April 25, 2024, 05:20:22 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs El Salvador game (11-Feb-2009).  (Read 140453 times)

Offline fatimarima

Re: Thread for the T&T vs El Salvador game (11-Feb-2009).
« Reply #750 on: February 11, 2009, 09:09:39 PM »
The fellas need to work hard on fitness, composure and attitude.  Hard lesson for Trini= loss of two points.   Good attitude and fight to the finish by el salvador = reward of 1point.    Ps. kicking a penalty overbars is not acceptable.

Offline Nemesis

« Reply #751 on: February 11, 2009, 09:09:58 PM »
You guys gave away 3 points in what is a close HEX this might be killer.

« Reply #752 on: February 11, 2009, 09:10:08 PM »
Boy !! ah rather lose than to blow ah substantial lead!! all who like yuh say sunderland is ah sh!t side! ah doubt sunderland woulda blow ah lead like that.

how yuh expect tuh win if yuh leave out yuh best defenders, no cyd , no avery, no james, no roberts, = yuh leave out three top defenders and ah goal scorer and expect tuh win. sttuueeepppsss. look when we lose on the last play of the mutha fackin game! real goat business.
Thought you woulda have to eat them words at the half eh JC.

« Reply #753 on: February 11, 2009, 09:10:21 PM »
Real goat business in truth.. dem fellas ent no when to foul

but they take off Birchall as a precaution... he was on a yellow and in the case we face ah onslaught which we did... he woulda be the hatchetman

« Reply #754 on: February 11, 2009, 09:10:37 PM »
MOTHERc**t REF!!!!!!

What the ref do? We celebrated the dubious PK and now he give them a FREEKICK and we cussing the ref? Come on.

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
« Reply #755 on: February 11, 2009, 09:12:47 PM »
as i did say....bring on Latas for Yorke and either Jaggy or Glenn for John...u cyah have Yorke and Birchie on the field whole game...and base on the performance..Yorke was the one shoulda take ah small rest.
Find KJ does play like ah real weak man for he size..been watchin dat for a while..he need to step up, he much better dan wah i see today.
Stern.......well i cyah say i disappointed...i get ah stern brand so he consistent

Defence too flat footed...man runnin rings around dem

Anyways fellas once we tighten up some tings and put the right men on the field we go be good to go..

Go warriors!! But ah still vex  ;D
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him

Offline Soca Taliban

• Trini 2 D Bone!!
« Reply #756 on: February 11, 2009, 09:13:24 PM »
MOTHERc**t REF!!!!!!

What the ref do? We celebrated the dubious PK and now he give them a FREEKICK and we cussing the ref? Come on.
Nah d ref was making some horrible calls eh, but we cyah blame nobody but we self fuh dis. We should beat deez men like 5-0. And dem is probably d worst team in d group

« Reply #757 on: February 11, 2009, 09:13:33 PM »
Clayton Ince positioning was just awful on that last goal.

Between being distracted by the advancing player ... and searching for the ball through the wall ... dahis de difference in the goal.

We continue to be poor in addressing set plays. Yuh cyah play ball at this level like that. To be fair to El Salvador, they went seeking a goal. Dey just weren't looking to draw a free kick, buh dey got one.

Anyway, whais de surprise? We've squandered points to set plays at this height in games before ... utilising similar tactics.  

As suggested above, the tactics in the closing minutes were questionable (or at least based on what was executed ... incorrect).
« Last Edit: February 11, 2009, 09:23:10 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #758 on: February 11, 2009, 09:14:29 PM »
 :'( :'( :'( :'(

« Reply #759 on: February 11, 2009, 09:15:03 PM »
Real goat business in truth.. dem fellas ent no when to foul

but they take off Birchall as a precaution... he was on a yellow and in the case we face ah onslaught which we did... he woulda be the hatchetman

What precaution? Why do we think like this. This is the reason we lose, the Coaching staff think we have the game under wraps and make a stupid sub. We overs the game since Stern hit that Pk.
Leave the man on the field and let him figure it out, he is not a High School player, he must understand the situation and figure out how to stay on the field. Why must the coaching staff sub him, to protect him? Then he is a liability. Leave him on the field. We playing 3 games at once, play this game and when it is over you sort out the casualties. Instaed, we wonder coaches subbing men to get ready to play the USA. Look at the score now.

BS coaching.

« Reply #760 on: February 11, 2009, 09:15:23 PM »
This just reminds me of a post I read sometime back.  "One stumble and T&T's hopes could be gone.  I hope tonite wasn't the stumble."  

« Reply #761 on: February 11, 2009, 09:15:37 PM »
It 4king good for we....

We play shit for the entire game and the ref gift us 2 penalty.

« Reply #762 on: February 11, 2009, 09:16:23 PM »
It 4king good for we....

We play shit for the entire game and the ref gift us 2 penalty.

and didn't give us one we deserved
and hand out real card

« Reply #763 on: February 11, 2009, 09:17:25 PM »
aye.. I happy we ehh loss 3-2 to tell yuh the truth....

« Reply #764 on: February 11, 2009, 09:17:52 PM »
Real tata

« Reply #765 on: February 11, 2009, 09:18:14 PM »
gutted absolutely gutted

« Reply #766 on: February 11, 2009, 09:20:23 PM »
i typing on a ps3 excuse a lil bit

the 2 nil lead in the first half was quite deceptive. we weren't playing well for long periods. of course a major talking point will be the stern john penalty miss. it was a horrible strike and he got it all wrong.more than that though were the gaping holes in midfield.yorke had patchy game and it showed in the 2nd half especially .we didn't need more goals. we should have tried hold the ball and solidify the position. instead we played an open game which allowed els a lot of space .i was very surprised that we continued sending a lot of players up on the dead ball situations .the nippy els players simply attacked an exhausted team and waited for errors to be made .i don't think the 2nd fk was deserving though.

stern really shoulda kill the game with that pk . it eh have much to defend there .all i could say is 'it happens'
« Last Edit: February 11, 2009, 09:26:25 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #767 on: February 11, 2009, 09:20:55 PM »
FELLAS I NOT WORRIED AT ALL

Allyuh really expect we to beat El Salvador 5-0 and den steamroll through de Hex qualifying with 3 games to spare... dem fellas now reach to work man

Whether we make it or not.. dis is how we does start... dis is de trini style... how we does do it. Go never change

Watch de ride

aye.. I happy we ehh loss 3-2 to tell yuh the truth....

well said big dawg...  :rotfl:  i feeling good.. I eh know if is maturity or de rum though

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #768 on: February 11, 2009, 09:21:28 PM »
fitness, composure and fight to the end attitude!!!!....thats what the team needs to work on.....regardless of if they leading big or  down a few goals.   That fitness and desire to win ball and maintain possesion was not there for the full 90 mins

« Reply #769 on: February 11, 2009, 09:21:48 PM »
Ah think we making too much  fuss about the fitnes thing... is tru we have some older legs but it dont matter how fit or how young the legs are, it will always be difficult, especially at the end of games if we cant possess the ball and instead we constantly chasing balls across and towards we own goal.

we have to get at least 50% of the possession in this hex or else we toast.

« Reply #770 on: February 11, 2009, 09:22:40 PM »
Bring back Beenieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

« Reply #771 on: February 11, 2009, 09:23:59 PM »
Steups, whaeva, ah now come home after limin at Mariachi w/Trinbago, Omar, Capo, and some odder fellas, real nice to meet Capo and Omar, cool brederins.  Aye, de gape was sweet, oh gah doooooooooooo

Anyway, toots, but onwards to Honduras at home, I can only hope we learn our lessons, but is Trini we talkin bout, constant heart attack football

Corbeaux

« Reply #772 on: February 11, 2009, 09:24:54 PM »
We got a lifeline Honduras tied dey game.

Offline trini warrior

« Reply #773 on: February 11, 2009, 09:25:14 PM »
fifa.com says yorke was red carded too

« Reply #774 on: February 11, 2009, 09:25:42 PM »

He won't play Latapy.

« Reply #775 on: February 11, 2009, 09:26:22 PM »

He won't play Latapy.

Latapy won't play Latapy

« Reply #776 on: February 11, 2009, 09:28:15 PM »
I wonder why men so surprised???

Scotland in Stern out.....

Scholari in Mats out....

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #777 on: February 11, 2009, 09:28:54 PM »

He won't play Latapy.

Latapy won't play Latapy
yuh right latas have to call he own sub now  ;D
All American

« Reply #778 on: February 11, 2009, 09:30:34 PM »
but is Trini we talkin bout, constant heart attack football

dan.... is heart attack we getting every WC cycle.. I hoping that this year woulda be different..

Things could get better...

Offline Arazi

« Reply #779 on: February 11, 2009, 09:31:23 PM »
first of all this is sad..
we probably should have three points
AND one of better players in this game will be blamed for costing us the game

but there are many things that we need to look at...

I AGREED  with the birchall sub - HE WAS on a yellow card and we would have needed a battling defensive mid in the latter stages

here are the things that have been overlooked bcuz of stern's miss

Kenwyne Jones' play was not on the level of a premiership striker today..
Stern did everything KJ was supposed to do...

here's something u should consider on several occassions late in the game KJ got the ball at the top of the centre half and instead of holding up the ball and allowing his team to reset..he punted the ball forward...gifting it back to el salvador

Stern on the other hand probably woulda have held up the ball and played and oncoming midfielder to spread the play OR he would have drawn a foul...let's hope this comes with experience...

spann is liability at right back..he not a horrible player put he can't play there..

dwight yorke had little impact in this game...when we were under pressure in the game he rarely got his foot and stamped his experience in this game...PROBABLY bcuz he hasn't played a game in a while
AND he is holds some culpability for allowing stern to take the penalty as captain and designated penalty kick taker..

where was keon daniel..he needs to become a presence on the left..he is one of the reason akile edwards ( who actually was one of our better defenders today) looks so bad...

both free kicks could have been stopped by a competent defence...the first goal in particular..i would place blame on lawrence for taking the position and obstructing ince...similarly on the equaliser there was no need for him to retreat from the wall... his movement made the keeper's job more difficult...

but IT IS stern's fault for missing the penalty...

the positives

Carlos had a good game...he was the man of the match and after stern  left the pitch he was the only outfield player who seemd to actually be thinking about what he was doing and he was denied a third penalty...

we didn't lose