March 28, 2024, 06:55:51 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs El Salvador game (11-Feb-2009).  (Read 139295 times)

Offline Insider

Re: Thread for the T&T vs El Salvador game (11-Feb-2009).
« Reply #60 on: January 30, 2009, 06:56:19 AM »
FYI...

Before the current UNCAF tournament (In Honduras) I saw Cesar Maturana (T&T technical assistant) and he told me that he is on his way to spy on El Salvador, Honduras and Costa Rica.

Good job !!
« Last Edit: January 30, 2009, 06:58:01 AM by Insider »

« Reply #61 on: January 30, 2009, 07:49:12 AM »
Spy?  Why would a spy say where he going to spy  :devil:  but i know you mean "scout"

« Reply #62 on: January 30, 2009, 01:45:53 PM »

Ince

Gray   Lawrence    Thomas   Hislop

Birchall

Carlos                    Daniel

Whitley/Yorke    Noel   

KJ

« Reply #63 on: January 30, 2009, 10:58:59 PM »

Peru meet El Salvador, Feb 6 in LA

The Peruvian team play a friendly against the Salvadorians, in Los Angeles ahead of South American World Cup Qualifiers, where Peru stand last on seven points and face Chile.

Peru, who stand tenth at the South American Qualifiers, warm up to face Chile late in March, in Round 11 of the qualifying matches. Peru have only clinched 7 points, 16 less than leaders Paraguay.

The Salvadorian Football Federation released a statement to inform the match will be held at Los Angeles’ Coliseum.

El Salvador meet Trinidad & Tobago on February 11 at CONCACAF Qualifiers.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2009, 11:01:19 PM by E-man »

« Reply #64 on: January 31, 2009, 12:02:56 AM »
come on Peru

Offline mershaktat

« Reply #65 on: January 31, 2009, 12:20:24 PM »
Any more news on who could be bringing the game.  Please somebody!

« Reply #66 on: February 01, 2009, 07:02:37 AM »
FIFA block El Salvador recruit.
By: Ian Prescott

The much-anticipated debut of San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Arturo Alvarez in the El Salvador national team will have to wait until FIFA, the governing body for world football, rules whether he is eligible to play for the country of birth of his parents.

Therefore, the highly-rated 23-year-old US-born Alvarez will not be in the squad on February 11 when El Salvador host Trinidad and Tobago in the opening match for both teams in the CONCACAF final round of 2010 World Cup qualifying.

Because El Salvador have very few overseas-based players, media in the Central American country have been abuzz with news of the recruitment of Alvarez and another American citizen, Edwin Miranda, to the national team.

Alvarez was born in Houston, Texas, and played for the Americans at every age group at youth level. But with native Salvadorean parents, he qualifies to play for the Central American nation.

However, just ahead of the opening match in the UNCAF Nations Cup last Thursday, Rodrigo Calvo, president of the El Salvador Football Association, told daily newspaper El Diario de Hoy that Alvarez cannot yet be incorporated into the national team until FIFA gives its position on the case.

Calvo had successfully secured an El Salvador passport for Alvarez after just four days.

"The player has already received his Salvadorean passport, but will not be registered until FIFA give us a response in the case...which will not be before February 11," Calvo said.

However, El Salvador's top football official said he expected a positive verdict "unless the United States say anything against it".

Meanwhile, information coming out of the USA is that Alvarez will be denied the opportunity to join Los Cuscatlecos.

Alvarez represented the United States at the Under-20 level in the qualification tournament for the 2005 FIFA Youth World Championship in a squad that included current senior American internationals Freddy Adu, Charlie Davies, Sasha Kljestan and Danny Szetela.

Alvarez played for the USA under Sigi Schmid on two occasions in the 2005 CONCACAF Under-20 qualifying tournament, a 69-minute start against Costa Rica and a 13-minute appearance off the bench against Panama.

He was also on the bench when the USA whipped Trinidad and Tobago 6-1 in their opening match of the tournament four years ago.

While the Americans don't really want Alvarez for their senior team, they are also not eager to allow El Salvador to strengthen their line-up with a skillful, left-footed attacking midfielder, having to meet the US later on in the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers.

And because he is trying to play for El Salvador, Alvarez has come in for severe criticism in the United States.

Soccer By Ives, voted Best Soccer Blog of 2008 by US Soccer, reported a high-ranking source at US Soccer as confirming that Alvarez can only play for the United States.

The Americans argue that with Alvarez being 23 years old, he can no longer apply to switch national teams.

According to FIFA guidelines, a player can only make the change before his 21st birthday.

Alvarez's case is not unlike that of Notre Dame midfielder Aaron Maund, who played for Trinidad and Tobago at the 2007 FIFA Under-17 World Championship in South Korea, but is now a member of the USA Under-20 team which trained in T&T last week.

Unlike Alvarez, Maund was young enough to make the switch. And so El Salvador's only choice now is to hope for an exception from FIFA, or else go to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).

But El Salvador's other USA-based recruit, Puerto Rico Islanders defensive midfielder Edwin Miranda, has already been incorporated in their national team and played in El Salvador's 4-1 victory over Belize last Saturday and a 2-0 defeat to Honduras on Monday night in the UNCAF Nations Cup.

Miranda's case was more clear-cut as he was born in El Salvador. Miranda left El Salvador 16 years ago when an 11 -year-old and grew up in Los Angeles, USA.

The 27-year-old is delighted to have finally played for El Salvador.

"The truth is that I feel good. I'm trying to connect to the group because they have been working a long time. That is what is hard for me. Each day the work was different and strong. The coaches are good people, I have tried very well. To come from the United States to El Salvador after 16 years, that's the hardest part for me because most players have enough time playing together," Miranda said.

"I am trying to fit in as quickly as possible. Being in the selection is a great motivation to represent my country, this is something different. Any player would like to be here wearing the shirt of the country."

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #67 on: February 01, 2009, 08:00:34 AM »
Time warner cable isnt showing it  by me. Any links to websites that will?
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #68 on: February 01, 2009, 08:28:42 AM »
Time warner cable isnt showing it  by me. Any links to websites that will?

I almost sure that one of the spanish stations will carry it - but if not, then we will have to rely on a grainy link like the last game in San Salvador.

« Reply #69 on: February 01, 2009, 08:35:45 AM »
FIFA block El Salvador recruit.
By: Ian Prescott

Unlike Alvarez, Maund was young enough to make the switch. And so El Salvador's only choice now is to hope for an exception from FIFA, or else go to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).

suppose el salvador wins this  !!  then Jlloyd samuel would be in tnt colours

El Salvador hopes stalled by FIFA
« Reply #70 on: February 01, 2009, 10:15:30 AM »
FIFA block El Salvador recruit
Source: -Trinidad Express

delayed: Arturo Alvarez

The much-anticipated debut of San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Arturo Alvarez in the El Salvador national team will have to wait until FIFA, the governing body for world football, rules whether he is eligible to play for the country of birth of his parents.

Therefore, the highly-rated 23-year-old US-born Alvarez will not be in the squad on February 11 when El Salvador host Trinidad and Tobago in the opening match for both teams in the CONCACAF final round of 2010 World Cup qualifying.

Because El Salvador have very few overseas-based players, media in the Central American country have been abuzz with news of the recruitment of Alvarez and another American citizen, Edwin Miranda, to the national team.

Alvarez was born in Houston, Texas, and played for the Americans at every age group at youth level. But with native Salvadorean parents, he qualifies to play for the Central American nation.

However, just ahead of the opening match in the UNCAF Nations Cup last Thursday, Rodrigo Calvo, president of the El Salvador Football Association, told daily newspaper El Diario de Hoy that Alvarez cannot yet be incorporated into the national team until FIFA gives its position on the case.

Calvo had successfully secured an El Salvador passport for Alvarez after just four days.

"The player has already received his Salvadorean passport, but will not be registered until FIFA give us a response in the case...which will not be before February 11," Calvo said.

However, El Salvador's top football official said he expected a positive verdict "unless the United States say anything against it".

Meanwhile, information coming out of the USA is that Alvarez will be denied the opportunity to join Los Cuscatlecos.

Alvarez represented the United States at the Under-20 level in the qualification tournament for the 2005 FIFA Youth World Championship in a squad that included current senior American internationals Freddy Adu, Charlie Davies, Sasha Kljestan and Danny Szetela.

Alvarez played for the USA under Sigi Schmid on two occasions in the 2005 CONCACAF Under-20 qualifying tournament, a 69-minute start against Costa Rica and a 13-minute appearance off the bench against Panama.

He was also on the bench when the USA whipped Trinidad and Tobago 6-1 in their opening match of the tournament four years ago.

While the Americans don't really want Alvarez for their senior team, they are also not eager to allow El Salvador to strengthen their line-up with a skillful, left-footed attacking midfielder, having to meet the US later on in the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers.

And because he is trying to play for El Salvador, Alvarez has come in for severe criticism in the United States.

Soccer By Ives, voted Best Soccer Blog of 2008 by US Soccer, reported a high-ranking source at US Soccer as confirming that Alvarez can only play for the United States.

The Americans argue that with Alvarez being 23 years old, he can no longer apply to switch national teams.

According to FIFA guidelines, a player can only make the change before his 21st birthday.

Alvarez's case is not unlike that of Notre Dame midfielder Aaron Maund, who played for Trinidad and Tobago at the 2007 FIFA Under-17 World Championship in South Korea, but is now a member of the USA Under-20 team which trained in T&T last week.

But El Salvador's other USA-based recruit, Puerto Rico Islanders defensive midfielder Edwin Miranda, has already been incorporated in their national team and played in El Salvador's 4-1 victory over Belize last Saturday and a 2-0 defeat to Honduras on Monday night in the UNCAF Nations Cup.

Miranda's case was more clear-cut as he was born in El Salvador. Miranda left El Salvador 16 years ago when an 11 -year-old and grew up in Los Angeles, USA.

The 27-year-old is delighted to have finally played for El Salvador.

"The truth is that I feel good. I'm trying to connect to the group because they have been working a long time. That is what is hard for me. Each day the work was different and strong. The coaches are good people, I have tried very well. To come from the United States to El Salvador after 16 years, that's the hardest part for me because most players have enough time playing together," Miranda said.

"I am trying to fit in as quickly as possible. Being in the selection is a great motivation to represent my country, this is something different. Any player would like to be here wearing the shirt of the country."

« Last Edit: February 01, 2009, 10:26:14 AM by kingman »

Re: El Salvador hopes stalled by FIFA
« Reply #71 on: February 01, 2009, 12:02:21 PM »
Many more will suffer ...

« Reply #72 on: February 01, 2009, 12:04:06 PM »

hmmmm ... lol

« Reply #73 on: February 01, 2009, 12:04:59 PM »
JW start waving he magic wand.  ;D

JW, Latas and the Dentist.....The Trinity

« Reply #74 on: February 01, 2009, 12:07:29 PM »

... but the Holy Grail is JW.

« Reply #75 on: February 01, 2009, 12:09:08 PM »

Ah nearly dead with dis one yes....  :rotfl:

« Reply #76 on: February 02, 2009, 11:33:53 AM »
Don't know if this means anything, but Stern's name wasn't mentioned in the following article.

THREE CITY PLAYERS CALLED UP
bcfc.co.uk

Three City players have been called up for international squads next week.

Jamie McAllister has retained his place in the Scotland squad for a training camp at St. Andrews - taking place between February 8th and 10th.

Goalkeeper Stephen Henderson is in the Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad for a friendly against Germany at Turner's Cross on Tuesday, February 10th.

And James Wilson - now fit after a knee injury - is in the Wales Under-21 squad for a friendly versus Northern Ireland, also on February 10th.

« Reply #77 on: February 02, 2009, 07:20:57 PM »
Not surprise cyah c Stern gettin call up 4 dis game. As 4 tv coverage somebody say sumting.

« Reply #78 on: February 02, 2009, 07:23:12 PM »
Don't know if this means anything, but Stern's name wasn't mentioned in the following article.

THREE CITY PLAYERS CALLED UP
bcfc.co.uk

Three City players have been called up for international squads next week.

Jamie McAllister has retained his place in the Scotland squad for a training camp at St. Andrews - taking place between February 8th and 10th.

Goalkeeper Stephen Henderson is in the Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad for a friendly against Germany at Turner's Cross on Tuesday, February 10th.

And James Wilson - now fit after a knee injury - is in the Wales Under-21 squad for a friendly versus Northern Ireland, also on February 10th.
maybe he eh get de text

Predict the 20 man squad for El Salvador
« Reply #79 on: February 03, 2009, 01:20:16 AM »
Here's the squad currently in Argentina:

Team for Argentina tour

Goalkeepers

1. Marvin Phillip-W Connection
2. Jan-Michael Williams-Ferencvárosi TC ( Hungary )

Defenders

3. Seon Power-Joe Public
4. Keyeno Thomas-Joe Public
5. Makan Hislop-United Petrotrin
6. Robert Primus-Clico San Juan Jabloteh
7. Andrei Pacheco-W Connection
8. Aklie Edwards-Defence Force

Midfielders

9. Clyde Leon-W Connection
10. Khaleem Hyland-Unattached
11. Osei Telesford-Puerto Rico Islanders
12. Anthony Wolfe-North East Stars
13. Keon Daniel-Unattached
14. Kevaughn Connell-Unattached
15. Densill Theobald-Caledonia AIA
16. Russell Latapy-Player/Coach
17. Trent Noel–Clico San Juan Jabloteh

Forwards

18. Errol McFarlane-Superstar Rangers
19. Kendall Jagdeosingh-Puerto Rico Islanders
20. Cornell Glen–Clico San Juan Jabloteh

The Foreign Based likely to be called up for El Salvador

Clayton Ince
Dennis Lawrence
Christopher Birchall
Dwight Yorke
Carlos Edwards
Kenwyne Jones
Stern John
Jason Scotland
Collin Samuel

That leaves 11 currently on tour in Argentina to make up the rest of the 20 man squad for El Salvador.  Who will they be?  My guess....

JM WIlliams
Keyeno Thomas
Seon Power
Makan Hislop
Akile Edwards
Robert Primus
Russel Latapy
Keon Daniel
Khaleem Hyland
Trent Noel?
Cornell Glen

Re: Predict the 20 man squad for El Salvador
« Reply #80 on: February 03, 2009, 01:22:29 AM »
Here's the squad currently in Argentina:

Team for Argentina tour

Goalkeepers

1. Marvin Phillip-W Connection
2. Jan-Michael Williams-Ferencvárosi TC ( Hungary )

Defenders

3. Seon Power-Joe Public
4. Keyeno Thomas-Joe Public
5. Makan Hislop-United Petrotrin
6. Robert Primus-Clico San Juan Jabloteh
7. Andrei Pacheco-W Connection
8. Aklie Edwards-Defence Force

Midfielders

9. Clyde Leon-W Connection
10. Khaleem Hyland-Unattached
11. Osei Telesford-Puerto Rico Islanders
12. Anthony Wolfe-North East Stars
13. Keon Daniel-Unattached
14. Kevaughn Connell-Unattached
15. Densill Theobald-Caledonia AIA
16. Russell Latapy-Player/Coach
17. Trent Noel–Clico San Juan Jabloteh

Forwards

18. Errol McFarlane-Superstar Rangers
19. Kendall Jagdeosingh-Puerto Rico Islanders
20. Cornell Glen–Clico San Juan Jabloteh

The Foreign Based likely to be called up for El Salvador

Clayton Ince
Dennis Lawrence
Christopher Birchall
Dwight Yorke
Carlos Edwards
Kenwyne Jones
Stern John
Jason Scotland
Collin Samuel
DARYL ROBERTS I fixed it for you.
That leaves 11 currently on tour in Argentina to make up the rest of the 20 man squad for El Salvador.  Who will they be?  My guess....

JM WIlliams
Keyeno Thomas
Seon Power
Makan Hislop
Akile Edwards
Robert Primus
Russel Latapy
Keon Daniel
Khaleem Hyland
Trent Noel?
Cornell Glen

« Reply #81 on: February 03, 2009, 01:32:20 AM »

You takin 5 strikers in a 20 man squad?

It have any team in de world does do dat?

Let's say they do take Daryl Roberts.  For him to do what exactly?  Scrub bench? 

I like Daryl Roberts.  Think he's a good hustler and player and would be happy for him if he were to get called up.  But I eh think he makin de cut. 

Hope for your sake and his..more yours..that he does.  I eh able wit de sulkin yuh go throw dong on de board if he don't.... ;D

« Reply #82 on: February 03, 2009, 01:38:32 AM »
You fixed it but spelled Darryl wrong (at least for how he spells it) ;D

« Reply #83 on: February 03, 2009, 01:44:55 AM »
You fixed it but spelled Darryl wrong (at least for how he spells it) ;D
Wham! like you have ah copy of his bith certifate or what?? how you know the man does spell his name wid two L ??!! stuueepppsss.

« Reply #84 on: February 03, 2009, 01:47:35 AM »

6, if you count Cornell (who most likely will be picked).

I eh think Samuel making it, though.

« Reply #85 on: February 03, 2009, 01:48:49 AM »

It have any team in de world does do dat?

Let's say they do take Daryl Roberts.  For him to do what exactly?  Scrub bench? 

I like Daryl Roberts.  Think he's a good hustler and player and would be happy for him if he were to get called up.  But I eh think he makin de cut. 

Hope for your sake and his..more yours..that he does.  I eh able wit de sulkin yuh go throw dong on de board if he don't.... ;D
Where's your logic boss?!! the team ain't pick yet so it's ah free for all @ the moment, who said scotty or stern have tuh get selected, that's your team , not latas and pancho's.

« Reply #86 on: February 03, 2009, 05:40:21 AM »
Didnt they specify how many foreign based players were going to be called up? wasnt the number eight?

Hyland not on the tour and from what i am hearing, Theobald is having a very good tour. 

Palos, you leave out clayton ince?............interesting!!

« Reply #87 on: February 03, 2009, 06:15:46 AM »
Allyuh feel allyuh could ramp wit de cobo? Allyuh eh want nutten ahtall. Big Magician, whey yuh?

More International Call-Ups
wrexhamafc.co.uk

FOLLOWING on the news of three players drafted into Wales U21 squad, comes another two international call-ups from Dean Saunders' team.

First Silvio Spann has been included by Trinidad & Tobago for the World Cup qualifier away to El Salvador, after he played against the US in their crucial victory over the Amercians.

That game will be played on 11 February in San Salvador, with Silvio heading back home on Sunday following our visit to Lewes.

Meanwhile, following in the footsteps of Darran Kempson and Carl Tremarco, is young midfielder Andy Fleming who has been noticed by England 'C' manager Paul Fairclough.

After his performances for Wrexham, Flemo has been put on standby for England's visit to Malta on 17 February.

Commenting on his squad selection, Fairclough told TheFA.com: "The fixture offers a great opportunity to blood a new generation of young players.

"With the final of the International Challenge Trophy against Belgium scheduled for May, the match against Malta will give previously uncapped players an opportunity to stake a claim for a place in the final," he continued.

"The squad that gained the vital point in Italy back in November that put us through to the final have continued to impress at club level and they are very much in the forefront for selection in May.

"However, as we did against Bosnia-Herzegovina last September, it is key to the development of this team that we continue to look for emerging talent.

"I am excited about the prospect of meeting up with this entirely new squad and am very confident that they will all seize the moment. The game against Malta cannot fail to have a real edge to it as these Young Lions look to mark my card."

« Reply #88 on: February 03, 2009, 06:17:02 AM »
How you pull Colin Samuel name out of a hat just so?  I guess that's Latas influence you banking on?  I see he already push for Spann call up like he did against de US.

Also I thought I read somewhere that Mats confirmed Hyland was in Belgium already and would not be called up for this game?  yea look it here as reported by Liburd

My 20-man squad:

Ince
Williams

Lawrence
Spann
A. Edwards
Thomas
Power
Hislop
Pacheco

Yorke
Birchall
C. Edwards
Daniel
Latapy
Leon
Theobald
Noel/Wolfe

KJ
Scotland
Glen
« Last Edit: February 03, 2009, 07:20:51 AM by arrow »

« Reply #89 on: February 03, 2009, 07:18:05 AM »
so Spann....well there we go...wha ah tell allyuh...good news as far as im concerned...
palos..hyland not in Argentina...but i guess dat doh mean he cant get called up...so