April 27, 2024, 11:04:01 AM

Author Topic: Best Big Men in the Game  (Read 9705 times)

Re: Best Big Men in the Game
« Reply #30 on: December 15, 2008, 01:19:54 PM »

If Ronaldo or Kaka kill a ball dead or display some skill you wouldn't find somebody thinking, or saying that "they have a good touch for a big man". Might be semantics but once yuh statr including normal players you really making a list of "the best players"

Point well taken.

I surprised nobody eh pull Peter Crouch out they ass yet. 

YaYa Toure is a BEAST!  Excellent BIG MAN player.  Dah man is viewed as a defensive midfielder but I see he hit some Real man some shake dey....holee....de man jes good sah.  Probably de bess defensive mid in de game today.

He teammate Eider Gudjonsen is a nex big man who performin excellently dis season in de midfield role.

« Reply #31 on: December 15, 2008, 01:25:06 PM »

If Ronaldo or Kaka kill a ball dead or display some skill you wouldn't find somebody thinking, or saying that "they have a good touch for a big man". Might be semantics but once yuh statr including normal players you really making a list of "the best players"

Point well taken.

YaYa Toure is a BEAST!  Excellent BIG MAN player.  Dah man is viewed as a defensive midfielder but I see he hit some Real man some shake dey....holee....de man jes good sah.  Probably de bess defensive mid in de game today.

He teammate Eider Gudjonsen is a nex big man who performin excellently dis season in de midfield role.

after all dat talk about who is a big man you gone and call Gudjonsen?

« Reply #32 on: December 15, 2008, 01:25:34 PM »

Point well taken.

ah will endorse yuh yaya toure point...one of de best right now!!! your eidur talk...ah will go kinda easy on that one. he has had some good games this season, but he play realll shit in the classico. ah was so glad when i saw guardiola take him off!! :beermug:

« Reply #33 on: December 15, 2008, 01:28:03 PM »

Point well taken.

ah will endorse yuh yaya toure point...one of de best right now!!! your eidur talk...ah will go kinda easy on that one. he has had some good games this season, but he play realll shit in the classico. ah was so glad when i saw guardiola take him off!! :beermug:

de iceman play nice in de first half. toots himself in the 2nd

« Reply #34 on: December 15, 2008, 01:29:23 PM »

Point well taken.

de iceman play nice in de first half. toots himself in the 2nd

i agree. and by de way he aint no big man palos!! :beermug:

« Reply #35 on: December 15, 2008, 01:32:42 PM »
definitely KJ. what about koller? still a good player in my mind. give him service and he'll execute.

« Reply #36 on: December 15, 2008, 01:34:46 PM »
So how nobody eh call Drogba name.

What about Michael Ballack?

« Reply #37 on: December 15, 2008, 01:35:22 PM »
Kaka eh big, he just tall...

I going with the lateral definition of big.

who say Robert Prosinecki?

« Reply #38 on: December 15, 2008, 01:37:17 PM »

He is the shittiest man in Barcelona. Real lala.

« Reply #39 on: December 15, 2008, 01:39:41 PM »

Lemmeh guess.  He doh spanner men and ting ent?

« Reply #40 on: December 15, 2008, 01:40:12 PM »

Oleguer retire or leave ah wha? ah thought he was a Barca for life?

« Reply #41 on: December 15, 2008, 01:58:42 PM »

Gudjonsen is woefully out of his depth at this level. One just needs to watch a full strength Barcelona team to see that he is shit and does pull real stones in the middle.

Henry-------Eto'o-------Messi
Xavi------Gudjonsen-----Yaya

Who is the shit snake dey??

They run that long time, he playing with Ajax.

« Reply #42 on: December 15, 2008, 02:21:22 PM »

Gudjonsen is woefully out of his depth at this level. One just needs to watch a full strength Barcelona team to see that he is shit and does pull real stones in the middle.

A full strength Barca team?

Who he "replacin"?

How come he play every game dis season if is NOT a full strength Barca team?

Because de man fulfillin a particular role...a role dat NOT glamorous...but NECESSARY....de man is a shit snake?

Yuh tink Pepe feel he is a shit snake to be playin him every game?

« Reply #43 on: December 15, 2008, 02:52:47 PM »

A full strength Barca team?

Who he "replacin"?

How come he play every game dis season if is NOT a full strength Barca team?

Because de man fulfillin a particular role...a role dat NOT glamorous...but NECESSARY....de man is a shit snake?

Yuh tink Pepe feel he is a shit snake to be playin him every game?

Gudjonsen's only started 5 of Barca's 15 league games. Maybe you haven't seen Barca much this season, but Busquets, who replaced Gudjonsen has played alot more. I feel Eidur get the nod based on experience. Also, you forget Iniesta is injured. He is 'fit' again, but the iceman doh start in front of that when he match fit. I hadda disagree with meh Barca bretheren dey, de fella is not shi*. In fact, I find on his day he does handle it. But Gudjonsen is not a starter in dis squad. He getting a regular sweat, but when Barca drop dey full strength team out dey, he sitting on de bench.

« Reply #44 on: December 15, 2008, 03:20:07 PM »
Chinapoo!!!!!!

« Reply #45 on: December 15, 2008, 03:26:01 PM »

I hadda disagree with meh Barca bretheren dey, de fella is not shi*. In fact, I find on his day he does handle it. But Gudjonsen is not a starter in dis squad. He getting a regular sweat, but when Barca drop dey full strength team out dey, he sitting on de bench.

Aight, maybe shit is too strong of a word.

He is baby tutu, nice and sorf with no wholeness to it.

He definitely eh starting in front of Andres and if Busquets continues to improve then Eidur's time is coming to an end in Barca. Not to mention his father was a former Barca player and is now on the coaching staff.

« Reply #46 on: December 15, 2008, 04:04:44 PM »
But Gudjonsen is not a starter in dis squad. He getting a regular sweat, but when Barca drop dey full strength team out dey, he sitting on de bench.

So it wasn't a full strength team dat Barca play against Real?  And pepe jes ketch a vpas and feel like playin "under strength" Gudjonsen ahead of "full strength" Busquets jes so ent?  ::)

« Reply #47 on: December 15, 2008, 04:07:14 PM »
winston hackett

« Reply #48 on: December 15, 2008, 04:14:29 PM »
Jan Koller is my favourite "big man" player. He has control grace and agility combined with all the traditional tools in big man skill set.

Stefan Effenberg was a heart and soul player with good technical ability too. Damn good player full stop.

Gary McAllister- You have to give the Scot he props. I always liked this player.

Khalilou Fadiga from Senegal is another player who struck me with his skill and power. Unfortunately he had heart problems.

John Carew is another player I respect.  

« Reply #49 on: December 15, 2008, 04:17:22 PM »
Pointman,
               I agree Winty was real good, but he was short. About 5 9. Gerald Home and Robbie Francis were taller than him.

Offline PIMP

« Reply #50 on: December 15, 2008, 04:45:21 PM »
zlatan and kaka

« Reply #51 on: December 15, 2008, 04:46:31 PM »
But Gudjonsen is not a starter in dis squad. He getting a regular sweat, but when Barca drop dey full strength team out dey, he sitting on de bench.

So it wasn't a full strength team dat Barca play against Real?  And pepe jes ketch a vpas and feel like playin "under strength" Gudjonsen ahead of "full strength" Busquets jes so ent?  ::)

Doh make me laugh. Go back and read what you said and my response. Dis real flecking simple: Yuh ask who de Iceman replacing? Yuh say he starts every match. So yuh talk reaaaalllll shit dere. I know you eh mean it literally, but Gudjohnsen fit and only start 1/3 of all league matches played. If anything, you could say Busquets starting 'every' game. Dat was my point....why yuh eh come back and admit you talk toots dey.

NEXT...

NOPE. It was not a full strength Barca. I never said Pep should have started Busquets before the iceman. In fact I even gave a reason why Pep might have started Eidur before Busquets given the fact that he tends to start Busquets over Eidur most times. I have no doubt Pep started his strongest availiable 11 for that particular opponent. BUT INIESTA was not playing. He has started 'every game' for Barca and was one of their best players until he got hurt. Now none of us are Pep. But the most common sense conclusion based on the season thus far, is that Iniesta is an integral part of Barca best 11.

de man name is Pep

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #52 on: December 15, 2008, 04:48:37 PM »
Papa Bouba Diop...

He jus unlucky to never sign for a big side...

Locally, Lawrence is a "big" big player... :beermug:
a minute in football is a very long time...

« Reply #53 on: December 15, 2008, 04:52:40 PM »

de man name is Pep

Allyuh pitch marbles??

de man name is Josep!

« Reply #54 on: December 15, 2008, 06:13:21 PM »
Karl Heize, Drogba (when he not playing the arse) Benzema, Kempes, Chow  ;D

« Reply #55 on: December 15, 2008, 06:18:18 PM »
Agree with all de names mentioned so far...add to that list:

Kanu...one of Nigeria's best ever
Roque Santa Cruz is 6'2" ... probably one of the best EPL bargains
Ali Daei ..Iranian goal machine
Julio Cruz at 6'3" ...somehow always scoring needed goals for Inter

« Reply #56 on: December 15, 2008, 06:38:36 PM »
Klinsman

« Reply #57 on: December 15, 2008, 06:47:05 PM »

Do you think if Iniesta was healthy and match fit that Gudjonsen was starting??

« Reply #58 on: December 15, 2008, 08:14:19 PM »
men eh call rivaldo yet

« Reply #59 on: December 15, 2008, 08:20:25 PM »