March 19, 2024, 12:35:45 AM

Author Topic: A few mountains have to be climbed .....  (Read 2017 times)

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
A few mountains have to be climbed .....
« on: June 10, 2009, 06:40:17 AM »
Any journey as we all know, must have its ups and downs and the same goes for qualifying for a FIFA World Cup.  It must be noted that few teams have smooth sailing all the way and those that appear to have, actually put in a lot of work and have done a few special things along the road.

Even Argentina and Brazil struggled in early qualifying this time around. Yet we must consider the fact that players on all the teams that eventually make it to the Finals had to pull off some big performances at times when all the odds seem to be against them.....THEY ALL HAD A FEW MOUNTAINS TO CLIMB...

Last time around the Soca Warriors had to beat a Quatemala team that had already hit them 5, and had to come from behind to win, they also had to beat Mexico, not to mention travel to Bahrain and win there. However, on all those occasions summounting the mountain that was before them required a little extra from the players, they had to dig deep for something special.....

This campaign is no different, the players will have to start producing "special performances" if we are to climb the mountains before us. The FIFA World Cup requires herculean efforts especially from teams that lack deep player pools such as T&T. It boils down to eleven against eleven, and each player must remember that putting on the Red, White, and Black is an honor that they must defend with everything they got. We must truly be WARRIORS and that is giving it everything then a little more. When you play for your country you are representing everything sacred about your birth place, Steelpan, calypso, tassa, Maracas Bay, Corn soup, doubles, the honor of yuh mudda and yuh fadda, and all yuh best childhood friends yuh grow up wid.

We were able to make it to Germany, proving that impossible was nothing! So yet again we have an opportunity to shock the world. Our players need to look at the mountains before us as opportunities for David to slay Goliath, as the underdog you have little pressure on you which can work in your favor.

So this post is meant to encourage our players to dig deep and find that special performance, to dig deep and climb that mountain that they face.

Doi! Doi! Doi! Latapy in ah d area...so vibes it up!

« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 06:56:12 AM by Saltanfresh »

Re: A few mountains have to be climbed .....
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2009, 06:43:02 AM »
nice post horse. hopefully we cud find a shock result in our favor today. three crucial points on the line today!! best of luck fellas!!! make us proud! :beermug:

Offline jimmel14

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2009, 06:56:27 AM »
nice read SF... nice read... Keep we spirits high.... Motivation comes in may forms..

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2009, 07:22:55 AM »
Nice read...Totally agree....Beat Mexico..Beat Mexico...Beat Mexico....

Offline trinimuse

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2009, 07:33:59 AM »
well said ...!  :applause:   :challenge: :applause:

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2009, 07:41:17 AM »
Nice vibes Saltan
T&T has to mature and learn to become able to handle high stakes competition without the fear of loss.
Daiz just life. Enjoy the opportunity.

Offline Mackie

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2009, 07:52:18 AM »
Even if we lose today things not dire ... Latas come in at a hard part of the campaign.. I looking ahaead to Sept .. All the best today still !