March 29, 2024, 05:58:37 AM

Author Topic: U-20 Selection policy ( d best)  (Read 2037 times)

Offline Gladman

U-20 Selection policy ( d best)
« on: December 10, 2008, 07:31:51 AM »
After the U 17 WC i got the impression tht everybody would  remained to elevate to the U 20 level ,from my observation alot of players we absent from the team during the super league season noticebly Robert Primus and Kevin Molino both who had outstanding seasons for club and school respectively. Jus wonder y these guys not on d SVG trip as they could add to the team .Again another example of suspect selection policy.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2008, 08:08:59 AM by Tallman »
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

Re: U-20 Selection policy ( d best)
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 09:03:16 AM »
After the U 17 WC i got the impression tht everybody would  remained to elevate to the U 20 level ,from my observation alot of players we absent from the team during the super league season noticebly Robert Primus and Kevin Molino both who had outstanding seasons for club and school respectively. Jus wonder y these guys not on d SVG trip as they could add to the team .Again another example of suspect selection policy.

molino choose to play for his school, the rest of the under 17 squad was given an opportunity to train with the under20 and they also added players based on the 2007 SSFL season who were too old for the Under 17 team.

Offline Gladman

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 09:43:01 AM »
Even though molino choose to play 4 his school dey should draft him bac into the team

Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2008, 06:29:30 PM »
Molino I hope Intercol champ was worth it.

Offline pops

« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2008, 01:44:52 PM »
Players Called for under 20 games

1.Akeem Adams
2.Andre Marchan
3.Andre Quashie
4.Aubrey David
5.Curtis Gonzales
6.Daneil Cyrus
7.Glenroy Samuel
8.Jamal Bevon Gay
9.Jean-luc Rochford
10.Juma Jamal Clarance
11.Leston Paul
12.Marcus Joseph
13.Marvin Manswell
14.Mekeil Williams
15.Nicholas Walker
16.Sheldon Bateau
17.Trent Lougheed
18Uriah Bentick

Other Players within the pool , many are who at college

1.Kevin Molino     Mucurapo , Jabloteh       
2.Sherron Joseph   Ma Pau
3.Kyle Bethel         Duke
4.Nicholas De Leon   University of Las Vagas
5Deon Cuffie Joseph   High Point University
6.Sean De Silva   College of Charlston
7.Josh Du Coudray   High Point University
8.Jesse Fullerton   Florida International University
9.Hakeem King   University of South Carloina Upstate
10.Stephen Knox   Boston University
11.Javed Mohammed   University of South Florida
12.Ryan O’Neil   James Madison University
13.Dane Roberts    Furman University     
14.Chike Sullivan  Colorado School of Mines
15.Craig Wilson     Montreat College
16.Robert Primus    Jabloteh
17.Joel Russel    Jabloteah
18.Aaron Manaud    Notre Dame
19.Khaleem Hyland  Senior Team
20.Zerron Forte   Anderson College
21.Micha Lewis St Anthony’s , Jablotea

I think this second team will give the first team a tight game
possible line up

Jesse Fullerton   

Javed Mohammed            Robert Primus                 Ryan O’Neil                     Aaron Manaud

Sherron Joseph              Khaleem Hyland              Kevin Molino                Dane Roberts

Kyle Bethel         Stephen Knox
« Last Edit: December 12, 2008, 02:07:42 PM by pops »

« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2008, 02:50:33 PM »
is it really that realistic to think that a team will stay together?
don't different players peak at different ages etc?
i'm sure they're many youth national players from england, brazil, argentina, spain etc etc who never make the move up

« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2008, 03:05:59 PM »
so was there a "punisment" for playing SSFL ??

check POPS post...check all the players playing for some team except of course fat over weight cacahole advice taker Hyland

« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2008, 03:18:38 PM »
so was there a "punisment" for playing SSFL ??

check POPS post...check all the players playing for some team except of course fat over weight cacahole advice taker Hyland

I think Vranes/TTFF giving bly to the U-20 youths that put the bulk of their energy into the super-league this year. Molino place on this team no longer guaranteed as he was not (as far as I know) part of the super league efforts and he could be out of favour with the new coach.

« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2008, 03:31:08 PM »
bly for WCQ ??..ok

« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2008, 03:42:21 PM »
Gladman..if it is really only 2 players that were on the Under 17s that not on the current Under 20s..then that is remarkable. One should expect the team to change far more than that.

I have little knowledge of the situation, but if a player chooses to play for his school..while others chose to play with the Under 20s, it is highly likely he would get dropped..at least in the short term..and not because of retribution or bad mind, but because the coach may have found one or two players for his position who he works with daily and who the coach trusts. The new player or players  will know the system and may have better chemistry than Molino.

I really doh know. Not saying that is necessarily the case, but maybe something to keep in mind before we start the conspiracy theories

« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2008, 04:17:23 PM »
bly for WCQ ??..ok

Why not? You know how it does go in T&T....I personally think its just that some players that stayed in SSFL will have to displace other players already established in the coaches mind as having proven themselves in the super league. Remember Vranes don't know them like Corneal, so they can't just pick up where they left off.