April 19, 2024, 08:56:03 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs El Salvador game (11-Feb-2009).  (Read 140105 times)

Thread for the T&T vs El Salvador game (11-Feb-2009).
« on: December 03, 2008, 09:08:44 AM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifying game vs El Salvador (Feburary 11th, 19:00) in San Salvador will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

Possible Live Internet Links.

I95.5fm

Live Center

Justin TV, 8pm EST

CTNTWORLD

http://www.atdhe.net/live-tv-3297.html

http://www.mogulus.com/

http://www.quezaltecos.net/

http://www.veetle.com/

TV Viewing.

Galavision. ?

Head to Head World Cup Battle

P  W  L  D  F  A
T&T  2  1  0  1  2  0 
SLV  2  0  1  1  0  2

13-Aug-1989 - SLV 0 v T&T 0, Tegucigalpa, Honduras.
30-Jul-1989 - T&T 2 (Leonson Lewis 50, 61) v SLV 0, Queens Park Oval.

T&T Squad:

Goalkeepers
Clayton Ince (Walsall), Marvin Phillip (W Connection).

Defenders
Dennis Lawrence (Crewe Alexandra), Keyeno Thomas (Joe Public), Aklie Edwards (Defence Force), Makan Hislop (United Petrotrin).

Midfielders
Christpher Birchall (Brighton & Hove Albion), Carlos Edwards (Sunderland), Dwight Yorke (Sunderland), Silvio Spann (Wrexham), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Trent Noel (San Juan Jabloteh), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Kendall Jagdeosingh (Puerto Rico Islanders), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Russell Latapy (Player/Coach), Keon Daniel (Unattached).

Forwards
Kenwyne Jones (Sunderland), Stern John (Bristol City), Cornell Glen (San Juan Jabloteh).
« Last Edit: February 11, 2009, 02:03:21 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs El Salvador game (11-Feb-2009).
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2008, 09:14:48 AM »
Oooooohhhh guuuuddd..... :o :o Flex quick on de draw dread....

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2008, 09:37:35 AM »
Nah Flex of gorm leh meh enjoy meh Xmas b4 I strt 2 tink bout d hex

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2008, 10:00:12 AM »
Nah Flex of gorm leh meh enjoy meh Xmas b4 I strt 2 tink bout d hex

U wukkin dat day so doh study it... ;D

« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2008, 10:05:50 AM »
nah man flex....we aint even reach the 11th a december yet

yuh over bull the cow with this one

« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2008, 10:10:29 AM »
I tell yuh I clear meh schedule so we could watch it in Phase 2 while u practicing

Is Galavision showing all the qualifiers next year?
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2008, 10:50:46 AM »
I checked and im not seeing the tv listings anywhere, wheres the link to it?
« Last Edit: December 03, 2008, 10:54:28 AM by Controversial »

Re: Is Galavision really showing all the qualifiers next year?
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2008, 10:52:46 AM »
I think it a little too early for that.
We don't even know the locations of many of the games. At this point it's an educated guess and down to speculation.

We still trying to figure out where TT playing home games and the US hasn't even said where there's will be played.

Im sure in the weeks leading up to the games we'll hear more about it.
If not, just stick around the forum ... the brains' on here always find a way. Always.

Re: Is Galavision showing all the qualifiers next year?
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2008, 10:55:05 AM »
flex posted galavision, so i checked but didnt see anything, just was curious

Re: Is Galavision showing all the qualifiers next year?
« Reply #9 on: December 03, 2008, 10:57:36 AM »
Telemundo shows all Mexico games home and away in ESPANOL

Galavision and ESPN shows all USA games home and away in ESPANOL and ENGLISH respectively

CNMG shows .......... well we hope

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2008, 11:19:34 AM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifying game vs El Salvador (Feburary 11th, 19:00) in San Salvador will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

I95.5fm

TV Viewing.

Galavision.

P  W  L  D  F  A
T&T  2  1  0  1  2  0 
SLV  2  0  1  1  0  2

[color=brown]13-Aug-1989 - SLV 0 v T&T 0, Tegucigalpa, Honduras.

T&T Squad:
[/i][/color]
To be updated

Yuh sure this part here correct?

how come we played El Salvador in Honduras?

and i think we played El Salvador at home in the stadium, if my memroy serve me right, but ah could be wrong...
« Last Edit: December 03, 2008, 11:21:27 AM by CAPITANO »
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2008, 11:23:43 AM »
Greetings.

I95.5fm

TV Viewing.

Galavision.

P  W  L  D  F  A
T&T  2  1  0  1  2  0 
SLV  2  0  1  1  0  2

T&T Squad:
[/i][/color]
To be updated

and i think we played El Salvador at home in the stadium, if my memroy serve me right, but ah could be wrong...

yes...this is correct

« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2008, 12:02:04 PM »
Greetings.

I95.5fm

TV Viewing.

Galavision.

P  W  L  D  F  A
T&T  2  1  0  1  2  0 
SLV  2  0  1  1  0  2

T&T Squad:
[/i][/color]
To be updated

yes...this is correct

El Sal was in a deep civil war at de time, hence de Honduran venue

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #13 on: December 04, 2008, 07:07:57 AM »
Greetings.

oh.... ok...I stand corrected...thanks
I95.5fm

TV Viewing.

Galavision.

P  W  L  D  F  A
T&T  2  1  0  1  2  0 
SLV  2  0  1  1  0  2

T&T Squad:
[/i][/color]
To be updated

yes...this is correct

El Sal was in a deep civil war at de time, hence de Honduran venue

oh....ok.. i Stand corrected .... thanks!!!
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

Offline Saywha

« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2008, 03:19:14 PM »
now dats what ah talking bout.   Thnks for de update Flex.

Sunderland trio get T&T call
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2009, 12:27:45 PM »
Sunderland trio get T&T call
Black Cats Bulletin

Kenwyne Jones, Dwight Yorke and Carlos Edwards have been named in the latest Trinidad & Tobago squad.

The Sunderland trio are due to feature for T&T in a World Cup qualifier against El Salvador in San Salvador on November [sic, February] 11.

And it is crunch time in the CONCACAF zone as the final 'hexagonal' stage of qualifying begins.

Three teams from T&T, El Salvador, Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico and USA will qualify for the 2010 finals in South Africa - with a fourth team going into a play-off.

It means Jones, Yorke and Edwards will be away between Sunderland's home game against Stoke (February 7) and the fifth round of the FA Cup (February 14), if the Black Cats make it past Blackburn.

« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2009, 01:31:10 PM »
victory is ah must.

« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2009, 01:56:20 PM »

« Reply #18 on: January 19, 2009, 12:07:42 AM »
El Salvador draft two Americans

2010 World Cup CONCACAF Final Round Qualifying

Ian Prescott iprescott@trinidadexpress.com

El Salvador are looking for a passport for 23-year-old San Jose Earthquakes (MLS) midfielder Arturo Alvarez and have also given 27-year-old Puerto Rico Islanders (USL) defensive midfielder Edwin Miranda his first call-up to the national team.

Both American citizens have been drafted by El Salvador as they seek to strengthen their national squad ahead of hosting Trinidad and Tobago at the Estadio Custalan on February 11 in the opening match of the CONCACAF Final Round of qualifying for the FIFA 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

It was reported in an El Salvador daily newspaper that Alvarez visited the El Salvador consulate in Houston last Friday to begin filling out the forms for processing a Salvadorean passport.

Alvarez was born in Houston, Texas of Salvadorean parents, while Miranda returned to El Salvador last week after a 16-year absence since leaving the Central American country as an 11-year-old boy.

Coached by Carlos de los Cobos Martínez, a member of the 1986 Mexico World Cup team, El Salvador are considered the weakest of the six Final Round qualifiers, who consist of Trinidad and Tobago, Mexico, USA, Costa Rica, El Salvador and Honduras.

But, El Salvador believe their best chance of a good start to the campaign comes when they host the Soca Warriors in their opening match. And El Salvador captain Alfredo Pacheco has welcomed the new players.

"It was not easy for him because he always had a hope that the US might have called him," Pacheco said of Alvarez. "But we also know that El Salvador has a chance to fight for a place in the World Cup. So, just as we have received Edwin Miranda, Alvarez will also will be treated well. The team becomes a family for any player."

New recruit Miranda is familiar with Alvarez and says his inclusion will strengthen El Salvador for the game against T&T.

"I was happy when I learned of Alvarez's decision to join us because we have competed in the United States. I have also not regretted the step I have made to join the national team," Miranda said.

Although the two new players vastly improve El Salvador, the man the Soca Warriors may have to put "a body" on is 24-year-old playmaker and emerging star Eliseo Quintanilla.

Also called "Cheyo", the number ten is El Salvador's version of Russell Latapy in his younger days. A former MLS player and known attacking player, Quintanilla has pushed forward from midfield to score eight of his country's goals in World Cup qualifying, including two in the shock 3-1 victory which eliminated Panama.

El Salvador's other "big player" is 22-year-old midfielder Dennis Ales, who plays for Real Maryland in the third tier of American football.

Coach De los Cobos' squad is boosted by the recent inclusion of the two American players, but he still has no doubt where his team's chances lie.

"When it comes to football in El Salvador there's Eliseo Quintanilla and then there's the rest. When he's in the side he knows he's the one who has to dictate the play," De los Cobos stated in an interview on the FIFA.com website.

But, Quintanilla was also grateful for the help both Alvarez and Miranda will give him. He rates the duo as top additions to the team.

"I played against Arturo when I was in the DC United team and he in San Jose. I can tell you he is a player with good technique, fast and has an eye for goal. He will help us. We all hope he will come as quickly as possible so that he fits into the style of our game" said Quintanilla.

El Salavador's preparation for the World Cup qualifiers is reported to be inadequate and below the level of the rest of their opponents. However, they have gotten lucky.

El Salvador are about to begin qualifying for the Central American Nations Cup, which will have five qualifiers for the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup in June.

Coach De los Cobos remarked in one of the El Salvador newspapers that he is taking the tournament very seriously since he has no other option when it comes to preparation.

The Salvadoreans trained in Havana, Cuba last week, before heading to the Tiburcio Carías Andino Stadium in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, for the Nations Cup from Thursday to February 1.

El Salvador play Nicaragua (Thursday) and Belize (Saturday) before ending their preliminary schedule with a tough match-up against fellow World Cup aspirants Honduras on January 26.

Depending on how far they progress in the Nations Cup, they then return home to host Trinidad and Tobago ten days after the tournament.

De los Cobos is wary of T&T, who have won twice and also had a goalless draw in San Salvador while the Mexican has been in charge.

El Salvador gave Colombian Francisco Maturana his first victory as Trinidad and Tobago head coach when Keon Daniel's 57th minute free-kick ensured a 1-0 win at the Marvin Lee Stadium in Macoya on March 19, 2008.

Five months later a locally-based T&T squad beat full-strength El Salvador 3-1 in a stormy affair before 24,652 fans in Washington DC, USA.

The teams also played to a 0-0 draw in El Salvador in October 2007 under T&T's former coach, Dutchman Wim Rijsbergen.

« Last Edit: January 19, 2009, 12:11:11 AM by royal »

« Reply #19 on: January 19, 2009, 05:13:31 AM »
SEND MORE YANKS

« Reply #20 on: January 19, 2009, 07:52:32 AM »
Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras look to build momentum at Central American Nations Cup

For at least Costa Rica, El Salvador and Honduras, the most important thing is to qualify for the World Cup. Winning the Central American Nations Cup would be a nice start toward that goal.

The seven-team sub-regional championship gets underway Thursday in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, with the Ticos, Cuscatlecos and Catrachos the clear favorites in an event that will qualify the last five teams for the CONCACAF Gold Cup. Only three countries have ever won the Copa de Naciones de UNCAF since it was initiated in 1991: Costa Rica (6), Honduras (2) and Guatemala (1).

Costa Rica has won the last three, and not only appears to be the dominant team in Central America, but is bidding to climb alongside Mexico and the United States as the confederation’s perennial powers.

Another title would continue to solidify its growing reputation, and offer a momentum boost as it tries for a third consecutive appearance at the World Cup.

“The priority this year is to qualify for the World Cup,” Costa Rica manager Rodrigo Kenton said. “Without room to observe players, we’re taking advantage of a competition like UNCAF to evaluate them and simultaneously we need to win to continue growing the confidence and morale of the Costa Rican player.”

Costa Rica already should have plenty of confidence going into the January 22-February 1 event. It was the only team in CONCACAF to get through to the semifinal round of qualifying without a loss or even a draw in six matches, outscoring its opponents 20-3.

But Kenton has called only a handful of regulars from the semifinal round of qualifying, owing to the fact that the first game of the final round of qualifying, the hexagonal, is set for February 11.

Kenton, as well as counterparts Reindaldo Rueda of Honduras and Carlos de los Cobos of El Salvador and the rest of the field, will be largely restricted to domestic-based sides, unable to call on those playing club soccer in southern Europe because the Central American championship does not fall within the international match calendar.

That will cost Kenton players such as Bryan Ruiz, who led Costa Rica with four goals during qualifying, and Froylan Ledezma, who had a pair of goals. But Kenton also has not called in playmaker Walter Centeno or midfielder Celso Borges.

Goalkeeper Kaylor Navas, forward Alejandro Alpizar and defender Michael Umana are a few of the regulars that will be asked to carry the side.

Honduras, which finished atop Group B in the semifinal round of World Cup qualifying – ahead of Mexico, is similarly limited. Rueda called in only five players from outside the country for his two-week training in Florida in the United States, but is seeing the return of career team scoring leader Carlos Pavon after 16 months.

"We will try to make a good Cup of Nations and give this tournament the seriousness that it deserves," assistant coach Alexis Mendoza said.

Honduras will be playing at home, offering late last year to step in and take over as the tournament’s host to replace Panama, which withdrew due to construction and renovation delays of the planned venue.

For El Salvador, which advanced to the final round of World Cup qualifying well behind Costa Rica but well ahead of Haiti and Suriname in Group C, its roster will include two players possibly more familiar to the United States than the Catrachos.

Twenty-three-year-old forward Arturo Alvarez, who plays for the San Jose Earthquakes of Major League soccer, was born in the United States and played for the country’s youth national teams. But with native Salvadoran parents, he qualifies for the Central American nation. Additionally, Edwin Miranda of the Puerto Rico Islanders, was born in El Salvador but grew up in Los Angeles.

While most are generally conceding Costa Rica, Honduras and El Salvador should easily qualify for the Gold Cup, some wonder if Nicaragua or Belize can surprise teams such as Guatemala or Panama and break their streak of having never qualified for the CONCACAF finals.

Belize has never advanced past the first round of the Central American cup in five tries, but Nicaragua finished fifth in 2005, a result that would earn it a place among the 12-nation Gold Cup field this time around.

At the other end are Costa Rica, Honduras and El Salvador, which are trying to build a little inertia for something even bigger. 

CONCACAF.COM

« Reply #21 on: January 19, 2009, 01:04:35 PM »
El Salvador draft two Americans

2010 World Cup CONCACAF Final Round Qualifying

Ian Prescott iprescott@trinidadexpress.com

San Jose Earthquakes' Alvarez El Salvador hopes dashed
19.01.09 | tribalfootball.com

San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Arturo Alvarez is not eligible to play for El Salvador, according to US Soccer.

Alvarez stated publicly last week that he would like to play for El Salvador even though he was US born and had already played at International level for the US at the U-20 level.

A high-ranking source at US Soccer confirmed to Soccer By Ives on Saturday that Alvarez can only play for the United States as a player can only make a change before his 21st birthday and he is 23 years old.

« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2009, 04:12:51 PM »
Reggaeboyz daz send for Britz so El Salvador sending fuh Yanks,mek we start looking fi some farriners to. :D

Offline PIMP

« Reply #23 on: January 19, 2009, 05:12:15 PM »
T&T forwards in good form...
i hope we get a positive result!!!

« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2009, 08:37:24 PM »
The battle of the feathered scavengers

De Los Cobos vs the Afro Corbeaux

:devil: :devil: :devil: :rotfl:

« Reply #25 on: January 20, 2009, 05:03:30 AM »
The battle of the feathered scavengers

De Los Cobos vs the Afro Corbeaux

:devil: :devil: :devil: :rotfl:

yuh real idle yes... :rotfl:

« Reply #26 on: January 20, 2009, 05:41:47 AM »
hear nah, all this talk about the teams...now to the important question-
where we watching the game? ;D us local based..those of us unable to afford the cost
of travelling ...

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #27 on: January 20, 2009, 09:56:42 AM »
Hard luck for Alvarez; I played with him in my high school years in Houston, and he was an amazing baller, I remember that he was getting trials in Europe and even signed his contract before his senior year began. Although it would've been interesting to see Arturo suit up vs. T&T, he's just another player that the US capped before some other country could (to possibly never be called up again).

« Reply #28 on: January 20, 2009, 10:12:55 AM »
Although it would've been interesting to see Arturo suit up vs. T&T, he's just another player that the US capped before some other country could (to possibly never be called up again).

fifa needs to change their rules, like maybe only active international players should be capped by a country, but if they haven't been using him for say a 1-2 yr period, he should be free to play for a country he is qualified to play for! IMHO

« Reply #29 on: January 20, 2009, 01:39:36 PM »
Although it would've been interesting to see Arturo suit up vs. T&T, he's just another player that the US capped before some other country could (to possibly never be called up again).

fifa needs to change their rules, like maybe only active international players should be capped by a country, but if they haven't been using him for say a 1-2 yr period, he should be free to play for a country he is qualified to play for! IMHO

hhhhhhmmmm..... :thinking: