April 27, 2024, 04:02:44 AM

Author Topic: *AHEM* Real Madrid v. Zenit  (Read 1682 times)

*AHEM* Real Madrid v. Zenit
« on: December 10, 2008, 03:43:34 PM »
3-0 Madrid

Commanding performance.

Barcelona...ye be warned. Things don't look as rosy for you now as they once did.

Metzelder finally played today second half; he did quite well.

Robben was very good, as was Raul and Higuain...actually, the whole team played well!

Re: *AHEM* Real Madrid v. Zenit
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 03:52:50 PM »
nice performance but zenit aint barca!!! :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 04:36:26 PM »

True- this is no litmus test for the clasico, but with all the turmoil in the Madrid camp, they needed a win going into the weekend.  It will bode very well for their confidence/morale...so I'm thrilled that they did the business today (as inconsequential as it may have appeared).

I see Barca lost yesterday- I didn't check the report or anything but my guess is that they either put out a B squad, or just strolled through the motions (or both) in lieu of the contest on Saturday.

Both teams seemed to have done what is necessary leading up to the clash....

p.s. Was JR in charge of Madrid today?

« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2008, 04:41:00 PM »
3-0 Madrid

Commanding performance.

Barcelona...ye be warned. Things don't look as rosy for you now as they once did.

Robben was very good, as was Raul and Higuain...actually, the whole team played well!

Teams normally get a TEMPORARY lift in performance whenever a coaching change is made (unless yuh name Toronto Raptors) but then tend to boil back down to exhibit the same fundamental weaknesses they were demonstrating all along that caused the coach to be dismissed in the first place.

« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2008, 05:10:56 PM »

Teams normally get a TEMPORARY lift in performance whenever a coaching change is made (unless yuh name Toronto Raptors) but then tend to boil back down to exhibit the same fundamental weaknesses they were demonstrating all along that caused the coach to be dismissed in the first place.

That's if the fundamental weakness was unrelated to the old coach/coaching staff...Unless yuh saying that every team that fires its coach is doing so just for the temporary lift in form...

But I hear you there's no way that JR has improved the squad other than a mental boost if anything at all- but I wouldn't necessarily write off his ability to make some positive, more-than-temporary improvements....time will tell I suppose.

Madrid beat Zenit 2-0 on the road (though they were given a torrid time)....3-0 at home should be par for the course.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2008, 05:28:51 PM by kicker »

« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2008, 05:25:15 PM »
3-0 Madrid

Commanding performance.

'Temporary' lift? Please, we're talking about Madrid here, not lame ass Barca.

« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2008, 05:55:42 PM »
Zenith was horrible .

-Yes JR was in charge.

nice goals by Roben and Raul, though i thought that robben got a lucky bounce just as he chipped the ball.

« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2008, 06:11:53 PM »
real needed that to lift some spirits and some confidence.

« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2008, 06:16:29 PM »
:applause: :applause:

*AHEM* Real Madrid v. Zenit
Toppa, here use this for that tickle in ya throat
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.