April 28, 2024, 12:31:09 AM

Author Topic: Most Underrated Players in European football?  (Read 4889 times)

Most Underrated Players in European football?
« on: December 15, 2008, 10:01:37 PM »
I'll start with my list of underrated EPL players:

Tom Huddlestone
Ji-Sung Park
Craig Bellamy
Stephen Ireland
Gaby Agbonlahor

You can either post your list separately... or copy and paste and keep one list going.

Men who follow La Liga and Serie A more closely could feel free to post their lists as well.

Re: Most Underrated Players in European football?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2008, 10:29:07 PM »
I'll agree with Park & Ireland.

Huddlestone- jury still out on him- hot & cold...still real young too

Bellamy- highly rated at one point, pace to burn but injuries always kinda got in his way-slowly becoming a journeyman

Gaby- His recent nat'l team selections (though only getting playing time once I believe) reflect that his efforts aren't going unnoticed..

My pick

Lavezzi- Napoli (should be playing for a top team- amazing player- Surprisingly I haven't heard noise about him from a top team given the approach of the January window- maybe I just haven't heard it)

Offline Gladman

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2008, 06:33:33 AM »
Shaun Wright Phillips (Man City)
Shunsuke Nakamura  (Celtic)
Ji sung Park  (manu)
Jimmy Bullard Fulham)
Steven Ireland (man city)
Nihat Kahveci  (villareal)
David Silva ( valencia)
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2008, 11:04:41 AM »
I'll agree with Park & Ireland.

Huddlestone- jury still out on him- hot & cold...still real young too

Bellamy- highly rated at one point, pace to burn but injuries always kinda got in his way-slowly becoming a journeyman

Gaby- His recent nat'l team selections (though only getting playing time once I believe) reflect that his efforts aren't going unnoticed..

My pick

Lavezzi- Napoli (should be playing for a top team- amazing player- Surprisingly I haven't heard noise about him from a top team given the approach of the January window- maybe I just haven't heard it)

Huddlestone- I think his development as a player is being stunted by what's on the field around him... but I believe him to be one of the best passing midfielders in English football right now.  His vision and the quality of his passes... perfectly weighted... is really something to behold.

Agbonlahor- having a break-out season of sorts... more and more he's emerging as the target man on that Villa squad

-------

Gladman... Nakamura is a good name.  I dunno if he's underated as much as it is folks just don't hear enough about him, he's a very good player.

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2008, 11:47:03 AM »
Shaun Wright Phillips (Man City)
Shunsuke Nakamura  (Celtic)
Ji sung Park  (manu)
Jimmy Bullard Fulham)
Steven Ireland (man city)
Nihat Kahveci  (villareal)
David Silva ( valencia)

nah man yuh cyah add david silva tuh dah list...he's no way near underrated
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2008, 11:48:08 AM »
EPL

Jimmy Bullard - Fulham
Ashley Young - Aston Villa
Roque Santa Cruz - Blackburn Rovers
Antonio Valencia - Wigan
Jose Gutierrez - Newcastle
Daniel De Ridder - Wigan

Spain, La Liga, Bundesliga, Serie A, Ligue 1.....almost everybody because few people here does follow dem Leagues.

My overall pick would be Lyon's Benzema.

« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2008, 11:54:16 AM »
Huddlestone- I think his development as a player is being stunted by what's on the field around him... but I believe him to be one of the best passing midfielders in English football right now.  His vision and the quality of his passes... perfectly weighted... is really something to behold.

I like Huddlestone.  Good player if not a bit overrated IMO.  He strikes the ball well...no doubt.  But Fulham's Jimmy Bullard for me is a better footballer and strikes the ball at least as well if not better than Huddlestone.

« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2008, 12:19:34 PM »
Dat list real long, but my favorites are:

Lavezzi (Napoli / Argentina)
Hamsik (Napoli / Slovakia)
Yeste (At. Bilbao / Spain)
Jesus Navas (Sevilla / Spain)
Granero (Getafe / Spain)

Yeste is a flecking general. Only one cap for Spain and didn't even sweat. Criminal.

« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2008, 12:24:50 PM »
what you all mean by underrated ? for instance Gaby Agbonlahor playing for a team in 4th and playing for England now so you all mean players who people dont talk about much ?

« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2008, 12:39:01 PM »

Granero (Getafe / Spain)

Yeste is a flecking general. Only one cap for Spain and didn't even sweat. Criminal.

Yuh call some big players dey.  Yeste and Navas is Pressha!

Meh padnah tell meh Navas had Maxwell of Real Madrid fuh breakfast, lunch, and dinner 2 weekends ago. 

A nex underrated one is Real Madrid's Gago.  Excellent player dat!

« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2008, 12:46:04 PM »
what you all mean by underrated ? for instance Gaby Agbonlahor playing for a team in 4th and playing for England now so you all mean players who people dont talk about much ?

Nah, talking about players who don't get mention on the level that they deserve.   As I stated earlier... Agbonlahor is having a break-out season and with the stats he's garnering more attention but he's been flying below the radar for some time now, even though the ability has always been there.  True you can't be "rated" until you start doing something, but even now I doubt many rate him high in the EPL.

Before ah fuhget... kudos to Filho fuh de inspiration (Ji-Sung Park thread)  :beermug:

Palos like yuh ent see how Huddlestone stop Pavlychenko wind Saturday or what?  :rotfl:  but nah, I could watch dat man pass de ball whole day dred.

« Reply #11 on: December 16, 2008, 12:48:42 PM »

Before ah fuhget... kudos to Filho fuh de inspiration (Ji-Sung Park thread)  :beermug:

That was my thread lol...

You're welcome all the same  :D

« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2008, 01:30:15 PM »

That was my thread lol...

You're welcome all the same  :D

Lol  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Yuh see why it good tuh check and double check yuh work before handing it in  ;D

« Reply #13 on: December 16, 2008, 01:30:24 PM »
Anelka

One of the best strikers of this generation but I feel he doh get the props for it. Maybe is attitude, but that man is quality

« Reply #14 on: December 16, 2008, 01:54:20 PM »

Nah, talking about players who don't get mention on the level that they deserve.   As I stated earlier... Agbonlahor is having a break-out season and with the stats he's garnering more attention but he's been flying below the radar for some time now, even though the ability has always been there.  True you can't be "rated" until you start doing something, but even now I doubt many rate him high in the EPL.

Palos like yuh ent see how Huddlestone stop Pavlychenko wind Saturday or what?  :rotfl:  but nah, I could watch dat man pass de ball whole day dred.

Maybe internationally Agbonglahor doh get rated, but he is getting lots of attention here in England...he will definitely be in d Prem team of d season, and both the media and public know how good he is...dey even starting to call one of d Aston Villa starlets, "the new Agbonlahor"

« Reply #15 on: December 16, 2008, 02:42:46 PM »
hamsik is a boss

amauri is underrated if you ask me, the man gives juve a whole different dimension

palermo has a brazilian...fabio simplicio...that fella is class, defense, attack, he does it all

« Reply #16 on: December 16, 2008, 02:57:43 PM »
I find Robert Pires to be quite underrated. Still of sublime class with Villarreal and that Arsenal unbeaten run probably wouldn't have happened without all his assists and goals... both Henry and Bergkamp had admitted that he is one of the very best they played with and yuh can't deny they at times stood on his shoulders to be the kind of legendary players they were in the EPL.

At least he won the World Cup in '98 but Domenech was foolish in not giving him a chance afterwards.

« Reply #17 on: December 16, 2008, 04:32:28 PM »

palermo has a brazilian...fabio simplicio...that fella is class, defense, attack, he does it all

good call.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #18 on: December 16, 2008, 04:47:51 PM »
STERN..............Talk Done
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #19 on: December 16, 2008, 07:27:31 PM »
Micoli from palermo I think ...the lil short mafia man is worries for days ..... months and years!

« Reply #20 on: December 22, 2008, 07:17:23 PM »
Watching football this weekend reminded me of three

Maxi Rodriguez, Diego Maniche and Simao Sabrossa of Atletico...

« Reply #21 on: December 22, 2008, 08:05:38 PM »
Geovanni from Hull, I like this fella dribbling ability, he has the ability to be very good. On a better team with help will give him the opportunity to play more freely.

« Reply #22 on: December 22, 2008, 08:53:34 PM »
Seria A I Like 
Stevan Jovetic,  Sebastian Giovinco, Jeremy Menez, Fabiano Santacroce, Mauro Zarate
Mirko Vucinic , Marek Hamsik

« Reply #23 on: December 22, 2008, 11:48:52 PM »
Seria A I Like 
Stevan Jovetic,  Sebastian Giovinco, Jeremy Menez, Fabiano Santacroce, Mauro Zarate

Good call... I think in part because he really doesn't get to play on the international stage.  Imagine him on that Croatian squad... or even Serbia.

Kicker... yuh really think Maxi still underrated?  Close call, I think his WC hijinks help put him on many people's radar, but could be that he still ent getting his due yet.

Elan... I dunno about Geovanni, part ah me thinks is ah good call, but at the same time the bigger part ah me saying that he ent really do anything yet.

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #24 on: December 23, 2008, 12:16:16 AM »
Seria A I Like 

Thank yuh!!! I post on him like a yr ago nobody eh say anyting...then again at d start of this season as somebody I think can be a world star in 2 yrs. D youth sick...and Fiorentina is d perfect club for him...i'm so glad he didn't go Real Madrid as they were sayin he would go a yr or so ago. Men need to get familiar...ah will put d name Observer on mih list of men who watchin football serious out here. bless
It's only kinky the 1st time

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #25 on: December 24, 2008, 05:23:32 AM »
Seria A I Like 

Granero (Getafe / Spain)

allyuh men clearly doh follow football on d penninsula otherwise allyuh wud NEVER be callin Lavezzi, Hamsik, Zarate and above all Gio underrated. Eveybody who does follow serie A know dem fellas & what they bring to d table. Is only cuz men here does follow EPL & the pundits in EPL so self-involved they doh no nuttin east and south of Dover. Gio known all around europe!!! that is y teams just hopin juve put him up for sale.

And if u want to argue that they are not known autside thier league, then that too is BS cuz then u sayin any player not known outside his league is underrated.

but anyways....i agree wit d man who say miccoli and simplicio, i tink Rosina for Torino underrated. Menez only NOW startin to show he worth. Lazio RB too, Lichtsteiner.

« Reply #26 on: December 24, 2008, 06:25:14 AM »
Seria A I Like 

Granero (Getafe / Spain)

allyuh men clearly doh follow football on d penninsula otherwise allyuh wud NEVER be callin Lavezzi, Hamsik, Zarate and above all Gio underrated. Eveybody who does follow serie A know dem fellas & what they bring to d table. Is only cuz men here does follow EPL & the pundits in EPL so self-involved they doh no nuttin east and south of Dover. Gio known all around europe!!! that is y teams just hopin juve put him up for sale.

And if u want to argue that they are not known autside thier league, then that too is BS cuz then u sayin any player not known outside his league is underrated.

but anyways....i agree wit d man who say miccoli and simplicio, i tink Rosina for Torino underrated. Menez only NOW startin to show he worth. Lazio RB too, Lichtsteiner.

Scarface...dat is the point. How else you go measure underrated. Underrated by who? Is not like any of us know what coaches in the game at large think about the players, what their salaries are or their potential transfer fees. So I (and others) mention those players because we actually do watch Serie A, La Liga, Bundesliga and other leagues outside the EPL (not that EPL players can't be underrated too). The idea is to name players who we generally think doh get ah mention on this board and  who the (english language) press does not hype as much as other players of similar and sometimes lesser talent.

Steeups. And check you. One minute yuh saying one thing and then yuh go mention Simplicio and Miccoli? Doh make me laugh. How in blazes dat any different from calling Lavezzi and Hamsik? What nonsense yuh talking..yuh calling players who doing it in the same leagues for the exact same reason. Cuz Simplicio is NOT a new talent. In fact, he ripping since his Parma days. As for Miccoli..well you now show yuh eh know what yuh talking about. Miccoli is a big big name in Serie A Loooong time and a legend at Benfica. Ask any Eagles fan. I am a closet Benfica fan mehself. And Miccoli is an ex Italian international who came into the limelight at Juve ...but his best days was when he moved to Fiorentina and he rip. He then went to Benfica and was a hero dey and then return to Italy. You calling dat underrated. The whole world supposed to know about that talent..he not even playing his best career football. I tort we not supposed to name players who done known around Europe, or who we 'supposed' to know if we watch more than EPL? You self...yuh eh back up dat talk good at all.

« Reply #27 on: December 24, 2008, 06:42:40 AM »
i eh really follow too much football this season, but that lazio front pairing, Tommaso Rocchi and Pandev was real tempo and i find nobody used to take dem on... especially Rocchi, i thought he look like Azzurri material for sure.

I would have to agree wholeheartedly with Fabio Simplicio, Jesus Navas and I will also add meh boy Ernesto Chevanton who I think could be world class if his head was straight. If allyuh had see that man in Lecce colors, he was a one man army.

Most underrated keepers i think are Carlos Kameni, Shay Given and Andres Palop. Dem fellahs excellent...

Offline WARRIORKING

• Deep into weaponry
« Reply #28 on: December 25, 2008, 12:02:35 AM »
ashley young
aron lennon
gael clichy
Benedict Mccarthy
Freddy adu

My lyrical tendency`s equivalent to a critical felony
Precise behind bars like a criminal`s penalty
Pinnacle definitely, hold so much jewels in my miracle memory
It`s like I`m a physical treasury
I was born with a difficult destiny, not your typical mentally
Givin my vision through treacheries

« Reply #29 on: December 26, 2008, 02:07:22 PM »
ashley young
aron lennon
gael clichy
Benedict Mccarthy
Freddy adu

Curious addition there... haven't really been following Freddy's exploits of late.  Who's he with, Monaco?  I know he didn't really do much while with Benfica... handful of goals?

Benny McCarthy seems a perennial favorite on the list of underrated players... not sure what's really keeping him from crossing that threshold into 'bonafide' stardom.

Ashley Young I readily agree with.  Clichy is very underrated as well in my estimation.

Aaron Lennon... not so sure.  The potential is there but this man has never really done anything for me... other than providing speed on the flank.  I think he's still living off the hype that his limited mins in Germany got him... he definitely showed that he deserved more playing time then.  Now... not so sure.