March 29, 2024, 01:18:22 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Honduras game (28-Mar-2009).  (Read 117746 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Honduras game (28-Mar-2009).
« on: December 03, 2008, 09:09:08 AM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifying game vs Honduras (March 28th, 17:00) in Trinidad will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

Possible Live Internet Links.

I95.5fm

105.1FM

Justin TV

$5.95 US on Omnisport live.

Livesoccertv

Soccernet

Possible TV Viewing.

Galavision. ?

Head to Head World Cup Battle

P  W  L  D  F  A
HON  5  2  1  2  7  5 
TRI  5  1  2  2  5  7

07-Oct-2001 - HON 0 v T&T 1 (Stern John 61), Estadío Olímpico Metropolitano.
16-Jun-2001 - T&T 2 (Russell Latapy 55, Stern John 90) v HON 4, Hasely Crawford Stadium.
13-Nov-1988 - HON 1 v T&T 1 (Hutson Charles 56), Estadío Francisco Morazán.
30-Oct-1988 - T&T 0 v HON 0, Queens Park Oval.
29-Nov-1973, HON 2 v T&T 1 (Steve David 61), Stade Sylvio Cator, Haiti

The Soca Warriors will meet the Hondurans on March 28, 2009 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain. Gates open at 4:00 pm and kick-off time is 7:00 pm EST. The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation has begun advertising tickets for sale through its 800-FANS number.

T&T Squad:

Goalkeepers
Jan Michael Williams (Ferencvarosi TC), Marvin Phillip (W Connection), Glenroy Samuel (Caledonia AIA).

Defenders
Keyeno Thomas (Joe Public FC), Dennis Lawrence (Crewe Alexandra), Makan Hislop (United Petrotrin), Aklie Edwards (Defence Force), Andrei Pacheco (W Connection).

Midfielders
Anthony Wolfe (Unattached), Trent Noel (San Juan Jabloteh), Keon Daniel (Unattached), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Khaleem Hyland (SV Zulte Waregem), Carlos Edwards (Sunderland), Ataullah Guerra (San Juan Jabloteh), Russell Latapy (Assistant Coach/Player).

Forwards
Jason Scotland (Swansea City), Stern John (Bristol City), Kenwyne Jones (Sunderland).

Honduras Squad/Age:

Goalkeepers
Noel Valladares (CD Olimpia/31), Júnior Morales (CD Platense/30), Ricardo Canales (CD Motagua/26).

Defenders
Erick Norales (CD Marathón/24), Samuel Caballero (Changchun Yatai/34), Nery Medina (Real España/27), Oscar Bonieck Garcia (CD Olimpia/24), Osman Chávez (CD Platense/24), Emilio Izaguirre (CD Motagua/22), Edgar Álvarez (Pisa Calcio/29), Maynor Figueroa (Wigan Athletic/25).

Midfielders
Amado Guevara (Toronto FC/32), Ramón Núñez (Puebla FC/23), Róger Espinoza (Kansas City Wizards/22), Mario Rodríguez (Real España/33), Wilson Palacios (Tottenham Hotspur F.C./24), Hendry Thomas (CD Olimpia/24), Danilo Turcios (CD Olimpia/30), Marvin Chávez (CD Marathón/25), Julio César de León (Parma F.C./29).

Forwards
Carlo Costly (Birmingham City/26), Carlos Pavón (Necaxa/35), Saúl Martínez (CD Marathón/33).
« Last Edit: March 28, 2009, 04:44:32 PM by Flex »

Birmingham sign Honduran striker
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2009, 06:51:24 AM »
Birmingham sign Honduran striker
BBC Sport

Birmingham have signed Honduras international striker Carlos Costly on loan until the end of the season.

The Championship side paid Poland outfit GKS Belchatow £500,000 for the temporary switch.

And the Blues have an option to make the 26-year-old's move permanent at the end of the campaign.

Boss Alex McLeish said: "Carlos has a smashing pedigree, especially with the Honduran team [Costly has scored six goals in 22 international matches]."

Costly began his career in Mexico and since joining Belchatow in 2007 he has scored 11 goals in 37 appearances.

McLeish added: "In recent times they have taken some fantastic scalps, including a result against Mexico, and Carlos is a key figure in the team.

"He is a target man-type striker who is hungry and has loads of bottle. He has channelled aggression and wants to get in where it hurts."

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Honduras game (28-Mar-2009).
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2009, 09:55:53 AM »
Rueda: We’re on the right track
(FIFA.com)

On the back of their national side's sparkling displays in reaching the North, Central America and Caribbean Zone's final six-team 'hexagonal' qualifying phase for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™, Honduran fans have high hopes their team can make it to their second FIFA World Cup finals.

One of the main men behind the Catrachos' encouraging form has been Colombian-born coach Reinaldo Rueda. Brought in initially to steady the Honduran ship, Rueda has also been able to reignite the hopes and dreams of a country that has not appeared on world football's biggest stage for 26 years. As the next step of this challenge draws closer, the experienced strategist took time out to speak to FIFA.com.

A team effort
Right from the off, Rueda made it clear that Honduras' revival is not just down to his own contribution. "It all started from the top, when the directors [of the Honduran Football Association] put a serious project into place. I was fortunate enough to take on this challenge and from that point on there was agreement between the various sectors," explained Rueda. "The squad has responded very well, as have the media, the directors and the fans and since then we've been enjoying a period of harmony."

"On the coaching side we've brought our experience to the mix, carrying out an educational process for the whole of Honduras' footballing society. We've put in place a series of behaviours, habits and rules regarding training methodology and work guidelines that weren't there before," he continued.

"It involved months of meetings, playing matches and mentally preparing the players, and that also needed to be communicated to and reflected by the directors, media and the fans."
Honduras is a Central American country and we're all very emotional here. We need to control that emotion, regulate that fervour, that effervescence and take steady steps.
Rueda on the secret to success for Honduras.

Not that Rueda is getting carried away with all the hype surrounding his team. "Honduras is a Central American country and we're all very emotional here. We need to control that emotion, regulate that fervour, that effervescence and take steady steps. We need to be certain about what we want if we are to move closer to our goal."

"We're all enjoying ourselves at the moment," said Rueda, lest one felt that the enthusiasm abounding in the streets of Honduras had passed him by. "We're on the right track but there are still nine months to go. It's a 'pregnancy' period that could see us reborn [on the world stage]."

Quality players
Among the Catracho faithful, there are many who feel that the current generation of players is the best in the country's history. Further proof of this lies in those men at big European clubs, such as David Suazo at Benfica or Wilson Palacios, Tottenham Hotspur's new £15m signing from Wigan Athletic.

"All these words of praise are meaningless if we don't reach the World Cup, so the best generation to date remains the one that reached Spain 1982. We just want to emulate them," said Rueda, preferring to err on the side of caution. "That said, there's no doubt that this (European success) helps Honduran players reach another dimension, to believe in their own ability and improve their self-esteem. It's all very positive."

Even in the absence of the foreign-based stars, Honduras have maintained their winning habit. They are currently involved in the Copa de la UNCAF (Central American Football Union), where they have reached the semi-finals. "We're having a good tournament. We had a 20-day get-together in the United States and that's being reflected in this good step forward. This is the basis of our squad, we just need to add those seven players who are in Mexico and Europe," said Rueda.

The main objective for Rueda and Honduras is of course qualifying from the region's Hexagonal group phase. Prior to the Catrachos' opening clash away to Costa Rica, the experienced tactician gave his view on the other teams taking part: "El Salvador have had a very serious project on the go for the last three years. Trinidad have [Francisco] 'Doctor' Maturana in charge. Costa Rica, meanwhile, have appeared at recent World Cups and have experienced players. Mexico are powerful thanks to their infrastructure and clubs, while the United States are well organised and have European-based players."

So, how does Rueda plan to come out ahead of such a fiercely competitive field? "It will all depend on how seriously we continue to approach the hexagonal. We need to concentrate fully for each match, take each game very seriously, and really study our weaknesses, our strengths and those of our rivals."

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2009, 10:02:30 AM »
I'll be there for that mate,watch out for meh and meh Soca Warriors Scarf.Licks fuh dem Honduran an dem.

Your 23 for Honduras and USA?
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2009, 01:32:22 PM »
Ince Dwight and Birchall all going to miss the home game vs Honduras...and they will be in the squad vs USA so let me hear your 23

Keepers:
Warner(as either the starter or bencher for the Honduras game)
Ince
Phillip

Defenders:
Gray
Spann
Lawrence
Thomas
James
Avery
Edwards

Mids:
Carlos
Birchall
Yorke
Hyland
Theobald
Noel
Daniel
Wolfe
Samuel

Strikers

Stern
Scotland
KJ
Glenn
Latapy

My starting 11 vs Honduras

--------------Warner

Gray----Lawrence---Thomas---Avery

Carlos----Noel---Theobald---Samuel

---------Stern-----Kenwyne

My starting 11 vs USA

-------------Ince

Gray-----Lawrence---Thomas---Avery

Carlos--Dwight---Birchall----Samuel
-------------Latapy
-------------KJ/John
« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 01:35:29 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

Re: Your 23 for Honduras and USA?
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2009, 01:34:40 PM »
heres my 11:

ince

spann          thomas         lawrence        gray

yorke

edwards             latas    birchall          daniel

jones

« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2009, 01:47:02 PM »
keep stern on de bench in eldo.

« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2009, 01:49:43 PM »
what's the deal with the card situation from last nite?

apparently cards carry over from the last round, so men missing the next match.
If Dwight didn't get the second yellow in the end, he mightve been missing the Honduras match anyways.

who playing and who out?

« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2009, 02:26:06 PM »
Ince Birchall and Yorke out v Honduras

« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2009, 02:40:47 PM »
Peeps leff out Sancho from dem squad?

Wheeeeyyyyyyyyssss........... :o 8)

« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2009, 02:46:00 PM »

Sancho figure it out now SM c d light as well.

« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2009, 02:56:03 PM »

Sancho figure it out now SM c d light as well.

Was de point picking him if Maturana not going too

If he went on the tour and got some fitness he would have came on for Thomas...i could have guaranteed that

« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2009, 03:09:42 PM »
Concentrate on Honduras first

Warner

Spann----Lawrence---Thomas---Edwards

Carlos----Noel---Daniel---Samuel

----Latas (orScotland)-----Kenwyne

« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2009, 03:24:43 PM »
ince/ williams/ phillips

defenders
john
gray
james
telesford
thomas
edwards                                                     hunduras

williams

telesford                   james          lawrence                avery                     
mids     
carlos
hyland                    carlos                    hyland            daniel                  whitley
daniel
whitley                                                          roberts
birchall                                                           jones
roberts
latas

forwards

KJ
scotty
glenn
john             
« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 03:30:32 PM by just cool »

« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2009, 03:25:38 PM »
Roberts cayr start no way before scotty... no way.... >:(

« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2009, 03:26:08 PM »
Jc where u hear Whitley coming back ?

« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2009, 03:32:40 PM »
Since when scotty is ah midfielder? breds it's 451, not 424, and roberts is in the midfield, not in the striking position.

« Reply #17 on: February 12, 2009, 03:37:16 PM »
Jc where u hear Whitley coming back ?
Wham fardder, yuh expect the man to stay injured forever? like yuh forgeting that yorke on a ban for the next game together with birchall.

who go play the clean up man role? like yuh can't see loen eh able or what!
who else could defend better than whitley in the midfield when he put his mind to it?

« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2009, 03:39:51 PM »
Scene scene.

« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2009, 04:27:32 PM »
--------------Phillip-----------
------Lawrence----James------
--Thomas--------------Avery--
------------Theobald----------
--Carlos---------------Daniel--
-------------Latapy-----------
----Scotland-------Jones------

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #20 on: February 12, 2009, 04:58:10 PM »
2 things:

1. When Spann had deflected a shot with his thigh and it hit his hand in de penalty area, de game literally stopped and everyone was waiting on de ref. to blow de whistle - real sad!!!

2. I saw a replay where we had a header on goal and it looked like it was handled out of de area from an el salvadorian defender, did anyone say dat or I was jes wishing in anger??
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #21 on: February 12, 2009, 04:58:25 PM »
Ah wonder if yuh know roberts have 7 goals already for the season, and as of a month ago he was top goal scorer in the turkish prem.

its real puzzling how peeps does over look this bredder continually, how come he doh get ah chance tuh throw away goals like the rest of our strikers, and he plays on a regular basis for his club.

ah bet all os yuhs will eat allyuh words when this yute is unleashed.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 05:01:49 PM by just cool »

« Reply #22 on: February 12, 2009, 05:03:14 PM »
--------------Phillip-----------
------Lawrence----James------
--Thomas--------------Avery--
------------Theobald----------
--Carlos---------------Daniel--
-------------Latapy-----------

If whitley is match fit he should play in theobald position  and put hyland in there also bring theobald in the second half ..... we have to play 5 in the middle...

« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2009, 05:41:41 PM »
The only cherries i want tuh see is in my fruit salad or in ah sexy panty, other than that i don't want to see no more cherries starting for we.

yuh think leon, hislop and aklie coulda make beenhakker roster!

i could deal with daniel and hyland , but what de fack is pancho doing with 1/2 of a rookie team.
daniel , hislop, A.edwards, loen , jagdoesingh,  hyland.

we need one or two on the team , and when we blowing out teams we bring them in to get some caps and experience, but where dem fellas playing out side the PFL to warrant them starting positions over fellas who playing and gaining experience in biggers leagues around the world where football is taken seriouly.

LISTEN PLEASE JACK !!! IF YUH KNOW WHAT GOOD FUH YOUR POCKET YOU WILL FIRE THIS CRAZY ASS COLUMBIAN NOW!!!!!

« Reply #24 on: February 12, 2009, 06:18:03 PM »
The only cherries i want tuh see is in my fruit salad or in ah sexy panty, other than that i don't want to see no more cherries starting for we.

yuh think leon, hislop and aklie coulda make beenhakker roster!

i could deal with daniel and hyland , but what de fack is pancho doing with 1/2 of a rookie team.
daniel , hislop, A.edwards, loen , jagdoesingh,  hyland.

we need one or two on the team , and when we blowing out teams we bring them in to get some caps and experience, but where dem fellas playing out side the PFL to warrant them starting positions over fellas who playing and gaining experience in biggers leagues around the world where football is taken seriouly.

LISTEN PLEASE JACK !!! IF YUH KNOW WHAT GOOD FUH YOUR POCKET YOU WILL FIRE THIS CRAZY ASS COLUMBIAN NOW!!!!!

for ah man who admit to missing most of the game last night watching US v Mexico instead, ah find yuh real pontificating.

for the record, Akile Edwards was good last night, and if yuh had take de time to watch de game yuh might ah see dat for yuhself.

And how come yuh eh blaming Latapy too. As assistant coach he eh due for a portion ah venom?

PS: De man name is Pacho!!!

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #25 on: February 13, 2009, 11:00:34 AM »
I was just thinking...Ince, Yorke, and Birchall will all be out for this game, and Honduras will be out for blood with the way they lost to Costa Rica, and 3 of their biggest players who could not play against C.R. (Palacios, Turcios, and Figueroa) are expected to suit up against us. I hope Mats is texting T. Warner, Whitley, Theobald, Roberts, James, or even Patterson as we speak!

Btw, are Roberts and James really worse in their respective positions than some of the men who were out there Wednesday? I bet that those two would be hungrier and more fit than all of our players were at the end of the ES game, as neither of them have worn the T&T colours for quite a while now.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #26 on: February 13, 2009, 11:05:21 AM »
who's out for the USA game?

« Reply #27 on: February 13, 2009, 11:33:07 AM »
Anyone know why Costly and Palacious did not play against Costa Rica.
I guessing Costly was dealing with his move

« Reply #28 on: February 13, 2009, 11:40:30 AM »
My line up for Honduras.

-----------Phillip-------------
------Lawrence----Thomas----
--James--------------Avery--
-----------Theobald----------
-C.Carlos-----------A.Edwards-
------------Latapy-----------

« Reply #29 on: February 13, 2009, 04:47:27 PM »
Does anyone know if yellow cards carry over from round to round?  If so Birchall and Ince will also be suspended for this one...but I don't think they do.