March 28, 2024, 08:04:39 PM

Author Topic: Zola, Keane, Ince....  (Read 1398 times)

Zola, Keane, Ince....
« on: December 08, 2008, 09:12:27 PM »
All excellent players, and charismatic footballing icons in their own right- struggling in the manager's seat- jobs on the line.

Meanwhile you have Phil Brown & Tony Pulis overachieving with Hull City & Stoke respectively.  Jury still out on whether or not these teams have the muscle to maintain momentum, but  the unanimous opinion is that their management is exemplary.

How do these facts (thus far) feature in the recent debate about whether or not experience is a key ingredient to coaching success?

Then of course yuh have Pep Guardiola  ;D

« Last Edit: December 08, 2008, 09:15:49 PM by kicker »

Re: Zola, Keane, Ince....
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2008, 09:31:45 PM »
you could throw in Schuster (Real) and Tony Adams (Portsmouth) to that mix as well.
Klinsman is you want to blow the discussion wide open.

« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2008, 10:02:30 PM »
you could throw in Schuster (Real) and Tony Adams (Portsmouth) to that mix as well.

Would say all the above, except Klinsman.  The players needed to get used to his coaching methods.  He is not of the typical German or European mold, as he has incorporated many American aspects into his coaching philosophy.  He is known to use American fitness coaches, for example.  Bayern are about to cook in the second half of the season.  With some of the other guys (Adams and Zola in particular) there is much more going on that is flowing onto the playing pitch.  Both West Ham and Portsmouth are in financial difficulties, and the managers know that their jobs are not guaranteed, as both clubs could change ownership.  Both guys also need more time.  Adams hasn't even been manager for 10 games.  He has managed before, but this is a different level.  You are being a bit too hasty in judging him, if you ask me.

« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2008, 10:25:43 PM »

Schuster has had great success with first Xerez and then Levante and Getafe in Spain... comparable to what Phil Brown and Pulis pulling off... so take out Schuster one time... he experienced!

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2008, 04:10:41 AM »
It probably comes down to experience imho, Pulis has been a manager for nearly 20 years, Brown has been around the block and has experience of the Prem with Bolton.  Both teams will be around teh relegation mark come the end of the season, Hull have come out all guns blazing but have also carried a bit of deserved luck but I don't think it will hold all season, but only needs to for another 2 months.  Strange season, strange results January signings or lack of them may be more important than ever this season, teams look like they will need more than the normal points to survive so the league maybe more interesting for longer than normal this season.

« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2008, 06:28:50 AM »
Guardiola get a whole season as asst. coach in the Barca setup and to run riot with the B team. They groom him and didn't just throw him into the hot seat like the other guys u mentioned. In fact, i believe he was in the Barca coaching setup since he retire. Same thing with Mourinho...he learn in the Barca setup for years before he went out on his own.

« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2008, 08:32:22 AM »
Too many factors to consider, including quality of the squad.

I'm guessing it's not too dissimilar to being a player. Some players mature more slowly and experience plays a huge part in their rise to prominence (Luca Toni). Others come out the blocks hot and surpass their older counterparts who've seen it all from day one (Rooney). All in all...experience doesn't hurt, even though there is always the risk of getting stuck in one's (outdated) ways.

You probably don't need experience to be successful..but I'm sure every coach will say they are wiser and more prepared from their experiences...even if the results don't necessarily show it all the time.

« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2008, 12:52:11 PM »
some of these guys don't know how to play with de cards they are dealt.