April 25, 2024, 05:21:47 AM

Author Topic: Funny Football Club Names  (Read 7661 times)

Funny Football Club Names
« on: December 10, 2008, 08:11:26 AM »
Funny Football Club Names
By Rob Parker (soccerlens.com)

Most of us would swear we were watching 11 Wankas wandering around the park on a Saturday, but for fans of the world’s best known funny named team that definitely is the case. Peru’s Deportivo Wanka have developed a cult following, and some not unwelcome UK merchandise sales, on the basis of their name. One club official said: “It is very strange. Everyone in Britain seems to think we have a funny name.”

The club is named after the Wankas people who lived in the region but, perhaps understandably, were not introduced alongside the Incas in your primary school history lesson.

Staying with the theme, Swiss outfit Young Boys Berne have created an equal amount of masturbation-related jokes over the years. Being named after what sounds like a euphemism for a teenage medical condition is bad enough, but when you consider the side used to play at the Wankdorf Stadium the situation worsens a little for the team’s followers. There were probably not too many complaints when they moved to the less controversial Stade de Suisse in 2005.

Earlier this year, Roman Abramovich was apparently eager to splurge (I believe that is the correct verb) some of his billions on little known Zimbabwean outfit Wankie FC. Quite what he thought they were going to add to his footballing empire is not clear, but the fact the current owners are also in charge of a nearby coalmine probably holds the key.

Before we attempt to leave the filth behind we must mention Indonesia’s wonderfully onomatopoeic Semen Padang who, as far as we know, sadly never ran out of the tunnel at Wankdorf Stadium.

Moving swiftly on from teenage boys’ bedroom habits to their bathroom habits, and an Argentinian club that sounds like a piece of toilet wall graffiti. Chaco For Ever is the most humorous of a host of Argentine teams with English names, albeit forever is incorrectly spelt as two words. Newells Old Boys are arguably the most famous Argentine club with a distinctly British moniker.

The animal kingdom is also a useful source of funny football club names. Africa in particular is home to hundreds of mildly amusing creature-inspired clubs, so we are going to stick to the very pinnacle of this genre. Firstly, we have Sierra Leone’s Golf Leopards, which conjures up a wonderful image of a big cat in plus fours but on the surface has very little to do with football. Out of Barbados we have the Insurance Management Bears who succeed in sounding both depressingly boring and fiercely aggressive at the same time, like a footballing Russell Crowe.

And continuing the strange juxtaposition of aggressive animals and unusual images, we have the Playtime Tigers from Bahamas. Presumably depending on their mood either they turn up and maul you or else just chase each other round the pitch. And what do you do with your freshly mauled tiger victims? Pack them straight off to Botswana where the Botswana Meat Commission FC will take care of things as only they know how.

Which brings us neatly to that particular African country. Botswana, Botswana, Botswana – surely the Promised Land of funny football club names. In addition to the Meat Commission you can also expect to find Naughty Boys, Killer Giants, Golden Bush, Man Machine, Home Sweepers, and the shaving advert-esque Triple Action. And a host of other mildly amusing outfits.

Our next section of team names want to be intimidating but went a bit too far in their attempts to convey this. This particularly phenomenon appears to have its epicentre in Bolivia, which can boast The Strongest, Destroyers and Always Ready within its league. It would be interesting to hear the coach of Always Ready trying to play the old leave the opposition waiting on the pitch trick. How can you delay the kick-off when you are Always Ready? Their Argentinian neighbours are a little more self-deprecating and offer us Deportivo Moron instead!

So before concluding this rundown of football’s funniest club names it is probably worth doing a final sweep of Africa to pick up the last few odds and ends. Hearts of Oak are another of those well-known funny club names. However, if you were in Malawi on the lookout for shops selling giant ammunition you would think a trip to Total Big Bullets would be a good idea. Sadly you would arrive to find a football stadium and not a gun in sight. Another misleading name is Zimbabwe’s Motor Action whose players sound like they might be battery-powered. The more astute reader might have realised that this throws up the occasional Motor Action-Wankie crunch match! We finish with King Faisal Babies of Ghana. Hardly intimidating, the team sound like they might have been plucked from the local crèche. Good job they have a menacing nickname to make amends then – the Nokia boys.

Funny club names are in the eye of the beholder, of course. One man’s Deportivo Wanka is another man’s Leeds United (although that particular name has become funny in recent seasons too). But if you call yourselves Joe Public like the Trinidad and Tobago outfit then you are pretty much guaranteeing universal appeal!

25 Funniest Football Club Names:

1. Deportivo Wanka
   2. Young Boys Berne
   3. Joe Public
   4. Botswana Meat Commission FC
   5. King Faisal Babies
   6. Chaco For Ever
   7. Playtime Tigers
   8. Semen Padang
   9. Insurance Management Bears
  10. Killer Giants
  11. Golden Bush
  12. Man Machine
  13. Triple Action
  14. Home Sweepers
  15. The Strongest
  16. Naughty Boys
  17. Always Ready
  18. Destroyers
  19. Deportivo Moron
  20. Hearts of Oak
  21. Golf Leopard
  22. Wankie FC
  23. Newells Old Boys
  24. Total Big Bullets
  25. Motor Action

Re: Funny Football Club Names
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 08:45:49 AM »
i play against a side in one of the local atlanta leagues called:

When Fat Guys Attack

they was good and beat we.

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 08:51:54 AM »
They left out Colo-Colo  ;D
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colo-Colo

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2008, 08:53:42 AM »
I used to sweat with a squad called Rapid Lokomotiv

Duly named after the fact that some fellas liked Rapid Vienna and others liked Lokomotiv Moscow... the moniker's excuse was "a very fast train" but it was a nice way to pay homage to two of football's finest teams...
« Last Edit: December 11, 2008, 07:59:54 AM by kaisocagoals »
a minute in football is a very long time...

« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2008, 10:48:56 AM »
Mandingo from de mayaro league

« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2008, 12:28:09 PM »
My Brethrin and dem had a fete match team name "Ah Shit Side."
Ting is dey was real dangerous and used to share licks.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline Trin

« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2008, 02:03:52 PM »
Docks Kwalas
Jabloteh

what do those words even mean

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2008, 02:12:59 PM »
they put "the strongest" in their list (#15)? i always thought that was a rell bess name for ah team.

« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2008, 02:24:59 PM »
Docks Kwalas
Jabloteh

what do those words even mean

A Jabloteh is an oilbird (http://www.jablotehfc.com/places.aspx):
Through its name of the Club identified itself with one of the national birds of the country – the Oil or Devil Bird-which lives in the Aripo Caves.  Originally, the French settlers called the Bird: Les Diables Oiseaux which were translated by the local settlers into Diablotin and finally Jabloteh.

Doc's refers to Doc's Engineering Group of Companies. Me eh know about de Khelwalaas part. Ah wonder if it have anyting to do wit de scorpion in de logo. lol.

« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2008, 02:29:36 PM »
T&T should have more entries on this list.  crab connection for starters.

I always thought 'House of Dread' was a real strong name.

« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2008, 04:31:50 PM »
Some names I remember in TT

Savannah Boys - Curepe
Ball Jumbies  - Curepe
Under the Shop - Curepe
Dingle Boys -  Arima
Fat Boys United - Aranguez
Searchers - Sando
Green street Cavaliers - Tunapuna
Saddle Boys - Saddle road San juan- Coops use to play for them
PIS - play it simple (a small goal side I use to play with in Gonzalez)
Spitfire - La Brea. I really like that name. "it use to strike fear in the oppents"
Greyhound Dovers - Sando. I like that name also.
Badger hurricanes - Sando
Milan - Sando
Via Madrid - Sunday morning team from St. Joseph

Bajacks - rugby team
Vigilantes - Track & field team from Success laventille.

From Africa
Dangerous Darkies  - SA
Beer Drinkers Club  -  SA

« Reply #11 on: December 10, 2008, 06:18:49 PM »

Mandingo is a tribe from africa. Slaves were brought from there and contrary to what history said, these guys were literate and could've read and write as they possessed and reproduced scripts of Quranic verses as they were Muslims. They were the first to bring islam to the Caribbean - not really the east indians.

Some may remember that in the times gone by in trinidad that some hindus used to call muslims (indian and african) - Madingas. They used this in term in a derogatory manner. Anyhow they adapted the name from Mandingo tribe.

--------------------------------

According to Omar Hasan Kasule's report, Muslims in Trinidad and Tobago, slaves were first brought to work Trinidad's sugar plantations around 1777, and by 1802 they numbered nearly 20,000.

"In the 1830s, a community of Mandingo Muslims who had been captured from Senegal lived in Port-of-Spain," Kasule wrote. "They were literate in Arabic and organized themselves under a forceful leader named Muhammad Beth, who had purchased his freedom from slavery. They kept their Islamic identity and always yearned to go back to Africa."

But, unlike the Indian arrivals, most black slaves Had no continuing contact with their homeland and could not sustain their Islamic faith.

http://www.saudiaramcoworld.com/issue/198706/muslims.in.the.caribbean.htm
« Last Edit: December 10, 2008, 06:20:24 PM by sammy »

« Reply #12 on: December 10, 2008, 07:01:11 PM »
Two fete match sides I's vibes with when in Trini...

CIDI (Cold In De Ice)

UEFA (Under Excessive & Frequent Alcohol)

I sense a trend  :heehee:

« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2008, 10:03:28 AM »
What about a UWI side called AYM? Ever hear about it? if you doh know what the letters stand for...

Ask Yuh Mudda !!

« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2008, 10:45:22 AM »
What abt ....Athletico Rehab...

« Reply #15 on: December 11, 2008, 01:05:06 PM »

Mandingo is a tribe from africa. Slaves were brought from there and contrary to what history said, these guys were literate and could've read and write as they possessed and reproduced scripts of Quranic verses as they were Muslims. They were the first to bring islam to the Caribbean - not really the east indians.

Some may remember that in the times gone by in trinidad that some hindus used to call muslims (indian and african) - Madingas. They used this in term in a derogatory manner. Anyhow they adapted the name from Mandingo tribe.

--------------------------------

According to Omar Hasan Kasule's report, Muslims in Trinidad and Tobago, slaves were first brought to work Trinidad's sugar plantations around 1777, and by 1802 they numbered nearly 20,000.

"In the 1830s, a community of Mandingo Muslims who had been captured from Senegal lived in Port-of-Spain," Kasule wrote. "They were literate in Arabic and organized themselves under a forceful leader named Muhammad Beth, who had purchased his freedom from slavery. They kept their Islamic identity and always yearned to go back to Africa."

But, unlike the Indian arrivals, most black slaves Had no continuing contact with their homeland and could not sustain their Islamic faith.

http://www.saudiaramcoworld.com/issue/198706/muslims.in.the.caribbean.htm

Now MANDINGO is a porn star with a 15" dick.

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #16 on: December 11, 2008, 06:10:06 PM »
ent it have a side in T&T name strugglers FC and the does struggle?

« Reply #17 on: December 11, 2008, 06:41:13 PM »

« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2014, 06:28:41 AM »
I always found "Concerned Parents and Teachers Association Football Club" in Antigua strangely amusing :p

« Reply #20 on: February 07, 2014, 06:33:46 AM »

« Reply #21 on: February 07, 2014, 06:41:56 AM »
Crab Connection was de worst.

http://www.socawarriors.net/league/league-news/national-super-league/4552-tat-u-20s-hammer-crab-connection-14-0.html

Where them now?

Hah you know them and W Connection are the only clubs in the World that I know of with "connection" in their names :p They were still playing Super League in 2011. If they still play they're probably a fete team.

Offline Thomo

« Reply #22 on: February 07, 2014, 12:50:36 PM »
There was one in Argyle, Tobago called "For the Sweat".