whom he is currently coach hasn't fared well either.

I not pickin on Ron La Forest.  I jes sayin dat coaching at the international level involved a whole lot more than "we have we natural style and we culture and we should be playin kaisoca soccer".  Because when yuh in a match and de opposin side runnin wild through yuh flanks and yuh defence only scramblin...no amounta "kaisoca soccer" goin to help yuh.  Yuh have to know how to recognise what de opposition doin and what to do to counter it.

Offline dspfootballer

« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2008, 08:26:26 PM »
  In my experience living in Trinidad I have seem dedicated teachers who were also good coaches.  So I wonder about what messages we are sending to teachers who dedicated there lives to development students.

I have also seen volunteer assistant coaches that were not teachers working along side the teachers in coaching primary football.  Has this stop?

I am glad to see people getting involve, especially my brethren.