April 25, 2024, 05:33:55 AM

Author Topic: SW.NET - Forum Interview.  (Read 2407 times)

SW.NET - Forum Interview.
« on: April 07, 2009, 11:14:19 AM »
I got permission from Flex to do this and the top 4 replies will get published on the sw.net website. With Flex approval off course.     :angel:

Make it short and sweet and error free with a sensible reply.

1. What can T&T do to survive SA 2010.

2. Your favorite T&T club team.

3. Should Francisco Maturana get the axe.

4. Would it be wise to inject some under 20 talent on the senior team. And whom do you think is capable.

5. Should T&T under 20 team join the Pro League.

6. What preprations is needed for the under 20 team to be successful in Egypt.

7. Who do you feel is capable of getting T&T to SA 2010.

8. The worst T&T performance.

9. The best T&T performance.

10. How do you think will be the best way to prepare for our next set of games.

11. What style best suits T&T.

12. Which players you feel deserve a call up by T&T.

13. Pick you best 18 for T&T next set of WCQ games.

14. What do you feel is T&T biggest problems. Why do we continue to fail against USA especially who apart from their last game is very beatable. Why do we always struggle.

15. Is our footballers overated ? do we expect to much of them. Why cant they get the simple fundementals right (trapping, shooting, passing, marking, cloosing down space, controlling the box etc)

16. Out best player right now.

17. Who do you feel should get dropped from the T&T side.

18. Name your best footballers from the world, 1 per-position;

Country

Goalkeeper -

Defender -

Midfielder -

Forward -

Club

Goalkeeper -

Defender -

Midfielder -

Forward -
« Last Edit: April 07, 2009, 11:15:58 AM by Sam »

Offline sebro2

Re: SW.NET - Forum Interview.
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2009, 01:11:42 PM »
1. Recall Brent Sancho, Cyd Gray and Cornell Glenn.
2. San Juan Jabloteh, they keep breeding good, young players.
3. No.  Trinidad & Tobago can now make four passes without losing the ball.
4. Yes it is, to give the kids some experience at the top level. Leston Paul as a future captain and Sheldon Bateau     because we will need a defender soon.
5. No. It is a disrespect to the league.
6. More friendly matches against god opposition. Not like the senior team playing Guyana, they need to test themselves against teams like England and Spain.
7. As a coach- Terry Fenwick. Players- the best from the country sans politics.
8. Against USA in chicago.
9. Against USA in P.O.S.
10. There is not much different that the coach can do due to FIFA regulations except pick the best players.
11. Since our defence is the main problem a 4-5-1 with Scotland/Jones on top and Stern in the midfield.
12. Yohance Marshall and Kevon Villaroel.
13. Ince, Gray, Lawerence, Thomas, A. John, C. Edwards, Yorke, Birchall, S. John, Daniel, Scotland. Subs- Phillip, Spann, Hislop, Hyland, Latapy, Jones, Glenn.
14. The biggest probelm is our lack of heart, fight and commitment. We still react instead of act and are rarely first to the ball. As a team our fitness and our technical ability are no where near in comparison to the USA.
15. We do tend to overrate our players especially since most other teams in the hex are made up of players who compete at higher levels than ours, save Jones, Scotland, John and Yorke.
16. Carlos Edwards, the only attcking threat that we possess.
17. Akile Edwards, Clyde Leon and Anthony Wolfe.
18. Country
      Goalkeeper- Iker Casillas
      Defender- Lucio
      Midfielder- Ribery
      Forward- Messi
     Club
      Goalkeeper- Julio Cesar
      Defender- Vidic
      Midfielder- Gerrard
      Forward- Messi

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2009, 01:34:25 PM »

1. What can T&T do to survive SA 2010. Fire Mats, get a good coach in place. After Beenie, you never know who could be available.

2. Your favorite T&T club team. Jabloteh

3. Should Francisco Maturana get the axe. yes

4. Would it be wise to inject some under 20 talent on the senior team. And whom do you think is capable. Wingbacks. A creative midfielder should be training with the senior team (paul or joseph)

5. Should T&T under 20 team join the Pro League. Once the kinks are sorted, it is worth a try

6. What preprations is needed for the under 20 team to be successful in Egypt.International friendlies

7. Who do you feel is capable of getting T&T to SA 2010. Whoever we could afford that has a proven track record

8. The worst T&T performance.3-0 vs USA away squared  ;D

9. The best T&T performance. 1-1 vs the Guats at HCS

10. How do you think will be the best way to prepare for our next set of games. Reshape the entire side, start from scratch with all players who have a tnt passport available and get players who fit the system instead of fitting men in.

11. What style best suits T&T. 4-4-2

12. Which players you feel deserve a call up by T&T.Julius James for sure, doh know much about Yohance Marshall but him as well...and probably all defenders we have in the US should get a looksee at least.

13. Pick you best 18 for T&T next set of WCQ games. Ince, Phillip, James, Lawrence, Hislop, Marshall, Bateau, Thomas, Yorke, Birchall, Edwards, Hyland, Daniel, Noel, Glenn, Jones, Scotland, Roberts.

14. What do you feel is T&T biggest problems. Why do we continue to fail against USA especially who apart from their last game is very beatable. Why do we always struggle.Lack of organisation and footballers who are not match fit

15. Is our footballers overated ? do we expect to much of them. Why cant they get the simple fundementals right (trapping, shooting, passing, marking, cloosing down space, controlling the box etc)Not to me.

16. Out best player right now.Carlos Edwards

17. Who do you feel should get dropped from the T&T side.Akile Edwards: the weakest link, the opposition targets him on purpose(wolfe didn't ask to be rb)

Goalkeeper - Shay Given (the amount of shit side he is save from getting embarassed)

Defender - Vidic

Midfielder - Gerrard

Forward - Eto'o

Why would it change between club and country? Either they is the best or they not the best.

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2009, 01:57:09 PM »
Ah have a question Sam?  Best T&T performance EVER....or the best T&T performance within say the last 24 months..If the former, then it MUST be our 0-0 draw with Sweden

If the latter.....then ah goh tentatively say the 1-1 draw with Guatemala in HCS last year.....we played better than I had seen in a long time and had no right to draw....

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2009, 02:35:18 PM »
1.) The selection of the team needs to change, we need a head coach who knows who are the best players for their specific roles. One coach comes to mind who knows our players well, our brand of football and knows which players suit their specific position, that man is Stephan Hart, who should be named our next Head Coach.

2.) Has for the most part been jabloteh because of their approach to the local game and their management personnel who have taken them to the highest heights of local professional football.

3.) Maturana should get the axe because he has shown that his team selection for opponents such as the US who are among the best in our region, has been poor. His inability to select the right players for the right positions in key games has rendered him incapable to identify the best players to get the job done.

4.) It would be wise to inject u20 players who are ready for senior level football. There are a few players who come to mind, players such as Khaleem Hyland, Jamal Gay, Akeem Adams and Jerrol Britto. I think these players would benefit immensely from being among their senior counterparts. They need this exposure, we must also take into consideration that we are building for our future campaigns and these youths are ready for this grooming.

5.) Yes they should, i will give the players a chance to face stiffer competition and will make them a much more cohesive unit. It will be a valuable experience for the u20s to play against a much more experienced and skilled offense and defense.

6.) Preparation is very important in any youth world cup campaign or any world cup campaign for that matter. The first step would be to have the u20s play in the pro league; secondly we need them to play friendlies against opposition who play a similar brand to their opponents in the first round; thirdly a sports psychologist needs to be assigned to the team, to have them mentally prepared, along with being physically prepared for the conditions in Africa. A month long training camp needs to be done in conditions similar to that in Egypt, with the psychologist present to mentally prepare the youths for the pressure of playing at home to the host nation and other seasoned opposition.

7.) Stephan Hart, he coached Canada successfully in his short tenure with the team. The players respected him and he has served as technical director since. He has played football in T&T, he knows the players and brand of football we play locally. He has never stayed out of touch and has maintained his support for the national team. His knowledge and also his ability to identify talent is a quality we need presently, he is ready and willing with an undying passion for T&T football.

8.) The worst T&T performance currently was against the US in nashville, watching the game and seeing the lack of passion, heart, commitment and the fact that the team was not cohesive all attributed to this being their worst performance.

9.) Surprisngly, the best T&T performance currently was in el salvador, playing away and playing to a hostile crowd and a less than flattering away record to the aforementioned team, stood out to me as our best performance thus far. We played with heart and passion, our movement of the football was something to witness, along with our build up from the backline and our attacks on the wing, we played a very cohesive brand of football despite drawing the game.

10.) We need the FULL team together for more than a week or at least week before the match. We also need to finalize our head coaching change, along with the team selection, especially for our defenders. If we can get this in order, we can win the next set of games and assure us a passage to South Africa.

11.) This has been discussed many times over by many die hard supporters, some prefer the english brand of football. I however feel the south american short passing brand of football naturally suits our players, keeping in mind this must be complimented by a creative mid to conduct this brand of football.

12.) It depends on the coach and whether that particular player figures into the team strategy. This is a subjective question, which would lead to many different answers, it depends on the fan and their personal view. However, if you have a competent head coach who knows the players available to him and what they can do, this question would be irrelevent.

13.) Goalkeepers: Clayton Ince, Marvin Phillips

Defenders: Silvio Spann, Dennis Lawrence, Kenyo Thomas, Andrei Pacheco, Akeem Adams

Midfielders: Carlos Edwards, Russel Latapy, Chris Birchall, Dwight Yorke, Keon Daniel, Atuallah Guerra, Trent Noel

Strikers: Kenwyne Jones, Cornell Glen, Stern John, Darryl Roberts

14.) Our two major problems is building the attack from the back and our lack of creativity in the midfield. We need defenders who can pass and dribble, maintain possession and build the attack from our first third, linking with the midfield, without giving the ball away. Then we need a creative mid in the mold of Latapy who can create for our strikers. It would not be wise to play a 442 against the US because it would deplete our midfield which is our strength in attack and to maintain possession for long periods of time.

15.) Our football players are not overrated, we are simply selecting the wrong players to get the job done, on top of that we are playing players in positions they cannot succeed in because they are not capable of playing that particular position. Once the team selection gets sorted out we will not have this problem anymore.

16.) Currently I would have to say Carlos Edwards

17.) Anthony Wolfe, Akile Edwards, Jason Scotland and Denzil Theobald for their lack of performance thus far.

18.) goalkeeper - Edwin Van Der Sar

Defender - Lucio

Midfielder - Latapy

Forward - Robinho

club

Goalkeeper- Edwin van Der Sar

defender - cannavaro

midfielder - ronaldinho

forward - messi

« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2009, 03:41:51 PM »

T&T need to include in the team some more experience players. The players who are considered old are just as fit as the players we have now, but smarter and more dependable. We need to develop a game plan. The entire technical staff needs to meet and decide a course of action on how the team should play (tactics, style of play, etc) going into the next rounds.

Jabloteh. The organization, discipline, and professionalism is with out a doubt the best.

I think he should. Not because of results or lack thereof, but because it was never a good fit. I don't believe he was ever on his own in doing what he wanted with the team to make a sound judgement on his ability to manage at the international level.
4. Would it be wise to inject some under 20 talent on the senior team. And whom do you think is capable.
NO. We need all the help we can to go on and qualify for SA. WE can still get it done. Right coach and player selection will put the wheels back onto the wagon. We showed in El Salvador that it is in us, versus Honduras we got a result, and versus the USA - despite the dissmal showing - there were some insights into how to go about getting a result against the USA.
No. We do not want the players to get to involved in longterm competition that are result oriented in terms of securing points.
We need to focus on their technical ability, tactical awareness and play in tournaments. Enter tournaments around the world where the competition is high and start building towards Egypt. Getting the players accustom to tournament format is critical. In T&T there are hardly ever any tournaments. The mental and physical strength it takes to go through the rounds will be great so we need to start getting the players such experiences.

This is tough. You never now how a coach will work out in a new situation. What we need is for the technical staff of the TTFF to do their homework thoroughly when selecting a coach. Present a pool of players including the experience players and the idea of the TTFF in terms of style of play and get feedback from the new coach on what they (the coach) think maybe possible.

T&T vs Bermuda (pick one)

Versus Sweden. We showed that we have the ability to NOT LOSE a game.

We need to up the tempo in practice. The speed of play is to slow and at one speed. The players should be placed in a more rigourous training regime where more is demanded of them.

There is no one style. If you look at teams around the world they no longer play a particular "style" of football. Brazil knows when to sanmba and whne to go direct. We need to select a style of play that will bring success for our players versus their opponent.

Brent Sancho
Avery John
Cyd Gray
Julius James
Samuel
Kenwynne Jones
Jason Scotland
Cornell Glenn
Keon Daniel
Carlos Edwards
Dwight Yorke
Chris Birchall
Khaleem Hyland
Denzil Theobald
Colin Samuel
Trent Noel
Dennis Lawrence
Keyeno Thomas/Makan Hislop
Avery John
Brent Sancho
Cyd Gray
Clayton Ince
J. Michael Williams

14. What do you feel is T&T biggest problems. Why do we continue to fail against USA especially who apart from their last game is very beatable. Why do we always struggle.
We always struggle against the USA because we are to unorganized vs their very organized unit. You canot "wing it" versus teams like the USA. We alawys (like the Mexicans) underestimate the ability of USA. THey have players playing all over the world now who are more footballers that their predecessors. To beat the USA you have to beat them at their game.
15. Is our footballers overated ? do we expect to much of them. Why cant they get the simple fundementals right (trapping, shooting, passing, marking, cloosing down space, controlling the box etc)
Many of our footballers are overated. Not by their doing, but by the technical staff and the "fans". This is not saying that they don't have the ability, but most of them are not there yet. We strugggle with fundamentals, because 1) players are expected to know how to play to early in T&T, 2)Coaches are not updated on the latest methods and instructions on technique required to be successful in todays' game 3)Physically we need to pay attention to our fitness and strength. MOre emphasis must be placed on speed, agility and quickness.
Clayton Ince. If you are looking for a field player it would be difficult, as we don't have a player who plays consistenly for 90 minutes. Carlos Edwrads, Dennis Lawrence, Chris Birchall comes to mind as BETTER player on the team.

Clyde Leon, Akile Edwards, Wolfe. In an effort to assist them in polishing their skills for future selection.

Country

Goalkeeper - Casillas

Defender - Gattuso

Midfielder - Messi

Forward - Torres

Club

Goalkeeper - Petr Cech

Defender - Bosingwa

Midfielder -Messi

Forward - Drogba
« Last Edit: April 07, 2009, 03:49:38 PM by elan »

« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2009, 05:10:51 PM »
No body eh mention whitley! the man fit and playing regular for a club. allyuh mean tuh tell me that keon, hyland and birchall better than whitley in the midfield??! loud stuuueeepppssss!

that's why we losing to the U.S. so bad this rounds , BC we doh have no iron man like whitley, cyd, dog and avery tuh stamp their authority on the field! only ah set ah soft man rookies.

i believe that williams derserve ah place on the team too. IMO he better than ince, the only mistake he made was the one against honduras that resulted in ah goal.

williams, ince.
avery, cyd , lawrence , andrews ,james , marshall, telesford,
carlos, hyland, whitley, birchall, yorke, jagdoesingh.
roberts, jones, john.

these bredders i like as well , but the man said 18= phillips, latas, keon ,glenn hislop,farrier (sancho- who i don't think he will ever play again)
« Last Edit: April 07, 2009, 05:46:26 PM by just cool »

« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2009, 05:58:40 PM »
i think jagdoesingh should take the place of Keon until he find ah club. keon needs tuh play on ah higher level tuh develope into ah more disapline player. @ the moment he seems uniterested and doest care if he's there or not.

we need fellas who want to be there more than anything else, him and jones have ah real sh!tty attitude and should ride some pine tuh bring them back down to earth!

them boy feel they ireplacable! i think jaggy could replace either one of them, he have speed and dribbling skills, could be ah real good option on the left side as well as in the front.

they better doh get it twisted for one moment, they doh know waiting tuh take dey place. that's why ah hoping for ah coach like rikard who doh care bout big name players, if yuh snooze yuh lose with dem big name coach.

« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2009, 07:33:26 PM »
i think jagdoesingh should take the place of Keon until he find ah club. keon needs tuh play on ah higher level tuh develope into ah more disapline player. @ the moment he seems uniterested and doest care if he's there or not.

we need fellas who want to be there more than anything else, him and jones have ah real sh!tty attitude and should ride some pine tuh bring them back down to earth!

them boy feel they ireplacable! i think jaggy could replace either one of them, he have speed and dribbling skills, could be ah real good option on the left side as well as in the front.

they better doh get it twisted for one moment, they doh know waiting tuh take dey place. that's why ah hoping for ah coach like rikard who doh care bout big name players, if yuh snooze yuh lose with dem big name coach.

his name came to my mind during when i was writing, i think he is a good option, however i dont know how well he can cross with his left ???

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2009, 10:09:39 PM »
1. What can T&T do to survive SA 2010?.  survive SA 2010?  We have to qualify first.  To do this we have to adapt the same style that Greece used when they won the 2004 Eurocup. Stifling tight aggressive defense and quick flawless counter attacks .  Of course we need to select the right players to accomplish this

2. Your favorite T&T club team? Jabloteh....specifically the Jabloteh team that beat Chicago With a cornel Glen Hattrick

3. Should Francisco Maturana get the axe? He should be replaced only if we have a very high quality replacement who is willing to take up the challenge. This replacement should be somebody new and not one of our past national coaches

4. Would it be wise to inject some under 20 talent on the senior team. And whom do you think is capable?  Its always a good idea to gradually bring in the younger players into the team so that there is a smooth transiton into senior level football. Right now the team needs aggressive, confident and fearless ball winners.  If there is someone on the under 20-squad that fits this discription, I say bring him in.

5. Should T&T under 20 team join the Pro League?   Yes of course! Regular competion is good for building team chemistry

6. What preprations is needed for the under 20 team to be successful in Egypt? I think a few practice games against our national senior team along with high intensity fitness training would be a good start.  A strong focus on executing offensive set plays as well as defending against set plays would also be good.

7. Who do you feel is capable of getting T&T to SA 2010?Otto Rehhagel

8. The worst T&T performance?    Its a tie between the two 3-0 losses to the usa in the usa during this qualifying campaign.

9. The best T&T performance?  The draw with sweeden in the 2006 world cup.

10. what is the best way to prepare for our next set of games?  Analyze the opposition and plan a stategy that is appropriate.  Use the players who are best able to execute the specific strategy.  Motivate the players to be agressive ball winners.

11. What style best suits T&T? The same style that was used against Sweeden in 2006.

12. Which players you feel deserve a call up by T&T?  Osi telesford, Daryl Roberts and a recall for cornel Glen.

13. Pick you best 18 for T&T next set of WCQ games.? The current team but with the three players mentioned above replacing Akile Edwards, Keon Daniel and Clyde Leon.  (no offense to these guys)

14. What do you feel is T&T biggest problems. Why do we continue to fail against USA especially who apart from their last game is very beatable. Why do we always struggleI think we need to play aggressive man to man defense against teams like the USA.  All of our players need to develop an aggressive ball winning attitude.  Thats the way USA plays us. Even back in the 90's Alexi Lalas  stuck to Yorke like glue.  We need to play them the same way they play us.

15. Are our footballers overated ? do we expect to much of them. Why cant they get the simple fundementals right (trapping, shooting, passing, marking, cloosing down space, controlling the box etc)    For a small country we have a large amount of talented players and I don't think they are over-rated. Its the responsibility of the coach and his technical staff to use the right players in the right way to get the desired result. Its more of a human resource management problem than a player resource problem

16. Out best player right now. In my opinion its a tie between Dwight Yorke, Carlos edwards and Russel Latapy.

17. Who do you feel should get dropped from the T&T side? Nobody.  The players should be selected and excluded depending on the strategy being employed for the particular game. Nobody on the current squad should be dropped out right. They can be dropped for a particular game but should not be dropped for the entire qualifying series. I would say exclude Akile edwards and Keon Daniel anytime we play against the USA.

Country

Goalkeeper - Van der sar (holland)

Defender - Vidic (where ever he from)

Midfielder - Ronaldo (portugal)

Forward - Messi (Argentina)

Club

Goalkeeper - Tim Howard (everton)

Defender - Vidic (man-u)

Midfielder - Gerrard (liverpool)

Forward - Van Persie (Arsenel)
« Last Edit: April 07, 2009, 10:44:27 PM by fatimarima »

« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2009, 10:20:55 PM »
2. Your favorite T&T club team? Jabloteh....specifically the Jabloteh team that beat Chicago With a cornel Glen Hattrick

De same team dat colleck 4 in de return leg & get KTFO de competition a week later?

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2009, 10:46:50 PM »

De same team dat colleck 4 in de return leg & get KTFO de competition a week later?

Yip..that same team

« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2009, 11:00:28 PM »

his name came to my mind during when i was writing, i think he is a good option, however i dont know how well he can cross with his left ???
Breds the man is ah left footer! and does play on the left.

« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2009, 09:54:01 AM »
Get serious, get organized, get a better coach, preparations is the key. We also need to do our home work on opponents, pick inform players and play players in their rightful positions. Maturana also gets me when he call certain players give them a few caps, drop players without any explanation and then in de end call back the same players he dropped who hasn't play a game in a few months and unattached. In other words, he taking forever to settle a team. Maturana guess to much and use important games to experiment.

I would have chosen W Connection because they are from south, but too many foreigners on they team. So I would pick Jabloteh because Fenwick has an All-Star T&T youth side who beating nuff teams.

By all means, go right ahead, he is past his best. Ask Costa Rica, Equador and Peru.

Yes. Robert Primus, Sheldon Beatau, Akeem Adams, Sean DeSilva and Leston Paul.

No. It would interfair with the league fixtures and the team preparations. T&T needs to play international football against "top teams". Next season would be good to join them in the league though.

T&T needs to play international football against "top teams. They need to eat right and do weight lifting to build size and speed. Fitness and mental strength is needed.

Leo Beenhakker. The Dutch system was best for us. Or Terry Fenwick.

Against USA in Nashville. The one in Chicago cannot compare because we were missing a lot of our players but in Nashville we had almost a full team and played with no heart and determination.

Against Mexico in Trinidad, 2-1 win ... (2005 WCQ).

We have to play at least 4/5 international games and at least 3 of those games against top international teams. Try to get the foreign based to play in a friendly or two also.

4-4-2

Julius James, Yohance Marshall, Avery John, Noel Williams, Michael Edwards, Ancil Farrier, Elton John, Devon Jamerson and Andre Boucaud.

Ince, Phillip (GK), James, A.John, Lawrence, Thomas, Pacheco (D), Latapy, Daniel, Yorke, Edwards, Peltier, Hyland, Birchall (M), S.John, Jones, Glen, Roberts (F).

We need to be more organized, not fall for mental traps and our biggest problems, we never fit and always under prepared.

15. Is our footballers overrated ? do we expect to much of them. Why cant they get the simple fundamentals right (trapping, shooting, passing, marking, closing down space, controlling the box etc).
We definitely lacking the basic fundamentals. Imagine Kenwyne Jones cant even trap a ball nor run with it at his feet.

Carlos Edwards.

Nobody, keep the current players, maybe all will not get pick, but keep them training on the side. Anthony Wolfe and Aklie Edwards (LW) if used in the right positions they will do much better I'm sure.

Country and Club

Goalkeeper - Petr Cech

Defender - John Terry

Midfielder - Cristiano Ronaldo

Forward - Lionel Messi
« Last Edit: April 08, 2009, 09:58:48 AM by Sando »

« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2009, 02:32:16 PM »
We need a new coach first and foremost. Once that is sorted out, the team selection needs to be revamped because we have players out there that don’t deserve to be on this team. Also, we need to restructure our training regiment because too many of our players are unfit and unclear as to their roles on the field. Finally, the players have to change their attitude while representing the National team. Play with a lot more heart and passion as a team!

I played for Joe Public so it hurting me to say Jabloteh. They have been one of the more consistent teams in the pro league, led by an excellent coach in Terry Fenwick (once his temper is in check).

YES!!! I’m not sure why we even taking this long to get that part of the puzzle done. A no brainer!!

I think it’s a good practice to develop, once the players warrant a call up to the senior team. Too many times you see young players get called up and you wondering why were they even there. From what I have seen, Hyland deserves his spot there currently, also Leston Paul and Jamal Gay should be included.

No. Those players do not need to be exposed to that kind of competition at this stage. They need to be focused on player development, which is actually hurting the senior team right now.

They need to be exposed to the top level teams of their age group and play them on a regular basis between now and the World Cup. I would also suggest a training camp in similar conditions as to what they will experience in Egypt.

My first choice would be Terry Fenwick, since he has first hand knowledge of the players and our culture. More so our culture because we as a people are different and it will take any “new” coach coming in sometime to adapt to our way of life. Outside of Fenwick, I like the option of Stephen Hart.
A toss up between the loss to Bermuda in Trinidad and that performance in Nashville.

When we beat Mexico in Port-of-Spain 1-0 on a dynamic Russell Latapy goal.

Situational training. It seems to me that the team is clueless as to how to play given any situation on a game to game basis. For example, we were 2 goals up in El Salvador and gave up that lead to tie the game. What was the game plan playing 2 goals up? What was the formation, playing style? As a matter of fact, what is our playing philosophy? Are we a counter attacking team? Are we a defensive team? Are we an attacking team? Where are our strong points in attack, the middle or the flanks? These are questions that need to be addressed in training and it’s the only way we can efficiently prepare for the upcoming games.

That would depend on our playing philosophy. Once we develop that then we can have an idea what that is. Quite frankly, national teams playing one system of football is becoming outdated as you have to adjust to the given situation that confronts you.

Brent Sancho, Julius James, Kendall Jagdeosingh, Trent Noel, Cornell Glenn, Daryl Roberts.

Ince, Phillip, Lawrence, Sancho, James, Hislop, Thomas, Hyland, Yorke, Latapy, Carlos, Birchall, Whitley, Samuel, Roberts, Glenn, Stern, Jagdeosingh.

Lack of discipline. Discipline in terms of executing the game plan and every player holding themselves responsible for their role in the bigger picture. Lack of organization. When playing a team that’s as organized as the American team, anything short of what they are doing will show up big time. Lack of fitness. The American team is one of the fittest if not one of the fastest out there. We must be in top match fitness to be able to compete with them, especially defensively down the flanks.

I wouldn’t say they are overrated per say, but the “starboy” mentality that is inbreeded in them at the SSFL level is killing these players. Before they have accomplished anything in their lives they are rated as great players by their coaches and media. As a result, they figure that they don’t need to learn about the game and further themselves technically. Look at Dwight, the best thing that could have happened to him was to go to Aston Villa at the age he was at. Before we placed that “starboy” burden on him and it being in his face on a daily basis, he was in England being told he not there yet and he was in an environment where he had to do better and be better, which in turn elevated his game. Compare him to Keon Daniel, who is already rated as this special player locally, yet still he can’t even hold down a professional contract.

For country it has to be Carlos Edwards, followed closely by Chris Birchall and Clayton Ince.

Akile Edwards (please Jesus), Keon Daniel, Clyde Leon, Wolfe, Kenwyne Jones (until he can regain his confidence and his touch), and reluctantly Scotland. Only reason I say Scotland is because we have other strikers out there who need a shot. The current crop isn’t producing. I kept Stern because we need an experienced striker and he is still doing good things (in spurts) on the field.

Country

Goalkeeper – Julio Caesar   

Defender – Lucio   

Midfielder - Kaka

Forward – David Silva

Club

Goalkeeper - Cech

Defender - Vidic

Midfielder - Messi

Forward -Torres
« Last Edit: April 08, 2009, 02:48:25 PM by fordy »

« Reply #15 on: April 08, 2009, 03:06:34 PM »

Breds the man is ah left footer! and does play on the left.

he plays forward and central midfield from my memory, cant ever remember him playing left wing, i know he can beat with his both feet, yuh learn something new everyday ;D