March 28, 2024, 02:36:53 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs USA game (01-Apr-2009).  (Read 188785 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA game (01-Apr-2009).
« Reply #540 on: March 31, 2009, 10:13:03 AM »
World Cup Qualifying Preview: USA vs Trinidad & Tobago
The USMNT plays host to Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday night in Nashville.
Mar 31, 2009 9:17:40 AM

Teams
Trinidad & Tobago
USA
Who: The United States vs. Trinidad and Tobago

What: World Cup 2010 qualifying, CONCACAF final round

When: 7:30 p.m. ET, Wednesday, April 1 2009

Where: LP Field; Nashville, Tennessee

TV: ESPN 2 and Galavision

By Noah Davis

Just four days after an inspired comeback against El Salvador salvaged a point for the United States Men's National Team, Bob Bradley leads his troops to Nashville, Tennessee for a match against Trinidad and Tobago. After two games in the final round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2010 World Cup, the Americans sit on four points, alone atop the six-team tournament, while their opponents have two after ties with the Cuscatlecos and Honduras. For the U.S., the tilt offers an opportunity to right the ship after what can only be considered a slip-up over the weekend. For T and T, it represents an opportunity to pull off the upset El Salvador couldn't. 

Déjà Vu All Over Again

While most teams in the region are familiar with each other, the U.S. and T and T are even more so, having played twice in the third round of CONCACAF qualifying as the duo both earned the right to represent Group 1 in the Hexagonal. The Americans won the first match, a 3-0 victory in Chicago, while the Soca Warriors handed an already qualified U.S. team its only defeat in the round on the return leg. Since it's early in qualifying and Bradley needs a win badly, Wednesday's affair should mimic the first game more than the second. That said, the El Salvador debacle proved there are no easy games -- a mantra the U.S. coach repeated ad nauseam yet one that still seemed to be lost on his players. 

"We Gotta Start Makin' Changes"

The failings over the weekend came from many different spots -- the entire U.S. team looked apathetic for the first hour -- but no one struggled more than Sacha Kljestan. It was his second poor performance in a row and it's becoming clear that he needs a bit more seasoning before being handed the keys to the American offense. On the other hand, Jose Francisco Torres changed the tenor of the El Salvador match when he entered, playing fearlessly and brilliantly. With the Pachua midfielder and old hat Pablo Mastroeni available, the likelihood of Kljestan seeing the pitch seems slim. On a similar note, one wonders whether Bradley will give Jonathan Bornstein -- who replaced goalkeeper Marcus Hahnemann in Nashville -- a start at left back in place of Heath Pearce, who also struggled in Central America. Or, will the U.S. manager give up on both of his underachieving fullbacks and slot DaMarcus Beasley at the position?

"Hit Me With Your Best Shot"

At this point in the tournament, the Soca Warriors have to feel good about their position. Had the team managed to hold a two-goal second half lead on the road in El Salvador, T and T would be tied with the U.S. for first place, but it remains a mere two points behind the Hex leaders. With Honduras stumbling out of the gate, while Mexico, Costa Rica, and Americans struggle as well, the World Cup spots are up for grabs in a way that not many would have predicted before the tournament began. The Caribbean nation has plenty of work to do, but a trip to South Africa isn't out of the question.

Projected U.S. Lineup

----------------------- Howard --------------------

Hedjuk -- Bocanegra -- Onyewu -- Bornstein

Dempsey ---- Bradley ---- Torres ---- Beasley

--------- Donovan -------------- Ching ----------

Projected Trinidad and Tobago Lineup

---------------------- Williams --------------------

Leon ------ Edwards ----- Thomas ------Wolfe

Daniel --- Edwards ---- Theobald --- Scotland

-------------- John ----------- Jones --------------

Goal.com prediction

United States 3-0 Trinidad and Tobago

« Reply #541 on: March 31, 2009, 10:27:19 AM »

« Reply #542 on: March 31, 2009, 10:28:05 AM »
What madness is that line up Noah Davis project dey...

I go stop complaining yes... It look why we could really do worse than Maturana  :o  :o

« Reply #543 on: March 31, 2009, 11:04:38 AM »
that el salvador draw still hurting , stueps  :-[

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #544 on: March 31, 2009, 11:12:29 AM »
what channel the game on?

« Reply #545 on: March 31, 2009, 11:25:59 AM »

So is not only me eh?

« Reply #546 on: March 31, 2009, 11:37:27 AM »
what channel the game on?
espn2 and fuh de bilingually gifted galavision.

« Reply #548 on: March 31, 2009, 11:48:01 AM »

So is not only me eh?

Doh worry..me too.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #549 on: March 31, 2009, 11:57:56 AM »
amm....any caribbean/west indian/ TnT restaurant in nashville?

« Reply #550 on: March 31, 2009, 11:59:49 AM »
Wear all black. Take one fuh de country in some heat....then it will all look like red, black and white.  :wavetowel:

« Reply #551 on: March 31, 2009, 12:13:32 PM »
World Cup Qualifying Preview: USA vs Trinidad & Tobago
The USMNT plays host to Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday night in Nashville.
Mar 31, 2009 9:17:40 AM

Teams
Trinidad & Tobago
USA
Who: The United States vs. Trinidad and Tobago

What: World Cup 2010 qualifying, CONCACAF final round

When: 7:30 p.m. ET, Wednesday, April 1 2009

Where: LP Field; Nashville, Tennessee

TV: ESPN 2 and Galavision

By Noah Davis

Just four days after an inspired comeback against El Salvador salvaged a point for the United States Men's National Team, Bob Bradley leads his troops to Nashville, Tennessee for a match against Trinidad and Tobago. After two games in the final round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2010 World Cup, the Americans sit on four points, alone atop the six-team tournament, while their opponents have two after ties with the Cuscatlecos and Honduras. For the U.S., the tilt offers an opportunity to right the ship after what can only be considered a slip-up over the weekend. For T and T, it represents an opportunity to pull off the upset El Salvador couldn't. 

Déjà Vu All Over Again

While most teams in the region are familiar with each other, the U.S. and T and T are even more so, having played twice in the third round of CONCACAF qualifying as the duo both earned the right to represent Group 1 in the Hexagonal. The Americans won the first match, a 3-0 victory in Chicago, while the Soca Warriors handed an already qualified U.S. team its only defeat in the round on the return leg. Since it's early in qualifying and Bradley needs a win badly, Wednesday's affair should mimic the first game more than the second. That said, the El Salvador debacle proved there are no easy games -- a mantra the U.S. coach repeated ad nauseam yet one that still seemed to be lost on his players. 

"We Gotta Start Makin' Changes"

The failings over the weekend came from many different spots -- the entire U.S. team looked apathetic for the first hour -- but no one struggled more than Sacha Kljestan. It was his second poor performance in a row and it's becoming clear that he needs a bit more seasoning before being handed the keys to the American offense. On the other hand, Jose Francisco Torres changed the tenor of the El Salvador match when he entered, playing fearlessly and brilliantly. With the Pachua midfielder and old hat Pablo Mastroeni available, the likelihood of Kljestan seeing the pitch seems slim. On a similar note, one wonders whether Bradley will give Jonathan Bornstein -- who replaced goalkeeper Marcus Hahnemann in Nashville -- a start at left back in place of Heath Pearce, who also struggled in Central America. Or, will the U.S. manager give up on both of his underachieving fullbacks and slot DaMarcus Beasley at the position?

"Hit Me With Your Best Shot"

At this point in the tournament, the Soca Warriors have to feel good about their position. Had the team managed to hold a two-goal second half lead on the road in El Salvador, T and T would be tied with the U.S. for first place, but it remains a mere two points behind the Hex leaders. With Honduras stumbling out of the gate, while Mexico, Costa Rica, and Americans struggle as well, the World Cup spots are up for grabs in a way that not many would have predicted before the tournament began. The Caribbean nation has plenty of work to do, but a trip to South Africa isn't out of the question.

Projected U.S. Lineup

----------------------- Howard --------------------

Hedjuk -- Bocanegra -- Onyewu -- Bornstein

Dempsey ---- Bradley ---- Torres ---- Beasley

--------- Donovan -------------- Ching ----------

Goal.com prediction

United States 3-0 Trinidad and Tobago

Arrogant and Clueless. Cause/Effect relationship here.

My Prediction. T&T 2-1United States
« Last Edit: March 31, 2009, 12:15:25 PM by Cocorite »

« Reply #552 on: March 31, 2009, 12:20:11 PM »
ah sorry but we need this win more than the states. fork dem

« Reply #553 on: March 31, 2009, 12:34:06 PM »
Section 117.  ;D

« Reply #554 on: March 31, 2009, 12:35:07 PM »
Let the praying begin... :praying:

« Reply #555 on: March 31, 2009, 12:37:13 PM »
Just spoke to one of the coaches. Fellas upbeat and relaxed. Have a 1 hour practice tonight at LP field. I think 6.30 or 7pm.

« Reply #556 on: March 31, 2009, 12:48:42 PM »
Section 117.  ;D

steups..

ah piece ah tustiness setting in..

feeling to run down nashville against all better judgement.

Ah think Brown Sugar have someting to do with this  :devil:

« Reply #557 on: March 31, 2009, 12:49:51 PM »
 :whistling:

« Reply #558 on: March 31, 2009, 12:50:26 PM »
Section 117.  ;D

steups..

nah, not Brownsugar...

is she bottle ah scotch i studying. lol

« Reply #559 on: March 31, 2009, 12:55:32 PM »
Section 117.  ;D

steups..

nah, not Brownsugar...

Ah hope for that trip yuh making when yuh get there the Scotch not on Guard.  ::)

« Reply #560 on: March 31, 2009, 12:57:38 PM »
Oh lord ah trying to log on de internet since last night.  But the internet by Ramada is pure stress....so ah find mih tail in Hard Rock Cafe to use their Wi Fi and as I walk een....is Patriot I see!!...

So after trying and trying ah finally log on....well Ramada Inn literally right in de Stadium Car Park so ah definitely going to see mih boys train this evening.....and for de record, IT FRIGGIN COLD!!....Imagine I take a taxi from de hotel to come by Hard Rock Cafe....and is a 10 min walk.....but not me papa...next thing I turn into ah icycle!!!...I even had to go and buy a Tennesse Titans sweat shirt to help out the one ah have on (granted this one ah have kinda thin).....

And ah collect mih ticket by de Stadium and some where between there and the hotel ah loss mih T&T bandana....steups!!!...

Oh and before ah forget...for the alcoholics...de Scotch ready and waiting and de coconut water under ice.... :cheers: :cheers:  ;D....

Elan check yuh PM....

So me and Patriot here chilling....later...

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #561 on: March 31, 2009, 01:01:15 PM »
Oh lord ah trying to log on de internet since last night.  But the internet by Ramada is pure stress....so ah find mih tail in Hard Rock Cafe to use their Wi Fi and as I walk een....is Patriot I see!!...

So after trying and trying ah finally log on....well Ramada Inn literally right in de Stadium Car Park so ah definitely going to see mih boys train this evening.....and for de record, IT FRIGGIN COLD!!....Imagine I take a taxi from de hotel to come by Hard Rock Cafe....and is a 10 min walk.....but not me papa...next thing I turn into ah icycle!!!...I even had to go and buy a Tennesse Titans sweat shirt to help out the one ah have on (granted this one ah have kinda thin).....

And ah collect mih ticket by de Stadium and some where between there and the hotel ah loss mih T&T bandana....steups!!!...

Oh and before ah forget...for the alcoholics...de Scotch ready and waiting and de coconut water under ice.... :cheers: :cheers:  ;D....

Elan check yuh PM....

No fear, i done have extra bandana for you  :beermug:
Take some pic if you can an let the boys know that we comin!!!!!!!!!!!  :beermug:
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #562 on: March 31, 2009, 01:06:04 PM »
Section 117.  ;D

steups..

nah, not Brownsugar...

<feigns being hurt> 
and all this time I thought it was all about me....*sigh*  ;D

« Reply #563 on: March 31, 2009, 01:11:48 PM »
Section 117.  ;D

steups..

nah, not Brownsugar...

Forumites,

Ah need some advice.  I was planning to buy 2 bottles of coconut water Sunday put dem to freeze and den pack dem bright and early Monday morning.

De next time ah goh have acess to a fridge is bout 7 - 8 pm Monday night.  I was telling ah friend of mine (Palos, option #1.... ;D) of my plans and was informed that it would spoil by Monday night.

Now I know that if its not stored properly, coconut water does spoil easy, easy but I figured if I put the procedure above in place I should be alright....
So wha all yuh think?

Ah doubt ah could buy coconut water in Tennessee.... :-\ and ah need mih coconut water with mih scotch...if not, plan B is level rum and coke.... ;D

ah tink ah fallin in love...  :-\

Ok ah believe ya  ;D

« Reply #564 on: March 31, 2009, 01:25:27 PM »

Elan check yuh PM....

yes girl it aint summer yet. and the stadium and city near the river and that alone those blow more cold breeze that way. Hopefully the team where there long sleeve kits.

Wed Apr 1 Sunny high 68°F low 46°f  ( 8°c) 0% chance of rain
« Last Edit: March 31, 2009, 01:32:44 PM by Babalawo »

« Reply #565 on: March 31, 2009, 02:10:11 PM »

Elan check yuh PM....

sounds like its gonna be a great time. lookin forward to patriot's report and brown sugar stay warm. Dont go and crytalize on we now! 

Roll call for T&T vs. USA
« Reply #566 on: March 31, 2009, 02:22:55 PM »
Ah could not resist and jus book my flight, ah coming with ah American pardner...

Reaching 9:08 tommorow and staying at the Hotel Indigo...

Re: Roll call for T&T vs. USA
« Reply #567 on: March 31, 2009, 02:29:50 PM »
yeh ah go be watching from work..

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #568 on: March 31, 2009, 02:33:19 PM »
Ah could not resist and jus book my flight, ah coming with ah American pardner...

Reaching 9:08 tommorow and staying at the Hotel Indigo...

Better late than never, reaching close to 2pm - Ramada
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #569 on: March 31, 2009, 02:34:03 PM »
I go be in Santa Cruz... what station bringing it, dred?